Redwings Lodge Dunstable

Redwings Lodge Dunstable

Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (9)
Self service breakfast
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 2 motels in Dunstable
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
A fresh approach to value hotels As a small chain of privately owned hotels, we understand what’s important when looking for overnight accommodation. First and foremost a good night’s sleep followed by a hot shower and a light complimentary breakfast, setting you up for the day ahead. This combined with well-appointed rooms, good facilities and a friendly service makes Redwings Lodges the traveller’s choice. We cater for the business traveller, families and visitors to the area. So wake up feeling refreshed at Redwings Lodge; we’ve got a comfy bed to rest your head. If you’re looking for somewhere quiet, convenient and comfortable to stay in Dunstable then you’re in the right place. Redwings Lodge Dunstable is ideal for visitors to Leighton Buzzard, Woburn Abbey and Whipsnade Zoo, The Grove Theatre in Dunstable, We’re located on the A5 Watling Street at Hockcliffe between Milton Keynes and Dunstable – just five minutes from M1 Toddington Services. Get in touch today to book your stay!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Vending machine
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
354Reviews0Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 115
  • 66
  • 33
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jack B wrote a review Feb 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For the price you can’t really complain.

It is in need of a refurb but as a cheap hotel you can appreciate they need to stretch the furniture out as long as possible

My only complaints were that the bed wasn’t comfy, I found out after leaving that the night before somebody on my business course had complained about the same room and bed. They were moved to a different room and that room put back into service

In the winter you’ll need the heater on full and it will take a long time to have an effect

The shower on its hottest setting was warm but not hot enough for me personally

Everything worked though. Even the WiFi was strong enough for me to watch a few things on the iPad
Breakfast was a selection of cereal or toast, an absolute joy was to see the milk is kept in the fridge! I hate nothing more in the mornings than milk that isn’t chilled

Staff were friendly, plenty of pubs and a maccies near by to keep you going

A good enough budget hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we are in the process of renewing some of our older beds and have now added your room to the list. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane W wrote a review May 2021
Swansea, United Kingdom42 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a very reasonably priced hotel and gives you the important things, a good and comfortable bed, an ensuite, and my room looked out onto the fields, birds and tulips. Although I was the ground floor room closest to the main road, I was not disturbed by the traffic. There's a TV, kettle, tea bags and coffee. I'd like to add two things about this room - the settee was pretty worn and grubby, but as there was no where else to put my suitcase, I used it for this. The shower in the bath was in need of attention and I regret not mentioning this to the cleaners who were at reception at that time of leaving in the morning. However I had a lovely hot shower despite the running cold tap cooling down my feet! There is no lift so I was given a room downstairs because I could not carry my suitcase up the stairs. Breakfast was fine, and for £41, I really was very happy with my one night's stay and can recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 10 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found us good value for money and that the hotel met your requirements. We hope you choose to stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison Burgoyne wrote a review Jul 2020
Hereford, United Kingdom2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last year and couldn’t fault the place for the price. They were very accommodating for us being a family of 5 with 2 year olds twins at that time. When lockdown eased and we wanted to visit family in Leighton buzzard we didn’t think twice about booking here again. This time there was no breakfast which were weren’t informed about. So we had to traipse out looking for food with 2 toddlers at 8am. If we had been informed there was no breakfast we could of prepared and got something in. Also we had a kettle but no mugs or tea or coffee or anything else so we had to buy our own as I couldn’t find a member of staff for dust. The toilet in the room was ridiculously noisy as well. That being said we weren’t there and awful lot and the bed was comfy and we all slept well. It was just those little things that spoiled it this time around which was a shame
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 18 Jul 2020
Hello Twinmumma, We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us this time around. The FREE lite breakfast which we normally offer has been put on hold for a while due to COVID and the social distancing needed. We have however now implemented a breakfast bag for all of our Guests FREE of charge as a tempory measure. I am sorry you was not informed of this at the time of your stay. The supplier for the sachets of coffee etc in the rooms had had such a huge demand when hotels re-opened we had to wait a while for our order, that is why there was a kettle in the room and no cups. We did have cups down at reception and the hotel manager had purchased jars of coffee and teabags so guest could make a hot drink if they wished. I hope you do choose to stay with us again if you are ever in the area and please let the reception know of any concerns with your room as we will always try our best to rectify things when the guest is still with us. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
malcolm g wrote a review Jul 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom175 contributions84 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic not even a chair to sit on.. Tatty rooms, soft lumpy beds, windows with restrictions on.. So unable to cool the room down in hot weather..

Poor customer care..

I booked three nights, but due to a change at the building site I was due to attend I needed the room for only one night..

I asked to change the booking and be given a credit for two more nights later in Sept

I was told an emphatic no. They blamed this on a no refund policy from booking. Com.

I spoke at length to bc and they also asked about a refund or credit to use the rooms at a later date

Nothing doing... It's the hotel managers choice whether they refund or issue credit

It's a basic room with little creature comforts

Shower was ok.. No shower mat though...

Use if you can't find anything better

Oh and breakfast comes in a bag...

They flatly refused and refund
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 20 Jul 2021
Thank you Malcolm for taking the time to leave us your feedback, We are sorry that you was not happy that you could not get a refund or transfer two days of your booking to later on in the year. Unfortunately NON_REFUNDABLE bookings are discounted and do not allow any modification ,cancellation without penalty, this is clearly stated in the terms and conditions of this type of booking. We would always advise guest in these uncertain time to book the standard rate which will allow you to cancel and modify so long as this is requested 48 hours before arrival. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel O wrote a review Feb 2022
Lincoln, United Kingdom42 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid unless you are happy with bare bones (and broken) facilities, ageing decor and poor service.

Check-in was awful. Booked 2 rooms in a single transaction via booking.com, paid in full up front. Reception argued 2nd room wasn’t paid. I showed her my email confirmation, app screen and even downloaded an invoice proving both rooms paid. She spent a long time staring at her computer and repeatedly telling me only 1 room was paid. After 15 minutes my toddler was getting fed up and I asked for the 1st room key so we could sit down and I could call booking.com. Booking.com told me they could see on there system what the receptionist was doing wrong and they would call her to clear it up. Few minutes later the 2nd room key was brought to us with an explanation that it was a glitch with booking.com.

So much time was spent telling me I hadn’t paid that the breakfast offer wasn’t explained. The next morning I couldn’t find any breakfast other than mugs and tea/coffee in the communal area alongside the microwaves. We decided to check out early and go for breakfast down the road at Harvester.

Facilities were bare bones, the room was clean and had a kettle and tea/coffee supplies. There were plenty of towels but we had to ask for more pillows as only 1 per guest was provided. The rooms were visibly clean but the facilities are well aged. Towel rails for example warn you they will be hot, but in 1 of our rooms it was a normal rail about to fall off the room and in the other room it had a warning tag that it was disconnected “for our safety”. The floor in one of the bathrooms was spongy and felt like it was ready to give way.

Good enough for a one night economy stay at £50 a night. Could have gained a star with better customer service and not arguing with a guest when there is clear evidence they were wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you do stay here, make a visit to Binn Hockliffe Smokehouse next door.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Thank you Daniel for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am aware there was a problem with one of your bookings which the receptionist tried to resolve for you and this was rectified immediately the problem was found. We wish that all our guests leave having had a pleasant stay with us an apologise if we were unable to achieve this on this occasion due to a booking error. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leemur2015 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom41 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a weekend night in February and we went into a very warm, clean room. Sadly we were missing a kettle and our TV had sound but no picture, we reported this to reception and both issues were rectified within minutes by a professional, friendly and efficient receptionist. The furniture in the room was a little tired but for the price it didn't affect our stay and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was cereal and toast which was more than adequate and there was unlimited supply with hot drinks and juice. We have stayed before and will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Thank You Very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and although there were a couple of issues with your room the receptionist on duty rectified them within a couple of minutes, i will pass on this review to the receptionist on duty who i am sure will be really pleased to get positive feedback on her customer service skills. We hope you choose to stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elidabob wrote a review Apr 2021
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was spacious and comfortable.
Was rather noisy with hoovering and banging or something above my room from 8pm.
Staff were great. Handy food place next door.
I would stay again as was cheap and convenient, even a little bag of breakfast was included (yogurt croissant fruit and oj)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the staff welcoming and the room comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lau8919 wrote a review Mar 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom47 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start……. Yellow/brown mattresses that were no thicker than a fence panel, rooms smell like egg/vomit/damp, lights were flickering, horrendous stench of weed, barking dogs (this is a dog friendly hotel though), dirty microwave, heating didn’t work. We informed the lady on reception and she said there was nothing she could do until the morning but went to our room and sprayed nearly a whole can of air freshener.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, premier inn 9 minute drive away.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 08 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback we value both good and bad feedback as both enable us to see the areas we excel in and the areas we can improve upon. We are aware you had 4 rooms for workmen staying with us and that one of the gentleman was not happy with his room as he thought it smelt slightly strange. He notified the hotel reception who unfortunately could not move him, that night but assured him he could change rooms the following day as we were full but did offer to go to the room to spray with air freshener, which she did although she could not smell anything wrong with the room. We are a pet friendly hotel and had two pets staying with us at the time of your stay. I apologise if the microwave was dirty but this is inspected by the reception staff after a guest has used it to make sure it is clean i will look into why this did not happen on this occasion. We are in the process of renewing some of our older mattresses , the receptionist would have willing moved you to a more suitable room the following day but you decided to leave and take your trainee workers with you. We are disappointed that you did not give the hotel a chance to rectify the situation for you, it is always a disappointment when guests leave not having enjoyed their stay with us as the hotel staff work extremely hard to try to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay, which we are happy to say 99% of our guests love staying with us and return time and time again, but unfortunately we were unable to accomplish this out come on this occasion. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loustar29 wrote a review May 2021
Norfolk, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall the hotel is very clean and staff were very friendly. The bed felt clean and comfortable, although more than one pillow would have been nice. We had 2 rooms for 1 night, which cost roughly £100, alot cheaper than others we viewed. The bathrooms looked dated but were functional, my daughter moaned about the bowl shaped toilet seat in her room as it was very uncomfortable to use. Not sure if the breakfast in a bag is due to covid but its not very inspiring, good job McDonald's is 2 minutes away. I noticed a vending machine in the reception area, it would've been nice if they had a coffee one too. It is value for money and if I needed to stay in that area again I would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings Dunstable, General Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 31 May 2021
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always lovely to get positive feed back from our guests when they have had an enjoyable stay with us. Your idea of a coffee machine is a very good idea, i will pass this on to head office to see if this is something we may be able to implement. We are at present only offering breakfast to go bags due to the pandemic. For those guests who do prefer a hot cooked option their is the McDonalds just up the road and also the newly opened restaurant on site offers a "FULL ENGLISH" amongst other hot options pancakes etc.. on a Saturday and Sunday. Guest who choose to eat from the restaurant also receive a 15% discount off their bill when showing their room key. We hope you choose to stay with us again when in the area. Karen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N A wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel manager Karen is one of the most rude and unhelpful ‘managers’ I have ever come across. We made a booking and had to cancel due to personal reasons and Asked if it was possible for a refund on our booking however they refused. It was not the fact we could not get the refund it was that she was just being sarcastic and rude the duration of the call. As a manager myself I would not want someone representing a brand like her
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, the manager would have declined to give a refund if your booking was a non refundable type as this type of booking does not come with the option to cancel and she would have explained this to you. We apologize if your mistook her reluctance to refund as rude but she would have been following the correct course of action .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunstable area.
PRICE RANGE
R 914 - R 1,642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireDunstable
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REDWINGS LODGE DUNSTABLE - Now R 925 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶0̶5̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Which popular attractions are close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Nearby attractions include Fly A Flight (4.0 km), Locked Escape Rooms (5.5 km), and Mead Open Farm (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amore Pizzeria, Number One Kitchen, and Paris House.
Are pets allowed at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Redwings Lodge Dunstable?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St Mary the Virgin (5.1 km).
Is Redwings Lodge Dunstable accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dunstable HotelsDunstable Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DunstableHotels near Redwings Lodge Dunstable
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire