We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Lake Inn & Resort

Save
Share
86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
US$178
US$144
View deal
Booking.comUS$178
Expedia.comUS$167
PricelineUS$178
Hotels.comUS$167
Trip.comUS$173
eDreamsUS$178
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (103)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (318)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/05/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Updated 21/05/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Flat Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
A Cherished Mountain Retreat with Hospitality You’ll Love. At Highland Lake Inn & Resort, we offer guests a wealth of amenities and options, all at an uncompromising value. There are no other hotels or resorts near Asheville, NC, quite like us—encompassing such a wide range of enticing amenities and accommodations. Poised atop 26 scenic acres on a private lake in the town of Flat Rock, NC in Western North Carolina, our goal is to deliver an authentic mountain experience that’s as vast and varied as these storied hills. Experience a resort that is rich in history, passionate about the environment and eager to deliver warm hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
521Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 325
  • 120
  • 35
  • 23
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dturtle24 wrote a review 01 Aug
Blfd34 contributions10 helpful votes
This place is beautiful! We have enjoyed a relaxing yet active weekend. The grounds are beautiful. The food amazing. Fishing in the lake was a great time. The room and bed were very comfortable. This has been a most relaxing weekend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Grup, Owner at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded yesterday
We are so happy you had a great relaxing time. Thanks for the very kind words of support!
Read more
David Mark Seidel wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
HIghland Lake Inn is our sanctuary away from home. The staff is excellent, our cabin is super cozy and very close to the Lake....the Lake is supremely wonderful for swimming and spending lots of relaxing hours near the dock. The grounds hold a peaceful feel that supports much serenity of mind body and spirit. Nearby the Lake is the Best in the World Flat Rock Village Bakery and Carl Sandburg's Home, an American Treasure. We have been coming to the Inn for over 15 years and always can not wait to return... even thinking of living there one day!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: the cabins are simple cozy and in the heart of the property.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Grup, Owner at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for the very kind words of support. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Read more
Ceek wrote a review Jun 2021
Lexington, Kentucky26 contributions60 helpful votes
This might have been “the place” to stay years ago, but it isn’t that way now. We were in town for a wedding and most of the wedding guests were staying here, I imagine because there isn’t much else in town. Do yourself a favor and get an AirBnB or make the short drive to Asheville for acceptable accommodations. When we booked, we “upgraded” to the Woodward House. I’d hate to see what the other rooms were like if that was an upgrade! The furniture was incredibly worn and dated, the carpet nasty, and to top it off, there was a dirty washcloth on a side table. This place has good bones and could be nice, but it needs a complete overhaul and better management.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 23 Jun 2021
We are disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay with us last November, and are saddened that we did not know about this sooner so that we could have made this right. While we did have wedding events with us last fall, we could not find a record of any wedding guests in those blocks of rooms staying in the Woodward House. We have replaced carpeting in over half of the lodging rooms in this building, that are not the original hardwood flooring. We have recently purchased new chairs and furniture in many of the rooms this year, and are continuing to make continuous improvements and upgrades to all of our accommodations. We will ensure we address the concern about the dirty washcloth on the table with our housekeeping team, as they take great pride in site inspecting rooms prior to check-in, and we somehow dropped the ball in this instance. For that, we do apologize. We would like to know a little more about the details of your stay, as it pertains to the room, so that we may make sure that any improvements we have done in the past 8 months since your stay have included this room. We welcome you to please contact kmccall@hliresort.com if you would be so kind as to let us know
Read more
cal2va2pa wrote a review Jun 2021
Richboro, Pennsylvania36 contributions16 helpful votes
I normally don’t like to give poor reviews however, what we experienced, I would want to know before booking a reservation. The property is nice and check in was easy enough. We had a room in the lodge, while the room was small it was nice enough for what we needed. Then came nightfall. Shortly after we went to sleep we could hear mice in the room scurrying around. Needless to say, we did not get a good night sleep. The next morning we told the front desk and were told they would move us to another room and not charge us extra. (Really?? Charge extra to move out of room with mice?). The next two nights, in our same room we heard mice again all night. The second night we located the sound and found a mouse had worked its way into my wife’s purse and was eating her protein bar. After locking her person in our luggage, we could still hear the critter in the waste basket in the bathroom. One other thing to know before you arrive, they do not sell water at the location because the owner does not believe in single use plastic (fair enough) however we could purchase Gatorade in single use plastic. It was too bad, since property was a nice place to stroll and look at he animals and the pond. Final note: from your room in the lodge you can hear all the conversations in the common area - fortunately it got quiet early enough to not be a big bother
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. We are very sorry that we fell short in providing you with the exceptional experience we pride ourselves in. We were able to determine that this was an isolated event and it was rectified very quickly. Our intention was to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our premium rooms on property and do apologize for any misunderstanding in that regard. The single use plastic drinks have been eliminated and we would like all our guests to know that we have water coolers situated throughout the property that can be filled with reusable water bottles at any time. We also have reusable water bottles available for purchase in our front office gift shop. We take the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests very seriously to make any necessary improvements and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope this experience will not deter you from visiting again and we would love another opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations. Please do not hesitate to call us and speak with our Guest Services Manager to discuss your experience in further detail. Thank you.
Read more
Psalms100 wrote a review May 2021
Dandridge, Tennessee106 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
The grounds are beautiful and family oriented. Beautiful flowers and perfect walks with a pool that is gorgeous. My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here. We were pleasantly surprised at the peace and quiet even when fully booked. Breakfast was delicious, buffet style but under covid rules. The coffee both in the room and at breakfast was good. We thought we had booked a suite online but received a cabin. Furniture in the cabin was rustic in a used way but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I think I would stay here again but I may want a suite next time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Call and book instead of booking online.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 26 May 2021
Thank you for the review and spending your anniversary with us! We hope to see you again soon and our team will be more than happy to check on our premium suites for your next visit!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highland lake hotel flat rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsFlat Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elijah Mountain Gem Mine (7.8 km), Flat Rock Playhouse (1.3 km), and Mast Store (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Binion's Roadhouse, McFarlan Bakery, and Dandelion Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Highland Lake Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.