We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TravelRest Solent Gateway

Save
Share
22 The Avenue, Fareham PO14 1NS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (55)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (104)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from TravelRest Solent Gateway
Updated 20/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 7 hotels in Fareham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make TravelRest Solent Gateway their hotel of choice when visiting Fareham. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Titchfield Abbey (1.6 mi), located nearby, makes TravelRest Solent Gateway a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Fareham landmark.

Rooms at Travelrest Solent Gateway Hotel provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Travelrest Solent Gateway Hotel guests have access to room service and baggage storage. You can also enjoy an on-site restaurant. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at TravelRest Solent Gateway.

While in Fareham be sure to experience local crab favourites at Villa Romana.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Westbury Manor Museum.

At TravelRest Solent Gateway, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Fareham.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
193Reviews7Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 77
  • 35
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Flo R wrote a review 25 Nov
Shropshire, United Kingdom16 contributions26 helpful votes
Visiting family so location was ideal. Plenty of parking and next door to a harvester, which was very convenient for dinner after a long drive. Rooms are dated but comfortable. Unfortunately a window was left open so by the time we checked in (evening in November) the room was freezing. Be prepared for a bit of noise, walls are thin and floorboards creaky so you can hear movement from other rooms, stairs and hallway. Luckily it didn't seem very busy so this wasn't a huge issue. On the plus, there was a good selection of pillows in the room which was nice to find one of a comfortable thickness. It was also a pleasant surprise to find a cafetiere as an alternative to the standard instant coffee sachets. Unfortunately didn't get a chance to sample breakfast, service ended before we rallied (lay in recovering from the drive). It would be great if service continued a bit longer but as mentioned above, harvester is next door. Overall reasonable for the money and would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
David D wrote a review 03 Nov
Weybridge, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed at the TravelRest Solent Gateway Hotel from Friday 29th Oct to Monday 1st Nov. On the second night, Saturday 30th, I arrived in my room at approximately 11 pm and found that the door was unlocked. I also discovered that the bed had been stripped and the duvet and pillows had been left on the floor by the door. I informed Elliott in reception who brought some linen and we both made the bed. In the morning I discovered all the towels had been taken away. As there was nobody in reception and was short of time, I had to quickly go to my relatives house and use their shower and towels. When I returned to the hotel that evening, I discovered my room hadn't been touched except for the reappearance of the towels. The cups I had used for my coffee the night before and my morning cup of tea were still dirty and none of the tea, coffee, bottle of water, sugar and milk sachets had been replenished. The gentleman in reception, Ian I believe, said that they are not currently servicing rooms for guests who are staying longer than one night. He also said that Elliott had mentioned about the linen and towels but he couldn't understand why this had happened. I have written to the hotel, but having read some of the most recent reviews as well as the responses from Ian the Manager, I think I can safely say that Ian has no intention of accepting his hotel is in steep decline and it would appear he is very happy to take the public's money in exchange for poor service and a shabby, poorly maintained establishment. It will be interesting to see if he responds to my email or indeed this review. Shame on him and I will not be using this hotel anytime soon, nor will I be recommending it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Firstly I would like to apologise that you did not receive the service you or we would have expected during your recent stay. To clarify, during the ongoing COVID pandemic we have taken the decision to focus on deep cleaning guest rooms after each guest departure, including disinfecting each room. We feel this is important to our guests and our team to reduce their risk of COVID at this time. In order to achieve this we have had to take the decision not to clean guest bedrooms for guests who are staying more than 1 night. Most guests acknowledge and appreciate this approach to COVID management. We should have informed you of this fact on check in and I am sorry if that did not happen. I am sorry your room was then inadvertently stripped of the bedding and towels and the inconvenience this caused.
Read more
HF1 wrote a review Oct 2021
17 contributions26 helpful votes
On arrival the hotel is a lot smaller than what it looks like on the pictures. The furnishings and rooms all need up dating. There was damp on the walls, cracked tiles in the bathroom, toilet didn’t flush and kettle broken in the room. The shower was above the bath and the hot water took ages to come through. On one day, the boiler had broke, so we could not have a shower at all. There was no lift so I would not recommend for some one with mobility difficulties. The dining area was clean but the breakfast was small for the price. We were not told about order times and on the second day we’re told we could not order a cooked breakfast as it had to be ordered by 8.45, even though we were ordering at 8.35!! The menus were also dirty and covered in grease. Sadly our experiences ruined our mini break away
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy you stay and thank you for your feedback which will help us improve. We are sorry the heating system malfunctioned on one of your stay days and fortunately we were able to repair the fault very quickly. To clarify, our highly acclaimed and well received, freshly cooked to order full English Breakfast is available between 7am and 9am Monday to Friday and 8am to 10am Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays and I am very sorry if this was not explained at your arrival.
Read more
Keith L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
I booked for two nights for a family visit and was given room 30, a double. On entering the room it was immediately apparent that it needed considerable work and was in a poor state of repair with paint flaking off the ceiling, damp in the ceiling, windowsill in a poor state with flaking and cracked paint. The room door did not latch closed, in fact there wasn't even a cutout in the frame for the latch, and it also had a one to one and a half inch gap underneath it, not much use as a fire door!! The room is a double but only had one bath and one hand towel in it. One miserly set of toiletries with a one very cheap plastic water glass in a bathroom that needed cleaning properly and had a door that wouldn't close unless slammed very hard. There was only one bedside lamp in the room, though the light pouring in the gap at the bottom of the fire door helped if you had the side of the bed without a light. I thought about ringing reception about all of this but then found there wasn't a phone in the room either. The room was very noisy with traffic on the A27 and the fact you could hear any water running in the surrounding rooms, their TVs or the occupants talking. The dining area of the hotel is reasonable but the rest of the hotel is very tired and feels dark and oppressive especially with dark tartan carpeting in corridors and stairways. All in all it was two unpleasant days stay which I will never be repeating and would advise people not to get their hopes up if they book this hotel. If you must stay there then make every effort to get a room facing the rear of the hotel as you may escape the traffic noise at least.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and thank you for your feedback, which will help us improve. Unfortunately during the weekend you stayed the M27 was closed for a smart motorway upgrade which increased the traffic using the A27 adjacent to the hotel. Otherwise, especially overnight the hotel double glazing is usually sufficient to reduce the noise.
Read more
leepownall2426 wrote a review Aug 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom92 contributions84 helpful votes
Attending a party so needed somewhere to stay for a night. The room was adequate and clean however the bathroom floor tiles were badly damaged; This could have caused nasty foot injury. This does not detract from the fact it is a worthwhile place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelrest solent gateway hotel fareham, travelrest solent gateway fareham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Avenue House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireFareham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about TravelRest Solent Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Westbury Manor Museum (1.1 km), Robins Nest Emporium Fareham (1.0 km), and Reel Cinema (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Garden Shed Cafe, The Buccaneer, and CrumbleJack.
Are pets allowed at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (4.2 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (6.4 km), and Portsdown Hill (7.3 km).
Is TravelRest Solent Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.