We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
12 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Park and Stay Offer
Expedia.com
US$652
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/21
Booking.com
US$656
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/21
Traveluro
US$594
View deal
TravelocityUS$652
Hotels.comUS$652
travelup.comUS$741
View all 21 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2199)
Room & Suite (1319)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/12/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Updated 21/12/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#132 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Daily Mandatory Destination Charge will be added to the room rate and includes: Premium internet; daily $15 food & beverage credit for use in hotel restaurants & bars; 1-hour bicycle or kayak rental; bike locker rental; transportation to Coronado Island & beach; PressReader; daily bottled water. Alluring and inspired by maritime culture, the distinctive coastal influence is clear the moment you arrive at our 30-story waterfront hotel. Featuring newly renovated guest rooms that are authentically San Diego in their design, our hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center. We are also situated across from the Padres' Petco Park and the bustling Downtown Gaslamp Quarter. Enjoy stunning bay and city views, relaxing leisure facilities, extensive meeting space, and unique dining venues. Expansive windows overlooking San Diego Bay and downtown's skyline make our rooms an inviting base during your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Waterslide
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Park and Stay Offer
6430Reviews100Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2 831
  • 2 090
  • 875
  • 383
  • 253
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bob M wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I traveled to San Diego to perform audits at one of my company's locations. I have previously stayed at this hotel before and was quite pleased with that stay. This recent trip has been a disaster getting my bill straightened out. I have been making calls back to the hotel for the past week. I have been sent to the Hilton Central Finance Department several times and each time get sent back to the hotel who wants to send me back to the central finance department. So here is my problem, I reserved a room for 2 nights through my company's travel provider. I arrived, checked in and went to the job site and completed my task on the morning of day 2. I finished by 9:00am and decided to see if I could secure a flight back home to Maryland that eveningy. I was able to so I went back to the hotel to pack and check out. When I was checking out I was told I was going to be charged an additional nights fee because I did not inform the hotel I was leaving early, on my 2 night stay. I had a discussion with the clerk and requested to speak with the manager about this fee and how this was not something I would be paying. The clerk went into the office, but never brought the manger out to speak with me. He did say the manager waived the fee and I proceeded to check out and head to the airport. The next morning I opened my email and found my receipt. The hotel ahd it totally screwed up. My amount paid was shown in parenthesis as $591, in the credit column. All other charges including the $253 dollar addition day were shown in the Charges Column. I called the hotel and was told that the 253 was a credit and not a charge and my not show on my card statement for 24 hours, which it did. The problem, my total bill should have been for $338 dollars. My receipt was not changed in anyway, the returned credit was still listed as a charge and the total was still $591 dollars. I cannot turn in this receipt for reimbursement on my card because the actual charges are not shown. Sure, I can turn it in for the full $591, but when they audit my account, I get fired for falsifying my reimbursement. I have not been able to get anyone to correct my receipt, even though they all agree with my numbers and the math. This has been a nightmare and the service provided has been horrendous.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gary B wrote a review Aug 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona224 contributions148 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We are Hilton Diamond members. The Bayfront is primarily a convention hotel but because of the location close to Petco and downtown (walkable) we decided to try it out. Petco Park is directly across the street from the hotel and the walk to downtown restaurants was maybe 15 minutes (does not require a car). The hotel is across the street from a Trolley stop which makes access very easy. The view on the bay is excellent with boats of all sizes going back and forth all day. The hotel offers a free hourly shuttle to Coronado Island and drops you off at the Hotel Del Coronado. The lobby is attractive and the rooms very adequate. Because it was our anniversary the hotel was king enough to upgrade us to a corner King with great water views. They also delivered a bottle of Prosecco and finger desserts to our room to celebrate our anniversary. The best part of our stay was the staff! Oscar checked in and was very friendly and professional. Gary the Bellman was the star of the show. He was so friendly welcoming and genuinely happy to see you. Shelly assisted with our room upgrade and was was just terrific to work with. Our housekeeper Grizelda was wonderful and did a great job each day making up our room. We had such a positive experience that we would not hesitate to return again. We were made to feel very welcome during our entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SANCC MOD, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Hi Gary, Thank you for being a Hilton Diamond member and taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear that your anniversary with us was a memorable one. I am happy to hear that Gary, Shelly, Grizela, and Oscar took great care of you by providing you a positive experience and I will be sure to share your comments with them the next time I see them! It is great to hear that you took advantage of our downtown location and explored the Gaslamp and also ventured to Coronado via the beach bus. I hope these memories will last a lifetime and you will be back to stay with us again soon. Happy anniversary again from the Bayfront team! Sincerely, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnchv wrote a review Yesterday
