We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Africa House Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (18)
Overview
Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City Tanzania See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
62
68
28
27
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
62
68
28
27
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatch the sunsetsunset viewsea frontwonderful stayrooftop bardownersstonetowncharm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is a beautifull historical hotel and you feel like Doctor Livingstone. The rooms are nice and spacious and the bed is great. The terrrace (breakfast/dinner) is one of the nicest in Stone Town. The hotel is very good located. Almost next to the hotel...More

Thank Guide230572
Response from Naeem B, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you had a memorable stay at Africa House Hotel. We would love to host and serve you again soon. Regards, Saleem Khan Guest Relation Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely view stop for a spot of lunch. After plenty of shots of Stone Town, struggled with the Wi-fi to upload pictures. Having paid for lunch, my wife’s half glass of unfinished wine was taken away without being asked!More

Thank John F
Response from Naeem B, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked to visit us and have your meal at Sunset Bar. We have noted down your complaint and will definitely take necessary actions, as providing our guests with high quality service...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there for a Wedding in March of this year and this hotel was recommended, we stayed for 1 week. Its supposed to be 4 stars but I give it 3, this is Africa. The room was nice and clean (no bedbugs), quite noisy...More

Thank Calette H
Response from Naeem B, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking out time to give your feedback. We are glad that you had a memorable stay here with us. Guest satisfaction is our utmost priority at Africa House Hotel. About the inconvenience caused to you because of the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Historical place, great location, amazing room for the price paid - 75€ per night for a double with breakfast. We were lucky to get the best one - the number 1 where also Queen of England was staying - so ask for this room if...More

Thank istefunkova
Response from Naeem B, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking out time for this lovely review. We are glad that you liked Africa House Hotel and enjoyed staying here with us. We always try to provide best services to our valued customers for affordable price. Would love...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Can't recommend that is place as our bed was ridden with bed bugs. Beyond that the staff were generally friendly, and the location is good. The view from the bar is great for sunset (it gets busy here), but hard to recommend that either as...More

Thank GreenGriffin
Response from Naeem B, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for taking time to give your feedback. We are glad that you liked our hotel and its location. It is quiet shocking to know that you found bedbugs as we regularly check the beds everyday, fumigate them and prepare them...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life ...More on the Island. The accommodation includes 15 air-conditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites
Number of rooms
15
Price range
US$77 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Africa Hotel Stone Town
,
The Africa Hotel
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites
Number of rooms
15
Price range
US$77 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Africa Hotel Stone Town
,
The Africa Hotel
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Photos
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (6)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 179 hotels in Zanzibar Island
Dhow Palace Hotel
742 reviews
.08 km away
Kisiwa House
389 reviews
.11 km away
Zanzibar Hotel
138 reviews
.15 km away
Al Johari
105 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 317 restaurants in Zanzibar Island
Puzzle Coffee Shop
165 reviews
.06 km away
Taarab Restaurant
269 reviews
.22 km away
The Beach House Restaurant
182 reviews
.07 km away
Lazuli
377 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 310 attractions in Zanzibar Island
Bike Zanzibar
32 reviews
.16 km away
Coastal Fast Ferries
30 reviews
.11 km away
Mercury House
559 reviews
.25 km away
Vanora Zanzibar
30 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jacqueline k
1 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Naeem B | Property representative |
Yes we do have
0
Votes
Room Tips
"choose one away from the road"
Read review
"sea front, you will get nice views"
Read review
"Room 9 has a lot of stair to get there, but the view from the door is worth it"
Read review
"No comment"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing