Mohale Lodge

Mohale Lodge

Ha Mohale Private Bag A110 Maseru, Likalaneng 0100 Lesotho
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (9)
Местное пиво))
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Likalaneng
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mohale Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore the rich natural splendours of Lesotho’s mountain Kingdom.This family-friendly lodge is ideal for those seeking an adventurous scape or wishing to reconnect with nature.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Ha Mohale Private Bag A110 Maseru, Likalaneng 0100 Lesotho
23Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 7
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Don Packett wrote a review Jan 2015
Western Cape, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mohale Lodge is a perfect stop while driving through Lesotho. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious! The room was also great, with a big bed to test our weary heads after a long day's travel. The views from the balconies are spectacular too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 05 Jan 2015
Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at Mohale. We are most humbled by your kind words and compliments which will be shared to all concerned. We really hope that you will visit us again soon. Warme Regards Staff and Management Mohale Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roni28 wrote a review Mar 2013
Maseru, Lesotho
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My only experiences of this lodge have been work-related, but I would love to have a more leisurely visit to take in the clean mountain air. The staff was helpful and the food excellent except the dessert buffet. The rooms were clean and functional, with dstv and tea station. There is a choice of rooms in the central building with baths, or the annex with showers.The annex is the place to book for self-catering option, with fridges and stoves, but alas no microwave oven. The lodge is undertaking modernisation of the rooms, whereby the bathrooms will have baths with shower to international standards. My room had an oil heater, which was a welcome comfort as the nights can get nippy even in autumn.
The view of the dam and mountains from some of the rooms is truly breathtaking. The swimming pool had fallen into disuse, but along with the tennis courts and nearby business complex, could provide all the distraction one needs on their semi-rural retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the dam, preferably at the end of the corridor (which can get a bit...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 28 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, We love the fact that you have summed up Mohale and the Lesotho experience perfectly. We hope to see you back at Mohale Lodge soon. Warmest regards, The Mohale Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr. Raphoka R wrote a review Apr 2015
Maseru, Lesotho
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation/rooms to be checked or inspected before every check-in. The rooms we occupied seemed to have been cleaned abandoned for long time before our accommodation. My tip is that they should be cleaned few hours before arrival of guests not many days or weeks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 20 Apr 2015
Dear Guest Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate your compliments and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mohale Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mphol2015 wrote a review Oct 2015
Alberton, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Okay, honestly speaking, we were super ecstatic and looking forward to a board-cruises plus the pony-rides BUT got our bubbles burst when we were told the activities are facilitated and administered by 'individuals' whom we had to phone and were unavailable. All-in-all, the drive from Maseru to the lodge was just bananas(the mountains, ooh my!), the view is so lovely and we had a pleasant stay. See you REAL SOON!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2015
Dearest Guest Thank you for your kind review following your time with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments and we would further like to apologise for the lack of activities. Unfortunately, the lodge is located in a remote districts and it does get difficult to confirm with vendors. We will see to this matter immediately and in the not-too-distant future we will resolve this issue. On that note, we hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mohale Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abi M wrote a review Mar 2015
Gaborone, Botswana
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mohale Dam was the perfect stop for us after a drive from Maliba Lodge, past Katse Dam, to Semonkong Lodge. But because we weren't certain we could make it all the way to Mohale in one day (part of the road from Katse is not tarred and we didn't know what condition the road would be in), we wanted to leave our options open in case we needed to stop at Katse overnight. Before our trip, I looked online at availability and every day of the month was green, so I figured we could book upon arrival.

When we arrived (just before sunset on a weeknight), we found out that the hotel was fully booked. There was a conference onsite. The lady working at the front desk looked at us with concern. She told us that the nearest lodge had been undergoing reservations and she knew the restaurant was open but wasn't sure about the accommodations. She told us the distance to Maseru and thought that we could make it before sunset, but we didn't want to risk it. To ensure that we had a safe place to sleep, she offered us a self-catering unit for bed and breakfast that was undergoing renovations.

It was a bit eerie for the two of us staying in a 2 story house with 6 beds, but it was absolutely fine. Once the renovations are complete, it would be the perfect place for a family or a group to stay for the night. (It has the amenities of home: full kitchen, washing machine, 2 bathrooms, balcony, outdoor fireplace on the patio, braii, garage, private backyard, etc.)

We headed back down to the main lodge for both dinner and breakfast. Dinner was quite good (as other reviewers have mentioned). Breakfast was only ok (we're pretty sure the meat was organ meat [kidney or liver] which we don't eat, so that was a disappointment). I can't attest to the normal rooms, but the lodge itself was very clean and nice, so I imagine the rooms are as well. I think you'll find that it's a nice stopover.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 08 Apr 2015
Dearest Abby Thank you for your amazing review. We are truly lost for words. Thank you for making mention of our facilities and service. We cannot thank you enough for one of the best reviews we have ever received. Please do visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mohale Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MyTravelBugSA wrote a review Aug 2013
Woodstock, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is regarding the customer service relating to a booking problem I had. I have not stayed at this hotel. I decided to write this review as I am absoutely shocked that a hotel can provide this level of customer service.

I requested a quote for this hotel in late July/early August, I cannot remember exactly. I wanted to visit for the August long weekend (9-11 August 2013). From the company website I requested a quote for the said dates.

I recieved the quote on the 25 August 2013. I had actually forgotten that I have made the requested and booked a different hotel for the long weekend. On recipet of the quote I read it 3 times to be sure that I had just recieved a quote for dates that had in fact past, two weeks ago.

