We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2058 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
HIExpress.com
US$260
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (353)
Room & Suite (204)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 22/06/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Updated 22/06/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#67 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

IHG's only Waikīkī hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Waikīkī located in Honolulu, Hawaii. This 44-story hotel offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikīkī . Located just 3 blocks from Waikiki beach and 4 blocks from the Hawaii Convention Center, the hotel offers convenient access to shopping, dining, and activities. All guest rooms feature complimentary internet access, a compact refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker and a microwave. More perks include FREE WiFi and FREE breakfast daily (served from 6:30am -9:30am).

Enjoy fun on-site amenities like a 5th floor recreational skydeck with a 9-hole mini-golf course, shuffleboard, giant chess game, ping pong and pool tables, foosball, and a full exercise room is available. Soak up some sun on an open deck with a pool, jet spa and stylish cabanas.

Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Mini golf
Kids stay free
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Raquetball
Patio
Table tennis
Video game console
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
544Reviews31Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 184
  • 119
  • 54
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kristink925 wrote a review 25 Jun
Baltimore, Ohio6 contributions
Family of 4, including 2 teenagers for 6 nights. Pleasantly surprised with the variety of breakfast options when staying for 6 nights. Not just the same thing every morning. Plenty of staff to refill and keep breakfast and seating area clean. Food was always fresh and plentiful. 5th floor outdoor activities was a nice bonus! We took advantage of the pool, hot tub, cabanas, mini golf, chess and shuffleboard. There was also cornhole, foosball, and ping pong. Teenagers are hard to keep pleased, so this was nice to keep them busy on our downtime. Liked that there was attached parking garage and we were lucky to get a spot every night. Walking distance to plenty of shopping and dining, and not too far where we were hot and exhausted by the time we got back to hotel. Staff was always friendly and accommodating when we made a request. Pleasantly surprised having housekeeping refresh our room every day. New towels and trash taken every day. After covid we weren’t expecting that. Felt safe and comfortable at this property. The only downside was that the room and bathroom was quite small and tight. AC was great in room and we also had a ceiling fan in the room, which I have never had at any other hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 4 days ago
Kristin, mahalo, for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. It's great to know you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel, especially our complimentary breakfast. It does get pretty busy around here in the mornings, and we appreciate you recognizing our team's hard work to make your stay seamless. They will enjoy hearing your compliments! We are also glad you liked our varied activities, parking area, convenient location, and devoted staff. However, we regret your disappointment with the size of your room, and we appreciate your patience. Mahalo again, and we look forward to your next stay. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
lovesh wrote a review Apr 2021
lovesh57 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I truly enjoyed my stay at this property in March 2021. The hotel experience was great and it was walking distance to the beach, malls, restaurants, and parks. It was also very close to the pick-up spots of our tours (literally across the street). Rooms are quiet, and very comfortable. COVID measures are strictly followed throughout the property and everything is super clean. I also want to mention the people that made our stay special. Everyone at this property is super nice and they go above and beyond to make you feel valued. I wish I could remember everyone's names, because they all deserve to be mentioned, but I want to give a shout out to Gladys at the Front Desk; to the best concierges in Honolulu, Matt and Ross, and to the super-friendly and extremely efficient security officer Page, who answered many of my questions and helped me a lot! I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The room has a microwave, fridge, Keurig coffeemaker, so it is easy to have some snacks at hand!
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 09 Apr 2021
Lovesh, please accept our thanks for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, located at the gateway of Waikiki in Honolulu. It's nice to see that our location and accommodations worked well for you and made your time with us perfect. Your kind acknowledgment of our efforts is also appreciated and we will surely share your compliments with all the associates you mentioned. We hope you are already planning another vacation our way. Thanks again! Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
AE wrote a review 11 Jun
1 contribution
Very unprofessional staff in the check in service, need to learn how to treat customer and residents, my reservation was not honored. Have to scramble to find an alternative room, and i was able to fnds much better hotels with beter locations, this one is not worth it, shame for this to be part of IHG.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 2 weeks ago
ahmedeI4406BQ, mahalo for visiting us. Please accept our apologies as well as every assurance we will be working to address the concerns outlined in your review. Typically, our staff does a terrific job of responding to our guests’ needs, and we are disappointed this did not happen during your visit. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us the chance to make it up to you on your next vacation to Waikiki. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
MayfieldParrish wrote a review 06 Jun
Denver, Colorado1054 contributions252 helpful votes
We stayed in this property for close to a week during our vacation. This is easily the biggest Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in. It has some good points and some bad points. The good; It is walking distance to several great beaches, restaurants and shopping. It has an activity floor with swimming pool, spa, mini golf course, ping pong etc it even has a koi pond. The staff is really kind. The bad, The hotel room we stayed in was long overdue for a remodel. The room had a window style AC Unit that needed to run 24/7 to achieve anything approaching cool. It does not have a Tstat so it runs constantly either on or off which makes sleep difficult, because it is noisy as well. The room is tiny. I mean where does the luggage go tiny. It is so small you do not have anywhere to sit other than the beds. The bathroom does not have an exhaust fan and is super small. It gets like a rain forest in no time. Your only choice is to open up a window for exhaust, which you regret doing because of the inefficient AC. The comforter for the bed struggles to cover two people and always ends up leaving someone uncovered in the middle of the night. We are diamond members and have stayed in IHG properties all over the world. I would not stay in this one again unless it had a serious remodel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo for choosing our hotel and for the feedback. We are disappointed to know about the issues you encountered with the air unit in your assigned accommodation. Your comments will be shared with our maintenance team to enhance a better stay moving forward. We have also taken note of your additional concerns about the remodeling, and they will be shared appropriately. On a positive note, we are happy that you liked our devoted associates and well-kept property. We are grateful for your patience and hope to see you again. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Lisa W wrote a review 06 Jun
1 contribution
We felt fortunate to find a room on short notice. We had reservations at a hotel across the street. After seeing the room was nothing like the pictures we checked out and walked across the street to the Holiday Inn Express. Adele was so gracious and helpful. She was able to get us a room with two queen beds. She got us a room that we were able to check in to right then at 10am. My granddaughters loved the room and the great amenities included in our stay. Swimming pool, miniature golf, and hot tub. Holiday Inn Express is one of the few hotels in Waikiki that provide breakfast. Five Stars!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo, for being our guest and for writing such a fantastic review. We are delighted that our service and accommodations met your expectations and that you particularly loved our hot tub. Your compliments will surely be shared with our team, especially Adele. We hope that your great experience will bring you and your granddaughters back to enjoy even more of what we have to offer. Mahalo, again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Waikiki! Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
EuCy wrote a review May 2022
Orange County, California14 contributions9 helpful votes
I was forewarned about the bad elevator wait times by reading the reviews but things in reality were, yes, as terrible in experience as all the reviews say. If you’re staying in floors 26-44, it’s made even worse now with 1 of 3 elevators out of commission. Elevators are tiny, and can sardine cram 6 people. Waited almost ten minutes to go down after I checked into my room. And the engineer who programmed the algorithm should be damned for making such a stupid system. It literally stops on every floor no matter if the elevator is already completely full. Which means 2 tiny elevators to serve twenty floors. Oh and even worse. Many hotels have separate elevators for the large bins for their custodial staff. Not here. They share the same limited tiny elevators. If an elevator is out of commission you would hope management would prioritize its repair, seeing that, as I’m sure they already know how bad the system is, based on all the complaints. The check in processing time for each guest also is so much slower than day a Hilton or Hyatt. Lines unnecessarily long. Add to the negative experience I had with a crass snappy front desk staff, Paige. Using Belittling patronizing talk towards clients. When recalling a vacation, you remember your experience. Staying at a good hotel with properly trained staff, with working systems truly make for a better memory. Unfortunately this is not a good experience starting my vacation in Hawaii here. Our previous stay at Hyatt centric and here are night and day. Management are you listening?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good to avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 17 May 2022
Eun, mahalo, for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you posting a review, as we genuinely value our guest's comments and opinions. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with our elevators during your stay. We have shared your detailed observation with our leadership team for future modernization plans. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in the areas outlined. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize this was not your experience. We are grateful for your patience as we work to avoid these inconveniences. We would welcome an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay in the future. Thank you again, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
budget_savings wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California20 contributions11 helpful votes
The hotel and pluses and minuses and staying would depend on what kind of vacation you want and what your used to. Examples: 1. Was close to the beach: About a 10 min walk, just a few blocks. For anyone wanting to stay on the beach this hotel is not for you...but it was definitely not far. I researched and staying on the beach would have cost about $400 more. For me, I knew I did not want to spend every day at Waikiki beach and would be traveling to different beaches so I rather save the money. 2. Small space: The hotel room is tiny and has the room's air conditioner in a funny place. However we were traveling just the two of us and it was plenty a room for us: We slept on the bed farthest from the air conditioner unit. The closet was also horrible: only enough room for a nice dress or two. 3. Great small touches: The hotel and a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser in the shower that was fabulous. So nice not to have to bring your own. I am super picky on what I use and I thought it was great stuff. Free breakfast was great. It is continental but included all the necessities. Daily egg dish, meat option, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, muffins, and fruit. Everything was available to go and they provided containers for the road. Food in Hawaii is expensive so this was a nice savings and great way to start your day. The room had tons of outlets...comes in handy. The microwave and fridge in the room was awesome. Loved having a way to snacks and leftovers. Again very budget friendly. 4. Pool Area lacking: So keep in mind Waikiki doesn't really have hotels with fabulous pools. However, this one closed at 7pm which I feel kind of made it unusable. I personally like taking a dip in the hot tub before bed but with a 7pm closure time that wasn't possible. I visited once and the hot tub was barely bath temperature and had broken jets. 5. Good Location!. The is within walking distance of the Royal Hawaiian Center and the International Marketplace. The bus stops right out front and the trolley stop is just a stroll away. For me the hotel was exactly what I wanted and expected of a Waikiki hotel. We spent the vacation running around the island doing activities and the Holiday Inn Express made a great home base.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I chose the biggest room instead of the best view to make sure I was comfortable.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 14 May 2022
Mahalo for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, located at the gateway of Waikiki in Honolulu. It's nice to see that our proeprty worked well for you and made your time with us perfect. We hope you are already planning another vacation our way. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Steve R wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Waikiki. It was centrally located, a few blocks to the beach and to all of the restaurants and attractions... there were biki bike stations on 3 sides of the hotel. The free breakfast was good and offered a lot of selections. The room was clean and updated. It was a little small, but great ocean view from the 29 Th floor. It sounded like neighbors were slamming the door when the opened and closed but that was the only minor complaint. I will try to attach some pics
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 09 May 2022
Steve, mahalo, for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. Our 44-story hotel offers our guests beautiful panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Koolau mountains, and the Waikiki skyline. We are glad to know that you enjoyed these views along with our clean and comfortable accommodations and location near Waikiki beach, shopping, dining, and much more. It was our pleasure hosting your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Maholo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
CentralCATraveler wrote a review May 2022
Coalinga, California877 contributions191 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here 5 nights with my bf. I booked an ocean view room and we really enjoyed the sunsets over the ocean. The room was small but had a large TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and table. A/C unit in the window. Doors were loud and we had a door slamming issue on our floor. 6 Elevators were pretty efficient. Small pool and hot tub. Gym and mini-golf as well as other games on 5th floor. Free breakfast was great with eggs, sausage, a pancake maker, oatmeal, muffins, bagels/toast, yogurt, fresh fruit and more. There were plenty of tables inside and out and to go boxes if needed. Only suggestion would be to have plain creamer for the coffee. Walkable to the beach and restaurants. There was an ABC market across the street and a biki stand around the corner. Walk to trolley stop. $38 for taxi from airport or about the same for Speedishuttle to the airport. Staff were pleasant and polite. Good value for the price. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking garage available.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 06 May 2022
Mahalo for the fantastic review of the Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are thrilled to learn you and your boyfriend had an amazing stay and that we were able to meet all your expectations. Your recommendation is appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Sandra wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel was in my price range. It had a fitness room, coin laundry (if you needed to wash clothes) with breakfast everyday. The room could use an update but it was clean and slightly smaller (we were always out walking and sightseeing) so it didn’t bother us girls. It is not a long walk to the main Waikiki area - 5 to 7 minute walk which is kinda of nice being away from the noise. It was worth the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for higher floor so you can get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 15 Apr 2022
We appreciate you choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you all had an enjoyable experience and you felt we were a good value for the area. Mahalo for your wonderful comments about our comfortable hotel, convenient location, and the superb service provided by our associates. Your feedback is appreciated, and we look forward to your return. Mahalo, Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$251 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
596
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.4 km), Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), and Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poke Bar, Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar, and Ginza Bairin Tonkatsu & Yoshoku Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (3.7 km), Iolani Palace (3.8 km), and Shangri La (4.8 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express Waikiki have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Holiday Inn Express Waikiki accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.