We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel

Save
Share
Church Lane Upper Tankersley, Tankersley S75 3DQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
US$98
View deal
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$93
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (414)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (132)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/11/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Updated 20/11/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 in Tankersley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2243Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 823
  • 612
  • 412
  • 215
  • 181
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
angloinusa wrote a review 06 Jun
United Kingdom29 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed for one night in June having had previous good experiences at Mercure hotels. Having a restaurant on-site was a plus as there are limited options locally. Positives - the hotel is attractive and we found it to be well decorated and it seemed well looked after. Our room was very clean, and the beds very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and stocked with everything we needed. All staff were professional and friendly. On the downside.....as other reviewers have stated, this is a function hotel so there are people returning to their rooms late at night. We were woken at 1.30 by loud guests who obviously had one too many vodka and oranges (yes we heard them clearly discussing the vodka and orange). The food in the bistro was underwhelming and seemed to be re-heated as opposed to being cooked fresh. Breakfast was buffet style and was a bit of a shambles with tables not cleared and no glasses for juices when we arrived. No-one welcomed us and we had to find someone to ask for coffee.....which turned out to be a mistake as it was probably the worst I had tasted in living memory. With a few improvements, this could be a very nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: suggest you call in advance to see if there is a function/wedding on that night!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear angloinusa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you didn't enjoy certain aspects of your stay. I'm sorry that you were disturbed by other guests using our hotel. Whenever possible, we aim to allocate guests not attending an event away from our function spaces to reduce the risk of noise disturbance. We are currently re-evaluating our entire food offering throughout our hotel and will be launching our new breakfast concept next month. This does not excuse the poor level of service that you experienced during your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage manager who will be taking the appropriate corrective action to avoid any guests in the future sharing a similar experience. I hope that you are able to give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
AbbaDabba wrote a review 06 Jun
6 contributions
+1
The room was a good size and generally quite clean but frankly we were amazed that this hotel is rated as a 4 star. It’s looking very tired in places - stained/damaged carpets and chipped paint work, bed mattresses knackered. Toiletries were virtually non existent with only one tiny bottle of shower gel between 2 of us for the entire 3 night stay! No shampoo provided. The view from our window was an unweeded path where various things had been dumped, including a broken gate. The restaurant was not good quality or value for money so, in desperation, we ended up in the local McDonalds one evening which we would normally avoid like the plague! Service was patchy - some staff a bit clueless, with the sound if crockery smashing becoming part of the general background noise of the place. We know staffing is now a general problem due to well-trained European staff leaving the hotel & catering industry in droves post-Brexit. It’s in evidence everywhere we go now and is a real pain. Breakfast was adequate, but with a very limited range of buffet choices and definitely not 4 star standard. The hotel is primarily focused on events (weddings/birthday parties) with at least 4 happening on one day. This really detracts from other hotel guests’ experience of staying here. We were hoping for a relaxing time but it was very noisy, with a dj even located outdoors playing loud music into the evening and a lot of rather inappropriately dressed people endlessly milling around the public areas. We won’t return here and would recommend not staying here if you’re looking for a quality experience with peace and quiet!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Y779VBalisonic Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. We are currently re-evaluating our entire offering throughout the hotel and if you were to allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future you would see a great difference particularly in with our food offering following the appointment of a new Executive Head Chef. Our new breakfast concept will be launched at the beginning of July. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
LondonMarkOrlando wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Spoke to an events coordinator 3 months ago to arrange to hire a room for my mums 80th on 19th Aug 22. She was going to send me a package quotation the following day for room hire, food and disco, nothing happened. The week after I filled in the online request form, again heard nothing. I live in the USA and all of my family are in the hotel area so now we will go there for dinner on that date and see if the restaurant service is any better than the event service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: Don't try to book an event
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear London Mark Orlando, I would like to sincerely apologise for the poor levels of service that you have experienced whilst booking a family celebration at our hotel. We ordinarily have processes in place to ensure that all enquires are responded to in a timely and efficient manner, I'm genuinely sorry that these processes were not followed on this occasion. I can assure you that you will receive our highest levels of attention and service on 19th August to ensure that your family have a fantastic experience with us. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me gemma.buckenham@tankersleymanorhotel.com Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Joshua M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Went to tankersley manor and service was great, Paul, Josh, Niamh, Armya are all great. Would definitely come again, highly recommend the staff to everybody here. Food and drinks were also great. Would definitely come again…………………………….
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Joshua, Thank you for sharing your experience of Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel. The team really appreciate your kind words. Thank you for your recommendation. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Faye S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We got married here last week and we can honestly say that everything ran so smoothly and went to plan. Jess was so helpful in the run up to the wedding making sure we knew exactly what to expect. Markela was honestly amazing on the day and looked after us really well. She made sure everything went to plan and kept us both calm in the run up to the ceremony. Nothing was to much for her. The food was amazing and we had a great day. Thanks Faye and Tom
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Fayestorey1, Thank you for your fantastic review. It was an honour to host your Special Day and we are so grateful that you chose Tankersley Manor.. Thank you for your kind words regarding Jess and Markela, they both really appreciated your feedback. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Mark H wrote a review Apr 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom95 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
Two night stay at a questionable, tired four star hotel. The outside is impressive and certainly looks every bit the four star hotel. However as you delve further into the hotel through the corridors of dirty dishes left throughout, it becomes a lot more tired and dated. Our room had a clear damp problem and lacked even the most basic amenities - toiletries, hairdryer, sufficient toilet roll. The constant stream of guests and staff from the neighbouring conference rooms was also unwelcoming. Housekeeping was questionable as whilst our beds were made, the rest of the room was left untouched including dirty dishes, bins etc. It wasn’t clear when we checked in what coffee making amenities had been replenished from the previous guests as some of the milks had previously been used. We didn’t eat in the restaurant as we had heard poor reviews of the quality of the food. We used the spa facilities during our stay which were functional and dated; and staff unwelcoming. On checkout, we were also informed that they had “forgot” to charge us for one night of our stay. Not great. Next time we will save the money and stay at the premier inn further down the road. At least we know what we were getting and the rooms are well equipped.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Rooms near any of the conference rooms, they are noisy
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Dear W4836LAmarkh, I'm disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Ordinarily the team frequently check the hotel corridors for any room service trays and glasses that have been left in the corridors by guests staying at the hotel. I'm sorry that this procedure wasn't followed during your visit. Having viewed the pictures that you have shared I would like to sincerely apologise for the condition of the paintwork within the bathroom in your guest bedroom. All of our guest bedrooms are equipped with hair dryers and ordinarily additional toilet roll is stored in the vanity unit beneath the sink in the bathroom. I am aware that we did have a shortage of toiletries due to a supplier issue for a very short period due to a supplier issue. I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused. Once again thank you for your detailed feedback and I am sorry that you feel you are not a a position to recommend or stay at our hotel in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Jamie Leigh Rees wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
After reading the reviews i didn’t expect it to be as nice as it was. No complaints at all. Pool side warm and changing rooms clean, staff lovely and helpful. Our Spa lunch was a perfect buffet with lots of options. Our massage we had each was perfect we’ve left feeling very relaxed and will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Dear Leighhajmiee, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to your visit to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
bart153 wrote a review Apr 2022
Torrequebrada, Spain42 contributions5 helpful votes
I wanted to treat my awesome goddess of a wife to a high end romantic spa trip away with a quality restaurant meal to make her feel like a spoilt lady. So to recap, 3 things 1. Nice hotel 2. Spa experience 3. Restaurant quality food. All as per the website...... 1. Nice hotel....nope, dark room, damp. On the walls, and I would say basic.... A recent stay in a 45pound a night travel lodge probably edged it on standards. Breakfast.... When I booked the night before to save on the cost I commented how cheap it was.... A tenner each. Now I see why... Mushrooms undercooked, cheap sausage and hard burnt bacon. Scrambled eggs were over done... Fried eggs.... Wel. Snotty and inedible.... Bar was uninspiring... Dirty tables, drink stains. 2. Spa.... 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣. It was a playground for naked kids to run around and hog the jaquzi, couldn't even swim a length, showers were all broken and no shower gel, does anyone actually check or manage the place??? 3. What restaurant, I was handed a menu which resembled any Toby carvery in the UK, clearly microwave food, I was a bit dumbfound when the staff referred to the "Brasserie"..... What he meant to say was S%%% Hole... Not somewhere my wife would want to put a nice dress and heels on for, it was a dirty cold extention of the bar area.. The brasserie was no such thing, same dirty tables no way this was a restaraunt!!!! Mac Donald's would have been nicer, I called an Uber and took my wife to Hoyland..... Surely that says all I need. Some of the staff were very nice, just a shame they have to be the face of what I consider a F1 level of B&B, not a 4star hotel. Management and owners, get a grip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Honestly, don't go. Food and accommodation isn't worth the money. If you do stay, walk to...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Dear Bart153 I am extremely disappointed to read that your stay with us failed to meet your expectations. I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that there were a number of issues that marred your visit. I do and have taken all of your constructive feedback onboard which i have shared with the team along with taking the necessary action. We do restrict children swim times to two hours in a morning and two hours in the late afternoon/early evening to allow all of our guests to have the opportunity to enjoy our pool facilities. We are in the process of addressing the issue with our Brasserie tables. Due to the high frequency of sanitising our tables, the sanitiser has reacted with the varnish giving them a tacky feel. We have also recently appointed a new executive head chef that will be making changes and improvements to our food offering in the near future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Sam S wrote a review Apr 2022
Wales, United Kingdom122 contributions76 helpful votes
This was a clean hotel with lots of character. We had a quadruple family room which was a bit cramped and we felt like none of us could move around much. We ate at the restaurant on one evening and I thought the food was generous and tasty. My husband meanwhile had room service for which he waited an hour, had the wrong order and was sick the next day. This may or may not have been the room service, but that was the only thing he ate which we didn't and he was the only one who was sick. We booked on a room only basis hoping that we might get a discounted breakfast deal but nothing was offered or forthcoming. On checking in the receptionist told me to go down in the morning and ask the breakfast staff, but that didn't seem like a good solution just in case we got the kids' hopes up on the spot . Breakfast was £15.95 each, not that unusual for a hotel breakfast, but it would have cost us £60 as a family so we didn't eat there. The pool was pleasant and there is a manicure and massage facility. The pool has child friendly hours which I appreciated as I felt that I could take my two older (well behaved) children there without getting looks. Unfortunately, the morning sessions was exactly the same time as breakfast, which must be inconvenient to parents who have paid for breakfast. The hotel itself is well kept and clean, including the grounds. It seems to be popular with parties and functions so it did get a bit noisy in the corridor after 11pm, but not for long.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Dear Sam, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry to read that your husband was ill during your visit. Whilst I am confident that this was not as a result of food poisoning, we follow stringent hygiene and HACCP procedures, had you reported this at the time your concerns would have been fully investigated by myself and our Executive Head Chef. Usually we do offer guests that stay with us on a room only rate the opportunity to add breakfast at a discounted rate of £10.00 per person at check in opposed to the usual rate of £14.95 per person. I'm sorry that our reception team failed to make you aware of this. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Gemma Deputy General Manager
Read more
Tanya B wrote a review Apr 2022
Barnsley, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
We had our wedding here 2 weeks ago, it was an absolute dream. We couldn’t have asked for more from Jess our wedding coordinator. It was like planning a wedding with a friend. Very professional if you are having a meltdown during planning! The staff were very friendly on the day and couldn’t do enough for us and our guests. Marcelle made sure our day ran smoothly and we have never felt as looked after, can’t sing her praises enough!! The food was spot on….thank you to the chefs, I don’t think much got wasted at all. Tankersley and the team gave me my perfect wedding and I wouldn’t have changed a single thing about it, highly recommended, they are absolute diamonds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Responded 09 Apr 2022
Dear Tanya, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We're delighted that you allowed us to host such a special occasion. Your kind words about the team, Jess and Markela in particular are very much appreciated. We're so pleased that we were able to help ensure that you had the perfect wedding day and we hope that we are able to welcome you and your husband back to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Gemma
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tankersley manor, tankersley hotel manor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireTankersley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wentworth Woodhouse (5.7 km), Wentworth Village (4.6 km), and Experience Barnsley Museum and Discovery Centre (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Favela Brazilian Grill Barnsley, The Secret Italian, and Bistro at the Pocket.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Tankersley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Barnsley Tankersley Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wentworth Woodhouse (5.7 km), Experience Barnsley Museum and Discovery Centre (7.2 km), and Wortley Top Forge Industrial Museum (4.7 km).