We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5469
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Website
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1197)
Room & Suite (378)
Videos (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#1 of 9 in Wailea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best

Hawaii's only Relais & Chateaux, Hotel Wailea extends across 15 ultra private acres overlooking the sea, with 72 luxury one bedroom suites-each reminiscent of a chic private beach house with large ocean-facing lanais. The epitome of a romantic sanctuary, Hotel Wailea is designed for couples seeking relaxation away from the beachfront crowds, celebrating a special event with award-winning food and wine, or simply escaping to enjoy the beauty of Maui.

This exclusive and ultra-private hotel is a 2-minute drive or 10-minute walk to the beach.

“Top 500 Hotels in the World”, Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2021

“Top 50 Hotels In The USA”, Us News & World Report 2020

“Top 100 Best Hotels in the World”, Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2019

“#1 Resort in Hawai’i”, Conde Nast Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards 2018

“Top 10 Restaurants in Hawaii”, Opentable Diner’s Choice 2018

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Free shuttle or taxi services
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Japanese
1855Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 551
  • 191
  • 76
  • 26
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KidDocDMC wrote a review 25 May
Birmingham, Michigan496 contributions137 helpful votes
This isn't the place to go for a large resort or a great beach experience. Hotel Wailea is tucked into the back of a bunch of condominiums, and looks similar to those. The difference starts when you pull up to the gate that opens up to a large green space and a driveway up to the main building. The reception, from the valets to the people at the front desk, were engaging and professional. Check-in was easy and fast. We were whisked away to our room via a golf cart. The room itself was large, with a kitchenette, family room, large bath and big bedroom. Because we used our Platinum Card, we were upgraded to a full ocean view room which had a nice porch with a couch, table and chairs. The room was in great shape, with a bunch of stuff that was free to us (snacks, drinks, coffee, tea, products...). Of note, there was a nice Dyson hair dryer, which my girlfriend really liked. The resort grounds were beautiful, with a great pool, nice bar and restaurant and other facilities. It was quiet and clean. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you're going for an ocean view, get an upper floor.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha and thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review! We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations in so many respects. I look forward to welcoming you both back to Hotel Wailea for another romantic getaway soon! Warm regards, Markus
Read more
Horus wrote a review Sep 2021
Seattle, Washington17 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
So perfect for my birthday and our anniversary celebration! Wow, from the moment the complementary valet took our keys to check out, the experience was amazing. We love the mature and respectful vibe of this adults only resort so we could fully relax. Details of our assessment are below however in summary, we would most definitely come back to stay here! * View: We got room 121, a partial view room, but to our surprise, from our deck we had full view of the ocean. In other places, “partial view” meant there’s probably a building blocking most of the scenery. * Room size: Plenty of room for us as a couple, essentially a one bedroom apartment with kitchenette. Ample clothing storage. * Beds: really comfortable * Kitchenette: So complete: separate fridge and freezer, microwave, sink, electric teapot, espresso machine, still and sparkling water. And oh yes, real dishes and silverware! * Table/desk: Desk wide enough for two that could double as dining table space. * Seating: L-shaped sectional, chairs for the desk, and full dining set and lounger on the patio. * Bathroom: Generous space, awesome open shower and deep soaking tub, also super wide sink/vanity * Deck/patio: Spacious with amazing views of garden and ocean * Climate control: Full A/C, ceiling fans * Tap water: We used it for coffee/tea and drank it as ice water— no issues * Privacy: felt private with no-rooms in front of us, also pretty high on a hill and wide grassy area out front so no foot traffic in view. * Noise level: Really good, there is some road noise that could be heard from the room, but it’s not like it’s a major thoroughfare so was totally manageable. Also, closing the patio door, it’s pretty silent. * Pests: Almost none. It is the tropics, so outdoors we did get a couple of mosquito bites on the patio. Again, this will be the same anywhere in Hawaii so with some Off I’m sure you’ll be fine if your sensitive. * Pool: Incredible! We surprised ourselves by spending the most time here. Great warm water temperature, pool-side drink and food service, comfy cabanas and lounge chairs, spotless facilities, and not crowded at all. * Beach: With Wailea being such a popular beach, it was such a relief the hotel has it’s own set of lounge chairs/umbrellas just for guests. Staff was super friendly and attentive. Sand and water were amazing, swimmable, and no rocks/coral to speak of near the shore so water shoes not really needed. * Crowds: On the hotel property, pretty much non-existent. Even at the pool, on average we saw about 15 people and everyone was respectful of noise. * Service: Super friendly and felt really genuine talking to each of the staff. * Parking: Valet and self parking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: From the beach to the pool, the earlier in the day you enjoy these things, the quieter it is
See more room tips
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 10 Sep 2021
Aloha and thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review of your birthday and anniversary stay! We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations in so many respects. We do our best to categorize our suites appropriately and we're so happy you enjoyed your view! We strive to make the pool area as welcoming as our suites and we're so happy you enjoyed yourselves so much. I look forward to welcoming you both back to Hotel Wailea for another romantic getaway soon! Warm regards, Markus
Read more
Scott J wrote a review 19 May
Westerville, Ohio18 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and stayed here three nights. If you are looking for an intimate setting for a couples weekend or week, this is it. We enjoyed the view from our room and the adults only environment. We did the Treehouse Dining one night and we would highly recommend it. If you're thinking about it, do it. It will be hard to duplicate the evening anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha and thank you for your excellent review! I am so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and appreciated our focus on the couples' experience. We hope to invite you back again soon! Warm regards, Markus
Read more
Lexie Kerr wrote a review 17 May
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
After extensive research, we are SO happy we landed on Hotel Wailea as it was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. We were there for our honeymoon and cannot sing the hotel's praises enough - from check-in to check-out, we experienced top-notch service and everyone we interacted with was so lovely. We were so happy to stay above the other resorts and enjoy a secluded get-away, but still be able to visit the beach and other resorts via the AMAZING shuttle service. Our room was lovely and felt like a home and both the Bird Cage bar and restaurant were incredible. Would recommend this hotel over any other resort on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am very glad that you had such a wonderful honeymoon at Hotel Wailea - and have memories that will last a lifetime together! We hope to be able to celebrate with you again. Warmest wishes for your happy future together, Markus
Read more
durantj619782014 wrote a review 10 May
San Diego, California6 contributions3 helpful votes
The room, facilities, view, food is 5 stars. The service needs help. It could be something to do with post COVID recruiting and operations but there needs to be more focus on process, training, cross-training, policies, etc. Basically standard operating procedures. 1. The main bar should not be closed for an event during happy hour on a Friday night (or really any night for that matter). 2. There is so much opportunity for a better beach experience with packed lunches and beverages. The packs were mentioned to me by the pool bartender but were not executed well by front desk and seemed to be out of ordinary. 3. The in room breakfast—team lost the tag and was an hour late, This typically wouldn’t be a problem if we didn’t need to leave for a hike. 4. Teach valet staff how to load suitcases in a car. You can’t load 2 large suitcases in back seat because it obstructs rear view. Overall just too many miscues to be a 5 star place at $1500 a night. Needs improvement primarily on training, process, and policies.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Schale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the suites, view and food during your stay with us. Your feedback comes as a surprise as you did not mention anything major or minor when our staff checked in with you throughout your stay. I am sorry to hear you had difficulties with our "amateur" service. After being in operation for over 10 years, with many long-tenured team members and over 1500 five-star reviews on this site, most guests would disagree with your assessment. The Birdcage Bar was closed for only one hour for an event and our restaurant bar was open as an alternative during that time. Duly noted on the luggage, although depending on the size and type of the vehicle and size of the luggage, sometimes the vertical configuration is the only feasible option. Warm regards, Markus
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$1 202 - US$1 491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
resort wailea
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Wailea?
Nearby attractions include Wailea Beach Path (1.2 km), Fishpipe Hawaii (1.2 km), and The Magical Mystery Show! At The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Wailea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Wailea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lobby Lounge at Four Seasons Resort Maui, Kō Restaurant, and The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Wailea have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Wailea offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Wailea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Wailea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Wailea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Japanese.