We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109-2497
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save up to 25%!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$231
Expedia.comUS$231
Hotels.comUS$231
PricelineUS$231
HurbUS$238
TravelocityUS$231
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (66)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Diamond Head Inn
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#234 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Warm and inviting, our casual beachfront hotel is the perfect setting for your next vacation. All rooms were completely renovated in the spring of 2017 featuring modern and stylish amenities. All rooms offer air conditioning and complimentary wireless internet. Kitchens are fully equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, coffeemakers and all the essential utensils that you need to cook. Our friendly, multilingual staff is ready to help you with local advice and suggestions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, Turkish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Direct & Save up to 25%!
19Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jared M wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We have stayed at all three of the properties associated with Diamond Head Inn and they are all fabulous. We like the Diamond Head Location because it's super close to the beach but all 3 are very close. Everyone is great from check in to housecleaning to the manager Jim. We don't stay anywhere else. Thank you everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
We certainly appreciate your staying with us and only us while visiting the beach. And, we are looking forward to your stay as well.
Read more
Maria T wrote a review May 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Best location in PB.... With direct beach access and walking distance to all you the restaurants and Bars. Room 202 is a real cozy gem with direct ocean views! Room 201 also has ocean front views! The perfect spot to shelter in place w my mom during covid-19. A little tip is if you get a parking space I suggest not moving a car and walking to wherever you want to go, parking can be limited. I want to give a big shout out to Nate at the front desk for going above and beyond to make our stay extra special. Thank you Nate for taking great care of us!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from jimsilver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 08 Jun 2020
Thank you for your comments! We are very happy that your stay was so enjoyable and that you were able to shelter in place in a location that was relaxing. I will certainly let Nate know about your comments as well, and we do hope you will come and stay with us again soon!
Read more
Pioneer467530 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Just got off phone with manager! Was misquoted price. When we were there we complained to lady and gentleman about the parking! Drive for 30 to 45 minutes to find spot, had to walk to get coffee and was informed no housekeeping! No breakfast like advertised, no linens for extra bed, 2 towels and no replacements! The customer service was horrible!! No kitchen stuff provided like advertised!! So disappointed!!! Will never recommend or stay again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 07 Mar 2021
We do apologize for your experience, and hope to be running normally soon. We are only providing kitchen items upon request as a safety precaution. We do however offer housekeeping each and every day, and fresh linens should always be provided. Of course, if more are needed, we are always happy to provide as many as you request. Again, we are do apologize for your stay.
Read more
Kerri Forsythe wrote a review Nov 2020
Orange County, California153 contributions43 helpful votes
We stayed here in July 2020 and the room was just as clean then as it was this week when we stayed again. The biggest problem was when we went to take a shower there was no towels. When I called to get towels I felt like I was on speakerphone and not being heard very well. The gentleman had me on hold for several minutes and then I got disconnected. I never got towels delivered to my room and we ended up having to dry off with 1 face cloth and hand towel after our shower before bed. We heard some people talking a little loud outside right before bed but figured it would die down. Ended up getting louder and louder outside our door. And then about 3:00 in the morning I heard a gentleman‘s voice very stern outside these people doors telling them to knock it off, they already been warned and must go in their room and quiet down. I was very impressed with the professionalism and stern voice he used. It was completely quiet after that. So I may not of gotten towels for a shower but room was very clean and they took care of the partiers down the hall. What more could you ask for? I would stay again. Probably sooner than later.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 10 Dec 2020
WE really thank you for your review, and for your comments. We were having issues getting any linens delivered during the summer, and quite frankly, this entire year. We have that issue resolved, and do apologize for this, and do look forward to your next stay sooner than later. Lastly, we will always do whatever we can to help make your stay the best possible.
Read more
Wania wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
I wanna share my experience that began on 09/25/20. I arrived on Friday at the hotel to stay until Monday, well I come up on my first morning with bites all of my body, I did complain to them that my duvet was uncovered, I said that was wrong but the housekeeper said was the proceed, but they did move me to another room... so again I woke up even worse and when he new room they putted a cover on the duvet, but next day the housekeeper did change the stuff but left again the duvet without a cover. I left the hotel one day before my real checkout and they didn’t wanna refound me at all. One more thing was that in the Expedia app the day in serving the breakfast but when we arrive the day no, but I paid more bc was all inclusive. The housekeepers did even though away my trash that was in a plastic bag on the floor and I made videos to prove. Well zero star and I don’t recommend no one to have this sad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 11 Nov 2020
I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us, and have already forwarded your comments to my housekeeping department. We do wash the duvets between every guest, and have them dry cleaned whenever necessary. Our policy is to only charge for the actual nights stayed regardless of how many nights you have either prepaid or reserved. I would really like to talk with you to make sure you were only charged for your stay and not for any additional nights you were planning. Again, I am very sorry for your stay, and hope you will contact me.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamond head hotel san diego, diamond head san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoPacific Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diamond Head Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Diamond Head Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mission Beach (0.3 km), Bare Back Grill Pacific Beach (0.2 km), and Pangea Outpost (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diamond Head Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a heated pool.
Is parking available at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diamond Head Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Baked Bear, Kono's Cafe, and Oscars Mexican Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamond Head Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Arabic, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to Diamond Head Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (4.5 km), Mormon Battalion Historic Site (7.7 km), and Whaley House Museum (7.8 km).
Is Diamond Head Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.