We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West

Save
Share
350 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
DoubleTree
US$295
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/18
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$189
View deal
Booking.comUS$295
Expedia.comUS$295
Destinia.comUS$303
View all 21 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (865)
Room & Suite (255)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/05/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Updated 21/05/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#424 of 528 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York - Times Square West, just steps from the Broadway Theater District. Along with stunning views of the Empire State Building, our New York Times Square hotel offers an enviable location near Rockefeller Center, the Chrysler Building, Madison Square Garden and other iconic attractions. The Port Authority Terminal is moments away, and the Jacob Javits Center is a short walk - perfect when visiting for a convention. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you with a signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Settle into a guest room with a 40-inch HDTV, premium cable, coffeemaker and well-equipped workspace. WiFi access keeps you connected and blackout curtains ensure a great night's sleep. Upgrade for a higher floor, prime city views, satellite TV and a walk-in shower.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
446Restaurantswithin 0 km
138Attractionswithin 0 km
2603Reviews249Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 725
  • 762
  • 468
  • 314
  • 335
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Queenie02 wrote a review Today
Leeds, United Kingdom39 contributions64 helpful votes
Stayed over Thanksgiving, the hotel was very busy it could be quiet a wait for an elevator and the lobby was often full of people waiting to checkin/out and use the elevator. I was surprised that reception staff wore their outdoor coats but they needed them due to the constant cold draughty from the automatic doors. The hotel is clean the beds were comfortable but not much storage space. Bathroom small but had a good shower. We had no heating in our room it was cold! Maintenance came quickly and took literally mins to get air-con on, it sounded like an airplane taking off. We went out came back in and it was off again. Repeat visit from maintenance and it was back on again very quickly but very loud, worked for about an hour and went off again. It was late we went to bed. It was warmer in the corridor than in our room all of our stay. The quality of the carpets and furnishing are not of good standard but we didn’t pay a lot for our stay so shouldn’t expect anything else I suppose. The one thing I really didn’t like was how black bags at time lined the outside of the hotel, I mean piled high and the length of the front of the hotel. The staff we spoke to were friendly and polite. Just a short walk to Times Square/Hells kitchen the street outside has a permanent strong smell of weed which is the one thing that would definitely put me off staying here again but if your on a budget it’s value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Meg I wrote a review Aug 2021
Varna, Bulgaria86 contributions76 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The only thing is they don't enforce masks in elevators, lobby and public areas. At one point, there was probably 50-60 people in the lobby, almost all maskless - kinda scary. Otherwise, they did their best to accommodate our needs. The maintenance guy came to fix the AC within minutes. Value for the quality and location is absolutely amazing! I was super impressed by the isolation. I could barely hear anything from the street, possibly only some really loud ambulances passing by the same street. Would probably stay there again if I come to NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 24 Aug 2021
megitooo1992, Thank you for being a guest at our hotel and for sharing your views with others. It was delightful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West. Please know it has been a top priority to coordinate our efforts throughout our hotel to ensure continuity in keeping our guests safe. Therefore, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we may take proper action. Thank you once more for your comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Ben Elie Hotel Manager
Read more
Molly C wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Booked this stay a while ago and wow it was questionable. Firstly you are charged $50 per night as a deposit that takes up to 10 working days after your stay to refund. Our bathroom light didn’t work and if you were epileptic the hotel would have a huge problem on their hands. I spoke to reception and they advised the hotel is sold out and they cannot move us, we would have to wait until the follow day. Waited for the following day and no news. Our second to last day we had a worker from the hotel walk straight into our room at 7am, he claimed that he was told we aren’t supposed to be in this room because it is dangerous with the light. The hotels location is 10 min from Times Square, watch out for the characters who stand around the coach station - keep your pockets closed and bags shut. The gentleman at reception who checked us in was lovely but the geography skills were slightly extremely out. For tourists anyway. Advised we were walking distance to Brooklyn bridge and it were more an hours walk from the hotel. The cabs from the airport are $65 flat rate, the hotel will try and charge more if you use the concierge as they quoted us $85 back to JFK. if you walk to the top of the street (3min walk) you’ll save money with a taxi rank there. Rooms within the hotel are tiny, very much a base which is what we needed anyway. The lifts within the hotel are rubbish you have to leave yourself 15 mins to go up and down them before you get to the right floor you like. With the deposit taken at the beginning of the trip the receptionist advised if we have any meals or drinks in the bar it’ll be taken off the deposit. We have a drink each totally to $24/25 total, we asked for it to be taken off the deposit, the waiter advised that basically it is too much effort to do that and he needs management authorisation for it and wanted us to pay cash (and tip!) You get asked if you’d like rooms cleaned daily at check in. Don’t bet anything that this happens because it doesn’t. The bedding used is a bed sheet tucked over a bare duvet every other sweaty person sleeps with before and after you. We didn’t get our rooms cleaned with towels and bedding daily because we believe the light issue the wrote us off that room thinking we had moved. Poor. The hotel is fine for a base and to be walking distance for Times Square and 5th Avenue, subways are confusing we used google maps. Not the DoubleTree standard you would expect at all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded yesterday
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance and cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay with us. We do not take such concerns lightly, and we will share your comments with appropriate individuals as we strive to improve our guest experience. We also apologize for the issues you had with your room and that we did not provide you with another room because there are times when we do not have the room unoccupied and available. We regret any frustration and inconvenience this caused, and we are very grateful for your patience. We strive to provide outstanding service to our guests; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services moving forward. Please know Any incidental hold remaining will be refunded back to your account, and this can take your bank a few business days to process. We regret your disappointment with the changes in our housekeeping policy. This information is updated on our website, and we are sorry if this was not adequately communicated to you. We appreciate your review, and we hope you will consider a return visit so that we can make it up to you. Margarita Pavlova, General Manager
Read more
Nathan A wrote a review Nov 2021
Ogden, Utah28 contributions5 helpful votes
This was quite possibly the worst Hilton-family hotel I’ve ever visited. I booked my stay hoping for a solid hotel near the theater district, and I was severely disappointed. The furnishings were almost entirely made of chipped, gray-painted particle board, the rooms small, and the bathrooms tiny. That wouldn’t be enough to justify such a low rating, though. Additionally the front desk was understaffed which led to long lines to talk to anyone (and no answer when calling from the room), the room was dingy and dirty, and the bathroom only had one small bottle of shower gel and a bar of soap. To make things worse, I felt unsafe. About 3 am the fire alarm sounded. I listened for instructions and none came for quite a few minutes. When they finally did the voice went in and out and it was unintelligible. I didn’t know if we were supposed to evacuate or stay where we were. Ten minutes (and a splitting headache) later, I finally got through to the front desk by calling with my cell phone (they wouldn’t answer the room phone), and they told me not to worry but that they couldn’t turn off the alarm until the fire department walked up to the twenty-somethingth floor. Meanwhile the blaring went on for what seemed like a lifetime with unintelligible announcements every few minutes. I got no sleep but felt unsafe more than anything - if it was an actual emergency I would not have any idea what was going on! I will never EVER stay here again. I’d rather stay at a seedy hostel than this supposedly mid-tier Doubletree. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded yesterday
Thank you for evaluating your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations with the amount of space in your room that you receive at our other locations. Being located in a city like New York comes with some size restrictions. We are also sorry for not preparing your room before your arrival. We will share your comments with appropriate individuals as we strive to improve our guest experience. It was also disappointing to read the concerns you had with our associates. Your total satisfaction is our top priority, and we regret the inconvenience you encountered. We regret that you had to undergo the fire alarms sounding in the middle of the night, disturbing your rest. We sincerely apologize for the difficulty this caused you. We truly value your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Margarita Pavlova, General Manager
Read more
Bas J wrote a review Nov 2021
Saba17 contributions
Having stayed here previously with no issues, I was confident when recommending this as a place to stay for a Thanksgiving family gathering in NYC. However, we were quickly disappointed and will not be staying here again. We urge you to think twice about booking a room here. The central location of the hotel was the only thing worthwhile this time. The rooms are small. No fridge was present in our room. Storage space is very minimal. Oh, and let us not forget that you will spend the majority of your stay waiting on an elevator… The difficulties began with (and in fact mostly all stemmed from) very rude and unhelpful staff. The check-in process was inefficient with a lengthy line standing in a freezing lobby. The staff even wears down coats, hats, and gloves because the lobby is so cold! The staff were flat out rude on multiple occasions. We got keys that did not work and had to return multiple times to get the keys reset. They failed to inform us that room cleaning was only upon request. We did not get the infamous "Doubletree Cookies”… While we can look past most hiccups, the most irritating part was the unprofessional lack of communication and room cleaning. The morning after we checked in, someone came to clean the room without us asking. They made the beds and left clean towels, but did not vacuum or take the trash. This was not a big deal, as we figured the room would be cleaned the following day. When we returned on the afternoon of the third day, nothing had been cleaned. We called down to the front desk and were told that someone would be up to clean the room shortly. We waited two hours and called again. This time, we were told that room cleaning was only available upon request and they would need 24 hours notice. We explained that this was unacceptable and that adequate cleaning had not been done the prior day. They stated the would have someone come pick up the trash and leave clean towels. We never EVER saw anyone. When we called and asked to speak to a manager, we were disconnected. We had to take it into our own hands to find an open supply closet to get clean towels, toilet paper, and coffee. Trash from FIVE days sat in our room for the entirety of our stay. Wet and dirty towels lay on the floor, which was not only gross, but also a tripping hazard in an already tiny room. There was no mention in the room or upon check-in about their room cleaning policy. I know the work atmosphere must be hard for the staff and I can make excuses for this, but I just cannot excuse people who lie and do not follow their given word. We were so very disgusted with this hotel. Fix your staff, fix your issues, and do better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for evaluating your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the delay you encountered during check-in and the inconvenience you had with your keys. We will share your comments with our front desk team so that such concerns do not happen again. We also apologize for the behavior of our associates, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We strive to provide thoughtful hospitality to our guests; therefore, we regret this was not your experience. It was disappointing to know we did not meet your expectations with the amount of space in your room that you receive at our other locations. Being located in a city like New York comes with some size restrictions. We truly value your feedback, and we want you to know we have taken significant measures recently to improve elevator traffic, possibly since your visit. Our associates strive to help in all ways possible to minimize any inconveniences. Your frustration is understandable, and we are very grateful for your patience. We also regret your disappointment with the changes in our housekeeping policy. This information is updated on our website, and we are sorry if this was not adequately communicated to you. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope you will consider a return visit so that we can make it up to you. Margarita Pavlova, General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Times Square / Midtown West / Garment District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
612
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape Games (0.3 km), Shop Gotham NYC Shopping Tours (0.4 km), and Exit Escape Room (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Liberty Bagels Midtown, Los Tacos No. 1, and Obao.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.