We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel

Traveller (151)
360
Panoramas (13)
Dining (39)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall Meadows is an authentic Georgian, 3 star country house Hotel, standing in around 15 acres of peaceful grounds with sea views. It is uniquely situated just outside the historic town of Berwick-Upon-Tweed only a stone's throw away from the A1 crossing point of the Scottish Border. It is, therefore, both the first and last hotel in England depending upon one's point of view. The hotel is believed to date from the mid 18th century and provides the perfect setting for a relaxing break, discovering the attractions of border country or for the more adventurous numerous coastal and inland walks and cycle routes, great golf courses and fishing on the river Tweed. The hotel comprise 19 letting rooms, in addition to a main bar, residents' lounge, restaurant, large function area and music room, conservatory and terrace overlooking a large well manicured front lawn. Entrance to the grounds is via a tree-lined driveway flanking a wooded stream. The rear of the hotel overlooks a farmyard, paddock and walled garden. The location allows easy access to the main town, Northumberland Coastal attractions such as Holy Island and Alnwick Castle, National Parkland and the Scottish Border Regions.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
584Reviews
345Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 167
  • 41
  • 19
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spent one night at Marshall Meadows at the weekend - our fifth visit there so far. When checking in, it was nice that the receptionist recognised us, made you feel they knew you and valued you as a returning visitor. Room was a standard one but very clean and comfortable
Read more
Return visit, didn't disappoint, facilities fantastic, breakfast and dinner delicious, bar menu also available, ideal for children, son loved the home made burgers. The dog loves it too, lots of grounds to run about in, and good walks, not far from the sea. Staff brilliant,
Read more
Response from BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the summer
Read more
The hotel was tired and we felt it strugggled to meet 3 star. The room was clean but everything was basic. We had a 2 night stay booked but after breakfast on the first day we quickly learned that we needed to eat somewhere else! The food was beyond awful and the oily smell
Read more
Response from BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us
Read more
The hotel was surprisingly easy to get to. There is a sign a couple of miles north of Berwick on the A1, turn right onto the lane that leads to the hotel. The building is nicely set in a wooded area. looking towards the North Sea. The interior has attractive oak panelling, our
Read more
Response from BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your review, we hope you will return and take a walk along the coastal path to the border, as it is a lovely walk
Read more
Stayed for 2 nights with our dog. Didn’t get the tea and shortbread welcome others have mentioned but we were using a groupon and wonder if that affected it. Room was tidy though the carpet had many stains - guessing this is from other dogs having stayed there and it did make me
Read more
Response from BerwickDavid, Owner at Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We always welcome dogs at Marshall Meadows, the walks and gardens are super for dogs, we are sorry you missed your tea and shortbread, hopefully you will return
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMarshall Meadows Country House Hotel
The Premier King Room at the Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMarshall Meadows Country House Hotel
The Premier Double Room at the Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMarshall Meadows Country House Hotel
The Four Poster Room at the Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
View from bedroom. Amazing.
View of living room next to bedroom. Amazing.
PreviousNext
12345628
approx. 2 miles from railway station
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes, I walked along the sea and lifts with a dog. However it was very muddy and it's a long walk.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, just noticed this request. The kitchen closed at 9.30 when we were there (Sunday) but we only stayed one night, were out all evening and never looked for a room service menu. They were very accommodating though so suspect they'd at least rustle you up some late sandwiches. Sorry can't help more,
1 vote
Show all answers
I'm afraid not. The nearest first floor bedroom is up a flight of stairs We can help with luggage etc but it still involves a climb of sorts. Apologies.
0 votes
Hi Dogs are very welcome in all areas of the hotel except for the dining room. You will be able to have your evening meal with your dog either in the bar or the lounge depending upon where there is a table free. regards
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Rooms are all good, upgraded ones are bigger but the quality is the same throughout."
"East will give you sun rise and a view towards the coast. A premium room looks good value for little extra."
"The family room we had was excellent - I think all rooms are upstairs so worth consideration for anyone with mobility concerns"
"We'd go for same room 17 as we weren't disappointed. But room 16 18 and 19 should also,have view."
"De Luxe room spacious and not a massive supplement. Rm 18, had seaviews, and at this time of the year, fantastic Autumn colours."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marshall meadows country hotelhotel marshall meadows country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerwick-upon-Tweed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing