We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (253)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (180)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 21/07/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Forest Lodge
Updated 21/07/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 8 hotels in Lyndhurst
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Northerwood Estate, Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from the ‘capital’ of the New Forest, there’s plenty of walks from the door and an array of boutique shops just a short stroll away. The restaurant’s chic interior and the team’s relaxed, friendly approach to service creates a warm and inviting space for a casual dining experience whilst prime hand-cut steaks farmed in the Wiltshire and Somerset countryside, aged for 28 days and seasoned with thyme & butter to bring out the best flavour take centre stage on the menu, alongside a mix of modern brasserie classics. Stylishly decorated, rooms are comfortable, modern and ideal for both long or short getaways. The large indoor, heated swimming pool is also a big attraction and is exclusively for hotel guests. Family friendly, dogs are welcome too.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1232Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 424
  • 185
  • 89
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Janddj123 wrote a review 24 Sep
Croydon, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
We came here a little worried after some of the negative reviews but found the hotel and its staff to be lovely and had a wonderful weekend away. We have been to Lyndhurst on numerous occasions but decided we wanted a hotel with a pool this time and it didn’t disappoint . On arrival we were greeted by a lady on the reception who couldn’t do enough for us and our room had a four poster. Breakfast was a buffet but eggs and pancakes could be ordered fresh. If I really wanted to nitpick I would say the tea cups could be bigger at breakfast. All in all a good hotel and we will be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jackie wrote a review 19 Sep
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived early to confirm the check in time and were not impressed by the ambience and in particular the unwelcoming receptionist. Other guests told us they had had a similar experience. On our return to check in at 3.00 in we were given the key to our room. We had booked a Classic Double (room 9) at £155 which for a Sunday did not seem cheap. The room was small with most of the space being taken up by the large bed. The hallway light had an intermittent fault so was dark. The wardrobe was filled with a large fan and there was nowhere else to put it. The bathroom was awful. It was a very small. There was a curtain round the high bath and there was no grab rail. The shower head was stained and the tiles grubby. There was no shampoo or body wash, little milk and I couldn’t find the breakfast tea. I phoned reception and was told items would be brought. They never were. I phoned later and got a different receptionist who brought the things I had requested. Apparently, there was a shortage of shampoo. Surely someone can go to a chemist or supermarket? Having stayed in a number of British hotels this year and last this was the worst value for money. Several of these hotels had pools. Never have the changing rooms been closed. At Forest Lodge not only did we have to walk through the hotel in wet costumes, but also we had nowhere to put any dry things round the pool including the towel provided. I put things on the one bench and a child came and put his clothes on top and then someone sat on them. There were hooks for the plants, but none for our clothes or towels. I did speak to the evening receptionist (different to the initial lady) to check we were paying for the right room, and she confirmed that we were and informed me that there were in fact smaller rooms. She was very friendly and offered me a better room, but by that time we had showered, and it would have been an upheaval. I had looked at the menu on the website and it looked good, so we had booked an evening meal when we booked the room. The dining room was like a refectory. We were positioned around the edge; it had no atmosphere whatsoever. I presume the air conditioning was on high as it was warm outside and freezing inside. I had to go back to my room and change my clothes for something warmer. I was really surprised by the menu which was limited and basic (pizza, burgers, fish and chips); not at all what I expected from the website and from a smart hotel. I looked on the website to check what I had seen there, and the menu wasn’t there anymore, only an opportunity to chat. In fact, the menu was clearly based around the fact there was no professional chef. It was too late at that point to go out. We both had fish and chips which was alright, but the over worked waitress did not bring the wine, we had expected to have a drink before we ate. We reminded her and she brought a bottle once we had started to eat. She was tired and trying her best.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Len A wrote a review 06 Sep
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The Forest Lodge is a townhouse hotel in Lyndhurst, with elegant Georgian architecture and urban-style interiors. Imagine a place where you can indulge in all the best things in life, from the very finest hand-cut steaks and modern-day brasserie classics to carefully-curated drinks and eclectic wines and enjoy restful spaces with relaxing homely touches. The website paints a perfect setting however in reality the hotel rooms we were allocated were dirty and badly maintained with chipped and damaged paint work and furniture. Certainly not worth £200.00 for a short stay and I would strongly suggest avoiding this hotel especially if you are planning a romantic weekend. I have in the past experienced better service in a B&B. The food is over priced and at best mediocre, with a beef burger and chips setting you back £15.50
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: strongly advise to find alternative accommodation
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Tomlinson-Miles, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr Amos, Thank you for your review. Your email is currently being investigated by the appropriate teams. Many Thanks Paige
Read more
Corinne T wrote a review 06 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We attended this hotel as my stepdaughter was getting married here. After checking in and having to pay for our room upon check-in we were told no lift and no-one to help with bags. We were charged £340 for a 2 night stay inc breakfast. The room was classed as a snug double snug being the word, no toilet roll holder in the super snug bathroom, no water to make a coffee, no milk, no sockets next to the bed. When my husband got out of bed he was touching the wall. A super snug wardrobe which we could hardly get our colthes in (bear in mind we are there for a wedding). Asked three times for the milk etc but no never arrived. Breakfast was ok ish but take a mug with you unless you want to keep getting up for refills. Before the response (if i get one) says should have gone to reception, eell everytime i went to reception no-one was there. A couole came to book a few night there and left after 15 minutes because no-one was around. The very best thing about this hotel is the couple of staff who were trying to do everything. When you have a wedding booked in it is very poor to only jave two staff and one of them was behind the bar. The weding was fantastic wish i could say the same thing about this run down overpriced hotel. I was assured i would receive a call from the manager this morning and 3 guesses nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Tomlinson-Miles, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CorinneT558, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies we were unable to assist you with our luggage. I can only assume our small reception team were dealing with a large check in as we are usually happy to accommodate. We have had to minimise contact in order to protect our staff and guests and we consider luggage as a high risk contact point. Our snug double is our 'starter' accommodation and is described as much as possible throughout our website, detailing the size, layout and shape of the room. As a 200 year old building, we are quite limited in electrical factors we can move etc which I'm hoping you can understand. We are working very hard to accommodate for guest requests however as you mentioned our staff have been limited throughout the last few weeks, as it is well documented that there are shortfalls in hospitality. I can only apologise we were not able to get these items to you. Our reception team were in fact helping to set up your step daughters wedding however I know they would have been able to bring you the items upon request. Our team are working tirelessly and I am pleased to announce that we have increased our team even further so we are able to fill the hotel with staff according to the amount of guests we have in daily. I hope you consider returning to Forest Lodge again soon. Kind Regards Paige
Read more
louise j wrote a review 02 Sep
1 contribution
We have just returned from a group break to this hotel. The staff are great - friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious, really good quality produce. The rooms are a reasonable size and the hotel's location makes a trip to the rest of the Forest or to Lymington or Mudeford/Highcliffe very easy options. The pool is a wonderful addition and gave the kids something to do even on the grey English Summer days. We have been going for many years now, without kids and now with. We would and do recommend this hotel to all our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Tomlinson-Miles, General Manager at Forest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 814louisej, Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Forest Lodge. The staff will certainly appreciate your thanks given the tough times we have all been facing! I will be sure to pass this on. We look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Paige
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western forest lodge hotel lyndhurst, best western lyndhurst, lyndhurst best western, best western forest hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLyndhurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Forest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include St Michael & All Angels Church, Lyndhurst (0.4 km), The Lyndhurst Antiques Centre (0.4 km), and Down To The Wood (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Forest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Forest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Forest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Forest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peggy Mays Cafe, The Forage, and Surfing Moo Moo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Forest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Forest Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Lyndhurst.
Are any cleaning services offered at Forest Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Forest Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Forest Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Forest Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eling Tide Mill Experience (7.7 km) and Rufus Stone (4.7 km).