We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$150
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$240
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (261)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 21/10/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/10/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 in Morristown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Madison Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Morristown, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at The Madison Hotel offer a HD flat screen TV, premium movie channels, premium amenities, spaciousness, our rooms are designed with three different color schemes, multiple, convenient charging locations offered near desk and bed side, digital thermostats, black out drapes and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgraded rooms available that include a pull out sofa, refrigerator and microwave. A 24 hour front desk, complimentary parking, room service, library, garden courtyard, snack shop, poolside dining and two (2) restaurants are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. An indoor heated pool, gym featuring cardio equipment as well as free weights and a complimentary continental breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are taking the train to The Madison Hotel, the Convent Station (NJ Transit) stop is directly across the street (easy access from NYC or Morristown and Madison). Close to some of Morristown's most popular landmarks, such as The Frelinghuysen Arboretum, Morristown National Historical Park, George Washington’s Headquarters, Jockey Hollow, Ford Mansion and Museum, Morris Museum, Fosterfields Living Historical Farm, Historic Speedwell, Fort Nonsense and many more make The Madison Hotel a great destination for tourists. While visiting our hotel you may want to try the Keller Family Special at Rod’s Steak and Seafood Grille, it is a house aged USDA Prime NY Sirloin Steak or a Kobe Beef Burger, Disco Fries and a milk shake at GKs Red Dog Tavern. If you’re looking to hike, walk or bike, Traction Line Recreation Trail is a 2 mile paved trail located across the street and Loantaka Brook Reservation (1.1 mi away) is a nice way to relax or exercise outdoors. Drew University, Saint Elizabeth’s University and Fairleigh Dickinson University - Florham are all within 1.5 miles of The Madison Hotel so whether you are taking a college tour, visiting a child or taking a class or seminar at one of the universities The Madison Hotel is the place to stay. WELCOME HOME we know you will enjoy your stay in Morristown, NJ at The Madison Hotel!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
965Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 257
  • 106
  • 31
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
E F wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Have stayed here several times over the last 4 years and never disappointed. Rooms are clean and spacious. Lobby is beautiful with plenty of seating. Each time I made a reservation I spoke with Jennifer. Made reservations several months in advance for graduation in May and checked in several times for updates. She was always very helpful, pleasant and extremely patient which made the overall process even better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Speak to Jennifer She's so helpful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and your continued loyalty to The Madison Hotel. We truly appreciate it and I made sure to let Jennifer see this review. Hopefully we will see you again whenever your travels take you to Northern NJ or even NYC.
Read more
Márcia P wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I and my family stayed in the hotel for 2 week and were very pleased with the hospitality. Only topic to improve is the room clean process. Dificult to schedule and cleaning very shallow. An speciall Thanks for Scott MCarthur, an excelent manager that support us during all our stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and please be sure to come back again. We appreciate the business as well as the feedback.
Read more
Vacationer325519 wrote a review Apr 2022
Cartagena, Colombia3 contributions
We attended a year-end dinner dance at the hotel in December. The hotel, itself a beautiful building, decorated the lobby lushly for the holidays putting us in the spirit of the night immediately. Having arrived early, we waited in the comfortable lobby, sitting around the warm fireplace, along with others from the dinner dance group. I went to get a glass of water from the self-serve bar set up with ice water, but the tank only had ice at the bottom. I went to the front desk to ask if they could refill the water. They said no, but that they could sell me a bottle of water from behind the front desk. I declined, and they suggested I find a staff member who might refill the tank. I walked around, finally found someone, and she kindly went into a closet and brought me a bottle of cold water. The ballroom and, more importantly, the dancefloor were large enough for our group. But the buffet dinner was disappointing, and all the main courses were tasteless and overcooked. The hotel was hosting a wedding at the same time. Perhaps the kitchen was understaffed for two significant events? Maybe they thought dancers didn't care so much about the dinner? So, while the decor and the dance parts were lovely, the dinner was not nearly of a similar standard. I would not return if my dance studio were to hold another event here. (We did not stay overnight, so I can't comment on the rooms.)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Thank you for commenting on our "gorgeous property" we do take a tremendous amount of pride in keeping our hotel true to its "classical decor". I do apologize for the misunderstanding at the desk. It is so out of character for our staff to respond in that way that I respectively ask could you have misheard what she said in the crowded and noisy lobby? Is it possible she said she would have to find someone to refill the tank since she was alone at the desk and could not step away until the other team member returned (normally it is a function of our housekeeping department to keep the beverage station fully stocked)? I only ask you this because you claimed the staff was "indifferent" but the next person you encountered "kindly" (your word) gave you a bottle of cold water (not indifferent in the slightest). I am assuming this was the second team member at the desk returning to the desk since the "closet" you spoke of is connected to the desk. Regardless you heard what you heard and I am sorry it was made clear or loud enough to you. As you can see on this sight and many other sights that allow customer feedback service and food quality are two of our BEST attributes with positive feedback far outpacing negative feedback. Which brings me to your comment on food taste which as we all know is completely subjective and I am sorry you found the offerings bland. We are at the mercy of the event planners that select the buffet items and then at that point we season to taste but as I said earlier your taste buds are different then mine as well as everyone else (your spicy may be bland to me, your sour distasteful to me, my sweet to sweet for you, etc.). Those of us with culinary experience always prefer ala carte versus buffet for exactly that reason. I hope this helps clear things up and if you get a moment take a few minutes to read our review here and elsewhere and hopefully you will come back again next year and your experience will be improved.
Read more
Diane K wrote a review Mar 2022
Wallingford, Pennsylvania864 contributions170 helpful votes
+1
My cousins son finally had his wedding last night after rescheduling twice due to COVID. The venue was beautiful and the food was excellent! So many choices and so well presented. The staff was very professional and they lost nothing out! Rooms were clean and well appointed! My only complaint was the $9.50 for a beer at the after party. I definitely would recommend this venue and come back if ever invited. So fun!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are thrilled your family decided to share their special day at our hotel. We really enjoy being part of something so memorable. Please remember us again for any important life events or simply just to get away. We look forward to your return.
Read more
brianjoshuajourney wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions
+1
Furniture in our room was STAINED and scratched, wallpaper torn. This is NOT a “nice” hotel, it may be ok for a wedding while passing thru, but not overnight. Hotel is 10 years beyond a renovation. The rooms are filled with formica style old and worn early American furniture, every things is stained. Why????? Hotel Front Desk are loud and unprofessional…still!!!! Even though past reviews have commented. Do NOT be fooled by the hotels own photos….this place should be an embarrassment and listed NO higher then 2 stars. Its a old Days Inn at best
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 06 Mar 2022
Your pictures although accurate when you took them are not an accurate reflection of our large property, they are photos of one corner out of the 1,000's you will find here, a few yards of wallpaper out of 10's of thousands of yards you will find here, etc. Although unacceptable and not up to our quality and standards they are just a tiny snapshot of a much larger picture, a picture that consumers can view by looking at photos taken by all types of guests on Facebook, Instagram, Trip Advisor, etc. and form their own opinion based on hundreds of reviews, comments and ratings. A picture that shows that like every other hotel in the world as well as personal homes (at least those with pets and children), universities, hospitals, etc. their is always something not quite perfect, always something that needs to be replaced or touched up but all in all when looking at the big picture it really is quite nice. Most of what you photographed has already been repaired or will be in the next few weeks (hard to do outside repairs in NJ during the winter months) and I am sure new tasks will pop up that require our attention but we will continue to make sure the big picture is quite nice. Not perfect but quite nice. We are committed to forward thinking, ever learning and never being satisfied. Thank you for helping us see clearer and improving our product so guests staying with us for all types of reasons will continue to see past a very few minor imperfections and see the big picture as close to a masterpiece.
Read more
Kevin L wrote a review Dec 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
I've been staying at this hotel for over 30 plus years, it NEVER disappoints! Staff is always friendly, it's clean, great included breakfast, easy free parking and a great restaurant attached, Rod's. My daughters were both married here and they are a fantastic wedding venue as well! It's a wonderful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 03 Mar 2022
Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel and restaurants. We appreciate your business and can't thank you enough for sharing your family's special day with us not once but twice!! We look forward to having you and your loved ones as our guests for another 30+ years.
