We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elephant at Pangbourne

Save
Share
3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR England
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (45)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Pangbourne
Travellers' Choice
The Elephant is set in the bustling village of Pangbourne and offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. Our bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce with a collection of over 60 handcrated and award winning gins. Our restaurant, 'The Herd' is set in elegant surroundings and is well known in the area for offering a unique farm to fork steak experience using our bespoke grill. The menu also offers an exceptional choice of dishes all freshly cooked using locally sourced seasonal produce. Comedy and Gin Tasting events are held regulalry and different function spaces and the garden are available for private parties, Weddings, Birthdays, Afternoon Tea and other events.
Read more

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR England
Getting there
Heathrow Airport44 kmSee all flights
Eastleigh Airport62 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
490Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 203
  • 164
  • 70
  • 31
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
eggybreadUk wrote a review Aug 2021
Kent, United Kingdom415 contributions151 helpful votes
We love this place. Quiet spacious room overlooking the garden. Fantastic big comfy bed with quality bedding. All the extras we have come to expect from here, a no fuss check in and out. Great staff and a very good English breakfast. Good price too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Laing, Other at The Elephant at Pangbourne
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear eggybreadUk, Thank you for your brilliant review and for choosing to stay with us here at The Elephant Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you love staying with us and have enjoyed a number of comfy stays. We are thrilled that you very much enjoy our friendly and attentive hospitality right down to our tasty English breakfasts; we will be sure to share your excellent review with our team. We look forward too seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Marketing.
Read more
HughHS60 wrote a review Jun 2021
Wedmore, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
The Elephant is a great place to stay, we were cycling the King Alfred's Way, and the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming. We'd particularly want to thank the (Portuguese?) lady who met us, put our bikes away securely and served us in the evening. Excellent IPA and G&T, nice garden (watch out for pigeons under the trees) and fun themed decor. Also had a lovely evening meal in the bar, although we don't eat meat the veg options were really good as was their home made ice cream.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Garden side could be noisy with drinkers.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Laing, Other at The Elephant at Pangbourne
Responded 06 Jul 2021
Dear HughHS60, Thank you for your brilliant 5* review and for choosing to stay with us here at The Elephant. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a really lovely stay and the fun theme of the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed some tasty meals and were also so welcomed by our friendly team. We will be sure to share your kind words with them. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon! Best wishes,
Read more
Curateswife wrote a review Jun 2021
Dorset, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed overnight on a ‘pawfect package’ and were disappointed by the lack of any extras for our dog. I’m not sure what made it ‘pawfect’ but we were too tired to ask and just unpacked all our dog’s stuff we had with us. We did have a garden room which was a little dark but had a door to the garden which was full of customers. The bed was very comfortable and the room was fine. We had to eat in the bar as expected so our dog could stay with us. There happened to be the football on Tv at the same time and thirsty cricket players. We felt a little conspicuous eating our meal in the busy bar. Food took a while to arrive for us. Eventually a water bowl was given to our dog and then one biscuit. We didn’t receive any of the extra dog things that are mentioned in advertising. Breakfast was at the same corner table and our dog was given a sausage and some bacon. Staff were initially rather reserved but warmed up!! The stay was broke our journey from Devon to Suffolk so location was great and the walk along the Thames before we continued travelling was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If travelling with dog, ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Laing, Other at The Elephant at Pangbourne
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Dear Curateswife, Thank you for you review and for choosing to stay with us here at The Elephant. We are really sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the extras for your pooch. Unfortunately, we had run out of our woof boxes on the night of your stay, so we are sorry that we were unable to offer you this on this occasion and that this was not explained at the time. Please do also let us apologise for the noise from the football, our bar is a firm favourite with our locals, so we are disappointed to learn that you felt uncomfortable eating with the busy atmosphere going on. If we were aware of your concerns we would have done our best to find you an alternative table to eat at. However, we are really pleased to hear that your stay was a comfortable one and you were impressed with the beautiful surrounding walks near the hotel. We are really sorry again for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, but hope that overall you and your pooch enjoyed a pleasant stay. We do hope you'll come back and see us again soon. Best wishes,
Read more
Tim B wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom129 contributions59 helpful votes
First trip after lockdown and went to the Elephant. The hotel is eccentric and fun (yes i understand the comments re a bit worn, and perhaps organisationally perfect) but after the last six months it was heaven to be somewhere where people cared! The room was warm and the bed comfortable, and we ate in the Herd - a fabulous chateaubriand and a great wine list. We were caught out in the morning as breakfast was from 9am. Not perfect, but warm and enjoyable, with courteuos staff, comfortable rooms, great food.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Small car park but large public one close by. Check breakfast timings!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Laing, Other at The Elephant at Pangbourne
Responded 09 Jun 2021
Dear Timothy B, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we will be sure to share your kind words with our team! It is a delight to learn that you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of our hotel and a comfortable night's stay in our quirky boutique rooms. It is also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed a fabulous meal in our steak restaurant & that our staff were so accommodating during your stay. It was a pleasure to host you! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes,
Read more
Laura J wrote a review May 2021
26 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here within the first week of reopening due to COVID. The room was priced at £85 including breakfast but the breakfast was cold and minimal. We were in the 'Spice' room which was very dark as there was no ceiling light, just lamps and wall lights. The cold tap didn't work in the bathroom, we weren't able to get hold of anyone at reception as it was after hours so we had to use the tap in the bath to brush our teeth! When you have just reopened after being closed for a fair few months you would of expected them to have checked these things. The shower pressure was poor, good job I didn't need to wash my hair - I would of been there all day! The nights sleep was awful and the coldest I've ever been - I had to sleep full clothed! The pillows were feather filled so therefore very thin once you lay on them. The room was clean but cobwebs in the bathroom with peeling ceiling paint over the shower - nice toiletries though. The breakfast menu states pastries but after being seated and offered tea/coffee I requested to know what pastries there was, only to be told that they don't have any. I have worked in hospitality and one of the first things you say upon seating guests is what menu items you don't have. My partner and I ordered the 'Full' English but we only had 1 of each item on the plate when it arrived. The poached egg was undercooked and very snotty - I couldn't eat it. The server was no where to be seen so I wasn't able to ask for another one. The coffee offered was weak, cold, and no depth. I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Laing, Other at The Elephant at Pangbourne
Responded 09 Jun 2021
Dear laurajN5548YM, Thank you very much for your honest review. Please feel assured that we take all of our guests' feedback on board in order to improve our services. We are greatly disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at The Elephant, so please do let us apologise for the inconveniences you faced. Please feel assured that we will share your comments with our team so that they are aware of the issues you have described to prevent similar problems from occurring. We hope you'll return in the future for a more relaxing & enjoyable stay. Best wishes,
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshirePangbourne
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Elephant at Pangbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Nearby attractions include The Falkland Islands Memorial Chapel (0.2 km), Cheese Etc (0.2 km), and Church Cottage (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lina Tandoori, Nino's, and La'De Kitchen Pangbourne.
Is The Elephant at Pangbourne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Pangbourne.
Are pets allowed at The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Elephant at Pangbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Elephant at Pangbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basildon Park (3.2 km), Mapledurham House (3.0 km), and Church Cottage (0.2 km).
Is The Elephant at Pangbourne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.