We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Save
Share
269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Hurb
US$225
US$220
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Expedia.comUS$225
Priceline
Official WebsiteUS$225
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (480)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (164)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 20/07/13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Updated 20/07/13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1689Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 678
  • 465
  • 235
  • 160
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Seminole Fan wrote a review 26 Jul
1 contribution
The location of The Abbey is wonderful - walkable to the lake and some good restaurants. The resort has nice restaurant options within. However, the service was disappointing. On our last morning, we were interrupted three times by housekeeping to clean our room before check out time. I tried calling the front desk four times to let them know and never got an answer. Then, when we went to check out, the line was out the door. After waiting for 20 minutes we left without formally checking out. The rooms are fine - nothing fancy and could use updating. Overall, very average at best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Stacy A wrote a review 22 Jul
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Asked for a manager to call me. Never got a call back. Room should’ve been remodeled 20 years ago smelled like mildew. No instructions on what time anything was open or where it was when checking in. Front desk girls could’ve cared less. Finally settled in to watch a movie and even the TV wouldn’t cooperate. They tell you your $15 a night resort fee goes to free water sports. Front desk told me that wasn’t true and she kept having to put me on hold because she didn’t know the answer to anything. Soooo disappointing to say the least. Went to bed hungry and very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Eugeniya K wrote a review 22 Jul
Vernon Hills, Illinois9 contributions7 helpful votes
The resort is located near beach which is great! The lobby and common areas are updated and look nice. However, when you get to the room it very outdated. The rooms need a lot of upgrading, the wallpaper is peeling from the walls. They are extremely understaffed. It shows everywhere. There is always a line in the front lobby. They have 1 or two people working the check ins. The restaurants are understaffed. The service is super long and the food is mediocre. The hallways are dirty, not cleaned on the regular basis. With COVID one would think they will take special attention to cleaning, unfortunately it’s not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: I would recommend smaller properties if traveling for vacation. This one is two big and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jamie W wrote a review 21 Jul
1 contribution
When I think of a room that costs $350 a night this is not what I am expecting. Very dissatisfied. If you are going to say that house keeping isn’t going to clean your room due to Covid-19, a discount to the guest having to clean their own room would be nice. We have stayed 1-2 times a year at The Abbey Resort for many years and the rooms are in need of some TLC. Many updates have occurred around the resort and I think its time to put some love into where the guest is staying. We had our fan broken, no glasses in the room, stains on the lamp shades and couch, and the room had a very strong Indian food scent in the room. When asked to switch rooms they sent someone to spray air freshener since they were ar full capacity which wore off within hours. Hopefully they will be able to make some changes soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Alan M wrote a review 14 Jul
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We have been going here for getaways for 35 years. This past stay, the rooms are shabby, smelly and outdated, Our room was directly under the roof repair construction. I understand theres no houskeeping during your stay due to covid protocol but we asked the front desk 2 or 3 times for clean towels and nobody ever showed up with them. The lack of a single decent restaurant was disappointing as well. We never saw anybody cleaning anywhere in 3 days we were there. That's not a good sign during covid times. My wife did get a very nice manicure at the spa and she said they were very nice and was very pleased with their service. All in all, Lake Lawn Resort, though more expensive even mid week, is worth it and a much better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Somerville, Guest Services / Front Office at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm so sorry to read about the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay. Your 35 years of Abbey getaways means so much to us and we'd love to keep welcoming you back. I'd like to speak with you personally if possible. Please feel free to reach out to me at TSomerville@theabbeyresort.com.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey hotel fontana, abbey resort and spa, abbey hotel and fontana, abbey resort and fontana, abbey wisconsin
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinFontana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Nearby attractions include Belfry Music Theatre (6.1 km), Black Point Estate (5.4 km), and Yerkes Observatory (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daddy Maxwell's, Mars Resort Restaurant & Bar, and Cafe Calamari.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Fontana.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Steppingstone (12.5 km).