If Mohale Lodge had just ignored my request as the date had clearly long passed, I wouldn't have even remembered requesting the quote.

I am shocked that a hotel can provide a potential guest with a quote of a date that has passed, this desplays a shocking level of service. Having worked in the hospitality industry myself I can honestly say this hotel should be ashamed.

Reading perivous reviews, it seems this hotel isn't very busy, could it be that they are to incompetent to even take advantage of potential customers such as myself?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 13 Sept 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for bringing to attention the delayed response in a requested availability, since we deal with over 55 online booking agents and a further 100 or so travel agents it is very difficult for us to nail down why there was a delayed response to your enquiry. Our direct reservation office responds immediately and there is no Mohale Lodge website, in fact we are about to launch the lodges website where guests will be able to do live bookings and see live availability. We thank you for making your comments and are glad that you managed to enjoy the long weekend away, however we feel it was not an accurate review of Mohale Lodge since in fact you have never stayed there. We hope to accommodate you in the future and provide you with a true Mohale Lodge experience that we trust will allow you to post an accurate review of the lodge and your personal experience. Sincerely, The Mohale Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsVeeDeeDubs wrote a review Nov 2015
Clarens, South Africa
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay. Though I rated it 3 stars it is probably 4 stars for Lesotho.

The staff are all very friendly, accommodating & helpful from beginning to end.

We had some issues with the plugs in our rooms and they attended to & fixed it immediately.

The room was light & airy. The bathroom basic. Both bathroom & room very clean with lovely smelling toiletries in the bathroom. We had a lovely view of the dam (we did request it).

Only issue we had was the noise from the corridor when people returned late from dinner & also early in the morning again - the sound does seem to carry into the rooms.

We really enjoyed the restaurant. We arrived mid-afternoon & they were open so we had a late lunch/early supper. I had Greek salad & the lamb chops with chips & veg. My husband had the chicken livers & then the ribs with chips & veg. The food was tasty & fresh and the portions generous. Breakfast (included) had an array of cereals, fruits, cold meat, cheeses & bread plus a choice for hot breakfast. All delicious.

The hotel was very quiet during our 1 night stay so we had a great time but I do know they have big groups for conferences so can't say how things would be then.

We will definitely go back & stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stella D, General Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 27 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for such good reviews, we are very grateful. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Staff and Management would like to thank you. Do come again soon, we enjoyed having you here. MERRY CHRISTMAS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr. Eddie P wrote a review Dec 2014
Maseru District, Lesotho
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always enjoy reception at mohale. The staff make you feel at home away from home. I love their food as well. This time i came with my National Leaders and all they were saying was: We now know why you love Mohale. The best hotel services in the country
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hote1Management, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 20 Jan 2015
Dear Eddie Thank you for your amazing review following your stay with us. You are the reason why we love what we do! Your kind words and compliments will be shared with the team. Please be sure to visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mohale Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David J wrote a review Oct 2012
Leiston, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
[NB this is NOT at Mohales Hoek, but about 6 hours derive away near the Mohale dam GPS -29.478422,28.061264}

My wife was poorly so we stopped off here unexpectedly.

The place was empty when we arrived with a ghost like atmosphere
and numerous staff milling about. A government group arrived in the
evening but did little to give the place warmth.

I ate the buffet provided for the arrivals and it was reasonable.
The staff could not have been more helpful over getting some scrambled
eggs for my wife.

The price for B&B was negotiable!

Room fair, but no shower, bath only. Wi-Fi broken, TV in room with DST.
Excellent lightweight but warm quilt.

The whole place feels like a deserted holiday resort, and looks out of place
with modern symmetrical brick buildings in the rural Lesotho countryside.

I wouldn’t choose to stay here again but they provided a good port in a storm.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the main block, not annexes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohale L, Manager at Mohale Lodge
Responded 28 May 2013
Dear David, Thank you for your review. Mohale is a very remote location and is suitable for those people looking to get far away from the madding crowd. We are glad to have been able to provide safe harbour from the storm. We trust your wife is better and you have returned safely to the UK. Warmest regards, The Mohale Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoziFly wrote a review Nov 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend and i visited the lodge last year 2018 Dec and were very pleased. It was the perfect base for us as we were fly fishing the close by Senqunyane River.
We would like to return end of this month November 29th 2019 but unable to get hold of the lodge, have tried Facebook, email and the tell number provided on their page to no avail. We would just like to confirm if the rates are still M900 for 2 adults per night and availability for the 29th November to 3rd December 2019.

Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Stella D
Maseru, Maseru, Lesotho
we have availability on the 22nd April 2018. 1 room 2 adults Bed and Breakfast M900.00 per night.
Whalewatchers2014 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa29 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The corridors is very noisy at night."
Read full review
MaxwilG wrote a tip Jan 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa53 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room with a view."
Read full review
daansaaiman wrote a tip Jun 2016
Northern Cape, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors have excellent view."
Read full review
Petro S wrote a tip Jun 2016
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors have the best view."
Read full review
David H wrote a tip Feb 2016
Eastbourne, United Kingdom136 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for mountain view!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Likalaneng area.
LOCATION
LesothoMaseru DistrictLikalaneng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOHALE LODGE - Hotel Reviews (Likalaneng, Lesotho)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mohale Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mohale Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mohale Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mohale Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mohale Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Mohale Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Mohale Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.