Cliveden House
Traveller (1946)
Lady Astor Suite
Room & Suite (186)
Cliveden House
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Taplow
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, German, Italian and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:A Cliveden Indulgence - £100 Credit

Location

Taplow SL6 0JF England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Heathrow Airport
18.8 km
See all flights
Luton Airport
41.7 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,189 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled within a historic setting, Cliveden House captivates guests with its enchanting ambiance and elegant decor that shine especially during festive occasions. While the rooms are typically found to be comfortable and tastefully furnished, a few guests have expressed that they can seem slightly gloomy and may miss some amenities. The staff at Cliveden House consistently receives accolades for their exceptional service, often going the extra mile for guests. The hotel's amenities, such as the stunning gardens, luxurious spa, and dining with striking views, are frequently lauded, as is the hotel's spotless cleanliness. However, some travelers caution that the experience might not justify the cost, mentioning steep pricing and additional fees.
Atmosphere
Enchanting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,189Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,615
  • 299
  • 142
  • 79
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cyberj2 wrote a review May 2023
London, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For those fortunate enough to be able to spend some time here, you will never forget it. The place is steeped in history, with a specific combination of British Aristocracy and Guilded Age America. For fans of "Downton Abbey" this will remind you of being on that TV set. The level of service is exceptional, and each room has its own name - no numbers allowed - and your name will be written in beautiful calligraphy on a bespoke card on the room door. The pure gold-encrusted clock on the water tower looks like it is from a French Chateau, and the gardens were a favorite of Queen Victoria herself. There's beautiful sketches, paintings and photos throughout the Main Hall and all of the connecting hallways throughout the main house. If you have time, a stroll down to the Thames River is well worth the effort - the beautiful cottages alongside the Thames have their own famous histories, and are outstanding examples of Tudor-style architecture. While the cost may be outside the reach of many travelers (I was lucky enough to be here for four days on a business offsite), it is well worth splurging on. You will live like the Astor Family (the former owners) for the time you are there!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 31 May 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review! We are so proud of having delivered an amazing experience to you all and cannot wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon! Best wishes Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz M wrote a review Aug 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having missed out on a babymoon due to the coronavirus lockdown, my husband and I wanted to do something special - even if only for one night - before our baby arrives next month. Having researched safety precautions at a few luxury hotels, we felt Cliveden’s were the clearest and with a smaller number of rooms than other hotel we hoped for a quiet and relaxed stay.
We booked a few days ahead into a Club room, for a one night midweek stay, as well as dinner and an afternoon tea.
We arrived soon after check in, and were pleased to see so much clear signage about wearing masks and a number of hand sanitisation stations at doors. All staff throughout the hotel were wearing masks too.
We spent the afternoon at the outdoor pool and spa reading, swimming and relaxing, having had our temperature checked before entering. It wasn’t busy at all, perhaps because a number of guests were staying for a few days and so were out and about taking part in other activities. The outdoor pool and jacuzzis had number limits and there were lots of spare sun loungers.
We had a drink in the lounge before dinner, which again wasn’t busy, and then ate in the Cliveden Dining Room that had tables all spaced at a good distance from each other. Despite having a reduced menu there was a good range of dishes on offer, and the food was delicious. We had the cheese soufflé and crab terrine to start, and both had the guinea fowl dish for our mains. It was such a wonderful experience to eat fine dining food after a long time away from restaurants. All the printed menus were single use, all the food was brought to the table with covers to prevent aerosol spread and all staff wore masks.
Our room was extremely comfortable, with soft bedding, fluffy robes, great toiletries and some delicious sweets and nuts. The staff had even put a triangle support pillow in the room for me as they knew I was pregnant.
The next day we enjoyed a swim in both the outdoor and indoor pools, followed by breakfast back in the dining room. The choice of food was again wide and we enjoyed hot food, cereal, toast, pastries and fresh fruit.
We then enjoyed walking round the grounds before afternoon tea. Lots of families were enjoying the National Trust grounds and it was a delight to people watch through the windows after so many months. The selection of savoury elements was pleasing as it wasn’t just finger sandwiches, and we enjoyed a number of miniature desserts rather than just cake that you get at some afternoon teas.
All in all, a wonderful stay, with attentive and thoughtful staff who made us feel safe while still maintaining a luxury standard.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Liz, Thank you for taking the time to do such a detailed review of our offering here on Tripadvisor, We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and found our Covid-19 measures to be well balanced, We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon, Best wishes, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
michael d wrote a review Mar 2020
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Monica (my wife) and i had the great fortune to visit Clivedon, the occasion was to celebrate my Birthday and the visit was a gift from our Sons and Daughters-in-law. We had an overnight stay in the Spencer room, which was a suite with just about everything you could wish for in a Hotel.The lounge area was spacious with views over the front of the residence ,the magnificent clock tower shone bright in the sunlight . Twin doors lead to the bedroom with the most comfortable bed i have probably ever been in, a spacious bathroom with great views along the drive of this lovely building. The Champagne on ice to greet us was a nice touch and we just sat and took in our surroundings glass in hand, working out what to look at next. I must say that from the moment we drove up we were so looked after, our cases were taken from the boot and whilst we checked in they were dispatched to our room. Layouts i.e. restaurant, lounge, bar were soon explained by the most caring and helpful receptionists. That evening we ate at the The Astor Grill where the service was great, the staff friendly, oh yes and the food excellent. After breakfast next morning we wandered the grounds for some 3 hours walking alongside the Thames and up through the beautiful gardens that surround this superb Hotel. If you get the chance then please visit Clivedon where Francisco and his wonderful staff will help you have the experience of a lifetime.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: whatever room you chose you will love it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear Michael, Thank you for amazingly wonderful review, We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed every single second of your stay at Cliveden, you have made our day! Myself and my entire team will be waiting for your return, Sincerely, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe B wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and myself came to Cliveden House as part of our 10 year anniversary celebrations and were delighted by such a grand house and fantastic experience. We were warmly greeted by concierge and (in these covid days) had our temperature taken. This straight away put our minds at ease, and regarding covid, we were continued to be put at ease. All staff had a face covering, either mask or plastic shield. Smart looking hand sanitizers were stationed through out the hotel, and the rooms were very clean and even the food was covered during transit from the kitchen to our table.

