We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront

Save
Share
900 Bayfront Ct, San Diego, CA 92101-3007
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$288
Residence InnUS$288
Hotels.comUS$288
eDreamsUS$287
CheapTicketsUS$288
Trip.comUS$288
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/03/03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Updated 21/03/03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#82 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience a premier waterfront destination in San Diego, California at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown/Bayfront. Our convenient downtown location near the San Diego Convention Center is within minutes of historic Lane Field, the new Lane Field Park, Gaslamp Quarter and Old Town. Choose from 147 stylish tech-savvy guest suites outfitted with large workspaces and invigorating amenities, many of which offer panoramic views of the San Diego Bay. Our hotel in downtown San Diego offers spacious suites with separate areas for living and sleeping, as well as wireless Internet access, and fully furnished kitchens that comfortably accommodate extended stays. Enjoy free Wi-Fi or indulge in one of our on-site retail stores. We also offer The Market -open 24/7 for snacks and necessities. Take advantage of our 11,397 sq ft of meeting space backed by San Diego's stunning skyline. Leave some time to soak up the California sunshine at one of the pristine local beaches nearby.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
243Reviews14Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 63
  • 28
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
4ms wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked this hotel through Expedia because of the reviews, We have stayed at a Residence Inn in Houston so and other Marriott properties we thought we will have another great experience here unfortunately it was the worst! So I booked the room a week ahead, called the hotel a few days before to make sure there’s a crib when we get there, I called the day before talked to Cassandra and the day of the arrival check in time and an hour before we came. When we got there they said they were sold out and has to move us to another hotel! Mind you we checked in late NO ONE from this hotel bothered giving us a a courtesy call to let us know that they got sold out and I even called them check in time an hours before we came! I have 2 small kids (1&3 yrs old) I have a confirmation number and I booked ahead so why do we have to pay the consequence of them overbooking!!! We were so tired because we came from out of town 4hours away so we’re like okay we’ll take it and it is already late. They moved us to the Intercontinental so the next day after we came from Seaworld,at 7 pm our key card wasn’t working so we went to the front desk and they said we were only booked for one night and has to go back to the Marriott, at this point I felt aggravated and insulted so I called the Marriott they said we have to go back and check in at their hotel! First of all you walked us and you want me to go back to your hotel?! NO!! How do I pack our stuff especially with two babies that is very inconvenient at 7pm?!!! I talked to Norma she said she will call the Intercontinental and will book us so we do not have to leave.She sound like I bothered them or something,like it’s me who messed up, 5 minutes later we went back to the intercontinental front desk to ask for the new card and they said the Marriott or Norma haven’t paid for the stay so the fd from Intercontinental ended up calling them So they ended up letting us stay at the Intercontinental.I called in the morning the day of checkout because we were charged half a day at the Intercontinental!The lady said a manager will call me at 8!I’m writing this post at 11:21 pm and no one evwr called me!!!! I cant tell hou how disappointed Iam at this point but I’m happy that other people had a great experience so I wish no one ever experience what we been through.! The hotel wasn’t cheap either, we are Gold members in Expedia because we travel a lot for work and this hotel was recommended great for families! I paid the rate for the memorial day weekend So now long weekend trip has completely been ruined because of this!!!! Never again!!!!No more Marriott hotel for us!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jocelyn Cancel, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Responded 3 weeks ago
Oh my goodness, this is so disheartening on so many levels. I truly apologize for your experience, I would be just as upset as well. I will follow up to see what happened, as it indeed was a very chaotic weekend. There definitely was a breakdown in communication somewhere. Being in an oversold situation is not something we ever want to get into but it does happen sometimes. In these instances we try to make it as seamless a process as we can for those guests affected. I am so sorry that this was not the case for you and your family. Please be assured we are taking care of both nights for you, and the other hotel should not be charging you for your room or parking. I would like to speak to you directly but I do not have any contact number, on your file. I will reach out to you via the email on file and we can set up a time that is best for you to talk. Very Respectfully, Jocelyn C.
Read more
Sean Lynch wrote a review Feb 2021
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I stayed here when our San Diego condo was getting fumigated so we are San Diego locals but our experience was great. We had fun walking the harbor and going out to eat but we didn’t do much touring due to be locals and remote working. Go to extraordinarily desserts in little Italy. It’s so good. Cafe gratitude in little Italy is great vegan food as well Location- This is a great location with short walks to little Italy, gaslamp, and along the harbor. Also Santa Fe depot to catch the trolley, coaster or airlines up north is super close. Hotel- staff was kind and helpful. Miguel was awesome. The room was clean and nice. I appreciate that they had a recycling bin and reusable pump shampoo/conditioner/body wash. The room was comfortable to work in with the different size tables and two types of chairs. The grab and go breakfast was good with a turkey sausage and egg breakfast sandwich and good coffee. Their gym was by far the best hotel gym I’d even been in! A cable universal rack, dumbbells up to 50lb, kettlebells,, treadmills, bikes, elliptical. Other reviewers mentioned parking being high but $40/day seem normal these days for most hotels. I used to work in an area nearby called bankers hill just past little Italy and so know where to get free parking so just did that and walked the mile to the hotel. It’s a good option if you don’t mind walking but also I only needed my car once in four days due to work. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend it. I stayed here using points so can’t comment on the price but it seemed reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
traveldan21 wrote a review Jan 2021
Culver City, California513 contributions299 helpful votes
We used a soon-expiring 50,000 Bonvoy point certificate for a night at this newish hotel right after Christmas. Although this was during heavy pandemic restrictions, we were attending an outdoor church service + wedding being held at nearby Waterfront Park. Because the hotel was not remotely full, we asked and were given an upgrade to a corner room on a high floor of this highrise tower. The room was quite roomy, with a large desk, sofa, full kitchen, King bed and lots of windows wrapping around a corner. Even though all of the rooms in the Residence Inn side of the tower face the city, you can catch a sliver of the bay out one of the windows in our room. (See nighttime photos.) As others have noted, this single tower contains two Marriott properties: this Residence Inn and a Springhill Suites. The Springhill rooms tended to face the bay so they might have nicer views generally but my corner room had terrific views. Also, the tower is across the street from the train station so Springhill Suites rooms might be quieter, though we did not notice the train noise at all from our upper floor room. (Note also that there is another Residence Inn with the name "San Diego Downtown" a few blocks away; this one is called San Diego Downtown/Bayfront.) Since we were at the hotel in the midst of a heavy pandemic period, amenities were limited. No open restaurant, bar or pool. The included breakfast consisted of a series of tables with mcmuffin-style breakfast sandwiches, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice--all served by a cheerful attendant. The location of the hotel is great for walkers--only a block to the bay, short walk to the Midway Museum, longer hike but doable to Gaslamp District. But during the pandemic, most of the restaurants and stores are closed or severely limited. Self-Parking structure adjoining the hotel offers in-out privileges but a hefty $38/night downtown-parking-like charge. Bottom line: definitely worth considering once the pandemic is over for a nice, comfortable hotel with kitchen that would offer a lot of options for walkers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner room may offer sliver of a bay view
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DWGregg wrote a review Nov 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada33 contributions32 helpful votes
I've stayed here previously and enjoyed my stay, however, this time was different. as you can see in the photos, the windows were disgusting and made me feel i was at a Motel 6. It totally ruins the experience to stay there and have a view. Then, unknowing, the front desk mgr I spoke with, Mateo, said the $39 charge per day was on a sheet with other (useless information), that I had no idea until i checked out. They give you a pass and say, here is for your parking, but do not tell you the price of $39 per day and then say its the other parking companies policy, not ours. And lastly, the once great breakfast, is now a bag with yogurt and a sausage/egg/cheese sandwich.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: wait until windows are cleaned.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jocelyn Cancel, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear DWGregg, thank you for your honest review! Those windows definitely are concerning and I will ensure they address that. You must not have parked a car during your last stay, but being in a downtown urban area, we have always charged for parking, and our rates are comparable to the other hotels in the area. I apologize if that was not communicated to you at check-in, as that is a standard to ask. I will go over that with the Front Desk to ensure things are communicated and acknowledged. I apologize that your stay did not go as expected as we do strive to provide the best service possible. I truly appreciate your feedback so we can work on those areas that need improving. Please stay healthy and continued safe travels! Sincerely, Jocelyn C.
Read more
TheFunFoodie wrote a review Sep 2020
United States2866 contributions5468 helpful votes
+1
Really loved this Marriott. It was spotless. The linens were amazing. They don’t have a valet but the parking garage is very user friendly (39$/day). The staff was wonderful. There was one gentleman who was working in the evening at the front desk who was incredibly rude. I’m a Titanium and he had no problem treating me like dirt.... doesn’t fare well for the rest of the guests, or my Marriott stock. That aside, the views are amazing! The noise level is low. The pool is clean. I’d definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
17 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Jocelyn Cancel, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review tjeatsworld! I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay! I apologize that you did not feel appreciated as a Titanium Elite member with Marriott. Believe when I say our Elite members are our most valued guests! I'm sorry you did not receive that excellent service you come to expect with our brand. I will ensure the team is aware and we will address it accordingly. Stay healthy and Safe Travels!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$213 - US$416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Nearby attractions include USS Midway Museum (0.5 km), Maritime Museum of San Diego (0.4 km), and Waterfront Walkway (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karl Strauss Brewery & Restaurant, Ruth's Chris Steak House, and Beach Hut Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.