We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterberg Game Park

Cnr Sondagsloop & Sukses Farm Weltevreden, Melkrivier, Vaalwater 0537 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 campsites in Vaalwater
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The resort is set on a stunning 450 hectare game farm, boasting a rare game experience & prolific bird life. Here you will encounter friendly Bushbuck, which freely roam the resort, zebra, giraffe and plenty of small game. Waterberg Game Park offers top-class facilities, including a bush themed restaurant and bar, a convenience store, as well as fun facilities that cater to all ages. Waterberg Game Park is well situated and offers a true bush break!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Game room
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Parking
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Table tennis
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Cnr Sondagsloop & Sukses Farm Weltevreden, Melkrivier, Vaalwater 0537 South Africa
Waterberg Game Park
Getting there
Polokwane Airport
112.5 km
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
66Reviews9Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 36
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Namhla N wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Thank you for the way we were received at reception. We got lost on our way there and we were so flustered by the time we got there but they made us feel at home. We had also booked a Spa treatment with Joice. It was amazing. Can she not be given an operating place in the premises? She is a people's person. We were in K9. We were so relaxed that we forgot one of our bags in the room. Hopefully we will be able to get it back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 13 Dec 2023
Hi namhlan2023, thank you for trusting us with such a special occasion! We're delighted that your getaway was amazing, complete with brilliant service and a warm welcome. Your kind words will be shared with our team, and we urge you to please reach out to us directly for further assistance with your bag. Looking forward to your next scenic and memorable holiday with us 😊.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronald wrote a review Aug 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa6 contributions4 helpful votes
The chalets were lovely but not well stocked.Could do with more storage jars and bowls, cloths and sponges. Beds were very comfy. Wifi was poor and not working in one of our chalets. Management are useless, dismissive and couldnt care. We asked for 2 adjacent chalets as we had toddlers and they gave us ones at opposite ends of the complex. Didnt resolve our problem and told us the Head office allocates units.Head office told us the resort does - who is not telling the truth. Kids play facilities were great and restaurant good. Game drive was poor as there are hardly any animals and it was a rip off
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Hi Ronnabo. This is very unlike our team, as our guests are our absolute delight and we want them to feel welcome at all times. The matter of unfriendliness will be addressed, and similarly, the concerns you have raised. Thank you for pointing out both the aspects you found favourable and the areas where you feel need attention. We truly hope the next time you visit we will provide you with an exception memorable experience without any inconveniences. Thank you for your support and taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
patty wrote a review Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
We booked from the 10-14 July , the place is exactly what we needed as it's beautiful,quite and entertaining for kids. 2 things that made me not enjoy my stay n I hope management will consider. 1. Chalet not well cleaned spiderweb almost everywhere. How does one sleep in such environment, had to clean it up on our second day as we arrived very late in the dark on the first day. Also the coffee mugs needs some serious cleaning or new ones as thet are fiety on the indide too brown.2 Please improve the waiting time for the food at the restaurant it is ridiculous and the thought of driving out on the gravel road also gives you no option.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Well the gravel road is a nightmare
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 17 Jul 2023
Hi Vacation18826037423. While we are pleased that you enjoyed the overall hospitality and atmosphere at our resort, we regret to learn that certain elements of your stay were not what you expected, and thank you so much for your candid review of your stay. We have noted your concerns and have raised these issues with housekeeping for improvement on their part and will look into possible solutions for your suggestions going forward. We hope to still have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phillip Schoeman wrote a review Apr 2023
Claremont, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
Very scenic setting with lots of wildlife about. Excellent facilities including a very good restaurant and lots of other activities for adults and kids. Interesting game drives available with lots of antelope including giraffe seen. Large pool in a lovely location. Units neat, comfortable and well equipped
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Come well stocked with essential groceries as the shop has limited supplies
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Hi Inombolo1, thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review 😊. We're thrilled that our stunning game park resort provided a memorable holiday experience for you - and that you got to enjoy some excellent game viewing 😍. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian W wrote a review Mar 2023
Cape St Francis, South Africa2 contributions
So disappointed on how the management dealt with a valuable item I left behind and obviously is now missing (found and not handed in). I'm not disputing that it is my fault for leaving the item and they have enough notices up in terms of "Own Risk". The issue is that management sent a message stating that they will check and then never came back to me, 2 weeks later. There is poor connectivity so you are never able to speak to anyone. They certainly don't care as far I'm concerned. Whilst the area is a beautiful part of our beautiful Country, I will not return. Certainly my worst experience from the many RCI resorts I frequented.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The travel on the gravel road is dangerous and also inside the camp.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 03 Apr 2023
Hi Ian, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that this has been your experience, and can assure you that this is not reflective of the kind of service we are known to provide. We have been able to confirm with Management that they have since tried contacting you, and unfortunately, your item has not been located. We will however continue to keep an eye out for it, and hope to have a chance in the future to change your impression of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wallace R wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Staff - Completely unhelpful, unfriendly and dismissive - Constantly complaining that they were unhappy that they had to work during the festive period. Loadshedding: - Although there are generators for certain times, there are no loadshedding lights for when generators are not on. Cellphone and wifi signal: - Absolutely no signal at the chalets - WIFI only available at the restaurant but connection highly volatile Security: - 2 security guards at night, for a huge area. No dogs - Although there is a number to contact security in need, there's no signal to do so. - Because of how dark it was early hours of the morning when loadshedding occurred. I heard suspicious noises outside my chalet, so I moved my kids into the main bedroom with me and my wife, locked the door and slept with a knife under my pillow because I knew that if anything had to occur, that I would have to fend for myself because there was no way of getting a hold of security. Pool: - The pool was green for 3 days straight during our stay - monkeys harassed patrons especially kids "not one guard/staff member in sight to protect patrons " Activities: - Besides a braai organized by the resort, where the resort organized charcoal, pap and sauce. The were no planned activities. nothing for the kids. I feel that staff could've made an effort to keep guests entertained. - Game drive sucked, tour guide didnt know what he was talking about and there were barely animals to really note. What worked: - Chalet rooms were amazing. Everything was in order - Beautiful scenery - One staff member who's name is "Roos" awesome guy - unfortunately he left early due to his leave days. Overall: We cut our stay short by 2 days, nobody called to ask why, nobody cared. Management have much to learn about staff morale and resort facility management. My opinion is that whoever is managing should be replaced immediately. It's a pity because its really a beautiful place with much to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Hi 170wallacer, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate you highlighting the aspects you enjoyed, as well as the ones that we need to work on. Our resort has always prided itself on friendly and helpful staff, and we are very sorry if you had perceived them as otherwise. Indeed, load shedding is a countrywide issue, and we do supply rechargeable globes in the units for when the generator isn't running. However, we will investigate this unit to determine why this may not have been the case for you - thank you for bringing it to our attention. Due to our game park resort's remote location, our signal strength does tend to fluctuate and we regret any inconvenience caused. We are working closely with our service provider to try and have this improved. We are terribly sorry for any instances in which you may have felt unsafe. Our resort has always put the safety of our guests at the forefront, and to date we have had no security breaches. Our security guards as well as a security dog patrol the premises as per their shifts to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. Regarding the pool, the colour was unfortunately due to a lightning storm and was treated immediately with chemicals - which could only be added at night as some guests were using the pool during the day. Being a bushveld resort, animals are left to roam freely and sadly are not always visible during game drives. We also try our very best to provide enough entertainment options such as a multi court, kayaking, chess, fishing, hiking trails and many more but will work towards expanding our offering going forward. We are deeply disappointed that you did not have a more pleasant time with us, but will definitely use your constructive criticism to help us strive for excellence moving forward.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danie92 wrote a review Oct 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa308 contributions84 helpful votes
A well maintained and pleasant resort in the heart of the Bushveld. The horrible last 15km dirt road reminds you that you are in the stix and a quiet peaceful experience awaits you. Emergency electricity backup ensured load shedding frustration avoidance. Restaurant menus very limited but satisfactory but if you go the self catering way make sure you take everything with you because the Convenience store is a no namer. Had a refurbished unit and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 01 Nov 2022
Hi Danie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - it's always helpful to know what our guests thought of their experience 😊. Indeed our 450-hectare game farm offers the ideal breakaway from the daily hustle and bustle, providing the perfect serene atmosphere to completely relax and unwind! We do apologise for the pesky state of the access road, which is largely due to the remote area of our resort. However, we are so pleased that you arrived safely and had a wonderful stay. We would hate for our guests to be left in the dark, especially while on holiday and we're really glad that you were still comfortable despite the load-shedding. We're always looking for ways to improve our restaurant experience, and will definitely work on enhancing this going forward. We so appreciate your feedback, and for trusting us with your stay. It was great fun hosting you and we hope to welcome you back real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Weltrvld wrote a review Jul 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa54 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
2 night stay, midweek. Sand road for approx 14 km was terrible. Moved at a snails pace to avoid vehicle damage. Check in was effortless and all was ready on our arrival. Unit was clean and well equipped. Door lock was inefficiënt and a bolt lock on the inside of both exterior doors will be comforting (like in a hotel) to stop unwanted entry. Great to have experienced no load-shedding due to the generators kicking in. All access pass does not include the putt putt golf ball - which is silly as the kids had to run up and down due to us not being informed when getting the pass. Convenience store on site is very expensive - 4kg charcoal R75, Doritos chips R35!. Bread only on certain days… We had the breakfast included package, only 3 dishes are available on this option. But we did get 4 vouchers as it was a 4 sleeper and could use the extra vouchers to add to our breakfast (we weren’t 4 )!’. Separation walls between units are thin so no peace and quiet as the television and general conversation could be heard from the neighbours. We also had a couple doing business (loudly on speaker phone) at breakfast in the restaurant as the laptop and connection points are situated there. Please be considerate to people around you in this resort as it is so peaceful that sound travels loudly. Will keep this spot in mind on my next bush break, will just have to get a 4x4 for the sand road..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring all you need as no shops available close by except bare necessities at the expensive store...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandi wrote a review May 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
We were disappointed and felt unsafe as a number of windows were cracked and broken, the lights were super dim and some not working and the couches were stained. On top of it all the units have a distinct smell with the bath water changing colour to blue after a while. We had reported these issues to reception a number of times and they advised that windows had been ordered and there is nothing they can do. I also invited the receptionist to come to the room to see and smell for herself, which she did not do. I was also rather disappointed at the rather limited knowledge the receptionist had on the area attractions and when she did manage to provide details on the Ziplining, the incorrect details were provided. Further training is definitely required here. On the positive side - the resort has great activities for the kids, and adults too and these seemed better maintained then the chalets. There is also no network or WiFi anywhere except at the restaurant. We had booked this family get away through The Holiday Club timeshare option, with the resort having a 4/5 rating. We were allocated W6 and W10.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 23 May 2022
Hi Sandi, Thank you for taking the time to provide your much-valued feedback. While we are glad that you liked the entertainment facilities at the resort, we do apologize that some areas were not up to par. We will address the resort staff to ensure that they are courteous when interacting with guests and do provide guests with the information that they require about the resort. Again, we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, as this would enable us to be more vigilant towards such aspects going forward. We hope this has not deterred you from visiting us again as this is not reflective of the service or experience we strive to provide our guests. We've noted your feedback and we'll make sure that the necessary improvements are made. We hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again in the future. Regards, Waterberg Game Park.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Derek J wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This is a well maintained, clean resort about a 40 minute drive north of Vaalwater. The restaurant has a limited menu although the food is good (see photo). I would strongly advise that you take food to self cater and especially for the Braai. The game park itself is very small and a game drive lasts only about one and a half hours, though the guides are very informative. We saw Sable, Eland, Wildebeest, Impala, Warthog, Bushbuck and a beautiful spider. The warthogs and Bushbucks wander around the actual resort right up to your patio. There is a good play area for kids and the resort is ideal for families with canoeing, fishing, miniature golf and a multi sport court for tennis, basketball etc. All of these facilities can be accessed by puchasing a pass for 100 ZAR ( about £5 ). The lodges are very modern and spacious, with well equipped kitchens. The Braai is cleaned daily by ground staff at no extra charge. This resort really is a pleasure .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lodges in Wildebeest area have private pools and sun-loungers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, General Manager at Waterberg Game Park
Responded 04 Apr 2022
Hi, Derek, We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 4-Star review! We take pride in knowing our customers are happy with their experience. Thanks for your support, we really appreciate it! Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vaalwater area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,412 - R 1,774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergVaalwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WATERBERG GAME PARK - Now R 1 374 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶5̶2̶6̶) - UPDATED 2023 Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Vaalwater, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waterberg Game Park
What are some of the property amenities at Waterberg Game Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waterberg Game Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waterberg Game Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterberg Game Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterberg Game Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterberg Game Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Waterberg Game Park accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.