We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
31609 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9001
E-mail hotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (23)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Ashford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
24 Unit cozy hotel located minutes Mount Rainier National Park. We offer free Wi-Fi, flat screen tvs, microwaves and refrigerators in every room and much more! King suites and conference room available. Small pets welcome.
Read more
Room & Suite (23)23
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
372Reviews7Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 148
  • 50
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ben H wrote a review 11 Jun
Katy, Texas551 contributions172 helpful votes
stayed here for a couple of nights and had no complaints , room was a nice size, comfortable bed and everything in working order , had deer and Elk grazing near by .staff were friendly and helpful , due to ongoing covid restrictions breakfast was on a to go basis , you order the night before and they have it ready for you in the morning to take to your room , great location just a few minutes drive to the park
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Mary B wrote a review 05 Jun
4 contributions
We've never been as disappointed in a hotel as we were at the Nisqually Lodge!!!! It's old, dated, has dirty stained carpeting and is extremely overpriced. There was no extensive breakfast buffet or wine service, as advertised on their website. And we were not given a discount on the price we had to pay. Do yourselves a big favor and stay somewhere else! The only good thing I can say about this motel is that the towels were nice and so was the staff that checked us in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Christian, Owner at Nisqually Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
We are so sorry that your stay was disappointing. We did apologize for the stains on the carpet - and in every room we have a laminated note explaining that due to our extensive sanitizing bleach had unfortunately been spilled in the hallways and rooms.......we are going to be replacing all of the carpeting with hardwood floors this fall. And until we are in Phase 4 we are unable to to a buffet breakfast-This is explained on your confirmation email, this also includes the complimentary wine service. Again, we are sorry for your experience.
Read more
Bruce F wrote a review 01 Jun
Knoxville, Tennessee4 contributions
We booked this place 6 months prior. Upon arrival around 9:30 am and was told to come back at 2:00 pm. Cameras on the TV, Hallway had footprint stains, Room security chain removed. Erie feeling!!! Stay Away!!! We didn’t unpack. After we went to our room with our luggage we immediately booked another place and left. Owners kept stating they just took over 1 week ago and there is no staff other than them.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Christian, Owner at Nisqually Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
We are so sorry about the review you left. There are absolutely NO cameras on any TV in any room here at the Nisqually Lodge. If you would have just followed the cord you would have seen that this is the plug in for the TV itself. All of our Panasonic TV's come set up this way. We did apologize for the stains on the carpet - and in every room we have a laminated note explaining that due to our extensive sanitizing bleach had unfortunately been spilled in the hallways and rooms.......we are going to be replacing all of the carpeting with hardwood floors this fall. The security chain was a overlook on our part and for that again we apologize. Each door is also equipped with a deadbolt as well. Again, we are sorry for your experience.
Read more
Giloriq E wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed at the Nisqually Lodge and was treated to the softest bed I've ever slept on. Elk have been grazing outside my window all night! It's nice to just hang out by the fire in the lobby and get to know Mt Ranier National Park! There is a fresh bakery a one minute walk away that has the best macaroons in the world!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
NationalParkHiker wrote a review Oct 2020
Central, South Carolina892 contributions402 helpful votes
We spent three nights here in early Oct.. Being close to Mt. Rainier NP and some challenging hikes was a definite plus when choosing this accommodation for our trip. This was our first time traveling since the covid outbreak, and we were pleased to find the inn very clean and requiring masks when inside. Still, we wiped everything down again, and then since no one except us would enter our room during our stay, we could be sure that everything had been disinfected. The large room had two queen beds, table and chairs, easy chair, frig, microwave, coffee maker, and hairdryer. Lighting was excellent and especially appreciated since we had just left a motel where it was very poor! The bathroom was adequate if a bit small, but the counter space was good. There was not room to hang our bath towels, so they never dried completely. We don’t mind reusing a towel to save water but would prefer that they not be damp! Extra amenities like shampoo, soap, and lotion had been provided for the additional days of our stay. Because of the virus, breakfast was not served. Instead, guests were asked to select what they’d like the next morning from a list of choices, and then packed bags were ready at 7am at the front desk. Breakfast sandwiches, yogurt, muffins, cereal, fruit cup, hard-boiled eggs, and juice were provided. With few places nearby that served breakfast, this was an efficient and safe way to provide guests with a morning meal. Kudos to the inn for coming up with this solution! We paid just under $500 for three nights. If in the area again, we’d return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$154 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nisqually hotel ashford, nisqually motel ashford
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonAshford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nisqually Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Nisqually Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mount Rainier National Park (7.6 km), Recycled spirits of iron, Sculpture (5.5 km), and Ashford Creek Pottery (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nisqually Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Nisqually Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Nisqually Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nisqually Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wildberry Restaurant, Copper Creek Inn Restaurant, and BaseCamp Bar & Grill.
Are pets allowed at Nisqually Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.