We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save
Share
6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Priceline
Marriott
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3096)
Room & Suite (620)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/03/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Updated 21/03/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 34 in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas offers convenient access to whale watching, snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing and scuba diving in Lahaina, Hawaii. Popular attractions like the Maui Ocean Center and Kahekili Beach Park are nearby. Enjoy four resort pools and waterfalls, three distinctive restaurants, plus a pool bar as well as a fitness center and full-service spa. At the end of an exciting day, settle into versatile studios and one- and two-bedroom villas with signature Heavenly® Beds, washer/dryers, fully equipped kitchens and balconies. Our resort promises a memorable stay in Lahaina, Hawaii.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court offsite
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Foot bath
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
5938Reviews227Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3 515
  • 1 336
  • 555
  • 281
  • 251
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
grh812 wrote a review 16 May
Gulf Shores, Alabama1899 contributions106 helpful votes
We finally made it back to Maui after a 3 year hiatus. To be clear we have visited the islands over 20 times and have previously stayed here. We have been in various buildings with various views over the years. This was probably our 4th at the Westin Villas. Our stay here was from April 9-16. Knowing we were going during the week leading up to Easter we knew it would be crowded. So the one thing we decided to bring with us was PATIENCE. Check in was long as there were others ahead of us. Once we got to our room it took a while for our luggage to arrive. The guys were hustling but what can you really expect with tons of families checking in. We decided to just stroll over to the pool restaurant for a bite to eat. We were in the North villas so just a short walk. Ordered at the counter and we lucky enough to get a table. We would have gladly shared our table if needed. The unit was very comfortable and our. Stay was enjoyable. We never ran into a disgruntled employee the whole week. The bbq grills came in handy and they were shared graciously. If folks would just do their research and try to understand that staffing may be strained and their trip may not resemble pre Covid experiences it would be enjoyed as always. Just like in a restaurant.....it’s not the server’s fault that the meal was not to your liking. Patience people.....patience. See you again soon Maui and we would not hesitate to stay here again. Mahalos
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha and Mahalo for the review at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We apologize for the unfavorable check-in, but we are thrilled you still had a wonderful vacation in Maui. Mahalo and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
ERIN C wrote a review 06 May
1 contribution
I’ve taken some time to reflect on this review. I have visited this property several times over the last 10 years. To my dismay, I felt the magic and romance of this particular resort fell short. I understand they’ve been taken over by Marriott corporate, as told by some of the staff. The little gift shops in the property hotels are now owned corporately and not as many local trinkets. They have done away with a lot of the alcohol and fresh food you can buy on site. Our ocean view room, though “deeded“ was not ocean view. Although the trees are beautiful and mature, they are in the way of seeing the ocean. I was disappointed . Obviously when you are betting on an ocean view, you look forward to that. I also rented a paddleboard and brought it with me to the resort, no one knew what to do when I arrived with it. I even reached out to the concierge in advance and was unaware I needed to bring my own lock and the security lock up was quite a distance from the beach. Restaurants are opened limited hours, with limited menus. I wasn’t greeted in a warm way with the aloha spirit, as I have felt in the past. The staff did not seem as friendly and outgoing as they once were. I will say, this is the first time I have ever traveled on spring break, all of the nearby restaurants were very booked. It was hard to get in anywhere. Having said that, being in touch with the concierge in advance, I thought they ought to have notified me. There was no chance of a luau or dinner reservations if you hadn’t booked three weeks in advance. I am surprised the concierge wouldn’t have told me that prior to our arrival. Otherwise, the resort was pretty clean. I was fortunate to stay in the #2 south building which had been recently renovated with new carpet and furniture. But friends stayed in the #3 What was tired with very old furnishings. And their ocean view was also of trees.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: I would avoid spring break
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Erin, thank you for providing your review of the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are disappointed to learn that you found your experience lacking this time around. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments about the view from your room and shops. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your recently renovated room, and hope to provide a much better visit the next time you return!
Read more
ejc518 wrote a review Apr 2022
Boston, Massachusetts10 contributions13 helpful votes
Understaffed is an understatement! After traveling for over 20 hours with 2 young kids, we arrived at the Westin Villas to find a completely full driveway (cars parked 3 across, nowhere to pull in), dozens and dozens of full luggage carts lining the walkways, and a jam-packed lobby with ONE poor agent checking people in. The line wrapped around the lobby. I joked that we were at FYRE Festival. We watched as guests ahead of us were handed sheets to make their own beds (this was around 8pm). After well over an hour of standing in line (probably closer to 2 hours), we reached the agent. I’ve never had a hotel experience like this. While checking in, an angry guest came up to the front of the line; and cut in front of us demanding to speak with a manager (there was none in sight). My husband exchanged words with him, telling him to take his place back in line; that we had waited our turn and weren’t going to be interrupted. The man threatened to “kick our a$$es”. The agent, visibly shaken, called security…who took about 10 minutes to arrive, and then did nothing (that we could see) to the unruly guest, and nobody followed up with us. Our suite was just as described. It was clean, and it was a great home base. However - this is a VERY low service resort. The one restaurant in our tower was completely understaffed, with a long line at all times to order, followed by a long wait for food that really wasn’t very good. The staff that we did encounter were polite, and were all clearly working very hard under tough circumstances. However, Marriott shouldn’t continue to sell out hotels if they can’t serve as many guests. (There seemed to be no shortage of agents selling timeshares on property, however!) Overall we had a very frustrating experience here. I wouldn’t return or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha and Mahalo for the review at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We apologize for the unfavorable check-in and the unruly guest you encountered. We appreciate the feedback and hope you still had a wonderful vacation in Maui. Mahalo for giving us a try and hope to host you again in the future!
Read more
Brian W wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York9 contributions17 helpful votes
The fact that the hotel doesn't even offer room service says it all. We stayed here when the hotel was at half capacity and restaurants were fully booked a week before our arrival. That doesn't say vacation to me. The food at the bar was pretty mid. Example... The chicken nuggets were like the ones are McDonald's (not whole chicken). No room service... Have you ever stayed at a 1k/night hotel without basic services.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha, thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with your experiences. We apologize you were unaware we do not offer room service as we are a Vacation Cub ownership resort. We thank you for giving us a try and hope to provide a better experience in the future!
Read more
thejoyciecat wrote a review Apr 2022
Santa Cruz, California313 contributions217 helpful votes
+1
We were bamboozled again by the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Villas' misleading room description when booking on their website. I spent a little extra and booked an "Ocean View" room, hoping to get an actual view of the ocean. However, for Room 2202, on the second floor and farthest from the beach, the Westin's definition of "ocean" includes mostly trees and the north building across the lawn. Sure, from one angle of the window and on the balcony, you could see a little sliver of ocean (so that technically counts, right, legal department?) If Westin had advertised this room as a "Partial Ocean View", I would have totally been satisfied with what we got and given an extra star to this review. However, my expectation didn't match reality, and this happened to us the last time we visited in January 2018 (see my review "Ocean View" Studio Review) so I can't believe I fell for their deception yet again. Also, if you book a AAA package on the Westin website which supposedly includes a $100 resort credit - guess what. They don't honor it. So don't book that package. Oh, the front desk agents were helpful and eventually they made it right, but at the expense of me feeling like a Karen (on my vacation!) and having to ask for a manager to get what I paid for. So why did we choose to return (besides me being a sucker for second chances and a Mariott Bonvoy point collector)? My kids really liked the beach. It's right there, swimmable and the snorkeling is fantastic - so many fish and turtles to swim with! They also liked the pool - when they were elementary-aged, they spent the whole day there, and now, even though they are teenagers, they still got a kick out of the slide. The room itself was great. Spacious, clean, huge bathroom, full kitchen. Sitting on the balcony for early morning coffee was very lovely (although one chair was missing its cushion). If I could only had seen more of an ocean... sigh. Some other unsolicited thoughts on Kaanapali in general: This is like the Disneyland of Maui. It is full full full of tourists. If you have kids, have a tolerance for a lot of people and don't mind spending resort prices on food, you will have no problem. Also, you might see a lot of badly behaved children while their slightly inebriated parents don't care. And lots of kids in the hot tub, even the adult hot tub. If you like nature and solitude, this is not for you. Run. Because there's so many people, if you want a spot by the pool, splurge on a cabana or 2-seater casabella. (I'm glad to report they are cleaner than they were in my last review from 2018). Otherwise, you need to claim your spot early in the morning. We were there on a spring break week and all the seats were taken by 9am. Pack a frisbee or a ball to kick around, there's some nice lawn space for that. Overall, we had a great family time. I suspect that because the units are individually owned, the ones available on the Westin/Marriott Bonvoy website are the lower floor unowned ones they are just trying to rent out and they're super misleading with what view you'd get. If you get an actual ocean view, yay you! But adjust your expectations before you get there and you won't be disappointed like I was. Again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 2202 is a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you find our resort and grounds to be nice. Thank you for your feedback and comments with regard to the pool chairs and the view. We are truly sorry we were unable to provide a desirable ocean view room. As an ownership resort, we are obligated to assign the desirable ocean view to our owners. We appreciate you giving us another try and hope your next visit will be enjoyable. A hui hou!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$797 - US$1 044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin kaanapali ocean resort villas hotel lahaina, westin kaanapali ocean resort villas, westin lahaina, westin ka anapali ocean hotel, westin villas maui, lahaina westin, westin maui villas
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1021
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Nearby attractions include Kahekili Beach Park (0.3 km), Myths of Maui Luau (0.7 km), and Huaka'i Luau Maui- Journey Through Polynesia (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duke's Beach House, Pulehu, An Italian Grill, and Soup Nutz & Java Jazz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (6.7 km), Lahaina Jodo Mission (6.3 km), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (7.0 km).
Does The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.