We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

Save
Share
The White House Smiths Green Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR England
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)

About

#3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Wifi
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
75Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 10
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lisaaa wrote a review 09 Nov
1 contribution
Not only was our room clean and bright and homey, there was a fridge outside our door full of lots of goodies that the oth us and the children enjoyed. The bathroom was large and beautiful. We got there late in the evening and were flying out very early. The hosts kindly gave us taxi numbers and advised we called and booked one in advance when I rang to book the hotel. Our greeting was warm and welcoming and the lady kindly answered questions of where we can go to get dinner. We ate at the pub a few minutes walk away, I'd definitely recommend it, the food was beautiful... but that's for another day. On top of this the owner went above and beyond and we (especially our 2 year old) are so very greatful! Whilst I was on my holiday the lady emailed me to say she had found my.sons "charlie the hungry Caterpillar " teddy down the side of the bed. As we were still abroad, and had caught a train to London from north wales, there was no way of popping by in the way home without missing trains and connections. She kindly offered to send him back to our home address. I offered to pay her the return postage and a bit more on top as a thank you gesture but she just wanted him reunited with his teddy. He sleeps with his Caterpillar every night. Tha k you so much for sending him home, fortunately, the hungry Caterpillar didnt eat his way out the package haha. Well recommend. If we fly from Stansted again, this is were we will stay again. Thanks for everything! Sorry itsstaken so long for me to come on and write this review. Lisa , Ben, the children, and Caterpillarxxx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lisa W wrote a review Aug 2021
Chester, United Kingdom1 contribution
After a rather traumatic day having missed our flight to Spain we booked the The White House last minute as no airport hotels were available. Well, every cloud certainly has a silver lining! On arrival to the B&B we were welcomed to a beautiful family room which immediately made me feel so relaxed! Mike and Linda were very kind and simply could not do enough for us. I loved the fact that a continental breakfast was in the fridge outside our room as our taxi was booked for 4:30am so the next day so this suited us perfectly! The hotel is absolutely charming, with a beautiful garden which we were invited to use to eat our fish and chips and have a drink. The beds were extremely comfortable and the roll top bath in the quaint bathroom was such a treat! I absolutely love the White House! Thank you Mike and Linda…we will definitely be back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lyn O wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the white house for one night .as soon has we arrived we felt like that we knew Mike and Linda for years. They made us feel so very welcome. The property is so very charming and full of character. And have charming gardens. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The breakfast was a nice mix of fresh fruit and different breads. We really enjoyed our stay and thought Mike and Linda were the perfect hosts
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Warren M wrote a review Aug 2021
Worcester, United Kingdom73 contributions27 helpful votes
Think it’s time for a more realistic and ‘honest’ review of this admittedly pretty yet underwhelming B and B. A ‘quadruple room’ it is not. A double more like. No cooked breakfast at all,cold buffet from the mini-fridge. The bath is in a shared occupancy space not in your private room,which does have a shower. The DVD player in the room did not work but the owner was more concerned with his takeaway than he was with helping us out. A few enquiries simply got shoulder shrugs from him,the guy seems woefully unprepared and unsuited to ‘hospitality’. Friendly enough,just inefficient and unconcerned. Terrible smell at the front of the property,blocked drains,stagnant water etc,window in the room painted shut etc. If you are easily impressed by ‘vintage’ buildings / decor etc you’ll probably love it. If you like your stays to be efficient,easy and as described then I would advise shopping around. Shame we didn’t get to meet the lady whom I spoke with on the phone,seemed lovely and ‘with it’...........
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikeb Shields, Owner at The White House
Responded 03 Sep 2021
Thank you for your “realistic and honest “ review but we thought we would give you The facts . You booked a room for two people - if you had booked a room for 4 people you would have been given the larger room, but you only paid for 2 people and you requested a double bed for yourself and your son which is what we provided. You are quite correct that one of the windows in the room does not open but the other one does which we believe gives adequate ventilation. What I am very confused about is your comment about the bathroom. The en-suite shower and toilet are within your room. The separate bathroom is for another guest room which is soley for their use - and is clearly explained on our website - were you just prying or did you use the other guests bathroom?. Also clearly on our website its states for COVID precautionary advice we provide a substantial continental breakfast of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals, orange juice, white/brown bread - croissants and homemade preserves. Kettle, toaster, fridge, Nespresso coffee machine in each room. We are sorry that we couldn’t remember how to operate the DVD player. I am also sorry that you didn’t appreciate the aroma of our beautiful jasmine that surrounds our front porch. With regards to your comment about being efficient and easy, apart from a DVD player what issues did you have?. Lastly, I thought a thank you would have been more appropriate as we took the trouble to inform you that you had left a necklace and I went especially to the post office and returned it to you free of charge!,
Read more
scottliam61 wrote a review Sep 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom30 contributions8 helpful votes
When we arrived it took the proprietor a while to answer the door, having rung the doorbell how many times. We accept the building is old but the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Filthy flooring. Shower rail was ingrained with filth. Shower door didn’t work properly and the shower hear was way too big for the cubicle. Water went everywhere. Bedding smelt damp and fusty. The floor was uneven and as such we were on a downward roll most of the night. Toilet was way too low. There were no instructions in the room of where to leave the key, what was expected in case of a fire nothing. We had booked for a full English and was told cold fruit was in the Fridge, toast available, I’m allergic to strawberries so yoghurt was out for me. No care was taken with this. If this is down to Covid 19 then booking.com should update the site we booked on, also the White House need to address this also as it’s incorrect. However we managed to get a great full English breakfast nearby. It was a cold day we needed hot food. No would not recommend. We left at 08.45 am and no answer when we knocked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any other room other than aqua
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mikeb Shields, Owner at The White House
Responded 03 Sep 2021
Sorry if we kept you waiting at the front door but it is quite a large house and we might have been in the garden even. I can’t understand how you found the floor and the shower dirty, as you can see from the other reviews we are highly regarded for our cleanliness. We find if you shut the shower door the water stays within the cubicle, plus there is a choice of a large overhead spray, or a hand held as well as the shower jets on the wall Sorry that the floor slopes, but this tends to happen in buildings 400 years old. The fire exit is clearly marked and illuminated It states clearly on our website that due to COVID precautions, continental breakfast of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts white/brown bread, croissants orange juice all provided in the room. If you had informed us of your strawberry allergy we could have easily provided a different assortment of yoghurt for you. Sorry we didn’t hear you knock in the morning, there is a loud bell on the landing you could have rung if you required assistance for anything.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexTakeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The White House
Which popular attractions are close to The White House?
Nearby attractions include Bishop's Stortford Escape Rooms (5.6 km), Mountfitchet Castle (6.3 km), and Cammas Hall Farm (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The White House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The White House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The White House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brohmon, The Rose and Crown, and The Spotted Dog.
Does The White House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The White House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The White House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Takeley.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The White House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The White House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mountfitchet Castle (6.3 km) and Waytemore Castle (7.5 km).