Read more
Jenna W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Where to even begin?! The Madison Hotel was a perfect reception venue for our wedding in September 2021! The catering team had two weddings going on, the hotel was full and they have two restaurants to manage, in yet the team made us feel like we were the only people that mattered!! Working with Tim leading up to the event was so easy, he had answers within a day or so to all my questions throughout the planning process! They were super flexible with my requests (like bringing in late night Chick-fil-A for my guests!). Service is everything for these types of events and the Madison Hotel's service is OUTSTANDING! From the front desk to the catering team to the maitre d for the night, Carolina, to the team serving guests to the bartenders at the event and in the restaurants - they recognize the importance of providing the highest quality experience from start to finish. Even with everything going on at the hotel, everything came out perfectly on time as we had outlined and discussed leading up to the day including the main course; there was no dragging it out as I've seen at other venues from time to time. I did not have one question or concern going into the reception that day - I had full confidence that it was going to go off smoothly because their experience and expertise was obvious. Carolina was so great to work with. As soon as I got there, she told me everything I needed to know and what to expect. She continuously followed up with my husband and I to see if we needed anything from another drink to putting our cards/decor away in our suite. I was able to relax and enjoy the day I had been planning for over a year knowing that they were on top of every detail. In addition, the rooms were all updated, the front of the hotel made for beautiful pictures, the bars were open until to 2am with some of the kindest bartenders who wanted to make sure we had the best time to the very end and the lobby is a really great spot to sit and recap the day the next morning while enjoying the coffee/breakfast. We spent so much time reminiscing with friends and family there as we finished up. It is a one-stop spot for people who want a great party - this was important to us, we wanted a hotel with lively dining/beverage options so we can keep the party going and everyone could just crash! It worked out as well as I could have imagined. The people working there genuinely want to make sure it is the best day of your life - they were flexible with guests (ex: we had some order a bottle to go and sit outside until very late night!) and flexible with our event (ex: we went over 11pm slightly so the band could give us "one more song"). The one thing to note is that they limit the hotel block to a small number of rooms. We had a lot of people coming in from out of town so you may need another block. Fortunately, we were able to eventually get almost everyone who wanted to be there in a room. Nevertheless, I could not recommend the Madison Hotel more!!! THANK YOU!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2021
Thank you for allowing our hotel the honor of hosting your very special event. We truly appreciate it and hope that our hotel and restaurants will always be a part of you and your extended families celebrations.
Read more
Gianna A wrote a review Oct 2021
Fair Lawn, New Jersey33 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I don’t have enough great things to say about The Madison Hotel. Once we got to see The Madison Hotel in person, I knew it was definitely going to be our wedding venue, and we didn’t even take the time to look anywhere else. From the start, we worked with Charles, and he ended up being the maître d for our wedding too. We are so lucky we got to work with Charles because he is truly incredible at his job! He answered all of our questions along the way, always made us feel at ease, and went above and beyond the day of our wedding. He made sure everything went according to plan, and was always present and visible throughout the day. Our experience at The Madison Hotel would not have been complete without Charles. Not only were the staff and service at The Madison Hotel fantastic, the food was also delicious! Everyone kept saying how much they enjoyed their food and drinks during the cocktail hour and reception. We chose to have our ceremony and reception within The Conservatory, and that was one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. The room was absolutely gorgeous from day to night, and made for the absolutely best wedding photos! It also made things so easy for us, and our guests, having one venue for getting ready, wedding photos, the ceremony and reception, and hotel accommodations. I would highly recommend The Madison Hotel to anyone who needs a venue for their wedding or special event!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
What high praise indeed!!! Thank you for all your kind words and for allowing our hotel the honor of hosting your wedding. We truly appreciate it and hope you and all your loved ones will return often in celebration of other lifetime milestones or simply just to get away.
Read more
Jamie B wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
WOW!! Just impeccable service, wonderful staff, stunning ceremony site, delicious food, wonderful time all around!! Will recommend you all to all my brides (I am a bridal stylist and designer in NYC) and to all my friends getting married or having any event! 💜💜💜 We had the time of our lives celebrating our dear friends wedding last night. I can’t get over how gorgeous everything was. The staff was just fabulous, the food was beyond amazing and everything flowed so professionally from start to finish. This was the best wedding venue I have ever been to. 5 stars and then some.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind words and your business. We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself and truly appreciate your recommendation. Please visit us again whenever you need to simply get away. We look forward to welcoming you "home".
Read more
George wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
$230 a night for bugs in the bathtub and sink faucet that did not work….place is reasonably clean but very old and tired…..would not stay there again. Lobby is nice, staff somewhat indifferent.no hot breakfast as Rhee said there would be
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McArthur, General Manager at The Madison Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2021
Thank you for staying with us. I am disappointed things were not as you hoped for and truly am sorry about the cold water in the bathroom sink being difficult to use. I wish that you had not waited until check out to tell us since it was a very quick fix that we repaired in less then five minutes. In regards to the spider I wish there was something that could have done differently but just like in our own home spiders and other insects appear regardless of what we try to do to stop them. Lastly, we do not nor have we ever advertised a complimentary hot breakfast and I don't know who Rhee is and why she told you something that wasn't factual. I know you said you would not stay here again but I hope you would reconsider now that you know about the breakfast offerings.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$217 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madison hotel morristown
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyMorris CountyMorristown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Madison Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Madison Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mayo Performing Arts Center (3.3 km), Jockey Hollow (2.8 km), and Morristown National Historical Park, Washington Headquarters and Museum (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Madison Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Madison Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Madison Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Madison Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include H2Ocean Restaurant & Raw Bar, Rod's Steak And Seafood Grille, and The Committed Pig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Madison Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Madison Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Madison Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Madison Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Madison Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.