We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hilton.com
US$141
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
HurbUS$158
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (538)
Room & Suite (336)
Dining (104)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/07/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 20/07/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
Contact
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Getting there
Norfolk Intl Airport10 kmSee all flights
Newport News-Williamsburg Airport45 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1707Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 789
  • 418
  • 233
  • 139
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rascoe4316 wrote a review 13 Sep
1 contribution
I was totally surprised by some of the conditions from the previous stay in March this year. Property needs better housekeeping especially during pandemic and the pet friendly accommodations. Pet owners need to take responsibility for their pet’s poop on walkways and give them their own dining area! Saving grace for my stay was the food and services at The Swan Terrance and The Almond Flower Spa was great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Rascoe4316, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are working hard to try to get more housekeepers on our team and our current crew has been working non-stop. Any help from our guests for picking up after their own animals is always great appreciated. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
Larissa G wrote a review Apr 2021
Weehawken16 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The hotel by far exceeded my expectations. Classic and beautiful. Old fashioned but very well taking care of. What a pleasure to walk in large lobbing and lounging areas beautifully decorated. Very professional s as na experienced staff. Dinning in the elegant restaurant ( excellent food and services too!) and walking in the early morning in the very nice surrounding area ( Regency College) in a walking distance were a big plus. Planing on returning in the summer to enjoy de pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 02 Apr 2021
Larissa G, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit when our outdoor pool will be open. Take care, Melissa Georges
Read more
t0nyap11 wrote a review 07 Sep
1 contribution
Rooms haven’t been updated since the 80s. Towels and sheets were permanently stained. Dust behind night stands for years, it seems. Stains on sleeper sofa. No cable, only digital television which half the channels were not showing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
t0nyap11, We agree that the furniture is outdated. The renovation is happening soon and the painting and new carpet has already began. We do have cable and over 200 channels so we are not sure if there was something wrong with the TV in your room. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
ashkendrab91 wrote a review 06 Sep
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution
Room and bathroom dirty, no real bed sheets, most cable channels did not work, WiFi was spotty, amenities non existent, decor falling apart, sink did not drain, bath tub covered in rust, door to room did not close.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
ashkendrab91, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us.
Read more
Elniyaam wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is in need of a facelift, no doubt about it, well-kept gardens and grand façade can’t conceal the aged and decaying interior. But they have a great asset – the staff. The room we stayed in had a mal-function A/C, the fan would not stop even after A/C was turned off. We called in the technician after listening to the white noises all night. We were told in order to fix it, we need to be moved to another room. But we were checking out the next day so we decided to stay put. He helped us to turn off the fan completely and brought in a dehumidifier after we complained about the dampness in the room. When we offered him tips, he declined it and told us he would give it to our house keeping staff since they work hard and earn less. The next day we went to the breakfast buffet in he hotel. It was a total disappointment, the selections were not great, the quality of the food is below average, and the most upset thing came when my daughter bit into a slice of toast and saw mold on it! After we told the server, she did not try to find some excuses, just apologized, took the plate away, and came back a few minutes later, told us that she replaced the entire loaf. She also said that she knew it does not help us for what we experienced, but she wants to let us know that they did correct it. This stay is definitely not a good one, and I will probably not come back again if I have other choices, but the staff there made up the disappointment of the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Leinayma, We are sorry to hear about the air-conditioning issue you experience while you were here. It is a messy process to service the until while guests are in the room so that is why we offered to move you so you could not have to experience that. We appreciate your comments about our staff. These have been very trying times for them and thank you for acknowledging their hardwork. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.4 km) and GameOn Gaming Center (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Papa's Greek Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Thai, Greek, Romanian, Korean, and Filipino.