Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni

Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni

113 Woltemade Street Die Heuwel, Emalahleni 1034 South Africa
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining Room
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 25 guest houses in Emalahleni
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Big5 Guest House is a 4* guesthouse situated in Emalahleni, Mpumalanga. We are passionate about our guesthouse and we love to treat our guests and let them feel at home. We have different room types that will suite your needs, conference facilities for small groups as well as a Tea Garden where you can enjoy the garden and great food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Chapel / shrine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

113 Woltemade Street Die Heuwel, Emalahleni 1034 South Africa
74Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 21
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dreamer68079491403 wrote a review Oct 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I often stay at Big 5 while traveling. The attention to little details (welcome messages, towel art, fresh flowers, allocating my favorite room to me, etc) go a long way to make me feel at home when I'm away from home. Great job!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Thank you for this awesome review. We are pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and that you love our attention to details. We hope to see you again soon. Big5 Guesthouse Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
azharlaher wrote a review Mar 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful place , after a hard days work , the perfect place to unwind and relax by the pool or tea gardens . Enjoy your meals in a classical dining area . Breakfast was great with freshest of fruits and yoghurt , freshly grated cheese , eggs etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Good day - thank you for the positive and lovely to hear review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Stay safe - Anel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ggvandermerwe wrote a review Jul 2022
Suider Paarl, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As someone who travels a lot, this is one of the best guesthouses I've stayed in. Rooms are exquisite, beautifully decorated, spacious with all the amenities one can ever hope for. My wife and I stayed in the superior suite called Lion King and it was the best. Huge twin showers inside and outside shower was a bonus. Bath with jets was very nice for winter. My boys stayed in one of the twin rooms called baby cheetah not far from our room above the coffee shop. Staff is extremely friendly at both the guesthouse and the coffee shop. My boys had breakfast every morning in the coffees hop and the french toast and flapjacks went down very nicely. Lovely entertainment area/playroom where we could play pool and table tennis every night with an honestly bar. Overall a great stay and will definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone. Good value for money!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Dear George Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cornescheepers76 wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Anelli's tea garden at Big 5 Guest House hosted an 80th birthday party for us. The food (soup, spitbraai, and dessert) was very delicious. They went out of their way to accommodate us and they did the most beautiful decor in a vintage theme to fit the classy 80-year-old. It was a fabulous day and we can highly recommend them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 10 Aug 2023
Good day Corne :) WOW thank you for the awesome review. We are delighted that you had a great event at our tea garden. Thank you for all the compliments :) Wish to see you again soon Big5 & Anelli's TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bsibiya wrote a review May 2022
Mbombela, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is so beautiful, they have excellent service and their rooms are in good standard. I will recommend it to my fellow friends. Directions on the map are very simple ,please just try to have a big space for parking to avoid bumping each other.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 31 May 2022
Good day - Thank you for your positive feedback and review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for future referrals. Hope to see you again in the near future. Anel - Big5 Guesthouse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rudivanheerden wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As with many business trips, last thing you want is a stereotypical stay. The location, atmosphere, view and attention to menu was just what made the stay pleasant. The food was top notch! Surely worth the stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review - we appreciate your review. Hope to see you again soon. Big5 Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ktbmndau wrote a review May 2021
Heidelberg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking after the guests as if they're the last visitors. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, privacy is top priority. TV channels have improved, away from the city noise, easy to locate, food is great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 17 May 2021
Thank you very mych for the positive review given. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Big5 Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karenmurley wrote a review Sept 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for awesome stay, food was good. TV was not working in my room (no sound) but did not bug me as I had a lot to do (including catching up on some reading). Location is good. Room was clean. Service at receiption was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Good day Karen - Thank you for our review. We do apologize for the TV sound not working - however we did fix the problem. Hope to see you again in the near future. Big5 Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sdaniels2023 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff at reception were very friendly, show me around and directed me to all the facilities. Pool area was clean and a pleasure to spend time there. The braai area and TV were a pleasure to have in the room, Chef and kitchen staff very friendly and helpful. I will recommend this to my family and also use as a get away from my busy life.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Thank you very much for the awesome review given. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all our facilities. Hope to see you again soon :) Big5 Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
644bongi wrote a review Oct 2022
Gauteng, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I could hear converations from other rooms. It was disturbing when other roommates open bath taps late in the evening or early hours of the morning. Breakfast was excellent. Friendly staff in the kitchen and recption.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Kiley, Owner at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Good day Bongi, Thank you for your review given. We are pleased that you enjoyed our friendliness & Great breakfast. Hope we will see you again. Big5 Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Suzanne21548 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking any room, as the generators are in front of the building, and all the rooms face these generators."
Read full review
Era0302 wrote a tip Oct 2016
Vereeniging, South Africa60 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms Crocodile and Porcupine are easily accessible."
Read full review
KyleReviewer wrote a tip May 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rather go somewhere else"
Read full review
Zandre P wrote a tip Nov 2013
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa34 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Differently-abled people may have problems with the many stairs on the location, e.g. to reception. But, there are rooms available on ground level."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Emalahleni area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,059 - R 1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaEmalahleni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG 5 GUEST HOUSE EMALAHLENI | UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
What are some of the property amenities at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Basket Witbank, Mama Lisa, and Anelli's Tea Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Emalahleni HotelsEmalahleni Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EmalahleniHotels near Big 5 Guest House Emalahleni
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire