We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1225 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4333
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$169
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/12
FindHotelUS$166
Priceline
CheapTicketsUS$169
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20/06/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Quisby
Updated 20/06/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 120 Speciality lodging in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Quisby is an upscale hostel in the Lower Garden District. We offer ridiculously comfortable beds, a bar downstairs for making new friends, free breakfast, and blazing fast WiFi throughout for making your friends back home jealous.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Snack bar
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, German
469Reviews15Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 92
  • 21
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RJ S wrote a review Jul 2020
Boston, Massachusetts
Location is excellent, just a few blocks off Lee Circle en route to the FQ, with St. Charles and the Garden District right outside the door. Staff was super friendly, especially the woman working evenings/nights. I stayed in a 4b hostel room, though I had it to myself the whole time--not guaranteed, but worked out that way. It would have been tight quarters during pandemic (I've had the virus already and do not think I'll be reinfected or a carrier this soon), but nice shared en suite: sink outside the toilet and shower room, and individual reading lights and electrical outlets. Room seemed not clean since prior occupant, who had not confined to one bed, so that caused some confusion around which bed was mine when I checked in. And there was a lot of dirt on the floor: that faux-wood paneling Motel 6 lately favors, I don't know why, because it hides nothing. Huge locker, nice, but requires a full-size combo lock for mechanism to close, won't lock with a little luggage lock.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from David Gindin, General Manager at The Quisby
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for the in-depth review! We have updated our COVID housekeeping protocols to better manage checked out beds in the shared rooms. I'm confident the new system patches up these kinds of holes.
Read more
Adventurer244212 wrote a review Mar 2020
Stayed there during the coronavirus crisis. The staff was not only helpful in taking additional measures to protect us all (like upgrading to an individual room, on demand cleaning, etc) but they also communicated all of their procedures which made me feel reassured. Definitely necessary in this dire times!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from David Gindin, General Manager at The Quisby
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Glad to hear that we were able to make you feel comfortable during these very not comfortable times. Hopefully, you can visit us once things are up and running closer to normal again.
Read more
Olacia Akon wrote a review Mar 2020
Memphis, Tennessee
First time in a hostel, last time. Towels we were given had hair on them. Hair was on the beds and in the lockers. Small rooms, hard bunk beds, weird splatters on the walls. The place made me itch. I just wasn’t comfortable and only stayed one night before finding accommodations more suitable. I wanted to try a hostel as a budget travel option. Never again. But I’m almost 50 so I may be out of touch. You definitely get what you pay for - the lower cost wasn’t worth my lack of comfort. Very thin walls and a weird odor throughout the hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from David Gindin, General Manager at The Quisby
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Hey alaciaa! We work pretty hard to make sure every guest is comfortable but it looks like we missed the mark. Were you able to bring these concerns to the Front Desk? They can usually move you to a different room and supply new towels. I will speak with the housekeeping staff to make sure they are checking serviced rooms for these details.
Read more
Andrew O wrote a review Feb 2020
I have been to New Orleans twice in 6 months and both time I stayed at the quisby hostel on st.charles Avenue. I’d never stayed at a hostel before and was a little apprehensive about it. But, my stay at the quisby was a fantastic hostel experience, the rooms are clean and comfy, and the staff a friendly and helpful. They also put on their own entertainment through the week so if fancy a night in with a few drinks at the 24hr bar or join one of there own tours it’s all hassle free. I can’t recommend this place enough, if you’re in doubt trust me you’ll love it. Plus it’s only a few minutes to canal street by streetcar which makes its location super convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from David Gindin, General Manager at The Quisby
Responded 13 Oct 2020
So glad you got the full Quisby experience! Come see us again soon!
Read more
Kumaresh_sekaran wrote a review Jan 2020
Bangalore
First thing to impress me was the cleanliness of the rooms. The bed linen is spotless white! I had chosen the place due to proximity to Old quarters. Tram line nearby is convenient. However, the staff warn you to walk outside alone in the night. You need to walk under the freeway to reach the old quarters and the night there are lot of homeless people over there. So, please be cautious. The usage of attached bath in the room can be a bit challenging if you need to avoid disturbing other room mates. I couldn't sleep till mid-night due to other room mates coming in and using the toilet and then i had to wake up at 5am to use the bath to catch an early morning flight. Beds are very convenient. Bar is lively. However, do not expect a huge spread for the free breakfast. Its just a simple spread of baked items. Difficult to find cheap vegan restaurants nearby. Elevator definitely requires an overhaul. Overall - i would recommend this convenient place. Enjoy the free Sangria.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidG15284, General Manager at The Quisby
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Glad to hear that you had a good time with us! We pride ourselves on being clean, comfortable and social. Hopefully, you can visit us again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansCentral City / Central City-Garden District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Quisby
Which popular attractions are close to The Quisby?
Nearby attractions include The National WWII Museum (0.4 km), Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.4 km), and Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Quisby?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Quisby?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Quisby?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Quisby?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mais Arepas, Seed, and French Truck Coffee.
Is The Quisby located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of New Orleans.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Quisby?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Quisby?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Quisby?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Our Sacred Stories (2.0 km), Hermann-Grima House (1.9 km), and Longue Vue House and Gardens (6.1 km).
Is The Quisby accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.