We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona

Save
Share
75-146, Sarona Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3725
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
HIExpress.com
US$207
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$207
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$229
US$172
View Deal
SAVE US$57
Hotels.comUS$207
eDreamsUS$207
HurbUS$229
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (241)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (276)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kailua-Kona, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona features 24 hour front desk, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Ali'i Drive (0.1 mi) and St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.1 mi) make Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona a great place to stay when visiting Kailua-Kona.

While in Kailua-Kona, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, including Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery (0.5 mi), Big Island Grill (0.1 mi), and Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill (0.6 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Kona Henna, Lava Light Galleries, and Trudy's Island Arts.

Enjoy your stay in Kailua-Kona!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
661Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 323
  • 250
  • 54
  • 16
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AbhiBengalTiger wrote a review Jan 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India33 contributions4 helpful votes
Extremely bad stay. The rooms were not clean at all. We both have got lots of bed bug bites while staying . The front desk staff was not helpful even the hotel did not have complimentary tea/coffee in breakfast. We could see bee bugs also in our beds. Even water is not available and that also they charge No one is cleaning the rooms . Our trash bags were full for 2 days and we had no place to keep the trash. this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed Least I expected this sort of experience staying at a Holiday Inn
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Abhiroop G, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. What you described is certainly not the pleasant lodging experience I want for our guests. I am sorry to learn that the room cleanliness and level of service received fell below expectations. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I trust their capacity to look into this and avoid similar issues from happening again. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
mikebakkar wrote a review Nov 2020
Sacramento, California42 contributions38 helpful votes
Close to restaurants and few minutes walk to park and beach. Due to COVID the reception area has no chairs. At check in Diann was quick and efficient and courteous. Free take away simple breakfast in brown bag with small yogurt, cereal, milk, one banana , oatmeal, bagel and one cream cheese & no eggs. We had a deluxe room with desk, sofa and king bed and large flat panel tv. The room and bathroom were very clean. The best part of our stay coffee in our room with coffee pods
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jon C wrote a review Oct 2020
Seattle, Washington219 contributions61 helpful votes
Was here a couple of times recently. Comfortable rest. Gym was open, but one had to 'register' with the front desk. Basic facility. Located in the town area, close to restauarants...and a block from the water.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 06 Nov 2020
Hi Jon C, Thank you for taking the time of the day to share your stay experience. We take pride in offering great hospitality and relaxing accommodations to all of our guests. It is rewarding to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the fitness center during your stay. Although, I noticed that you found the cleanliness standards and rooms at its average best only. I shared your comments with the upper management to check on some areas that may need attention. We will use your valuable review as a tool to ensure we’re providing the best experience possible. Again, it is refreshing to read that we positively affected your stay. As our valued returning guest, we would cherish another moment to host your next stopover. Warmest regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
cdproctor wrote a review Jul 2020
10 contributions10 helpful votes
Due to the pandemic many hotels in Kona were closed, and I just stumbled on this one. It was about 50% less than I had expected to pay, and the location was perfect. The room was large and very quiet. Comfortable bed and bedding. I appreciated the Keurig coffee maker. Since I stayed at another Holiday Inn recently I came prepared with extra coffee pods for the machine. The Front Desk ladies were all polite and helpful, and the rest of the staff always said hello. The pool is for kids, so don't plan to swim laps. The breakfast doesn't interest me since those kind of buffets tend to bring out the worst in people who think that Free Food is an invitation to get greedy. So I can't say what this hotel had to offer. I went out for breakfast. The location is awesome. One block off Alii and all the dining and shopping. My only disappointment was that the check in lady handed me a memo to inform me that housekeeping was only available every 5 days unless specially requested. For me, one of the pleasant things about a hotel vacation is coming back to a clean room each evening. I was unhappy about this, but I survived. I guess they had some staffing issues along with a busy hotel. All in all it was a good week, and I will return. The price was right, and I enjoyed my stay. A few glitches didn't change that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
LehuaMonsoon wrote a review Jul 2020
Honolulu, Hawaii813 contributions72 helpful votes
Q: When is the smell of body odor on a pillow OK? When is mildew and mold on a door jamb OK? When is it OK for you to have to ask for TP at a hotel? A: NEVER. Several of the reasons I chose this place: 1) no resort fee 2) parking fee is only $10 a day, vs $20 at the Sheraton 3) smack dab in the middle of Ali'i Drive (but sadly, a COVID ghost town) 4) walking distance to restaurants and bars 5) free "breakfast" - which is restricted to cold items, no hot foods, including coffee. They have a coffee maker in the room. 6) cheaper than the Sheraton, of course. 7) microwave and fridge in room. Need fridge for wine and stuff. 8) Yelpers and Tripadvisor mentioned this place was "clean" - hmmmm. What I loved, besides the reasons above: 1) super cold A/C 2) quiet rooms, couldn't hear neighbors talking or snoring 3) large room 4) hard, stiff comfy beds (I love hard beds) What I did not like about this place: 1) BODY ODOR ON PILLOW. The minute my tired head hit the pillow, it smelled like Uncle Billy Bob's armpit. I am not making this up! Fortunately it was only restricted to the hard two pillows, so I tried sleeping with the soft marshmallowy pillows but they sucked, so I ended up rolling a towel for my head and banished the smelly pillows to the couch. 2) dirty stained carpets, and I mean stains everywhere. You'd think with COVID closures they had time to clean the carpet. I told my son to keep his slippers and sneakers on. No walking barefoot here! 3) mold/mildew on door jambs (see pics). I ended up wiping some of it off with hand sanitizer on toilet paper but I wasn't here on vacation to clean some dirty room! 4) Tipping the housekeeper did not help to get more toiletries. Nope. 5) I had to ask for toilet paper refill in the morning at front desk. The one in our room was skating on thin ice. I've never in my entire hotel life had to ask front desk for TP. Never. 6) Front desk girl was a bit frazzled. I felt grateful that she was ministering to me being there, that's how I felt. She was rather intimidating. My neighbors said the same thing, so it wasn't only me who felt a bit scared. Another morning there was a different woman, and her BF was sitting on some cabinets, that was weird. 7) Phone did not work, which was stupid, because I had to keep going downstairs to talk to the front desk. 8) Pull chain on lamps were either greasy, or corroded. My neighbors said the same thing about their room. It's not a good feeling so you have to wash your hands after you touch it. It felt dirty. Things nearby: 1) Walking distance to one out of three open ABC store that closes at 7:30 PM. 2) Only places open for sit down dining that I researched were Papa Konas (til 11:00 PM on Sat night), Fish Hopper (check hours), Gertrude's Jazz Bar, Gypsea Gelato, Pancho and Lefty's Mexican (about 500 yards from hotel). We actually ate at Pancho's and Papa Kona's and listened to Gertrude's pumping out the jazz on a deserted Ali'i Drive, it was kind of surreal. 3) Hulihe'e Palace (closed) and the Mokauikaua Church (not sure if open), and the Hilo pier where we watched people fishing at sunset. 4) Sack N Save and another grocery store five minutes drive so you can stock up on wine, sushi, chips and cakes by the slice. How much did all of this cost? Approximately $355 for two nights, including tax and two day's worth of parking. Return Factor - only if I were really desperate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 07 Oct 2020
Hello LehuaMonsoon, Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel has the perfect environment of simplicity and luxury. I saw your comments and appreciated your mention of our location and breakfast. I am sorry however for the inconvenience with the stained carpets, the smell, and the lack of amenities among other things. I understand your disappointment after what you have described. I shared your remarks with our managing team and have created a plan to prevent these issues from happening again. I invite you to stay with us on your next trip. Warm regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.2 km), Hulihe'e Palace (0.3 km), and Mokuaikaua Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kona Coffee Cafe, Kope Lani Heavenly Coffee & Ice Cream, and Scandinavian Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kamakahonu (0.6 km) and Ahuena Heiau (0.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.