We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Save
Share
400 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21/07/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Updated 21/07/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in South Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
560Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 313
  • 140
  • 69
  • 21
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kal8644 wrote a review 15 Jul
Oakland, Michigan19 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointed in the hotel. The lobby looks good but the room on the 4th floor was gloomy and the furniture old and worn. The room (suite) was spacious and the beds comfortable. When we arrived the noisy dishwasher was running and continued for 2 hours! Everything seemed clean. I was also surprised to be disturbed a number of times by barking dogs in a room across the corridor. I went to use the fitness facilities. I had to return to the front desk to get a towel so it was clear that I was going to work out. I was unable to get any of the treadmills to work and on returning to the front desk I was told they were out of use (he forgot that when I went before). I returned to the fitness room but was unable to get anything working. Some signage or instructions on the equipment would have been useful if the operation is not obvious and certainly if they are out of order. To be fair to the front desk they did comp the market purchases I was making. We were supposed to stay here on our return leg but have switched to a Sheraton instead.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hope Carroll, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Responded 1 week ago
Disappointing, I am so very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We really let you down and that is not the norm for us. Our hotel is up for renovation 2022 and we are very excited about it. The pandemic put our renovation on hold back in 2020. The hotel is pet friendly and we ask that our guests with pets keep their animals in check at all times. I am sorry you were disturbed. The front desk did do the right thing in comping your markets purchases but I would have liked for them to go in to see what is wrong with the treadmill. Sometimes the red middle button is hit so hard that it keeps the equipment from working properly. I will make sure to train my Guest Service Agents so that this does not happen in the future. Please forgive us.
Read more
P H wrote a review Apr 2021
Columbus, Ohio75 contributions26 helpful votes
We booked through Costco Travel, excellent rates. We got delayed in traffic so we called to let them know we would not be checking in until 1:00 AM or so. No problem. The employee was great, the room was clean and extremely spacious. We booked two queen beds, the bathroom had a sink with a countertop that didn't end. We only stayed one night but this would be a great room for a longer stay. The check out time was noon not 11AM like most. This was great for us since we got there so late.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hope Carroll, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Responded 28 Apr 2021
PH, Wow, thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that everything went so well for you while you were with us. My team works hard to insure our guests feel welcome and have everything they need during their stay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us when the opportunity arises. Hope Carroll General Manager
Read more
Sue wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have stayed here several times, but our recent stay was awful and will be our last. A bike was stolen from the back of our car. The police said it's a common occurrence in the parking lot. A video of the thief showed them going from car to car testing doors. There are no signs warning you that the parking lot is a high crime area. BE CAREFUL!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks your car!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hope Carroll, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Responded 15 Mar 2021
TraveleBikes, I am so sorry that you had a bike stolen while you were staying with us. Thank goodness it is NOT a common occurrence in our parking lot. And I am sorry you were told that. We do have signs in our parking lot like most hotels that say, "Guest Parking / User assumes all risks". I would like to recommend that anytime you travel to bring your bike inside the building and lock your doors. We would have been happy to keep your bike at the front desk. Again, I am very sorry that you had such an awful experience.
Read more
Laura M wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Prices are excellent. I stayed while on business in Charleston and honestly I am so happy with this hotel. I will start from check-in, the desk staff was very nice, friendly and professional. They made me feel special from the beginning to the end. Beautiful lobby has this “waterfall” glass wall separating you from the large indoor swimming pool. There’s a full service restaurant, a small shopette that’s very well supplied and endless coffee in the mornings. There’s also a guest laundry room if you’re staying longer, workout room, a game room, and banquet/conference areas which I don’t partake in. They sure made me feel at home with all the amenities I don’t have at home :) The room was comfortable and super clean. There was a large TV, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! OMG love the pillows, they’re even labeled “soft” and “firm”! The bathroom was very clean and well stocked to more than accommodate my travel needs. As for the location, it’s not downtown Charleston but it is conveniently located with easy off/on interstate access and just 5 minutes to downtown and also 5 minutes to the shopping/restaurant area without being in the middle of all the traffic in that area. Since I was traveling alone, safety is always a concern. I felt very safe and secure throughout the hotel, walking to the surrounding restaurants and in the well-lit parking lot. It’s really like they thought of everything to please me and more! Overall, I had best stay ever in the Charleston area! I highly recommend this Holiday Inn & Suites!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Hope Carroll Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Responded 11 Feb 2021
M6826LAlauram, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your business so much and hope that you will come back soon. I think our beds are also the best. It sounds like you rested well. I hope that your business will bring you back to Charleston, West Virginia! Hope Carroll General Manager
Read more
Apey wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel was very neat and clean. We met the chef and he was nice and funny. Mr. Murphy was his name. The front desk was very helpful. There was hand sanitizer everywhere and we felt like everything was very sanitized. We will definitely be staying here again. I want Chef Murphy to cook us a great meal!! Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hope Carroll Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Responded 08 Jan 2021
AprilWright333, thank you so much for the 5 circles. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that Dave Murphy was so nice and funny. He always is. I will share with him your comments. :-)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada charleston hotel charleston, charleston ramada
LOCATION
United StatesWest VirginiaSouth Charleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Nearby attractions include South Charleston Antique Mall (0.6 km), South Charleston Indian Mound (0.6 km), and Criel Mound (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Agaves Mexican restaurant, Suzi's Hamburgers, and The Olive Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of South Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.