We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waves Byron Bay

Save
Share
35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 2021/09/30.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$212
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 36 hotels in Byron Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Hiking
Babysitting
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
406Reviews2Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 150
  • 55
  • 21
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lanky_legs wrote a review 15 Sep
Sydney, Australia12 contributions5 helpful votes
I am saddened that I have to take this to socials to get a response, but Waves have left me no choice. Waves charged my credit card, without authorisation nearly $2,500. A booking was made through booking.com for accommodation April 2022, with free cancellation. I cancelled booking within 2 hours of making it. Within that time frame my credit card was unlawfully charged. A one night only deposit (refundable) $230 was the only amount that could be charged. I have been chasing them through emails, Booking.com and my bank to have my money back, now VISA Fraud. You cannot talk directly to them, they do not answer emails or messages. This is dodgy. Be warned. DO NOT DARE USE COVID AS AN EXCUSE. Waves is in Byron Bay and has certainly not done it as tough as everyone else in Greater Sydney & Melbourne when it comes to covid! Your doors are open now, you are not in lockdown. Be honest and do the right thing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Lanky-legs11, as per our phone answering service, we will be replying and refunding as per T &C's or offering credits to those who do not even have cancellation policies to be helpful and fair to all. Although you have mis-quoted above that charging is fraudulent, it was in the booking information for Christmas and all festival periods that 50% will be charged at booking, which is exactly what you were charged. Outside of these dates, one night deposit is taken. We are governed by the booking agency, in this case Booking.com and cannot make up different rules as we please. We are indeed a long standing honourable business who will meet all refunds where applicable, notwithstanding we are in a pandemic, not an excuse but a real economic reality. Yes Byron may be out of lockdown but of course no returning guests with most states in lockdown. Indeed you are entitled to Free Cancellation which we would always honour, and any inference otherwise is incorrect. Your refund was already processed yesterday prior to your posting and comments on various different Social Media platforms.
Read more
Donna U wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in room 05 1 night $306.00. I rang direct. Upon checking in the room we noticed it was dark and dingy, screen to balcony was filthy and covered in vegetation (trees) to the main street near the roundabout. The price did not reflect the age of the room, cleanliness was poor (photos taken) I was locked in the bathroom as the double doors were broken when we closed them to have a shower (opp front door) couldn't open as came off tracks and my husband struggled to open one side to get me out. The bed was old and offered no support. The lights were such a low wattage that we couldn't see to read. The lounge had marks on it and the carpet was filthy especially in the corners and around the skirtings. When we raised the issue when we checked in the receptionist reported it had a "spring clean" yesterday. I filled out the feedback form and when we booked out again we were told the room had been spring cleaned. I posted the feedback form to Waves Management Group PTY LTD ACN 117819342 Corporate Office P O Box 2225 Ascot QLD A007. No response I then rang 07 38683334 listed on the feedback form.. phone disconnected. I then rang the property supervisor again to get the correct details.. she was going to ring me back as she didn't have the details !, only an email but would not give me the email address... said she would ring me back... that didn't happen either so I rang back again 4/5/2021 top get the details, will now email. The PM wanted to know what I wanted... I do not recommend this accommodation especially at the price we were charged of $306.00.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 05 on main road and roundabout outside.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 09 May 2021
Hi Donna, thanks for taking the time to review us, but as we are immersed in private negotiation I am somewhat surprised at this public forum. Our housekeeping and maintenance team assessed your room upon your comments and found it to be perfectly clean inline with current extended Co-vid cleaning requirements. Indeed I believe you did have an issue with the a bathroom door but as there are 2 sliding doors this should not have been a problem until maintenance resolved it. Thank you for including our Head Office details but our Managers are responsible onsite. Notwithstanding this, we did in good faith offer you a credit of another nights accommodation which you have declined. Our staff pride themselves on Waves Byron Bay and their service, and are disappointed you were not 100% happy with your recent stay.
Read more
Julie G wrote a review Apr 2021
Mona Vale, New South Wales, Australia2 contributions5 helpful votes
Due to the covid situation at Easter 2021 we had to cancel our accommodation, there were restrictions & the Blues festival cancelled This hotel is refusing to refund me ? Absolutely appalling, My request for refund has been dismissed 100% by these greedy , profit hungry thrives , they don’t even have the courtesy to call me I would not recommend booking this property & now I have to take this to the ACCC
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 09 May 2021
Hi Julie, Thanks for reviewing on this public forum. As all previous communication with you ,of which there has been numerous, you were entitled to the conditions of your booking with Booking.com only your deposit to be forfeited. They highlight the T & C's along every step of the booking process. Notwithstanding, unlike most Hoteliers in the Industry we offered you a credit another night which is not part on your T&Cs which you agreed to by completing the booking. Our other guests were delighted with this option. There is certainly no 'greedy, profit hungry thrives?' in any of the Hospitality businesses we have the pleasure of working with, and suggest you may refrain from slanderous comments.
Read more
cecoz wrote a review Apr 2021
australia43 contributions28 helpful votes
Good location however the hotel is poorly maintained. Our bathroom and our front door had hushed cracks in them. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly which was especially worrying as we stayed there 2 days after corona virus restrictions were removed from the area. Bathroom was filthy plus they did not come and clean our room one day and the bathroom stand of sewerage. Fruit and muffins were nice fro breakfast but otherwise poor form
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Hi cecoz, I do wish you had contacted our Reception about your concerns as we have an excellent Housekeeping and reception team evidenced by all of the fabulous reviews, however May was a month of continuing reburishments in most of our rooms so I'm sure you will be loving the new look rooms. Social media is probably not the best forum for fixing inhouse concerns. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay
Read more
The Hotel Inspector wrote a review Mar 2021
London, United Kingdom140 contributions60 helpful votes
A nice option for a Byron Bay weekend away, our room clean and had recently been refreshed with modern beach themed decor. The hotel is close walking distance to the beach as well as restaurants/shops. Secure onsite parking was convenient and at no extra cost. The warm muffins, coffee and fruits in the lobby of a morning was a cute touch.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 09 May 2021
Thanks so much for your great review.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waves byron bay hotel byron bay, waves hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Byron Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Byron Bay?
Nearby attractions include Byron Bay (0.3 km), Byron Bay Cookie Company Gift Shop (0.3 km), and The Byron Bay Book Exchange (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waves Byron Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waves Byron Bay?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waves Byron Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Haven, Betty's Burgers, and Chihuahua.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waves Byron Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Waves Byron Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.