We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Save
Share
72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Bed And Breakfast
US$985
View Deal
travelup.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$985
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2253)
Pool & Beach (572)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/09/30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Updated 20/09/30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and over 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Bed And Breakfast
3 535Reviews132Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2 997
  • 311
  • 126
  • 64
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MuyFun wrote a review 24 Feb
Newport Beach, California85 contributions80 helpful votes
I was thrilled to be able to take a vacation given the COVID mess. I realize the property has only recently been reopened. The service was not nearly as good at the many other four seasons properties I have stayed at in the past. The room was an ocean view that with tax and other fees was $2K/night. Way overpriced given the level of service. 1. Room cleaning was bad. Sand on the floor, carpet not vacuumed daily. Coffee and creamer not restocked. 2. Getting into the restaurants at dinner was not easy with long waits. 3. The concierge screwed up the billing for the day trips (Entire excursions were billed to one party in our group). 4. Room service food was delicious. I was happy about this because I had to eat room service several nights because the restaurants were full. 5. Poolside service was hit and miss. I expect more from four seasons. 6. The beach was very rocky and when the high tide came in at night, the walkway on the property would be covered with sand. Only cleaned up intermittently. 7. Resort is being rebuilt. Lots of construction noise. 8. Spa was nice with great massages 9. Gym was open I'm giving them a break for what should be a 1-star review - due to the COVID closure. I can say with confidence that I will NEVER stay at this property again. My expectations for a four seasons property with a room this expensive were not even close to being met. The four seasons should change the name until they get it together.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us, I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not equal to your past Four Seasons experiences. We are addressing these issues within the team and appreciate you taking the time to show us room for improvement. If you would like to provide any additional comments please feel free to contact me directly at any time. With Aloha, Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
CKGeneva wrote a review 23 Feb
Geneva40 contributions102 helpful votes
The hotel is clearly popular as it is crowded but I guess we have a completely different vision of luxury. We stayed just 2 nights in a 2 bedroom 'ocean' view suite and will clearly never return. For that price its about as bad as it guest from a value for money perspective. Yes its clearly not a high rise building but it is however a crowded building and the ocean view is mostly a view on the pool with a little piece of ocean behind this. Forget about privacy and seclusion. This is not a slow life quiet destination. Instead it is crowded everywhere. Restaurants are so loud that with our family of 6 we could not hear ourselves talk. If you love restaurants where its hard to get a booking (which it is), where there are people everywhere in classy attires than you ll love this. If your idea of a holidays is spending time away from a buzzing New York restaurant then you won't love this. Like any crowded place you certainly have the sentiment that something must be great here for everyone to come. The fact that the paying cabanas are located at the edge of the pool in front of the most crowded path with no privacy whatsoever (and yes there a much more discreet options facing the ocean) gave us a hint. These were always occupied or reserved. I guess if you love showing how much money you have and showing your new attires (perhaps with the price tag still on it) you ll love this place. If you like relaxing away from the crowd you' ll hate it. Service is like in any place that doesn't need your business. Its like a popular private school with a long waiting list. You are not happy? well there is a long waiting list and we don't need your business so move on. We had lots of trouble in booking a restaurant for the nights we were staying in and had to eat much lated than we wanted - not to mention long waiting times. Each of our request was met with a 'sorry this is not possible'. The first morning in the crowded breakfast area we waited 50 mins for our food. The next morning I went in 20 mins earlier to give the orders ahead of time and limit the wait but that was totally impossible. The hotel claims to love feedback but it never seemed like they were really interested or followed up in any way. Covid wise the big island feels safe but I was not particularly impressed by the procedures. The tunraround time for instance in cleaning a room is 3 hours. In that time the room windows are kept close. There were alternative rooms (hotel wasn't full) but we were still given a room previously occupied a few hours earlier. Last but not least the kids club is an infamy. We have visited quite a few kids club duding Covid (notably the exceptional ones at Waldorf Maldives and Soneva sushi) and have seen 4-5 every year in the last 15 years. This one is by very very fare the single worst one ever. I cant even think of a close second. We looked to bring our youngest son in the first afternoon. There were 4 children sitting on a table each watching a movie (this is what the kids club calls free time). The next morning we brought him in and whilst they pretend he would be doing arts and crafts they actually put him in front of a video game. As I was driving to rent buggy boards 20 mins away (apparently the FS doesn't like the idea of not having you pay for any activity and hard to pay for BB rental so they don't have any) I got a call about 25 mins later claiming my son wanted to go back in the room. As I was in the car I said Id be there 20 mins later to the exasperation of the kids club team. My son hated his 45 mins there. The staff is probably either hired from former DMV disgruntled employees with no interest whatsoever for children or perhaps from former prison guards. No direspect for these professions but clearly not trained at looking after children. What was frustrating was that the only people that looked friendly were the dedicated team situated near the pools doing paid arts and craft. If you pay 40$. That was another element we did not like. As a client you are just as good as your wallet. Every activity you have to pay for. On the positives, food was good and the they are great at looking after allergies. Clearly the four seasons doesn't need our business (and clearly they don't care) but equally the hotel industry has changed. We have fond memories of great FS stays (Landaa Giravaru being the best) but time has passed and there are so many better alternatives for similar price points (Aman, Rosewood and smaller private hotels like Soneva) and we don't need them either. We are done with FS. So long.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us, I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not equal to your past experiences with The Four Seasons. We are addressing these issues within the team and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. If you would like to provide any additional comments please feel free to contact me directly at any time. With Aloha, Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
happpytraveler wrote a review 22 Feb
California27 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed in a residence within the resort and paid the upcharge to have daily access to Four Seasons. We had a very pleasant stay and were able to enjoy all the restaurants, spa and beach. Unfortunately, we could not sit next to our favorite pool in the Palm Grove area. Home renters are not allowed to sit next to any of the pools, only on the beaches on the covered lounges. Service beachside was not quite as good as we’ve had in the past poolside but perhaps some of the decrease in service had to do with Covid. No spritzing, sunglass or iPad cleaning, some days no snacks and slower service in general. Dinners were lovely at Ulu and Beach Tree and it was great to have nightly entertainment. The spa was nice for services but of course the hot tub, outdoor showers, steam room, sauna were off-limits. My massage was wonderful but my husband’s was not satisfactory for him. He didn’t bother to voice a complaint when he knew all the therapists had not been working much in the past year. The weight room in the gym was disappointing because even though there was a 4 person max, it was not monitored and too many people would crowd in. It did not feel safe on some days so I left. We felt mostly safe from covid but noticed some guests flouted the rules and were never confronted by staff. When at this resort we spend most of our time at the pools so due to the pool seating constraints we will probably stay at the hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha! Thank you for providing such valuable feedback and I apologize that your stay with us was less than ideal. We would love to hear any additional comments you may have, so please feel free to contact me directly at any time. Mahalo! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
HilaryS wrote a review 10 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is our second year in a row visiting Hualalai. The resort is absolutely wonderful. Their new renovations are beautiful. The food is delicious. The service is off the charts consistently perfect. They have done a fantastic job of making things feel safe in spite of Covid. I can’t say enough great things about the resort. It truly is wonderful and we can’t wait to go back again next year. Hualalai is our happy place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Michelle L wrote a review Jan 2021
Dallas, Texas86 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
As usual they never disappoint. We were surprised they would valet our vehicle. We chose to stay at the Hilton up the road which obviously did not compare. The food/drinks and staff were wonderful as usual. Had we known how run down the Hilton was up the road we wouldn’t have stayed there. Our next trip we definitely will stay at this resort. They have kept the resort looking wonderful and are incredibly accommodating despite covid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive dining experience with us here at Hualalai. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$844 - US$1 545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
four seasons resort hualalai at historic ka`upulehu hotel kailua-kona, 4 seasons resort hualalai at historic ka`upulehu, four seasons kailua-kona, kailua-kona four seasons, four seasons hawaii, four seasons hualalai
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
243
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Which popular attractions are close to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Nearby attractions include Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) (2.6 km), Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i (3.2 km), and Kiholo Bay (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Beach Tree Bar and Lounge, and Hualalai Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Four Seasons Resort Hualalai have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Four Seasons Resort Hualalai offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.