The exterior and interior of the building itself are simply beautiful. With so much art work and oddities that relate to the house itself you can spend a lot of time simply wandering the corridors examining them; or sitting with afternoon tea by the fire in the grand hall, cosy amongst the rich coloured cushions and throws; or reclining in the library with a delicious ‘Profumo’ cocktail in hand admiring the parterre garden that leads down to a view of River Thames.

The grounds and gardens have been beautifully looked after by National Trust. From the woodland areas that lead you down to The Thames, to the stunning water gardens, rose garden, the parterre, there’s gorgeous areas to see throughout the acres here.

The food served in The Cliveden Dining Room was divine, the staff responsive and attentive and the wine excellent. Breakfast was equally delicious, especially the American pancake. I wouldn’t mind the recipe!

We also used the spa facilities and had massages which were out of this world. Highly recommend booking in a special treat whilst there, the heated water bed on which you lie for the massage was incredible! The pool areas were beautiful, especially sitting in a hot tub outside in the rain whilst being lovely and warm.

It was a very special treat to go to Cliveden House for our anniversary, but after a fantastic stay it might have to become a regular treat!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Dear Traveler610289, Thank your taking the time to leave us such a glowing review, In these unprecedented times, kind words like these mean the World to my team, Thank you! I would be delighted to ask our chef for the recipe for those lovely pancakes, please do contact me directly and I will get this sent to you. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully before your next anniversary, Best wishes, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Round the World wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The setting of Cliveden is undoubtably stunning. Great views and wonderful architecture. So 5 stars for that.

Our room was round near the spa and for £800 a night it wasn’t breathtaking, neither were the hairs in the ice bucket, odd location for them to appear!

