We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Save
Share
2270 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2810
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (442)
Dining (32)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#177 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN)and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions. Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches. Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital. Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types. During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
1179Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 381
  • 243
  • 143
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brooklynese wrote a review Dec 2020
Brooklyn, NY16 contributions13 helpful votes
We arrived at this hotel thinking it was a Crowne Plaza (part of the chain/franchise/whatever) and realized it was not. Not a problem! We asked to get checked in, waited about 15 minutes, got our key and went to our room. Our room was in pretty bad shape - dirty, moldy, very outdated. We called up to complain and got offered another room. We looked at that, still pretty bad. We looked at a third room, and when it was just as bad, we asked to speak to the manager. They gave us a refund (to their credit) but it felt like dealing with shady salespeople. It was clear from the front desk staff that they regularly get these complaints. While this is a place you COULD tolerate, we decided not to. That's why I still gave them 2 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Responded 02 Jan 2021
Hello brooklynniyeh, I am glad you left feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay at our Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley. We always wanted our guests to have a delightful stay, no matter what the purpose of the travel is. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with the long wait at check-in and cleanliness. Don't worry, I have shared your comments with hotel management. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to hosting you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
91beautifuls wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I made a reservation for Crowne Plaza through the IHG website back in May for a trip that I will be going next week (Sept. 17-20, 2020). With my vacation a week away, I decided to log into my IHG account just to see that my hotel reservation with Crowne Plaza has already been canceled! After speaking to customer service in IHG, I found out that the hotel has been closed down due to COVID since July and the hotel canceled my reservation! I am extremely upset that I did not receive any courtesy email informing me of my cancellation. I am beyond frustrated! IHG and Crowne Plaza, I am so disappointed in you both. I even left a complaint to the IHG website and no one even cares to reach out and apologize to me. Unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Responded 03 Oct 2020
Hello BeautifulSY91, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am disappointed to know that no one has reached out to you regarding your canceled reservation. IHG values your experience with our hotels, and we would appreciate the opportunity to look into this for you. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I am certain that the steps taken will avoid similar issues from reoccurring in the future. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Dennis E Smith wrote a review Apr 2020
Brunswick, Ohio9 contributions3 helpful votes
8 Days and nights of paradise, All the staff were pleasant and enjoyable to be around, was my 50th reunion, had the ! Best room in the whole Hotel, felt like we were in a resort. Only problem we had was no electricity the first night, which we were supposed to be reimbursed ? Other than that, only left Hotel a few times the whole week, Playful we’ll be able to have the same experience in our next reunion in 4 years, was our second time staying at this resort, 5 ••••• stars at least. Great experience Can’t seem to be able to download pictures
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TravelinMama4393 wrote a review Mar 2020
Oconto Falls, Wisconsin162 contributions36 helpful votes
Pros: I found my room to be clean and updated. I had a lovely view over the pool courtyard and a balcony to relax on. There is so a shuttle that will take you to the mall, Old Towne, the Zoo or Sea World. At Old Towne you can buy a ticket for a hop on and off trolley that does a 25 mile tour of the various neighborhoods of San Diego. (Highly recommend the trolley) the shuttle bus drivers from the hotel are very nice. The shower had very hot water and strong pressure. Cons: I was excited because the hotel has a small coffee shop BUT it is never open. You have to go find staff to let you in. Each day I went for my hot peppermint mocha the machine “wasn’t ready.” The first day I then just bought an overpriced coffee and noticed the paper cup she gave me was used!! Gross! I showed her and she gave me a new cup. The coffee is very strong. Finally four days later the restaurant hostess said it was ready and she kindly went and made me a complimentary mocha. That was very nice but it tasted like warm milk. They have a nice breakfast buffet for $16.00. However, one of my colleague were given 14 cards to redeem free buffet breakfasts for both my colleague and his spouse. I noticed other patrons using the coupons, too. This option was not offered to me when I registered for the room. My only other complaint is I had to get new room keys twice after my original set due to some registration mix up. Overall though staff were friendly. The facility is very nice. The pool looked clean but it was too cold for me to swim.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nader H wrote a review Mar 2020
Discovery Bay, California155 contributions89 helpful votes
First, I did request a special room with view of the gold course. I did get one that overlooks the street and the cars parked, and a tree infront of it. well, if you look really close and far away, you can see part of the gold course, so they did commit to what they said they are giving me, but didn't explain how much I would be seeing :) I was there for a conference, all in all it was a good conference, but I would definitely not stay there if I had a choice or was visiting for pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza san diego, crowne plaza mission valley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
"Red Lion Hanalei Hotel"
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
417
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Nearby attractions include Mormon Battalion Historic Site (1.2 km), Presidio Park (1.2 km), and Junipero Serra Museum (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Waffle Spot, The Amigo Spot, and Crust Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (1.2 km), Whaley House Museum (1.3 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (5.9 km).