Spring, Texas12 contributions11 helpful votes
I have a few issues with this hotel.. I have stayed here a couple years ago and only stayed there this time because of colleges. Not again.. Check in was a mess I have status an it took me 20 min.. check in staff not engaged or friendly. Took one of my colleagues 45 min to check in then had to change rooms due to a roach issue.. for me the Room was nice but the internet throughout the hotel is AWFUL. seriously! Which also created spotty tv reception in the room. Service in the restaurant was hit or miss.. but generally bad.. took 30min to get two eggs and bacon.. and that was only after complaining about it. I sat at the bar for breakfast and was concerned that the server there was loudly asking and repeating peoples names and room numbers for their bill. If I was a women staying there I’d be concerned. There is other stuff.. but might be nitpicking.. stayed at the Hyatt at the other end of the convention center.. that’s where I’ll go next time..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SergeGTS wrote a review 11 Aug
Auburn, Washington286 contributions54 helpful votes
We stayed for 4 nights and it was great. The lobby of the hotel is quite nice. The restaurant options are quite nice as well. The rooms are fairly standard with the exception of the giant window. Nothing special about the rooms, the beds are not super comfy and are quite noisy. Staff is very nice, and when we did text for needing towels, we heard back right away. Good spot to walk right outside, and its close to convention center and Petco park. One thing to note, the hotel shows that it offers kayaks and bicycles. However they just give you a voucer for an hour free rental from a local company. What was interesting, they originally gave us 1 voucher and there were 4 of us with kids. The voucher is quite clear on it that its 1 per person per day. They did end up giving us 4 later. There is also a fairly large pool but its only 3 feet deep. There is a 1 foot deep spot for kids to play in separately and a small 4 foot deep pool at the end of a water slide, but the slide was closed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your outstanding review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, the well-appointed rooms, and the service our colleagues were able to provide you with. We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to each of our guests with hopes of surpassing all their expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, at which time we will make every effort in providing you with another perfect visit. Regards, Steven Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kuor2010 wrote a review 08 Aug
New York City, New York80 contributions54 helpful votes
I spent a few nights here for a conference, the hotel is conveniently located on the southern end of the long SD convention center. It's also across the major street from Petco and the gaslamp district. So for a tourist or convention goer, it is a perfect location. The property itself is pretty well maintained, modern, and airy. Lobby was packed but not too bad, and there are some cafes and bars, plus a direct exit onto the promenade. The room was good too, very clean, minimal wear and tear, with sufficiently modern decor and furniture. Windows were large and bright, although my room view was south facing the dockyard. The only thing missing was a simple tag for do not disturb, but I got one without issue. Overall, its a great business and tourist hotel, would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kuor2010, With the summer upon us, now is one of the peak times for visitors to explore beautiful cities across America and we always look forward to welcoming guests in search of new discoveries. Our hotel serves as the perfect stop after a full day of visiting many “must-visit” destinations like the Gaslamp Quarter and our great downtown area. Also, ours is a great hotel for business as well as leisure travelers. Our amenities, anticipatory service and proximity to the Convention Center ensures convenience for our business guests. Our team members are sincere and passionate about creating perfect experiences and we are thrilled to find that our housekeepers and the rest of our team did just that. We thank you for taking the time to share your glowing endorsement and we are thrilled we had the chance to spoil you. On behalf of all of us, thank you for your recommendation and we too are looking forward to your next visit. We invite you to let us know if we can assist in confirming your plans. Regards, Steven Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremi M wrote a review 06 Aug
Lisbon, Portugal9 contributions
Literally has it all: beautiful Bayfront views, central, great pool + beach club, valet, more than adequate rooms, on the water promenade, yum restaurant, valet, friendly staff, and a taco truck. Sure, you can’t walk to a sand beach, prices are a bit high and it’s feels like a corporate hotel, but it’s a Hilton so no surprises there. Get the king corner suite if you can swing it (thanks Dobran), very much recommend this spot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book early, use points, get a corner suite, bring your scooters or running shoes, pick up booze...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a magnificent stay and we appreciate your ratings on our service and guestrooms. I believe there is no better place in our great city to put your feet up than at our hotel. Our vision is to create memorable hotel experiences for our guests and it is evident we accomplished that with you. So, thank you again! Warm regards, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian K wrote a review 06 Aug
1 contribution
I was stationed in San Diego long ago, and returned for a few days. I visited the Hilton #OnTheRocks restaurant. Besides it being delicious, the manager Ben is a rock star. I thought he was the owner due to his wonderful customer service, attention to detail, and supportive attitude towards those of us who served our Country. Hilton, he is a Must Promote!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 1 week ago
We were delighted to read your review and see much you enjoyed your time in residence with us. Our pride and joy is providing ample and enthusiastic hospitality to ensure all of our guests feel special. We will certainly let all of our team know how much you appreciated their assistance – that will make their day! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit! Warm regards, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin C wrote a review 04 Aug
1 contribution
Hotel was okay- good views, bit crowded. Clean rooms. I am a Hilton Honors gold member and once again they promised $30/credit/night and since they told me credits don't roll over, I made sure I used $30 each night. I get a receipt and of course, it's missing food and beverage credits for some of the nights. Just spent 30+ minutes with the agent and they continue to state that "credits don't roll over" even though I am going over that e receipt line by line proving them wrong. I would not be using Hilton again. Marriott system is far better in terms of elite benefits.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
I regret the inconvenience and distress this situation has caused you, and the disappointing level of follow up you experienced. I do implore you to contact our Customer Service to ensure that any inaccuracies with your points get sorted. We uphold a very strong culture of integrity and honesty and want to correct potential irregularities. I trust this case will soon be closed, and do hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, so we can restore your faith in our brand and our property and ensure you are looked after with personal touch. I remain at your disposal for further assistance and send you my best regards, Warm regards, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katepossin wrote a review 03 Aug
1 contribution
The location is convenient for the convention center, although Marriott and Hyatt are closer to restaurant options and the Marriott has better food (Roys). This hotel had poor service and the food was OK.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to extend to you my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. Our goal is to consistently provide extraordinary guest experiences, and I regret that we missed the mark in this effort. We trust you found that the hold was refunded promptly upon departure. We hope that this experience will not stop you from visiting with us again. Warm regards, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pjok03 wrote a review Jul 2022
Palm Desert, California54 contributions54 helpful votes
Dangerous hotel for kids. We were absolutely shocked and disappointed by the behavior of hotel staff one hour child and his friend got locked out of the room at 3:30 in the morning. They went down to the front desk to get water and forgot their key. The front desk refused to call the parents and refused to let the kids back in the room. Instead they told them to go outside in the middle of the night in downtown San Diego. Two 14-year-old boys sent outside in the middle of the night who were terrified. They spent an hour and a half outside sleeping on the ground until security noticed him and spoke with them. When security realized what it happened and the incredible irresponsible behavior of front desk staff he brought them to their room where they were able to describe the contents. He let them back in the room. All this happened as we were sleeping next-door. No one at any time thought to wake the parents and let them know what was going on. We reported this to Hilton and filed a complaint. They said the hotel would contact us within three days. The cowards that run this hotel did not follow up with us. They did not attempt to contact us. This hotel is dangerous for families. We have canceled all upcoming Hilton reservations and will use a hotel chain in the future that actually cares about children.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Owner at Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear pjok03, Thank you for your review. It seems a series of unfortunate events have led to an underwhelming experience at our Hilton San Diego Bayfront. We are still in the process of investigating the matter. I do apologize if in fact our Front Desk staff were remiss in acknowledging your children as guests of the hotel and did not make an effort to resolve the situation with discretion. It would also be regretful if the boys did not supply your names and request that our hotel security bring them to your guest room. We continue to seek clarification but we are sincerely apologetic that this entire situation occurred. Thank you for your understanding and patience during this process. Warm regards, Steve Cowan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$302 - US$543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton san diego bayfront hotel san diego, hilton hotel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1190
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Nearby attractions include Petco Park (0.5 km), Omnia San Diego (0.4 km), and San Diego Free Tour (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Things Frozen Yogurt, Nobu San Diego, and The Tin Fish.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton San Diego Bayfront?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton San Diego Bayfront offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.