Due to covid dinner felt quite rushed, I wanted to order a good bottle of red and take my time, when spending £800 on a bottle I wanted it right. I was interrupted 3 times asking if I’m ready to order food, again, probably covid forcing them to wrap up pre 10.

The wine was lovely, but the mark up was huge. Almost 6x retail. Which stopped me having a second one.

Breakfast was nice, nice room.

Overall not blown away sadly. Might go back one day. Just didn’t tick the boxes for me for that cost of £800.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Dear 48roundtheworld, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you would have expected, Please accept my sincerest apologies and rest assure you that we will continue to strive for perfection, We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully Wow you at that point, Sincerely, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ASZ wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd time staying at the Cliveden over the past two years and the quality of experience and customer service has deteriorated rapidly. I know Covid has changed things but snotty attitudes, negative statements and a general disrespect for guests was felt this time around. People go to places like these and spend thousands of dollars on rooms to have superior hospitality and positive unimaginative customer experiences. This was a two star and the food is really the only reason I would give it more than one.

Check in
It started with check in and the staff at front desk were not friendly; it felt like we were intruders versus guests. No smiles. I heard a man talking very loudly that there was no communication between staff and he was visibly upset.

Rooms
Rooms are very lovely and clean but the phones are from 1922 and some of the buttons didn’t work when trying to phone out and receive calls.There are no real amenities and the soaps and frills are substandard. The iron man was also from 1922 and the ironing board looked like it was retrieved from the trash, wobbly and all. On the iPads in the room, the menus are incomplete so you have to call and speak to someone and there isn’t anyone on the other line.

Communication
Poor overall. The indoor pool was closed and nobody told us. The whole reason why we came was so my 3 year daughter could experience the pool. We booked our session, turned up and they shuffled us to an outdoor freezing pool where the promise was that it was “heated”. Also when I called to confirm my dinner reservation, the time was wrong despite calling the night before to confirm this. How does this happen? We live in the age of technology.

Negative attitudes
Our server at dinner was rude and said that the steak couldn’t be made medium well because the chef recommended it pink. He argued with us for 10 minutes over it. Then we asked for the window to be open due to humidity and he said “it won’t make a difference” and turned his nose up at us. It’s odd that no windows would be open during the hottest week of the year in England. Also coming out of the elevators this afternoon, 3 housekeepers we’re walking around with sad eyes, one of them saying “I just don’t want to be here”.

Sadly, the price point does not justify the experience. We won’t be returning here not recommending
Cliveden in the state that it is in to any friends until it returns to the luxurious, customer focused friendly place it once was.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear ASZ1149, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor and please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced whilst staying with us, Clearly this is not the standard that so many of our guests have become accustomed to neither what we constantly strive for, once again please accept my apologies. I would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you to address your feedback and ensure we learn from our mistakes, could I kindly ask you to contact me directly? Sincerely, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a great trip in November 2019 that to celebrate retiring we booked a three night stay in a junior suite.

To say I was looking forward to it is an understatement and so you can understand my disappointment when the room was not only not to our taste but "broken".

Our suite was on the ground floor and had the car part to the front and the walk way to one of the dining areas to the side. All aspects had floor to ceiling windows and so I felt very much on display to the many visitors. I drew one of the blinds to check what view was then cut out to be told by the lady member of staff that the one alongside had broken and not yet been replaced. The solution was to draw the curtain!!

We asked to be moved to something else and were informed that it may prove difficult given the occupancy levels. We waited whilst the lady went to see what, if anything could be done. While we did wait I explored further. The room could have done with a paint touch up around some of the door handles. I also discovered that the toilet lid and seat were broken and came apart in my hand. Needless to say we went straight to reception.

On reporting the seat the lady did look genuinely shocked but sadly nothing could be offered so we said we would check straight out and return home (not an insignificant distance). The duty manager was then called who offered us a better room for one night and then a move to something similar for the final two nights. At least something was offered but sadly it would have meant packing and unpacking and in all likelihood we would not have been in the second room until after 3pm on the second day and would have been clock watching rather than relaxing.

