We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Save
Share
Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este, San Juan del Sur 47008 Nicaragua
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (169)
Pool & Beach (86)
Room & Suite (49)

About

#22 of 29 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Surf Ranch in San Juan Del Sur, features Nicaragua's largest skateboard park, rock climbing wall, private gym, jungle paintball, volleyball court, world class restaurant & bar, swimming pool & swim up bar, poolside cabanas, standard rooms, villas, and deluxe condos. The Surf Ranch offers many extreme sports and activities such as surfing, skateboarding, paintball, sailing, fishing, yoga, rock climbing and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
353Reviews11Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 64
  • 38
  • 39
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Summer H wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Surf ranch review This resort did not have a concierge, which was frustrating. We had to learn all the fun things to do from locals we met along our travels. We purchased an all inclusive villa, but when we arrived, they said the air wasn’t working, so they put us in a small room on the other side of the resort. We had to share the single room with our children, and we didn’t have hot water. When I asked for some water to drink, they said we could drink from the tap in our room… I’m glad I didn’t trust them, because everyone else agreed to never drink the water. I thought they would offer bottled water, but apparently not - I was even willing to pay for bottled water. They offer the same breakfast every morning. Their small menu never changes, and they were “out” of many things listed on the menu. They’d give you toast, but didn’t offer anything to put on it, i.e. butter, or jam/jelly. I asked for some virgin alcoholic beverages at the pool bar, but they only offered a couple. We brought up the no hot shower water, they gave us a key to an upstairs room to shower in.. we eventually moved into the room we showered in, and found that the sink leaks, and we had to try many outlets before we found one that worked, inconveniently behind the tv. They claim to have Netflix, and other programs to watch tv - they don’t.. you’ll need to bring your own cables to set that up when you get there. We were the Only visitors at this resort, and we had made the reservation 2-3 months in advance. Ample time to prepare the room we reserved. They didn’t have any descent rooms, and they had the entire resort to choose from. I submitted my card info when I reserved all these things, they did not charge as much as I agreed to, because they downgraded us - to Not all inclusive, but there was no communication. They also did Not reimburse us for the money we paid for the villa and we’re downgraded to the other rooms. We constantly had to ask for towels. When we would ask, they often said they were in the wash, and not dry yet. Again we were the Only people at this resort, so I don’t know how they were always “out” of towels; they must have had 8 towels total for the entire resort. It also ended up being pretty boring with no one else to converse with while there, no kids for mine to play with. They have a skate park, but they do not rent skateboards.. The climbing wall was ok, many holds that were broken or loose - I guess that added to the difficulty level. They had tiny frogs in the pool often. My girls thought it was fun and would play with them. It wasn’t until a local told us they were poisonous - on our last day there- that we were aware. The people at the resort watched us playing with them all week - that made me angry that they wouldn’t have said something to us. They don’t offer shuttles as they had advertised either. At the end of the day, we had a room to stay in, and food was available to us - so our vacation wasn’t ruined. Our expectations were just too high for this place; they need to update their website, and maintain their resort better. We actually went to Tree Casa to spend a lot of our time. Full resort, attentive staff, wonderful menu, gorgeous.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plan trip on your own, they won’t help you. Plan to pay for taxis everywhere, don’t drink the tap...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Boychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
The resort has a reception, that is where you receive all info for all activities to do. Please do not be shy! Come talk with us, we love to show guests everything there is to do! We would never tell guests to drink tap water. You did not want to buy our bottle water and asked if it was okay to drink tap water. It is not okay to save money to do that. Why would you lie in this review and say we do not serve bottled water? we have a full restaurant. Your whole review is false. Netflix accounts, you need to have your own account to sign in, that is how netflix works, same as youtube. Our best rooms are the deluxe rooms, only $5 more and you refused to upgrade, we told you that this would be the most comfortable room for your family. The frogs are not poisonous, again made up story. We do not advertise free shuttles either. Please do not stay with us at any of our hotels again, very problematic guest.
Read more
Rance H wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid for villa but no hot water + air didn’t work. They stuck us in a condo and I Wasn’t refunded difference. Next room had no hot water& toilet leaked so bathroom stunk. Was told to take family upstairs to shower in a different room… moved to second floor. Sink and toilet leak. A/C wasn’t as good because I’m sure they’ve never cleaned the filters. Only outlet that works is on the wall behind the tv. Shower heads have never been cleaned so they spray everywhere except at you. Purchased all inclusive but was downgraded without our knowledge. (Still not sure how that happened… I paid for the full package but was charged for less… weird) They DO NOT HAVE A TRANSPORT. I was told they no longer offer the full inclusive package even though it’s on the website. The staff is kind They display absolutely no knowledge of what to do while you’re here. They really are not helpful when planning your trip. They are adding new activities to their resort but doing absolutely no maintenance or upkeep… When I checked out I wasn’t asked how my stay was because I was very vocal but I was kind about what I thought the entire stay. I wouldn’t stay here again and I would not recommend it to anyone else. We were the ONLY GUESTS the entire time we were there… and I think they only own 8 towels😂 for the entire resort We were treated second class, especially after I offered to just upgrade to the full inclusive but was once again told they didn’t offer it… This was the first real vacation we’ve taken in 14 years. I wish I would have known about tree casa before we booked and just stayed there. Nicaragua is a place we are planning on going back in September, but we are going to tree casa, they were amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay at Tree Casa Resort.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Boychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
This is the exact same review as the one after this that we responded too. You are a very problematic guest, even wrote 2 reviews which is against Trip Advisor rules. You must be part of the competition, please do not stay at any of our resorts. Thank you.
Read more
KathyGrey2015 wrote a review Feb 2020
Caledon, Canada60 contributions16 helpful votes
We arrived with no reservation and were given quick friendly service and accommodated immediately ! The staff was warm and friendly. The grounds were beautiful . The rooms were basic but clean. Good value for the short term traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Be prepared to take taxis into town. Great value. Pool, pool table, wall climbing, skate park,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Boychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review!
Read more
Lizcarbajal wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve been here before with my kids, we love the pool and skate park. I’ve never spent the night but I’m tempted by the cute cabins and friendly staff. Around sunset there are monkeys in the trees right behind the cabins. It’s clean and has a nice atmosphere. Food and drinks are a bit pricey but it was really quiet so I think they need to charge a bit more while Nicaragua continues to recover.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucas Boychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review!
Read more
Thanatos1426 wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Was charged additional charges and when complaint was made was told that I was ignorant and and imbecile that didn't understand the charges. The place itself as well is too recluded and if it rains you are going to be stuck there since you have to cross a small river to get there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Responded 01 Oct 2019
Dear Guest You said you had a great time to the staff, then after your stay you sent us an email about an extra charge. We explained to you multiple times that you went to our website, filled out the info and booked it through PayPal, so there is no way we can charge you extra. We did not have your payment info. We explained that it could be if you are using PayPal as a third party connected to your bank account, that your bank will charge you a fee. We asked you to show us the bank statement so we could explain, but you avoided it and told us that by trying to help, that we were technically calling you the names you mentioned above because we were trying to help explain to you how bank fees or PayPal fees work. Your review is not accurate to your stay, the resort and your review is on potential things that could happen but never happened to you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$33 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort
LOCATION
NicaraguaRivas DepartmentSan Juan del Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mirador del Cristo de la Misericordia (4.4 km), Latin American Spanish School (3.0 km), and San Juan del Sur Beach (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dale Pues, The Beach House Nicaragua, and Simon Says Smoothie Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.