We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Cape Town
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This weekend exceeded all expectations! I have recommended Kagga Kamma to all my friends and even my piano pupils are being shown all my photographs! We could find no fault in any aspect of our stay, and will certainly be returning. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmacsa
Haarlem
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We both had a wonderfull time at Kagga Kamma. Just being away from everyone and everything! No mobilephone connection, no internet, and due to no electricity after 2300 very special nights!! Go there and just forget about everything else..........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wijnandvbf
Cape Town
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We had an amazing weekend! Everyone was accommodating. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was amazing. I would recommend this resort to anyone who needs to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Kagga Kamma offers a place of tranquility surrounded by the most beautiful scenery; the unique formation of rocks and vegetation in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHSCapeTown
Somerset West
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We visited Kagga Kamma with friends and had an amazing weekend with the most wonderful hiking trips, card playing in front of the fireplace, friendly and highly efficient staff which was ALWAYS available with a smile and wonderfull facilities. We had very bad weather throughout the weekend, but it made the way we were treated just the more amazing! Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristaSomersetWest
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I have just spent a long weekend at Kagga Kamma private reserve, and I have to say, I am extremely disappointed. In a nut shell, the location with its dry vegetation and absolute quietness is superb and magical. But this is spoilt by the management and staff who lack enthusiasm, initiative and who deliver poor/no service to guests. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YadaYada15
210Rider, Managing Director at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments. I am however disappointed that you only wrote about this after you have left Kagga Kamma as we would have loved to address your concerns right away while you were still on the reserve. As you mentioned timeshare/self catering guests not staying in the lodge has to pay an amount of...

Northumberland
Reviewed 28 January 2009

After a very long drive we arrived for lunch. The restaurant to me looked as though it was out of the "Flintstones" and the meal was just as basic and not well cooked. The "Honeymoon Suite" is not a suite but a room which also contains the bath, sink and toilet - not very romantic - and meant the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gaybr
210Rider, Managing Director at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your reply. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations, for causing inconvenience to you and for not refunding you in total at the time. We believe and are used to our guests leaving satisfied and we do have a valid 4-star grading. We have however now refunded your...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2009

It is a long drive to Kagga Kamma, especially when you get a puncture on the way (not even on the gravel). The last 40km on the gravel road are a driving experience, but the amazing rocks make up for the drive. I have to agree with some people about the standard of accommodation. The bathrooms are rather basic, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisasplaces
Cape Town
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I wanted to treat my husband to something completely different for his birthday. Saw adverts in our local paper's Travel Supplement and the Advertisement seemed to be the answer to my problem. Made arrangements directly with the Reservations Office and Susan couldn't have been more helpful. Although we travelled in an ordinary sedan car, (going in a 4X4 would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoseCapeTown
Dublin
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We booked 2 nights as we saw the special in the newspaper. We didn't check the website, we thought you cannot go wrong with 4 stars. How wrong we were. The place is not 4 star at all, shaby rooms, not clean, food almost not edible and the staff is not very helpful nor friendly. The surroundings however are most...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Esmyth
210Rider, General Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Kagga Kamma is graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa as a 4 star Lodge and has received its annual revalidation on 15 October 2008. Ten of the rooms are manmade “caves” with walls and ceilings that are either natural or very authentic manmade rocks which are therefore not like painted walls. These rooms are especially enjoyed by...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We wanted to enjoyed a different experience than the usual safari game reserve and choose Kagga Kamma for their unusual accomodation. After a long drive through what we would call the wilderness, count few hours drive on a dusty road, we arrived and were not disappointed by the scenery. We were however disappointed by our room, which had a direct...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mren

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (363)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
228 reviews
75.8 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#28 of 125 in Cape Town Central
298 reviews
0.0 km away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: R2 026 - R4 053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take warm clothes for the rides!”
elsiemariam, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Caves special, huts more spacious with bigger beds, chalets for families or if with friends. Chalets are self catering.”
JeanetteK330, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Cave Suites are unique and you have to do the Star Suite Experience on one of your nights.”
  • Cave Suites from the outside
  • Star Suite set up
  • Cave Suite
renierf, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Self-catering chalets (3 bedrooms) close to the pool is the best!”
GerritPretorius, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I am told the "cave rooms" are very small.”
sandrawatson333, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5