We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Save
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible44%
Travellers talk about
“great times”(4 reviews)
“big family”(5 reviews)
“community feel”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
36
24
12
12
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
24
12
12
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat timesbig familycommunity feeljob centregood vibesdifferent countriescommon roomthe location is perfectmanly beachboardriders
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Boardrider it is the worst hostel I ever stayed in Australia. Noisy, dirty, broken, danger.. like a bordel in the heart of Manly... in this place you can get: No lights in the man bathroom so you can take a shower in the dark, doors...More

Thank pasha S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently living in Boardrider Backpackers and it's a great hostel to be in, I've been here since December 2017 and I've met alot of people and made many many friends and memories! The hostel is very clean (cleaned alot throughout the day) The...More

Thank Kylie B
Response from Peter S, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kylie, Thanks for your awesome comments. We're going to miss you as well! Best, Kirsten

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Boardrider Backpacker is an hostel with a special chill vibe. The people are really welcoming. The staff was just so lovely and helpful. And the location is just awesome: in a pedestrian street right next to the beach and all the bar and restaurant of...More

Thank FloeWia
Response from Peter S, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Floe, Thanks for leaving us this kind review. Very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here. Best, Kirsten

Reviewed 18 March 2018

A friendly place which even leaves you a little gift on your pillow...earplugs. No joke. And they didn't help but it was a nice gesture. An OK place with very friendly staff who can't do enough to help, but it could go with a face...More

Thank guestxxx
Response from Peter S, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for your review. Yes - no joke indeed! Between all the surrounding bars, restaurants & cafes, and the guests after a bit of fun, this place can be a bit noisy. We do our best to try and ensure our guests have...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This is probably the worst hostel we’ve stayed at. Priced at 40 bucks a night you expect a bit more!! The hostel is full people on long term stay = their stuff is everywhere. When we entered our room there wasn’t even room to put...More

Thank Isabella S
Response from Peter S, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Isabella, Thanks for your review. Sounds like you had a bit of drama during your stay. First off, let me be clear that we do not allow the use of illegal drugs here in the hostel, and all complaints of that nature are acted...More

View more reviews
About
Description
!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!! I would like to introduce myself: My name is Laura and I am the new manager of the Boardrider Backpacker & Budget Motel!! I would like to ...More welcome everyone from all over the world to come & stay at our backpackers based in Manly Beach (literately a 1 minute walk from the main beach, YEW.) We have been and still are very busy UPGRADING our services on EVERY level! The surf is pumping & jobs are coming in daily so come and check it out ----> HAPPY DAYS Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Internet
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take
you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches
here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the
day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is
a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the
Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are
plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent
cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"slow wifi. Private rooms might be a bit better but of course more expensive"
Read review
"many of the rooms on the 1st floor have balconies!"
Read review
"It will be loud as it is a backpackers right on Manly's main road. But get out there and make friends!"
Read review
"For a quiet night ask to be put on the 1st floor. If you love yoga head to Power Living right down the street!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing