We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Modern Honolulu

Save
Share
1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
11 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$315
View Deal
Booking.com
US$321
View Deal
Snaptravel
US$321
US$263
View Deal
SAVE US$58
Official HotelUS$315
Prestigia.comUS$283
PricelineUS$315
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2926)
Room & Suite (930)
Pool & Beach (409)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Modern Honolulu
Updated 21/01/19

About

#49 of 91 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award-winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.”
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
4 799Reviews158Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3 203
  • 1 022
  • 326
  • 131
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shawn wrote a review 03 Mar
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
I’m sure the hotel is normally nice but it’s not worth the money during covid. The staff picks and chooses who and when to enforce rules which makes the experience frustrating and uncomfortable. I bought a coffee from across the street since the hotel doesn’t offer any dairy alternatives and the pool guy told me I could only drink it in the lobby. So I left , drank the coffee in the lobby then returned to the pool. Once I came back to the pool I was rudely approached by a manager who told me to put back on my mask. I was the only person out of about 30 people asked to wear a mask while sitting near the pool. When I pointed this out the manager rudely dismissed me and left without approaching any of the other guests. I understand the rules are in place for everyone’s safety but when only ‘ certain ‘ people are required to follow them it’s discriminatory. Stay somewhere else closer to the beach and save yourself the headache.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Judy F wrote a review 01 Mar
Mukilteo, Washington61 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel’s location and view are perfect. A little removed from the hustle and bustle of mid-Waikiki but close enough to walk to and the beach by the hotel is awesome - way nicer than Waikiki Beach. The pool area is pretty and the rooms are bright white and fresh. The fitness room is well-equipped. There’s a spa but it was closed due to Covid. Downsides were no housekeeping during Covid, low hot water pressure on the 16th floor, weirdly dim hallway lighting, a coffee stain on the carpet in the room, and unimaginative restaurant food. Prices were good for this location and quality. Would definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. -GP
Read more
Eleuterio99 wrote a review Feb 2021
Los Angeles, California20 contributions8 helpful votes
Check-in at 4p is kind of insulting to start with. And check-out is at 10am. The Grab-n-Go restaurant was awful. Like how hard can it be to screw up a $17 chicken sandwich? There is no maid service during your stay. A big part of a resort experience is that you don't have to make your bed. So ,fail. But, you still get charged $40 daily resort fee. This includes 2 (two) bottles of water in your room. If you need ice, it is self-serve, but not on my floor. And I was dissuaded to get some because the ice bucket they give you is about 6oz max capacity.. If you call and ask for one more bottle of water, because all the bars are closed at 10pm. Forget it. Apparently, no one in the hotel can get you a bottle of water. The room was clean and had a nice view. There are many, many better options in Waikiki, especially now. The staff knew how to do it right with plenty smiles and aloha. Apparently, the management team at Diamond Resorts has made it impossible for them to the job, restricting them from doing any frontline guest service experience. Shame. Because this used to be a great property and has potential to be better. For now, I would avoid it, because Diamond Resorts, the corporation, does not know aloha.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 4 days ago
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate your constructive feedback. We will share your comments with leadership with the intent to improve. -GP
Read more
516onders wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
Please stay away, they are cheater and they collect monry from your account: we just call police officer and get our money back. They are selling tours and once you call place you found out there is no reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 6 days ago
This is very concerning to hear and not at all what we do. Please send us an email with more details and your reservation number to CustomerServiceSM@diamondresorts.com. We look forward to getting to the bottom of this. -GP
Read more
Relax Hotels Hawaii wrote a review Feb 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
I must say this property is by far the worst stay I have ever had in waikiki. The minute we arrived it started than we have dinner last night and it really was bad never the less we are checking out and going to the Hilton... The manager should be ashamed and really Diamond Resorts you need to hire some truly qualified personal if you want to call this resort 4.5 star you should hire the staff to support that rating... We will never come back.. Ed Bushor typical slop shop
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 2 weeks ago
Patrick, we are sad to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We'd like to hear more about your experience and use this as a learning opportunity to improve for our future guests. If you have some time, we'd love to hear from you - feel free to email us at CustomerServiceSM@diamondresorts.com. -HN
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the modern honolulu hotel honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
353
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Modern Honolulu
Which popular attractions are close to The Modern Honolulu?
Nearby attractions include Honolulu Cookie Company (0.3 km), Friday Night Fireworks at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort (0.4 km), and Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Modern Honolulu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Modern Honolulu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Tribe, Lappert's Ice Cream, and goofy cafe & dine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Modern Honolulu?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangri La (5.5 km), Iolani Palace (3.2 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (5.7 km).
Does The Modern Honolulu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Modern Honolulu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.