We are expecting to see the full refund for the trip and nothing was said about waiving the cost of the small snack we enjoyed which I think should have been automatic. An upgrade is on offer for a next trip.

I do understand that not all rooms will be to everyone's taste but I do not understand why a £1000 a night room was offered with a broken blind. Also whoever completed the clean after the previous occupants missed the broken toilet. How that is even possible baffles me and probably something I don't wasn't to think too deeply about!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor suites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 05 Aug 2021
Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor and I am sorry to hear that you decided not to stay as a result of the broken blind in the room that we were not able to replace in between guests due to being made to measure, please accept my sincerest apologies, this should have not to happen. I am aware that George, spoken to you on the day in an attempt to find a suitable solution, but i am sorry that we were not able to find one for you, I and the team, look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and show you that this is not our normal standard. Best wishes, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joao G wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of spending a long weekend break at the Cliveden House in September and we could not be happier with the outcome! The Hotel is set in the most outstanding National Trust state, with breathtaking views and fantastic walks to explore the grounds. The House itself is opulent and very well kept! The hotel lounge, bar and restaurant are grand and very relaxing! The bedroom was also fantastic, with high ceilings and the most comfortable bed.

We also had the opportunity to enjoy the SPA and the swimming pools which are set in a beautiful walled garden.

The hotel is very well prepared for Covid-19, with proper social distancing in the public areas, regular temperature checks for all guests, all the staff wearing masks and lots of hand sanitiser stations everywhere. We felt safe and comfortable.

And the most important part was the friendliness of the staff! We felt very welcome everywhere we went! From Front Office, to the restaurants, SPA and Bar. We wanted to leave a special shout out to Branca who was so hospitable and kind!

We are looking forward to coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Dear JoaoG Thank you for your amazing review, I was delighted to read that you had a brilliant time and enjoyed the many aspects of your stay, Thank you for your kind words towards my team too, during these difficult times I cannot express my gratitude enough, they mean the World to the hard-working team, We look forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
itchyfeetlady wrote a review Aug 2021
Windermere, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel set in the most gorgeous grounds with formal gardens and the Thames.
When we arrived it was chaos. A party with balloon arch weirdly going on in the hotel foyer and queues of people waiting to check in. The staff looked bewildered and there wasn't enough of them and we didn't feel very welcome.
Our room was a junior suite on the ground floor, it was beautiful but felt more like a dining room than a bedroom, it looked over the very busy noisy carpark and one of the very tall window blinds was missing so people out for a national trust day trip were peering in all the time. We asked to move. This wasn't received very well at reception because they were flat out busy but eventually at 6pm after we spent some time at the pool they found us the perfect quiet room overlooking trees.
We had the tasting menu booked in the dining room that evening. It was really poor, tasteless food. Only two courses were good, one was the steak tartar and the other the pineapple carpaccio. It wasn't all executed well with the timings of clearing plates and the wine pairing hit and miss.
We had a 7am wander around the grounds before it opens up to the public and it was glorious to be there when it's empty.
Breakfast was better, the hot full English was lovely and there were lots of other foods to choose from, the fresh fruit, pastries and juices were all excellent. I had 2 coffees brought to me, one was perfect, the second was cold. Empty plates were still left on the table though.
The pool and spa are amazing. Plenty of sunbeds and towels and such a peaceful oasis of calm compared to the rest of the hotel. Bar service there is friendly and the salads were good. There were a lot of wasps but I'm not sure what you could do about this, it was tricky because they seemed to be able to smell champagne a mile away! They need a pool attendant though, someone to help with brollies, bring towels instead of finding your own in the changing area, netting the pool water to free it from the dead insects floating in it, clearing empty glasses and plates and wiping tables.
We hired an electric boat for a couple of hours on the Thames which was a real highlight, I would take a picnic and a bottle of something next time. I would stay again but I wouldn't splurge on a suite because I didn't think it was good value for money.... it's the pool and the grounds which are the making of this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are 2 electric car chargers by the rose garden. Book a 3 hour electric boat trip if its a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear Itchyfeetlady, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that we did not quite hit the 5 bubble mark on this occasion, but rest assure that myself and the team will continue to work hard in making every guest experience truly remarkable, We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the improvements, Best wishes, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LJBBucks wrote a review Sept 2020
Bucks
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For a very special 70th wedding anniversary celebration we booked Afternoon Tea in the Cliveden House dining room. We felt very safe with the staffs masked up and everyone wearing masks in communal areas. The food was absolutely delicious and plentiful, exquisite light cakes and mousses which were beautifully presented and what I would describe as mostly classic English savoury food (mini prawn cocktails, smoked salmon and beef sandwiches, quiche) with some international elements too, just perfect to suit our taste. Finished off with fresh baked scones of course. It was quite busy being a Saturday afternoon but the service was faultless and very personal. They accommodated my mum in her wheelchair with no problem. Nothing was too much trouble. The setting was beautiful with the views over the parterre and the ornate china. My parents felt very special and loved every minute. Yes there are cheaper afternoon teas around but you get what you pay for and it was worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Dear LJBBucks Thank you for your lovely review and kind words about our afternoon tea and our COVID procedures, We are delighted that you all had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, Francisco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Francisco Macedo
5 helpful votes
Dear Emily, Thank you for your message, We pride ourselves in welcoming every one and make them feel at home, that is the only thing that matters to us, but happy to happy to make you feel at ease over a call if easier? Best wishes, Francisco
Answer from Francisco Macedo
5 helpful votes
Dear Roberta, I am sure this has been addressed, but if there is anything else I can help with please write to me directly on Francisco.macedo at clivedenhouse (apologies I cannot write the email address here) Best wishes, Francisco
MsKaT asked a question Sept 2020
Sydney, Australia4 contributions
Hi. Which Junior Suite is best? I believe the junior suites vary?
Answer from Francisco Macedo
5 helpful votes
Hi MsKat They are all very different :) Personally, I like Orkney? Best wishes, Francisco
CJH70 asked a question Jun 2020
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom574 contributions92 helpful votes
Can anyone advise how we can book a. Champagne boat trip please? Do they still run in early October? Thanks.
Answer from Francisco Macedo
5 helpful votes
Apologies for the delay, Please email my Guest Services team directly on Guest Services at Cliveden House Look forward to welcome you to Cliveden, Best wishes, Francisco
James asked a question Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom87 contributions13 helpful votes
Have they not responded to you on this?
Answer from 285Belle
Yeovil, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Sadly not.
B S wrote a tip Yesterday
Berkshire, United Kingdom155 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We arrived at the front of cliveden house please note that to do this it involves an online booking afternoon tea or stay"
Read full review
Tom D wrote a tip 19 Jul
Manhattan Beach, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a lot to explore here. Best to do so on two days because there’s so much to see."
Read full review
JustinFaggioli wrote a tip 16 Jul
Marin County, California4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss the pool"
Read full review
201alistairb wrote a tip 06 Jul
Cheltenham, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the House and Grounds, there is a lot to Enjoy "
Read full review
Ricardo365 wrote a tip 03 Jul
Tonbridge, United Kingdom170 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the house grounds and spa and hire a boat on the river from the national trust"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taplow area.
PRICE RANGE
R 10,982 - R 17,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliveden house hotel taplow
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireTaplow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLIVEDEN HOUSE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Taplow, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Cliveden House
Which popular attractions are close to Cliveden House?
Nearby attractions include Keeeps Pottery Marlow (6.1 km), Escape3600 Ltd Maidenhead & Slough (4.1 km), and Odds Farm Park (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cliveden House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cliveden House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Cliveden House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cliveden House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cliveden House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Greyhound Pub & Dining, Lavvin, and Palmieri's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cliveden House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Cliveden House have airport transportation?
Yes, Cliveden House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cliveden House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cliveden House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Cliveden House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Taplow HotelsTaplow Hotel DealsHotels near Cliveden House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire