We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Site
US$287
US$206
View deal
SAVE US$81
Free cancellation until 21/12/10
Booking.comUS$258
Priceline
getaroom.comUS$287
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (575)
Room & Suite (371)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/05/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/05/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#53 of 92 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee.
Read more
Room & Suite (371)371
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Sauna
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
698Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 344
  • 115
  • 31
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jodie D wrote a review 15 Jun
Chico, California442 contributions151 helpful votes
This small studio was the perfect stay for my brother and me. We are in our 60's and the comfortable twin beds with a choice of pillows was great. The short walk to the beach was just right. We stopped at one of the two ABC stores each morning to get lunch items, and spent the day on the beach. The purchase of $30 sand chairs at the store on day one was perfect. Our first room was right next to the elevator and this was crazy noisy. We asked right away for another room and we were given one with no problem. If they were more booked, this might have been an issue, so we will request NOT to be by elevator when we book again. The front dest staff is uber helpful and friendly. The elevator monitors are too. This was a great, relaxed, unpretentious place to stay, in a good location near the beach. I think all rooms have some sort of view of the beach. The tiny kitchen was just right for cooking eggs each morning. There was a rice cooker which came in handy when we had restaurant left overs. Also toaster, coffee maker and blender. We mostly ate out, however there were a couple nights we called out for delivery. The pool was clean and warm, and the spa relaxing. We looked forward to the tidy pool area after the beach each day. The sun shines up on the roof until almost sunset. Really nice breeze and loungers made this a daily ritual. Internet was good both in the room and up at the pool. We did feel that the $25 daily amenities fee was a little much. For what? Nothing that a regular hotel does not provide. The maid service is only once a week. You can, however, request fresh towels and more shampoo etc. But again, doesn't every hotel offer that without an extra fee?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: loved having a room on a higher floor, but prepare to wait for the elevator
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Harrel C wrote a review 14 Jun
Oceanside, California2 contributions
The hotel has an excellent location and the staff were both helpful and cheerful. I enjoyed my stay. Our balcony made he room even better with a wonderful view of the beach at Waikiki. Close proximity to shop and restaurants was a plus for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Msjan81 wrote a review May 2021
Anchorage, Alaska25 contributions27 helpful votes
This was my first time at the Pacific Monarch. I've stayed several times next door at the Bamboo, but this time the difference in price was enough to make me try it out. The room was a studio condo. Having a kitchenette and a sitting area was nice. I would have liked a proper balcony you could actually sit out on. The COVID-19 restrictions meant no maid service so they left a large garbage can out in the hallway. They only have two elevators for 32 floors, so you WILL BE WAITING FOR ELEVATORS! It's in an excellent location, Kuhio and Ulunui is my favorite corner for quick access to the best part of Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Blake Kaahu, Guest Services / Front Office at Pacific Monarch Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Janet Thankyou for leaving a review! We are happy you decided to stay with us this time and we hope to see you again. Our one bedroom suites have a full balcony with table and chairs and a full kitchen! Mahalo Team Pacific Monarch
Read more
PhoenixBound wrote a review Apr 2021
11 contributions
+1
It should be illegal how differently this hotel is representing themselves on their website and what you actually get. Our room looked nothing like the pictures- instead it was furnished with mismatched thrift store finds. The sofa bed was stained, and the mattress was a 2 inch piece of cheap foam. My son woke up with bruises each morning from the bed frame poking through the mattress. We did not have the cooktop in the kitchen (however, we were provided with cooking pots, go figure) or a desk in the living area. The carpet in the hallways were worn and dirty. We did not receive beach chairs, tickets to the museum or chilled water as promised in their ads. While I understand that COVID may have changed the way things are handled now, they are still charging the full $25 “resort” fee each day. You also don’t get daily maid service. Again, I understand the limitations currently, but the pricing should reflect this. If I knew how run-down the room would have been beforehand, we would have booked a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
swLUM wrote a review Apr 2021
Honolulu35 contributions21 helpful votes
I just stayed here with my partner two nights ago. As another reviewer says, you get what you pay for. For $100 more, you could stay in a place with updated, modern décor with a newer pool and jacuzzi. For $100 less, you could stay in a motel or possibly a youth hostel. So the Pacific Monarch is in that niche right in between. If you have to pay extra to get an oceanfront room on a high floor, it’s probably well worth it. You would get a great view, and I’ve found that the view makes a huge difference in the enjoyment of your hotel stay (I live in Hawaii and have done countless staycations in Waikiki). I did enjoy the lounge on the floor just below the rooftop pool. As others have mentioned, you have to be extremely rule-abiding with the parking, which costs $30 per night. The front desk clerk makes you read and sign a form with all the rules, she goes over the rules verbally, and there is a big sign in Japanese right where you pay for the parking permit, which I assume lists those rules again. And, there are signs posted around the parking garage saying that you MUST park within the lines, or you will be towed. What else can get your car towed? Placing your parking permit upside down in the windshield! I don’t mean having the slip face the wrong way so that no one can read the information, I mean turning it upside down so that the information shows, but it’s upside down. And of course, if you don’t tape it to the windshield and the slip falls down to a position where it can’t be read – YOU WILL BE TOWED. As I mentioned, I’ve stayed all over Waikiki, and almost no parking garage has rules this draconian. You can read another reviewer’s horrendous experience after he got his car towed (and his vacation ruined, and you can bet he will be telling everyone he knows about his ordeal). The hotel says the parking is run by “someone else” so they claim no responsibility - zero. That is a cop-out. The hotel could use their influence to contract with a different parking operator or a different tow company. There is no reason they have to be bullied into submission by the parking operators. I almost cancelled our reservation after reading about what happened to the poor guest who had his car towed – how many potential guests are they losing out on because of that one review? It’s pennywise and pound foolish, and not worth the bad publicity. Ease up on the rules, just a little, to be in line with almost every other parking garage in Waikiki.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get a high floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Blake Kaahu, Guest Services / Front Office at Pacific Monarch Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Aloha swLUM Mahalo for submitting your review and glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes, the view is a big plus in many staycations! We also thank you for mentioning the parking information. Because we are not included in the decisions or rules of this privately owned garage, we inform our guests before parking- so they will not have any unforseen situations. We thank you for your understanding and hope to see you again! Mahalo Team Pacific Monarch
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aston pacific monarch hotel honolulu, aston hotel honolulu, aston hotel pacific monarch, resortquest pacific monarch honolulu, pacific monarch hawaii, resort quest pacific monarch
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aqua Pacific Monarch
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Monarch Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach (0.4 km), Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.3 km), and Aloha Pearl Harbor Tours (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a hot tub, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maguro Spot, Paia Fish Market, and Kona Coffee Purveyors.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Pacific Monarch Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangri La (3.7 km), Iolani Palace (4.9 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (6.7 km).
Does Pacific Monarch Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Pacific Monarch Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.