Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa

Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa

Do-nut protecting our room 🥰
Traveller (2048)
Panorama at the Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
360
Panoramas (84)
Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Bagshot
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 120 acres of gardens and parkland. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments, lunch, dinner or afternoon tea in Hillfield Restaurant and Bar, Latymer for Michelin star fine dining, and is a perfect venue for weddings, conferences and special occasions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Game room
Tennis court
Aerobics
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Exclusive Deals - ONLY AVAILABLE When you BOOK DIRECT + Free Breakfast

Location

London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Heathrow Airport
21.7 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
42.9 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,313 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa has earned a reputation for its pristine cleanliness and well-maintained facilities, drawing particular attention to its immaculate rooms and spa. Travelers often describe their stay as luxurious, thanks to spacious rooms sprinkled with opulent touches and the hotel's overall elegant atmosphere. The staff at Pennyhill Park are commended for their professional and attentive service, contributing to the hotel’s indulgent ambiance. While the spa receives high marks for its variety of treatments and relaxing environment, some guests caution that the luxury comes at a high price, questioning the value for money.
Atmosphere
Luxurious
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Luxurious

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,313Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,253
  • 526
  • 321
  • 138
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
C Mullins UK wrote a review Dec 2023
United Kingdom
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Celebrating our anniversary at Pennyhill Park Hotel and Spa was a truly luxurious experience. The staff's outstanding hospitality made us feel exceptionally welcomed, enhancing our stay with a perfect blend of professionalism and warmth.

Our accommodation in the "Columbine" suite added a special touch to our visit. This suite, with its ornate wallpaper, expansive Roman bath, and large rainfall shower, provided an elegant and comfortable retreat, exemplifying the hotel's fusion of historical charm and modern luxury.

The spa facilities were a highlight, offering a comprehensive range of treatments in a clean and serene setting. It was an ideal place for relaxation and rejuvenation.

Dining at Pennyhill Park was a culinary delight. The breakfast offered a wide variety, while dinner impressed with its selection of locally sourced produce. A complimentary dessert, thoughtfully provided for our anniversary, was a sweet conclusion to our meals.

Overall, Pennyhill Park is a top recommendation for those seeking a romantic getaway or a wellness break. Its luxurious accommodations, especially the unique Columbine suite, combined with excellent service and superb dining, make it an unforgettable destination.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Spa is open until late so don't rush your spa visit, we had the spa to ourselves in the late...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 08 Jan 2024
Dear CMullinsUK, Thank you for your review. It was so lovely to read your line about the staff enhancing your stay with the perfect blend of professionalism and warmth; thank you so much. I'm delighted that you had such an exquisite stay, and I look forward welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caracatnap wrote a review Aug 2020
Radlett, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved my mini staycation at Pennyhill so much so I’m going back again!

The outdoor pool is such a special little piece of heaven ☁️🏊🏼‍♀️

Love the new additional beach to catch the last of the evening sun with a drink too🥂🏖

Lots of little changes 🧴which the team there have thought about to make your stay as comfortable as they can with the changes they have to make for COVID19 🦠restrictions.... every room has a take away hand sanitiser which shows real thought into making it all safe but personal for guests

The staff were lovely and welcoming, helping with every request and going out of their way to show you the exclusive experience at penny hill.

The room was a double in the courtyard, had a lovely traditional feel but with modern touches. Big tv with sanitiser remote control pouches (covid), coffee machine/kettle and mini fridge which was great to keep the complementary water in as it was hot when we stayed. Room has aircon and windows that open incase you want fresh air. Full length mirrors and a good hairdryer (ladies will appreciate this comment ) with plugs next to a mirror !
The bathroom was my favourite part, the shower was lovely with rainfall and waterfall options- such a modern treat in a traditional looking room. Oh and a whirlpool bath with built in tv!

The pool was lovely and warm with fresh spa towels available. Your rooms have spa flip flops and rooms to take out to the pool as there’s only one beach hut to change by the pool when we visited 17th July

We ate in the ascot bar and had a lovely burger and chips - such a lush treat and the chips were so yummy
Breakfast is now ala carte but still serving up a delicious hotel breakfast - everyone loves a hotel breakfast

Lovely break in the sun
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thank you for your lovely review which was a pleasure to read! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all the little touches through the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
lauralou81 wrote a review Dec 2020
Rainham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am dumbfounded with all of the negative reviews of this place...and the reasons given are ridiculous.
This is my honest review of Pennyhill Park.

Upon arrival we were very warmly welcomed by a member of concierge, who politely greeted us, opened our car door and helped take our luggage into reception.
We had our temperature taken and check-in was prompt.

The room:
We were shown to our room which was Aspen 221 and couldn't have been happier with it. A ginormous four poster bed and plenty of room.
The bathroom was huge with a TV to watch in the bath and a shower big enough for a small party :)
A coffee machine, safe, tea making facilities, iron and ironing board plus other extras were all in the room.
My ONLY constructive criticism would be to have a small pedal bin in the main room and not just the bathroom.

The Spa:
Wow! That is what I will say.
The thermal heaven is just that...Heaven.
The main pool has underwater music, the jacuzzis, plunge pool, foot spa, salt rooms, herbal steam, tropical rain showers and mud ritual are absolutely amazing. There is nothing negative to say about this spa.
I have read probably 90% of the reviews on Pennyhill and honestly, what people moan about is shocking!!!
We had the mud ritual included in our package, it was good but ai wouldn't personally pay for this again, it was a bit too long, but that is personal taste.
My favourite was the Hydrotherapy pool and the outdoor jacuzzi.

Food:
The food in the brasserie was delightful and breakfast was plentiful. My only gripe was atbrrakfadtwe had to ask twice for our coffee and then again for our juice (both with the same lady) which is unfortunate due to the fact that there was only 4 other diners in there, so she wasn't busy at all.
However this doesn't take away from the quality of the food.
I would recommend the goats cheese starter and tandoori cauliflower steak yum!

Pennyhill Park was an amazing stay and a perfect break celebrating my husbands 50th birthday. The only problem was that it wasn't long enough.
Thank you to Abbey at Reception too for a smooth check-in/out. We will 100% be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you had the perfect break away to celebrate your husband's 50th birthday, and am only sorry too that you couldn't stay for longer! Thank you for mentioning Abbey, I know she was so overjoyed to see she gave such a smooth welcome and check out for you both. I'll make sure there is a bin in the bedroom as of course there should be, and have noted your breakfast experience. I'm so glad you will be coming back and we can't wait to welcome you next year! Kind regards, Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Silvercoastholidays wrote a review Sept 2020
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mixed opinion of this hotel spa, overall I would say it is over-rated but we did not try the spa treatments so can't comment on those.

On the positive side the location is beautiful as is the main building and grounds. The 2 swimming pools are clean and heated, one indoors, one outdoors and the jacuzzis etc are quite large and appeared clean. Covid regulations are well enforced throughout the spa and gym. With the regular 'brasserie' restaurant the evening meal was reasonably pleasant although perhaps somewhat over-priced for the quality. Of note is the particularly good service and attitude from the concierge gentleman on reception. Our room was lovely and quite large with a great view of the pool.

On the negative side, on arrival at the hotel the reception staff were not friendly and welcoming at all. No effort to explain anything or orientation to get your bearings (since it is quite a large complex) The morning breakfast was very disappointing. Service was attentive but fried english breakfast was one of the worst I have ever tasted - oily hash browns, fatty bacon, shrivelled tomatoes, beans in a pot dripping in sauce, under cooked egg etc. Easier to just look at the photo. Toast and coffee proved to be more reliable.

The indoor swimming pool needs mentioning. I found it strange that there is only one shower in the general indoor pool area for everyone. There are of course many showers in the changing rooms but few would use these since you have quite a walk along corridors and down stairs etc to reach the pool area from the changing room.

Service around the outdoor and indoor pool areas in busy times is a completely hit and miss affair. If you are lucky enough to flag someone down you have a chance of landing a drink.

Whilst the main building architecture itself is amazing, the internal decorations in pool and main building bar / restaurant are all rather drab and dark....not an uplifting enviornment to be in IMHO.

People are allowed to eat in the indoor pool area so if you are ok with the smell of cheeseburgers and chips whilst swimming / relaxing, you'll be right at home.

In summary, the attention to detail is missing in alot of areas which is a shame since it could be an amazing experience with a bit of care and attention.

First time visit and probably the last.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 05 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you enjoyed the grounds, bedrooms and spa facilities, noticing our new Covid cleaning regimes. I'm so pleased you've highlighted our Concierge team for their positive attitude and service but of course disappointed this was not felt throughout the Reception Team. We are reviewing our staffing levels in the spa to ensure a drink or meal is never far away, and also our dining options by the indoor pool to make sure the area stays relaxing. I really hope that this isn't the last time we see you, and that the positives you've mentioned could persuade you to return, as we are always striving to listen to our guests and improve on the feedback they provide us. Graham Copeman, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cakeystakes wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pennyhill does not feel like a 5star experience.. in fact there’s nothing 5star about it really aside from it looking impressive inside the reception. The spa was not a great experience at all, totally overcrowded and loud and clearly no attention to detail as one would expect at a 5star hotel.

The indoor pool was surrounded by grubby loungers many with discarded towels and rubbish next to them, absolutely no sign of any staff, and because at spa reception we were just given locker keys and sent on our way we had no idea where to get towels from or where anything was.

The outdoor jacuzzi pool was one of the most bizarre things i’ve seen, absolutely full of people who stayed there for HOURS drinking. I love a glass of wine myself but again I wouldn’t expect it at a luxury spa in February, just really weird full of people surrounded by glasses at the edge until the very last minute of spa opening times. We had dinner in the Brasserie and could still see everyone who’d been there in the day, still there festering. The whole thing is more like a public lido than a spa, you definitely wont get any peace of mind here as its full of chatty groups of people, loud, messy.

I was less than excited about my massage the next morning and actually requested to cancel it free of charge which i did, i have never done that before!

Overalll an underwhelming experience, i’ve been to many country spas and hotels and id suggest looking for a lesser known place than this one. I’ve had some lovely much quieter stays in other random little places found on booking.com or whatever. The restaurant was nice enough although it felt like we we’re being sped thru our meal , this doesn’t really bother me as i was starving but its quite obvious they are under big demand, shown also by how long room service takes.. understandable on a busy weekend but i’d at least expect the order to arrive correct when it does finally show up.. especially when all i ordered was a cheese sandwich. You will hear people banging through the doorways to their room well into the early morning, so don’t expect a quiet peaceful country retreat if you stay in the murrayfield suite.
Breakfast was confusing and also underwhelming.

Expect more of a place to come for a p*ss up than anything else.

The staff inside the reception were lovely so can’t fault them.

I would have had a more relaxing break at a luxury hotel back in London than here. Maybe if they lost a star I wouldn’t expect what i expect now of a 5 star and it would be enjoyable. Hmm no the busy spa was shocking. Wouldn’t come back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review where I was sorry to read about your spa experience. We have since changed our rules regarding drinking in the hot tubs to enable guests to only spend the recommended usage time in each area, and promote the right atmosphere of wellness within the Spa. It is a shame you cancelled your massage as I know the team receive such amazing feedback. Thank you for recognising the efforts of the Reception staff in particular, and I hope that we could welcome you back at the right time to experience the spa in a better light. Kind regards Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beatriz O wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner stayed here twice. The first time we really enjoyed it and there is nothing bad to talk about. Now, when we stayed here the second time it was just a disaster! The second stay happened months ago but this still bothers me until today.
I found red stains under my pillow and it looked like blood and the bedroom was extremely dusty.
The most disgusting part was when I went to have a bath... I filled in the bath with water and turned on the jacuzzi bath. Suddenly, green stuff started to come out of the holes. IT WAS HONESTLY DISGUSTING!
The next morning when we went to have breakfast, we passed by the reception to let them know the bath was filthy and what happened on the previous night. The receptionist did not apologise for once and she said: “Oh you know, the baths are not used very often”. We were shocked with her answer. Each night in this hotel/spa it is not cheap and having to deal with this?
Our breakfast was pretty average. I ordered some pancakes and by the time that they arrived they were cold and my partner had finished his food.
My partner wrote a formal complaint to the manager and his only response was that he was gonna let the cleaners know and apologised for it.
No compensation whatsoever, nothing!
For a luxury spa/hotel I wasn’t very impressed with the answers I was provided neither the outcome.
Do not recommend this place at all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzie Head, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review. I appreciated your partner took the time to contact me directly following your stay with us, and believed that my detailed response was accepted graciously at the time. I was therefore surprised to see that 6 months later you have been moved to post this review with additional comments, which regretfully feels spiteful. When things go wrong, it is always so important for us to right them at the time and apologise, rather than offer compensation retrospectively. As a repeat guest who enjoyed their first stay so much, I hope I can still have the opportunity to welcome you back again to experience Pennyhill Park as you did previously. Graham Copeman, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie Dewey wrote a review Sept 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve actually never written a bad review before but actually couldn’t not.
I booked this for a friends birthday present and it has been delayed 16 months due to covid so obviously we were really looking forward to this…upon re booking for the 5th time we were told there is no treatments available for our chosen date and that there wouldn’t be for 4 months due to busyness so we were put on a “waiting list”- obviously nothing came of that and while we spent a lot of time in the spa basically being the only ones in there I was confused as to why there was apparently no treatments available?
This was just the start, the check in process was painful and any time we came to reception we were barely even took notice of or greeted; the only saving grace here was Harry to be honest was lovely and the only person who was helpful during our stay.
Our room was almost on the dirty side & the pipes made noise all night after running a bath and kept me up- I understand that this is an old building but things like this can be avoided and fixed.
I wanted to move a pool bed into the sun and it was heavy so asked for some assistance to be told “we are really short staffed at the moment so normally I’d call someone to do it but can’t today sorry” and I did it myself. Okay.
I ordered a bottle of champagne by the pool to be told “we have no champagne glasses left can you have wine glasses instead” I said, no not really…
“Ok I will go and wash them up then” I was told
The champagne was bought over 15 minutes later and was poured into MARTINI glasses, at this point I actually just laughed.
Went offsite for dinner, then in the morning went for breakfast and that was nice 8/10. Thank god.
We then went to the spa again to try and chill before going home, I felt like I was at a recreation centre- not exactly ideal when you’ve spent £800 on a spa night away to relax and the hotel think it’s a good idea to have a big group of loud life guards training in the pool all day. Eventually, after gaining a migraine we moved to the outside pool, but Of course we were followed by the army of life savers. We actually just got up and left at this point.
It’s such a shame as I was really hoping to love it here, but I will stick the the amazing service and quality that champneys spa’s deliver from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, General Manager at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Sept 2021
Dear Sophieedewey, Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I'm so sorry you didn’t get the opportunity to enjoy a treatment during your time with us, all of our 21 treatment rooms and our therapist team do get booked up so far in advance. Having closed availability of the spa to Spa Day bookings we have ensured that as much treatment time is available for our resident guests as possible, but I’m sorry this cannot meet the demand of everyone. That said, our resident guests are able to fully enjoy the extensive spa facilities throughout their stay. We were honoured to be recognised as the UK’s Best Hotel Spa 2021 by The Good Spa Guide, so with such a large spa, even without a treatment booked, I hope you could make the most of it all. I'm sorry that our Pool Responder Course for the small team involved interrupted your time by the one of the pools – the pool time of these occasional mandatory courses is completed within a couple of hours and naturally need to be carried out for the safety of everyone. I will investigate the pool-safe Champagne glass situation you have kindly mentioned for which I apologise, however it’s lovely to read how much you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you too for your kind words about Harry, I will personally thank him for looking after you. I really do appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that you will choose to return for an enjoyable relaxing time with us in the future. With kind regards, Graham Copeman, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dale M wrote a review Aug 2020
Melksham, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were fortunate to be in the Lytham suite as we regularly travel with our furry child Leffe the French Bulldog and Pennyhill as always are pet friendly and receive the 3 of us with enthusiasm everytime!

This was my first trip out since lockdown began, I was a little anxious I must admit. I started to feel at ease the moment we walked in and saw all of the staff wearing masks, a temperature scanner that every guest had to use and plenty of staff on hand to ease us through check in.

We had guests join us for Afternoon tea and the experience was as always brilliant! If you havent had a Pennyhill afternoon tea then you really are missing out.

In the evening we had dinner in the Latymer, again a first for me under the new Chef so I didnt know what to expect. I am sure you will agree from the pictures attached the food looked delicious and I can tell you it didnt dissapoint in reality either.

Again another fantastic visit to our favourite hotel and already planningf a return at the end of the month.

So happy to see that this hotel is taking Covid just as seriously as it should be taken.

Thanks to everybody at Pennyhill!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lytham terrace room offers access right out into the country surroundings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thank you for your great review, I'm so glad we could welcome you all back to Pennyhill Park and that you felt safe and comfortable returning. You'll have to check out our new Winter Walkies offer to come back and see our new doggy amenities for Leffe! Kind regards Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravellingTay-92 wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst the hotel as a whole is grand, and lovely, the rooms are in need of a clean and over all freshen up.
My room was nice and spacious, however very dirty, the bed runner, throw cushions and carpet all had stains on them and the carpet was coming up in several places, the bathroom was worn out with cracks in the sink and shower as well as the shower taps missing handles. When visiting a 5* hotel you expect issues like this to be fully maintained and the rooms to be of a 5* Standard.
The hotel facilities are lovely, the pool and spa in particular, however it is laid out quite awkwardly so you have to walk between doors to get from one pool to another, it doesn't flow very well.
The food in the restaurants was nice, and there are lots of options, the bar area is also nice but service is not very good, the attitude of some staff, and especially the bar manager was very poor and unhelpful. I personally wouldn't recommend it for the price that it is.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to read of the housekeeping and maintenance issues you experienced and will ensure these are addressed. It is disappointing to see you wouldn't recommend us based on your stay, and I would like to assure you your points have been noted. Thank you for highlighting these. Kind regards Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kato wrote a review Mar 2020
York, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband bought me this experience for Christmas which I was thrilled to receive. I decided to treat our daughter and bought a Bronze day so we could experience it together.

The check in efficient and friendly. Really delicious smoothy. As it was a weekend the place was full, with the price tag I would have expected a limit on people after all its meant to be relaxing. Outside jacuzzi was full most of the morning - more room in the afternoon. The steam rooms were ok some not hot enough to have a good sweat. In door Pool beds were full you had to pick your time to go.

My main disappointment was the facial. I was taken to a room at the top. Which was chilly, I was only covered by a towel, no cosy duvet. I felt chilled throughout the experience.
The lady who did the facial did it well 👍. But the creams and tonics were cold and as I was already chilly I didn’t feel relaxed. My daughters experience was so much better. She said her room was cosy and warm, heated bed cover and she gave it the thumbs up. Which I was pleased about. I must have been unlucky with the room 😢

PHP is a lovely place little things take the 5* experience down for me. Pump bottles in the public areas look tired. The plus is the contents are FABULOUS the smell is dreamy and you can buy them in their shop👍.

They need to incorporate more relaxing areas that are out of the hubbub- after all you go to relax. Paint work could do with a freshen up. Buffet was tasty but limited.Restaurant echoed and became very noisy when it was full.PHP need to make it more cosy.

Hope this helps if you are thinking of going.

It’s not London Corinthian Spa level.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Copeman, Other at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you felt unlucky with your treatment room being cold and will ensure the therapists make sure the room is always at a comfortable temperature for our guests. Your feedback is all really constructive, thank you for your thoughts as we can look to improve upon these points. Kind regards Graham
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Graham Copeman
2 helpful votes
Hi Asdfghr, Our Concierge are more than happy to make dining arrangements for your stay. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, here are a few that we recommend; Bel Vedere - Italian – Bagshot - (Closed every Sunday) GU19 5AG Piccolino – Virginia Water – GU25 4QE The Mogul – Bagshot – GU19 5HJ The Jade – Ascot – Sunninghill - SL5 9NE Roka the Square – Bagshot – GU19 5AX The Brickmakers (Gastro pub) – Windlesham – Outdoor Seating – GU20 6HT Miller and Carter – Bagshot –GU19 5EG Thank you
Answer from Graham Copeman
2 helpful votes
Many apologies that your question has only just reached us and the delay in responding. Whilst dogs are not permitted in the restaurants or bar, we can look after both guests and their dogs in our Drawing Room. In this way they can eat in each other’s company rather than leave the dog in the bedroom and we can extend the Hillfield restaurant and bar menus to be served there. Once again i'm so sorry this response is delayed.
Answer from Graham Copeman
2 helpful votes
I'm so sorry and saddened to learn that some responses have come across in that way as that really isn’t the intention. We value all our guests feedback and their right to voice opinions on their experience. The magic of this platform is that we are able to respond, demonstrating to the reader how we reacted to any challenges faced by the guest on site if we were made aware, and in some rare cases, correcting a version of events that we feel have not quite been reported factually. Sadly sometimes a poor review is threatened in order to obtain compensation, which we can’t condone. On these occasions, it is appropriate for us as a business, and indeed in representing the wider hospitality industry, to respond to those who feel they can directly threaten us to show that it is not how we operate. We are always willing to hold our hands up if mistakes happen, and value being made aware of this so we can improve and address the matter appropriately. Our aim really is for every guest to just have an amazing experience with us. Kind regards, Graham
Abcdefg asked a question Oct 2020
Hastings, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
What are the most modern looking rooms please?
Answer from Graham Copeman
2 helpful votes
Hello, the most modern rooms are in the categories 'Plush Junior Suites', and 'Smart Rooms'. The rooms in the main house are generally more traditional. Every single room is different though so if there is a specific feature you would like, please do ask Reservations. We do have pictures of the rooms available to send you also. Thank you!
1ajj asked a question Jul 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom
Do any of the rooms have air conditioning?
Answer from Graham Copeman
2 helpful votes
The majority of our rooms do have air conditioning, however if you would specifically like this then please ensure you request it at the time of booking.
Bianca753 wrote a tip 14 Jul
Esher, United Kingdom36 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"book a suite you might get a better room. "
Read full review
Jamie S wrote a tip 08 Jul
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just great"
Read full review
jamesworby wrote a tip Jun 2024
Crawley, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we didn't stay the night so haven't seen the rooms but everywhere else was spotless"
Read full review
Keeno86 wrote a tip Jun 2024
21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the restaurant unless money is not object (in which case book the Latymer) We find rooms in the main house are better than the wings"
Read full review
dan-scooby wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Meet the staff as they make this the most enjoyable experience in the most fantastic surrounding "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bagshot area.
PRICE RANGE
R 7,603 - R 10,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pennyhill park hotel and the bagshot, pennyhill park hotel and country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyBagshot
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENNYHILL PARK HOTEL & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Bagshot, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller & Carter Bagshot, Latymer, and Bel Vedere Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caesar's Camp (6.1 km).
All Bagshot HotelsBagshot Hotel DealsHotels near Pennyhill Park Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire