Queensberry Bay Leisure Park

Queensberry Bay Leisure Park

Traveller (245)
Dining (5)
Glamping pods
Room & Suite (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Powfoot
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A beautiful Holiday park with self catering holiday accommodation, touring facilties and glamping pods.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Picnic area
Room features
Seating area
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles290 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Queensberry Bay Leisure Park is often recognized for offering excellent value with its budget-friendly accommodation rates, although some guests feel the restaurant's prices don't quite match the quality. The cleanliness of the caravans and facilities frequently earns praise, contributing to the cozy and relaxing atmosphere that visitors love. While the service and food quality have received mixed reviews, the friendly staff and pet-friendly touches are appreciated. The hotel's amenities, including well-equipped kitchenettes and a beautiful restaurant/bar area, along with its stunning beach location, make it a popular choice among travelers.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
290Reviews6Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 208
  • 29
  • 21
  • 14
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
monkey2009Cheshire wrote a review Aug 2020
cheshire
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great week staying in a deluxe caravan, the check in staff where great, the caravan was spotless and the location was quiet and relaxing.
Right on the beach at Powfoot with a pub near by and plenty to do around the location.
Lauderette on site and a spa which was unfortunately shut at the moment. Really great for long walks on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Marketing at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 03 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon. Team Verdant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
profjoypc wrote a review Feb 2022
Alnwick, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We walked along the coastal road to visit this leisure park and enjoyed a very pleasant stop in its restaurant. The place was very clean and welcoming - warm on a very cold day! Service was speedy and friendly and we enjoyed our casual food. The whle park looked very well maintained and is in a really splendid quiet location overlooking the Solway Firth.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 17 Feb 2022
hank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really glad to hear you had such a great stay at the park and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
B.J.A wrote a review Nov 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend booked this for me as a surprise birthday gift. Despite the current covid circumstances our weekend was unbelievable, from start to finish. We arrived using the Iphone Map app and it directed us to pot hole central which we knew wasn’t right. We called reception for directions and we could not fault the lady one bit. Super friendly on phone. Upon arrival, the lady greeted us and recommended nearby places to visit on our weekend. We were in Pod 3, it was spotless and had everything you could ever ask for when Glamping. On night one we visited La Fortuna Italian Restaurant in Annan (which was only 5 mins away by car). Outstanding food & service. On the Saturday we went a walk by the beach that’s right on the doorstep, it was a clay beach so very difficult to walk on - but a great laugh for us. The only thing i’d say about the clay beach is to be careful with young kids/dogs as some parts are extremely deep and sticky. Beautiful views though along the walk. We also drove to Hoddom Castle and went a walk round. Lovely forest trails within that complex too. Then we took a trip to Lockerbie to visit the remembrance garden for the plane crash in 1988. Saturday night we ate out of Cafe Royal Chip Shop (Annan), which was again unreal!! We thought it was expensive but you definitely get what you pay for there. Sunday we were honestly gutted to leave, check out was 10am so we decided to eat some more and have breakfast at The Quarter Cake Cafe where Donna & Liam served us. Couldn’t fault the staff or the food, we would return there again for food. On route home we stopped in Gretna where there is an outlet with Nike, Adidas, Ralph Lauren, Hugo Boss, Cadbury & more. Wasn’t what we expected as it was really pricey but was a lovely wee shopping area and worth a visit. Overall, our weekend to Queensberry Bay was an unforgettable experience, from the staff to the accommodation and the food it was honestly the best!! We are already planning our next trip. Thank you to everyone who helped make this experience for us one to remember :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 07 Dec 2020
Hi BARN0002, thanks for leaving an excellent review. We look forward to seeing you on park again very soon, Team Verdant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L W wrote a review Sept 2020
Alloa, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Found the site with a little difficulty as after you leave the main road which has signage there is suddenly no signage so luckily we didn’t go down a wrong road as that could have been tricky as we were towing a caravan. Arrived via a very potholed road on site which wasn’t easy to drive on. Sign asks you to report to reception but no arrow to guide you so we took a lucky guess! Pitch was right on waterfront with a gorgeous view. The toilets were poor, tired and dated however were very clean. There was a sofa in the toilets that was all torn and that was your first impression. The shower was in the same cubicle as each toilet but as there was a cost to use the showers we didn’t use these. There is no mention on the website or booking that the shower costs £1 for 5 minutes and especially as we are not using cash just now neither of us had a coin even if we had wanted to use them! Luckily we have a good shower in our van.
Minimal COVID 19 precautions in place with a hand sanitiser at the toilet entrance and shop entrance only (that I could see) but there are many other high touch areas if you are a tourer, i.e. taps and bins with no hand sanitiser.
Overall very disappointed with the facilities and we wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 15 Sept 2020
We're keen to investigate the issues you have raised. Could you possibly send us a message with your contact details or email customercare@verdantleisure.co.uk so we can look into this further. Thank you, Team Verdant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Refereesmum wrote a review Sept 2020
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for a week at the end of August in our touring caravan. Regular visitors for over 15 years to this site (regular means up to 10 times a year). Arrived on site and discovered that there are no restrictions as to who can use what (toilets/launderette etc) as all keyfobs are disabled. Open to the general public who rock up on site to use the beach. Not sure what part of COVID secure this meets. No paper towels, often no soap available. .
Guests in the pods all week which are behind the touring caravans shoreside. Not sure what rules are in place (noise curfew etc) but it would appear that if there are any, they are not communicated, adhered to or monitored. Our first 5 days were fantastic. Then Friday came. We had the unfortunate experience of two loud, drunken, aggressive visitors to one of the pods and from approximately 5pm, were so intimidated that we locked ourselves in our caravan and did not venture out again. The noise, language and general aggressiveness continued until approximately 2am. Fortunately they were removed on Saturday.Not one of the 3 park managers has contacted us, and despite our concerns being voiced, we are still awaiting an outcome from our complaint.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 23 Sept 2020
We're keen to investigate the issues you have raised. Could you possibly send us a message with your contact details or email customercare@verdantleisure.co.uk so we can look into this further. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Afastmusic wrote a review Aug 2022
Rotherham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A perfect park to visit if you want to get close to nature and like beach walking. This park is beautiful with the groundsmen making sure the site looks exemplary at all times. The flower beds are pretty and colourful. An interesting addition is the newly laid nature trail which I commend.However I do recommend bringing a good supply of food with you due to the service in the restaurant being hit and miss. I have been to the sandpiper a few times and have found the breakfasts and the Sunday lunches to be of a good standard. However we decided to ignore the poor recent restaurant reviews and give this sandpiper a chance last night. We arrived at 7.50 for a meal only to be told that food is now stopped at 7.30. We purchased 2 drinks only to find we were joined by 2 men in close proximity who were swearing every other word. We left promptly and have booked a meal at the Powfoot hotel today instead which does serve food after 7.30.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 08 Aug 2022
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear of your experience in the Sandpiper. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to the Senior Management Team on park. Thanks, Team Verdant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ferg64 wrote a review Oct 2022
Darlington, England
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having visited here some years ago we thought we would try it again. Never in 20yrs of caravanning have we been so sleep deprived and stressed on holiday.
Pitches 2 and 4 had been allocated to 2 families (they happen to be travellers but that's irrelevant) they were simply people with utter contempt for everyone and the environment they inhabited. We were woken at 6.30am in the morning with shouting and screaming and kept awake until after 3am with their commercial vehicles being revved. Their 4 children were unsupervised and out of control and their dog ran all over the site defecating and entering toilet blocks. It was made to sleep under their caravan untethered. The site was strewn with their rubbish and they threw waste water out of their door onto the pitch rather than use a waste water container. They cleaned the outside of their van at 11.30pm last night with accompanying noise and the toilet blocks were not useable after they had been in and we and many other fellow caravaners on the site elected not to use them.
After enduring a night at Queensberry Bay I went to reception to complain. The receptionist told me here had been numerous complaints since these families had arrived but there wasn't anything they could do as they can't discriminate against travellers. . I was told that the manager would speak to them again as they were not due to leave until Sunday.
I eventually insisted that we were moved to Sandside, another touring area on the site as there was going to be a space but this wasn’t until day 3 of our holiday. To add insult to injury when I dropped the toilet block key off as we prepared to leave on our final day, I noticed that the families causing the problems were still on the site, despite them supposed to be leaving the previous day. I was informed that the families had asked to extend their stay and that they had been allowed to do so. So another week of hell would be endued by those pitching in Dunlin Touring area.
I find it incredible that Queensberry bay was quite prepared to continue to allow these families to remain on the site considering the utter misery they were causing. It demonstrated to me that those of us who complained (of which there were many) were undervalued as customers and that Queensberry Bay sees income, at whatever cost, as being more important than genuine holiday makers who simply want a pleasant holiday.
At no point did the manager even bother to come and talk to me despite my dissatisfaction. In fact I never even saw the manager at any point during my stay. As a caravanner of 20 years I have no intention of ever staying at this or any other Verdant Leisure site again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 12 Oct 2022
We rely on holiday guests to behave respectfully and appropriately at all times. We outline this in our holiday terms and conditions. Please be assured that any poor behaviour displayed on our parks is addressed in line with our terms. If you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact us, customercare@verdantleisure.co.uk Thanks, Team Verdant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJ wrote a review Jun 2021
Annan, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Called to have a look at their new restaurant and bar and possibly have a coffee and a snack of some kind and we were given a menu which showed all types of breakfast rolls etc and to our amazement we noticed that they were doing a full breakfast with tea or coffee for £5 which I couldn't resist and when the food arrived I was really taken back with the quality and the quantity of food on my plate. The service and friendliness of the staff was amazing, can't wait to go back in the future. Well done to all concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: This is not a hotel, its a holiday park with static and touring caravans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 03 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such fantastic feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed The Sandpiper. We have passed your feedback to the team. Team Verdant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane Webb wrote a review Sept 2022
Madeley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a long weekend here to escape the day to day stress. On arrival our accommodation was not ready which was fine so we went for a walk to stretch our legs after a long journey. The Reception staff were very apologetic and gave us some food vouchers to use in the Sandpiper Restaurant.
After waiting a short while we enjoyed a drink in the restaurant, the lady in there that night was so lovely, polite and chatty, very busy but still paid attention to waiting customers and had a chat to us whilst getting our drinks. Once inside the caravan we made ourselves at home, spotlessly clean as was the whole park, we saw a man walk round the park each morning checking everywhere was clean and tidy. A truly relaxing park with amazing views and would recommend.
Now for the only bad point. On Saturday morning we decided to use our free voucher and go and get breakfast, we were served by a young member of staff who clearly had the attitude they did not want to be at work and did not enjoy their job. No good morning, no chat, nothing. After bringing our food to the table I noticed my toast had green mould on one slice, this made me heave and put me off my food, so to the comments on another post dont believe the bad reviews!!! I mentioned this to the member of staff and said you might want to suggest to the kitchen staff they should check the food before they send it out, no comment just picked up the plate and walked off. Didnt let that spoil our holiday but I would not go in there to eat again and most days and nights it was empty, such a shame really as this could be fantastic if run properly. Check out was excellent, asked if we had a good stay and asked to do a review on here. Still would give 10/10. Well done to those staff who excel there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Thank you for your feedback, we have shared this with our Senior Management Team. We would be happy to discuss any aspect of your stay. You can email our Customer Care team on customercare@verdantleisure.co.uk. Thanks, Team Verdant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarz wrote a review Sept 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the Sandpiper for a meal as we have many times and although had some tasty meals in the past the quality appears to be taking a hit! Ordered the special which was tasteless and my partners rice was cold. Also ordered garlic bread which we’ve had before and enjoyed.. unfortunately this didn’t arrive so after 3 attempts to get someone’s attention the waitress went and got the forgotten item. Microwaved, under cooked soggy bread with garlic spread would be the most apt description! It was inedible. After alerting the waiter he kindly took it away and it was removed from the bill however when paying I was told that it was not microwaved so the manager didn’t know what had happened. To touch it was red hot and had clearly been zapped quickly in an attempt to get the missed item out. Everyone is human and makes mistakes but to serve this was a little insulting and shows that quality is not really a high priority. All In all will most likely be avoiding food here until there is some signs of improvement! The food is much nicer down the road at the Powfoot hotel, the drinks are cheaper and the service is much more efficient. It’s a shame because it really could be a lovely place to eat but really needs consideration for what constitutes quality food and service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Verdant Leisure, Owner at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail with you. We will investigate the issues you have raised and ask that you email our customer care team customercare@verdantleisure.co.uk with your booking reference number so they can respond to you directly. Thanks, Team Verdant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tommcleod asked a question Feb 2024
Stirling, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi, does the Sandpiper do takeaway food?
Answer from Marie D
England, United Kingdom
Big freezer and play park. We're in a sage now ☺
Irene E asked a question Sept 2021
Linwood, United Kingdom67 contributions70 helpful votes
Is there cutlery, wine and tall glasses in the glamping pods please?
Answer from London249
London, United Kingdom9 contributions22 helpful votes
There is cutlery and water glasses and mugs and plates
BrianandClaire580 asked a question Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom38 contributions15 helpful votes
Could you tell me if the Caravans have irons?
Answer from john g
Falkirk, United Kingdom24 contributions39 helpful votes
I don't know about caravan pod did not have 9ne phone them a d they will tell you
Answer from Verdant L
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Following the acquisition of the park by Verdant Leisure the deposit scheme for keys and breakages is no longer in place. Please be assured there will not be any additional deposits taken other than the amount stated at the time of booking.
Paul wrote a tip May 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom42 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring walking boots or wellies if you want to walk along the beach. There are huge puddles you’ll either need to walk through."
Read full review
robertamac1 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Hamilton, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"its a quiet site, peaceful. Its not got a poll or a nightclub, but that's also its good points! Its a place to relax, with beautiful scenery"
Read full review
gallrick wrote a tip Jan 2024
El Pinar de Campoverde, Spain128 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food Expensive in the bar on site"
Read full review
Louise G wrote a tip Sept 2023
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom36 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take wellies - access to the beach is awkward, uneven and dodgy underfoot, but we'll worth it "
Read full review
Theresa J wrote a tip Sept 2023
32 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the beautiful surroundings "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Powfoot area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDumfries and GallowayPowfoot
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEENSBERRY BAY LEISURE PARK - Campground Reviews (Powfoot, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Queensberry Bay Leisure Park
Which popular attractions are close to Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Nearby attractions include Dino Park (8.0 km), Lonsdale Cinema (5.6 km), and Henry Duncan Savings Banks Museum (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, free parking, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Our Place Annan, Del Amitri Restaurant, and The Cafe Royal.
Are pets allowed at Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Queensberry Bay Leisure Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerlaverock Castle (11.2 km).
Is Queensberry Bay Leisure Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire