The Comet Hotel

The Comet Hotel

St. Albans Road West, Hatfield AL10 9RH England
Traveller (44)
Dining (6)
Comet Hotel Hatfield
Room & Suite (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Electric vehicle charging station
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

St. Albans Road West, Hatfield AL10 9RH England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Heathrow Airport
35.4 km
See all flights
Luton Airport
15.7 km
See all flights
238Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 37
  • 20
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BarrittB wrote a review Feb 2020
Truro, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a lovely long weekend break at The Comet in February. The hotel itself is decorated in a modern Art Deco style and everything feels very clean and fresh. Our room was in the main building and was very comfortable - we slept well all 3 nights. We loved the quality Eco Friendly bathroom toiletries - a great choice.

We had a delicious vegan breakfast each morning that was a real treat and there was a great selection of cereal, fresh fruit toast etc in addition to this.

We chose the hotel due to its proximity to The Harry Potter Studio Tour and this worked perfectly - we also got the train into London on the Saturday which was a short 30 minute train ride.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, with reception staff booking taxis for us and breakfast staff ensuring we had eaten in time for our days adventures!

Thank you for a lovely stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CutieSusy wrote a review Jan 2020
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The old Comet Hotel was a real dive and I avoided it for years. However, the new hotel is welcoming and comfortable - a good alternative to the more expensive Beales Hotel. The rooms are decorated in a modern and relaxing style. It was great to be offered fresh tea or coffee at breakfast although I felt the buffet was a little limited. There is free wifi although it felt slow and I was disappointed that the mattress lacked padding so felt cheap.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AhsanAmin70 wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been travelling around the UK for work for just over a year, and staying at the Comet has spoilt me.

The rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Large TVs with Chromecast, fast Wifi with a strong signal, wireless charging pad, super comfortable bed and most importantly, a hot powerful shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Jenkins, General Manager at The Comet Hotel
Responded 08 Mar 2021
Hi Ahsan, thank you so much for kind words, this will mean so much to the team who have continued to work so hard through the lockdown periods looking after our key and essential workers. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Philip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review Jan 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully equipped rooms with great facilities and good layouts. Rooms are mostly quiet although there was some invasive noise from the nearby student accommodation in the small hours.
Bar meal choices are basic but the food was well presented and very tasty.
Breakfast choices are good and the food was served at the right temperature - i.e. the hot food was hot and the drinks were cool
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markE2717XV wrote a review Sept 2021
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the worst Hotels I’ve ever stayed in. On There website they are offering room service but when you try and order room service it’s apparently a service they don’t offer when it is clearly displayed and advertised on their website. I was very disappointed with paper cups in the hotel room and the bed was very uncomfortable. The fact that you need to enter your room key to enable the Electric to work in the room which would be okay but you only yet one room key which is fine for one person not two. The breakfast was horrendous very Limited breakfast buffet not Worth £14.50. Unfortunately the shower in the bathroom hadn’t been cleaned very well and they was mould a long the shower screen. The tv would only work on certain channels. Overall a very disappointing visit and not Worth £157.00.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Jenkins, General Manager at The Comet Hotel
Responded 08 Sept 2021
Hi markE2717XV, thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback. We naturally very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with but especially concerned that you didn't feel able to bring any of this to the attention of anyone on the team over the two nights you stayed with us so when we could have reviewed and done something to help make your stay more comfortable. I'm also rather surprised, if this is truly "one of the worst hotels you have stayed at" that you chose to put up with things for two nights and didn't chose to leave immediately or even after the first night - I would never want to think any guest is staying with us that unhappy. We are still using environmentally friendly disposables in the guest rooms as standard as part of on-going Covid protocols but china mugs can be provided on requested if preferred. The same is the case with the room cards for the power slot. Whilst, if there is more than one guest staying in a room we do ask how many keys you'd like on check-in, all you need to do is ask if you wanted or needed an additional card, although that said any card of similar size (credit card, loyalty card, business card, etc.) will operate the slot. I am sorry you experienced problems with the TV, We have checked it over and found all the channels to be working normally and have had several other guests use the room since your stay in August with no issue. Again, had you brought this to our attention whilst here we could have investigated and helped you with this . I note the £157 you quote was for a 2 night stay over a period where they hotel and local area was very busy. Hopefully others reading your "review" will take a balanced view based on the very many reviews on this platform and others when making up their minds. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajpal S wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place to stay. Rooms are very good and kept to a high standard. Staff are friendly. The rooms are quite spacious as well and have all facilities and amenities. Only two small issues I found and hence knocked one star off. Firstly, when trying to book, there was no option to book with breakfast included, you get offered this to add to your room at reception for a ridiculous price. This I don't find very fair. Secondly, sometimes the hot water runs out and the water is cold. One of the mornings I was there I experienced this and only cold water coming from the taps and the shower.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LatestJourney wrote a review Feb 2020
Lincoln, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely modern hotel, with a quirky decor! The staff are absolutely lovely and really helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was great and the location of the hotel is very convenient and easy to get to. Would definitely return :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel experience. Very happy with the quality of the rooms and the facilities in the rooms including different varieties of tea and coffee as well as the mini shampoos, conditioners and the cleaning wipes were a nice touch too. Pleasantly surprised to find an iron & ironing board in the room! The team were wonderful and friendly and provided excellent service throughout my stay and the breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Jenkins, General Manager at The Comet Hotel
Responded 27 Nov 2021
Hi MariaLeah, thank you so much for the review and fantastic feedback, I delighted you had such a great stay. Kind regards Philip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Aug 2022
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stylish hotel with plenty of parking. Easy to find from the motorway. Room decor felt very good quality, air con was efficient and it was a nice quiet stay event for a weekend.

Bed was extra wide and everything felt new, clean and plush.

The on site restaurant was smart, service was attentive, especially on the Sat night - I think the waiter was Dan and he couldn’t have done more. Very professional but friendly.

The food was cooked perfectly, arrived quickly and was fairly reasonably priced. I had beef featherblade with leak confit and herby mash one night, veg linguine & battered cauliflower with a chilli/lime/seasame dip the next night. Washed down with a couple cocktails and some local IPA and I couldn’t really fault it!

Only downside is most of the accommodation seemed to be in the modern extension. However the new rooms were sensitive to the Art Deco feel. The remaining original features in the main building were stunning and nicely restored.

Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Jenkins, General Manager at The Comet Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Hi MatthewgL362FJ, thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review following your recent stay with us at The Comet Hotel. We are always grateful for constructive feedback and use this to help shape the services and products we offer and to recognise great service behaviours within the team. I'm delighted you had such a great experience and thank you for sharing. Thank you especially for your kind recognition of the team and especially Dan, he will be delighted and the work of the kitchen team. We hope to see you at Comet Hotel again soon! Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan wrote a review Jul 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel, perfectly located just of the A1 near the Galleria.

The staff are helpful, the hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms are modern whilst the main hotel still maintains an Art Deco feel.

The two rooms we had where both comfortable and spacious, large tv and tea/coffee making facilities. I would suggest the shower needed maybe more thought as when running the overhead shower there is nothing you can do to stop it running into the bathroom, that said, it was a minor point for otherwise excellent rooms.

Breakfast was the only disappointment, whilst not bad, the food arrived luke warm, except for the eggs which were perfect, and we had to ask the staff to refill the juice. The breakfast area wasn't busy, only 3 tables serving when I arrived hence the disappointment. Food however was of a reasonable standard, coffee good.

Bar closes at 11pm.

I would recommend the hotel, especially for events at Hatfield House, less than 10 mins drive away and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Jenkins, General Manager at The Comet Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Hi GYJon, many thanks for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is appreciated. GYJon, we are very disappointed by your low rating but delighted you found the team helpful, the hotel exceptionally clean and your rooms comfortable and spacious. I am sorry you found breakfast disappointing, I will share your comments with the team and make sure we pick up on your feedback. It's great to read, that despite the very disappointing rating, that you would recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Kind regards Philip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
isamog asked a question Apr 2024
Hatfield, United Kingdom45 contributions51 helpful votes
Can you poo in for s drink, even if your not staying at hotel? Thank you.
Answer from Stuart Clarke
United Kingdom14 contributions32 helpful votes
hi Grace We stayed there but do not run it ! Very pleasant stay just before Covid Regards Stuart Clarke
Geoff2008 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sandy, Bedfordshire17 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the bar and take the breakfast"
Read full review
Jade L wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is free parking just put registration in at reception or bar"
Read full review
Lana K wrote a tip Jul 2023
Horsham District, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect for people with disabilities."
Read full review
HAZ wrote a tip Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy it"
Read full review
Londondesigner wrote a tip May 2023
Hatfield, United Kingdom217 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to log your car reg in reception for free parking during your stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hatfield area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,798 - R 3,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireHatfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COMET HOTEL - Now R 1 628 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶3̶6̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Hatfield, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Comet Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Comet Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nast Hyde Halt (0.9 km), Harpsfield Hall (0.4 km), and The Galleria Outlet Shopping (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Comet Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Comet Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Comet Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Comet Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Comet Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Turkish Kitchen Hatfield, Turan Bar Indian & Nepalese Restaurant, and Sparks Community Cafe.
Is The Comet Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Hatfield.
Does The Comet Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Comet Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Comet Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shaw's Corner (7.9 km), St Albans South Signal Box (5.9 km), and Panshanger Park, (6.8 km).
Does The Comet Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Hatfield HotelsHatfield Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HatfieldHotels near The Comet Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire