We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solent Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Rookery Avenue, Whiteley, Fareham PO15 7AJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/14
eDreams
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$160
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (347)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (194)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A perfect spot to enjoy endless days out with cities, coast and countryside all on the doorstep. This 4-star hotel has everything – cosy guest rooms and suites, a first-class AA rosette awarded restaurant and a stunning al fresco terrace with outdoor grill where you can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in the summer months. The spa has a 13m pool, steam and sauna rooms, spa treatments, tennis court and a gym with activity studio. Watch out for the outdoor silent cinema screenings in the summer, as well as a host of activities for families of all ages. Part of The House of Daniel Thwaites collection.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1482Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 739
  • 417
  • 185
  • 84
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Devon Girl wrote a review 29 Jul
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Lack of masks being worn by the staff. Very disappointed to hardly see any masks at all in the hotel. With groups of people having dinner, and plenty of shouting etc., I wonder if this hotel will be breeding ground for the virus. If staff were to wear masks it would encourage guests. But with no staff including cleaners, waiting staff or anyone else it means that those who want to wear them feel the odd ones out. Very sad to see. Just be careful here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Abigail C wrote a review 29 Jul
2 contributions1 helpful vote
. Myself and my partner had booked ourselves in to the couples twilight offer. When we arrived we went straight to the spa to book ourselves in. The lady at the desk did not know what the couples twilight offer contained and we had to explain what we had paid for. We attempted to show her the offer on the website but this had been removed. We were then not shown around the facilities and had to make our own way to the changing rooms. This first encounter felt particularly unprofessional and did not make us feel welcome. We then went to the pool and there was no available seating. I then went back to reception and asked if more seating could be arranged to which the first response was no. After I explained to the spa manager about the experience we had paid for, a staff member bought in two loungers from outside - both of which were extremely wet as it had rained all day. As part of the deal we were also meant to be provided with welcome drinks and then prosecco during our private hot tub experience. I also had to ask for this on a number of occasions which felt particularly awkward as the offer could no longer be looked up to see if this was true by staff so it took alot of asking. Furthermore, we were told we would receive a private hot tub experience. Whilst we were given a private room with the hot tub outside. I would not call it private as many children were running around outside on the green by the hottub which again felt uncomfortable and was not relaxing. Lastly, at dinner, we again had to explain to staff the offer we had been given and staff did not understand which food was or was not included in this offer. Considering we paid £170 for the offer and it was also my birthday we felt it was an extremely poor experience and we will definitely not be returning. We were not treated very well and felt the facilities really lacked for what we paid for. I
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TrailBlazer796492 wrote a review 21 Jul
1 contribution
Warning to travellers....on our way to the hotel we got ''pinged'' ..... Solent hotel said they could not accept the last minute cancellation and refused us pensioners a refund and did not offer a voucher. We could have easily not told them about the covid app. request to isolate and carried on with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Solent Hotel and Spa, Guest Services / Front Office at Solent Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TrailBlazer796492, Thank you for taking time out to leave the hotel a review. Please may I ask if you can contact myself directly at the hotel so that I can personally investigate this for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Josh Relf Head of Guest Experience joshrelf@solenthotel.co.uk
Read more
emiliesian wrote a review 19 Jul
Sandhurst, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel and spa is lovely looking but they are lacking on several minor details which bring the experience down. The room was not ready on time- 10 minutes late but they did offer a complimentary drink. The complimentary wine and fresh fruit was not in the suite as promised, we had to ask several times for the wine too, we gave up to try and ask about the fruit. A wedding party took over the whole lawn area, leaving their reserved area empty and preventing hotel guests from using it. Spa reservation moved- apparently they called but we never received any missed calls. We ordered venison of the specials menu at £26 each (which had halibut on the menu), received bill for £30 each. When questioned they showed us another menu with the venison at £30 each and no halibut on the menu. They also didn’t put the prepaid amount from the package on our bill, so make sure you say if you have this. Food and drink seems hiked in price compared to other similar establishments. Cocktails approximately £10 each and bottles of wine start at approximately £28. The suite was lovely looking but the TV had limited options, not even the TV guide was working, and no ambient lighting in the lounge, it’s either all the lights or none. Second night, we reserved a particular table outside, which they had given away to someone else. No mention of “how was your stay” upon departure. Overall disappointing in areas of service, particularly the hike in price of venison whilst we ate it but a lovely hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solent Hotel and Spa, Guest Services / Front Office at Solent Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I am pleased to hear in general you enjoyed your stay, however will share your comments with my team to make the relevant changes and improve our future guests experience. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Josh Relf Head of Guest Experience
Read more
Jalexscott wrote a review 14 Jul
Essex, United Kingdom254 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed in a standard room for 2 nights, which was plenty big enough. There was a separate sofa seating area, good size TV, 2 changing areas, plenty of storage, a safe, and everything else you could need. Plenty of drinks included, with paper cups to takeaway, biscuits etc etc. We had the package which included breakfast and dinner. Firstly, breakfast was EXCELLENT. Offerings of cooked breakfast (multiple types), waffles, pancakes, fruit, pastries were all delicious. Dinner was very good too, although not many options if you don't like seafood. All fresh and tasteful. Service was also excellent, all staff were courteous and helpful. This was true of reception, maids, and especially restaurant / bar staff. The room decor was bordering on classic and tired. The bathroom more towards the tired side. Nothing bad enough to complain about though. We visited the Portsmouth area and South Downs etc so location was ideal. There was no road traffic noise, or noise from other guests either. Pool area was well kept, and had regular tests by the staff. Sauna, Steam room, whirlpool all working and had number of users restricted. Would stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Probably wouldn't want to be near a water / milk machine.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Solent Hotel and Spa, Guest Services / Front Office at Solent Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear JalexScott, Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Josh Relf Head of Guest Experience
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
solent hotel and spa, solent hotel whiteley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Solent and Spa
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireFarehamWhiteley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Solent Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Solent Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Rock Up Whitelely (0.7 km), Cineworld Whiteley (0.7 km), and Whiteley Shopping Centre (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Solent Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Solent Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Solent Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Solent Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar + Block Steakhouse, Wagamama, and Dim T.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Solent Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Solent Hotel and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Whiteley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solent Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Solent Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Solent Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bursledon Windmill (4.9 km) and The Central Parks (2.6 km).
Is Solent Hotel and Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.