The Yachtsman Resort

The Yachtsman Resort

Traveller (126)
Master with King and VIEW!
Room & Suite (42)
Beach right outside the hotel
Pool & Beach (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#4 of 5 special resorts in Myrtle Beach
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Yachtsman Resort has been a "home away from home" for several owners and visitors. The Yachtsman's great location, helpful staff, and fun activities have helped build many vacation memories and friendships for nearly 30 years. It's more than a resort, it's an icon - of family, fun, and fellowship
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids pool
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Highchairs available
Foot massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View

Location

1304 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3759
244Reviews10Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 70
  • 45
  • 27
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
64susiem wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a 1 bedroom with a full kitchen to accommodate 4 people. However, when I checked in, I was given a smaller room that could only accommodate 2 to 3 people. When I asked about an upgrade, I was told that there was a deluxe room, which is booked originally, but I would have to pay an additional $1500. We tried to make it work but after 1 night and being extremely uncomfortable we had to check out and find somewhere else to stay. I am not saying do not stay here but call ahead to make sure you are getting what you paid for. I gave it a 2 because the view is breathe taking especially at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Miller, Marketing at The Yachtsman Resort
Responded 13 Feb 2021
We have a wide range of room styles here at the Yachtsman. Occupancy ranges from 8 guests for our 2 bedroom down to 4 guests for the studio efficiency. We are a timeshare resort so inventory available to third party sites are done as owner rentals. As these units are rented out on behalf of the owner we are very limited in pricing for these units. Also if you booked your stay with any of the third-party sites all upgrades are handled through them as they handle the booking and payments for these units. We are sorry you had a negative experience with our resort and we advise everyone to book directly through the resort so we can give all our guests the level of service they deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelia H wrote a review Jan 2020
Cleveland, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The unit was clean but an average place to stay. No coffee, tea, shampoo, conditioner, radio, clock, pen and paper as you are used to having in a hotel or resort. The cleaning staff, security staff, and activities staff are nice and friendly. I did not get a welcome packet upon check in, so did not know what was going on for the week as far as activities. You had to go to the hotel next door to use the indoor pool and jacuzzi. Asked the front desk staff where the nearby fitness center was (as advertised), and she was not aware of one. Bag with extra linen in the bedroom had sheets with huge glob of hair on it. If you are on a budget, I would recommend. If you are used to staying in five star resorts, you will be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue C wrote a review Sept 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The building is decades old and had very little maintenance. Appliances and fixtures are in poor condition. Water was dripping from the ceiling (3rd floor), and the air intake louvers were so full of gunk it was noisy trying to run. The balcony was just wide enough to stand on. Carpets, drapes and furniture were stained and dirty. We were in the "South" tower. To do laundry, you have to carry your clothes to the "North" tower, two buildings away! If you don't have exact change, you have to go back to the "South" tower to get it, toting your laundry because you don't want to leave anything unattended. The attitude of staff was don't fix it unless someone complains. I did call for maintenance to fix the bent latch plate on the front door and got a very nice young man who took the time to fix it right. Before that, we had to do a body slam to open it! It is located on Ocean Blvd, right in the middle of everything. Lots of noise going on 24/7. People walked the Blvd day/night and there were no crosswalks to get to the parking garage. We were not provided with a guest information sheet which might have explained a few things. Instead, we had to figure it out as we went. All in all, a very disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve C wrote a review Jul 2020
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed because it was booked for us by Bluegreen Vacation on a sales pitch for a time shares. It’s not owned by Bluegreen so I don’t know why they put us there. Anyhow the first impression is a scary filthy elevator. As soon as we open the door to the room the mildew odor about knocked you down. We sprayed the entire room with disinfectant spray and essential oil. The rooms are dated and well used. We complained to Bluegreen who contacted the office who said they would move us. Well that never happened, they come in and said we don’t smell any mildew. No s#%t we sprayed the crap out the place. Do not go plenty of other choices in Myrtle Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
troy2021 wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was offered the Studio, a 1 bedroom or a 2 bedroom.... I chose the 1 bedroom not wanting the tiny efficiencies listed on The Yachtsman Resort website! WOW!! They put me in the “Sloop” anyway! Which is their tiniest room they offer, my entire stay I checked their website and all five of their room types were available despite them telling me otherwise and not putting me in a 1 bedroom unit! The Tripbeat rep was rude and not helpful as well as the resort clerk! The rooms there literally have a “standing room only” balcony and so tiny we felt Claustrophobic in the so called bedroom ... the location made it extremely noisy and we couldn’t get any quality rest and left our trip early. I have never been so disappointed in all my vacations as this one! I will NEVER EVER stay at the Yachtsman again or trust Tripbeat to put me in what I select again! Don’t ruin your vacation by staying at this dump!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Miller, Marketing at The Yachtsman Resort
Responded 13 Feb 2021
Troy, Guests that come in from third party sites such as tripadvisor are booked into these rooms by a third-party and not by the resort. If you were put in a room not of your liking that is an issue that you had with tripadvisor. We offer 5 different room styles ranging from a spacious 2 bedroom down to a studio efficiency. Furthermore, pictures of all our rooms and floorplans are clearly shown on our website and many of the travel websites. We do apologize for your negative experience at our resort but our staff cannot upgrade your room when you come in off a third party site as the booking and all payments are done by that third party.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marlene K wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros and cons. We were surprised at how rundown this room was. There were several areas of the wall that were discolored and there was a hole in the wall by the couch covered by the murphy bed. The street traffic was loud and obnoxious and we had to leave our tv volume turned up loud at night to drown out the noise. We had barely enough room to walk around the room with our luggage in there. Other than some areas of the carpet that had some sort of white powder on it, the room seemed clean and it had what we needed in the kitchen. The pool area is nice and was well kept. The reason we felt the hotel was not safe was that housekeeping left our door open. We were gone the entire day and our room was left open from morning until night. We called security who came to check on us. We expected to hear from the manager but never did. Lastly, as we checked in, another guest called the front desk to report people were smoking weed in their room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The bedrooms face the street where all the noise is.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin B wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was great and all of the staff was Wonderful. Biggest downfall was not having on-site parking. Room was clean and comfortable. There are sliding glass doors but no balconies to sit on. Music playing nightly on either side of the hotel which was great until you tried to sleep with the sliding glass doors open and hear the ocean. The tractor that starts at 4:30-5 am to smooth out the beach didn't help with sleeping either.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Randy F wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
free cancelation. my wife canceled our reservations a month ahead of time and they kept half our money that we paid on the room and when we ask why the lady on the phone got really hateful and started yelling at me. i will be contacting whoever i need to contact to report her attitude/
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Inspire10061978 wrote a review Apr 2021
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there and want stay again for the price they charge they need a immediate renovation. My heat didnt work the AC unit didnt work ,they dont have Balconies and they dont care 'about any of the visitors and its so SAD. I wasnt even asked if i wanted to be compensated for anything the maintenance workers had to come and switch from heat to cool then found out it was the heating coil still no difference MY first and last stay. I think they do that because its where everything at.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DKtravelerfamily wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great value for the price. I've stayed here a few times over the last several years and improvements/updates are constantly being made. Rooms are clean, have great views, and are spacious. Entire staff is courteous and willing to help quickly if there is anything you need. Great "extras" like games, movies, beach & pool towels, activities, welcome breakfast, etc. Within walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants and fun tourist attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from James M
Belleville13 contributions6 helpful votes
This is not a golf resort. Many golf courses would be a short drive. This is a resort on the ocean boardwalk.
Answer from rkbksh
Pueblo West, Colorado68 contributions40 helpful votes
There is parking a block away-don't know about cameras. The two towers are separated by a Seaglass tower. South tower has the office and North tower has the activities center where you get your towels. We were in a suite and had a horrific experience with broken appliance, stained furniture and mold on the ceiling. Checked out early and paid for another place about half a mile north. I hope the two bedroom is kept up better and cleaner than our room. All rooms are oceanfront views but the Yatchsman has a false balcony. You can open the sliding glass door and barely stand outside (2 feet). There is no room to sit and watch the ocean. You can't deny the beauty of the beach. If it weren't for the beach this experience would have been a nightmare. For the time we were there, we tried to get out of the room quickly and head for the beach. The Yatchsman is close to shopping and restaurants. Hope you have a nice vacation.
Answer from YachtsmanMB
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Hi, We have coin operated washers and dryer on the ground floor of our North Tower.
Answer from suzanne
Greenville, South Carolina114 contributions34 helpful votes
No, all of the rooms face the ocean. They all have a standing balcony (only room for you to stand).
Answer from YachtsmanMB
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
We offer free high speed internet in all rooms.
Donna W wrote a tip Jun 2024
Whitsett, North Carolina1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Relax!!"
Read full review
TravelingGirlnGuy wrote a tip Jun 2020
Baltimore, Maryland90 contributions71 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors will have broader view of ocean (and maybe less street noise)."
Read full review
Marlene K wrote a tip Jun 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bedrooms face the street where all the noise is."
Read full review
Shelia H wrote a tip Jan 2020
Cleveland, Ohio12 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are ocean front."
Read full review
JohnnyB wrote a tip Aug 2019
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"South Tower has larger pool deck, North Tower best for kids activities and rest rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Myrtle Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,379 - R 5,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yachtsman hotel myrtle beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Yachtsman by EVRentals
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE YACHTSMAN RESORT - Specialty Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Myrtle Beach, SC)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Yachtsman Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Yachtsman Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rigatony's Murder Mystery Dinner Show (0.5 km), SkyWheel Myrtle Beach (0.2 km), and I Love Sugar - Myrtle Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Yachtsman Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Yachtsman Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Yachtsman Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Yachtsman Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Yachtsman Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Abraham's Gyros, Cafe Old Vienna, and Big Mike's Soul Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Yachtsman Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Yachtsman Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Myrtle Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Yachtsman Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Yachtsman Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (0.9 km) and Charlie's Place (1.0 km).
Does The Yachtsman Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Myrtle Beach HotelsMyrtle Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Myrtle BeachHotels near The Yachtsman Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire