Tembo House Hotel

Traveller (2013)
Panorama of the Apartment (Fredy Mercury Building) at the Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
360
Panoramas (15)
View from a Tembo room
Room & Suite (391)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 04 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 2 066
R 1 629
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 38 hotels in Stone Town
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Billiards
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, Hindi, Swahili and 1 more
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,875 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Tembo House Hotel, nestled in the heart of Stone Town, garners appreciation for its cleanliness and authentic, historical charm. A good number of guests enjoy spacious rooms with sea views, but some caution against smaller, noisier options with occasional maintenance issues. While opinions on value diverge, the hotel's prime location near the beach and central attractions is widely acclaimed. Service at Tembo House consistently receives high marks for its attentive and friendly staff. Furthermore, the amenities, including varied breakfast, pools, and a beachside restaurant, contribute substantially to guest satisfaction.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Traditional
Rooms
Varied
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,875Review17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 821
  • 653
  • 246
  • 109
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Georgina M wrote a review Feb 2020
Hereford, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in the 'Freddie Mercury' suite as a group of 4 friends for 2 nights in February and absolutely loved it.
The apartment itself was a stone's throw away from the actual hotel and was beautifully decorated. The suite had a kitchenette, fridge, two generously sized bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was wonderful to think that we were staying in the childhood home of Freddie Mercury and we felt like celerities leaving the apartment, as there was always a gathering of tourists clambering to soak up a little of Mercury's magic!
The main hotel was situated on the beach front and had it's own private beach area with comfortable sun-beds. The beach is beautiful but full of hopeful sellers peddling their wares so we were often harassed whilst dosing in the sun!
The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and the most delicious omelettes and crepes. It is safe to say we filled our boots each time we visited! In the evenings we sat amidst the fairy-lights looking out to sea as we ate a freshly cooked meal. We were planning to explore the culinary delights of other eateries but both nights found the hospitality of the Tembo Hotel extremely good, with a wide range of tasty and reasonably priced dishes.
The location of this hotel is one of it's best qualities, as it is within walking distance of all of Stone Town's delights, including the harrowing Slave Market, beach and meandering streets full of quaint shops and restaurants.
On our final day we asked to stay a little longer in our room as our flight was in the early afternoon and were offered a beach front apartment to shower and change in - all free of charge! The front of house service really was exceptional and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore Stone Town. It really does have it all!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TemboHouseHotel1885, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 07 Mar 2020
Dear Georgina M, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience at our beautiful and historical beachfront hotel in Stone Town, Zanzibar. We will surely be passing on your kind compliments to our management and staff. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ywgtravellers wrote a review Aug 2021
Winnipeg, Canada51 contributions129 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights at the Tembo House Hotel in Stonetown, Zanzibar following two weeks on safari and touring around Arusha and Kilimanjaro on mainland Tanzania.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Stonetown and is a stones throw away from a host of restaurants and shops. It is situated right on the waterfront which makes for a very pleasant view from many rooms, the pools, and the main floor outdoor restaurant/bar.

The hotel itself has a certain charm in that it is filled to the brim with antiques, glorious carved wood furnishings, and an overall ‘old world’, exotic Zanzibar feel. That said, the common areas, rooms, and bathrooms have seen better days which in spite of the charm factor prevent it from anything higher than a 3 star review.

We booked the ‘Presidential Suite’ (room 200) which was a delightfully spacious room with incredible views of the beach, pools, and nearby islands. A wrap-around private balcony offered two directional views although seating consisted of a couple of hard wooden chairs that were not at all comfortable enough to sit and enjoy the view.

The canopied king size bed had a mosquito net and linens were comfortable and clean. There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom but water pressure was minimal. Although photos of the Hamam-inspired bathroom are attractive, in reality it was a bit on the grungy side. It could definitely need a refresh. Overall we found the room to be quiet and comfortable. There was a ceiling fan and AC.

Breakfast (included) was served buffet style on the main floor with tables set up poolside or near the waterfront with a view of the beach. There was a wide assortment of fresh fruit, pastries, and a chef station preparing eggs to order.

Warning: other than one bottle of hand sanitizer at reception, there was no evidence of any Covid-19 safety protocols being followed anywhere in this hotel and certainly not by any staff or guests. No masks, no sanitization, no physical distancing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Sofia C wrote a review Mar 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom44 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a bit run down, but in an excellent location, walking distance to all main attractions. Breakfast is decent with lots of fresh fruit, local tasters, and an egg/omelette and pancake station. Shower was clogged, and be careful with the hot water as it is really boiling hot. Noisy of you're on the ground floor. Service a bit poor, no flexibility and they made a mistake with our room. We arrived only at 9.30PM, we realised the room was not what we had booked after unpacking our things and having a shower. It was late so we stayed in our room. We had paid for a room with balcony and partial sea view, and were given a ground floor room with only one small window facing the pool. The following day we notified the reception and were moved to the correct room, but were offered nothing to compensate their mistake. They said they will move our bags to the new room, however we had booked a trip that day and wanted to keep our things in the safety box and move our bags ourselves, but were told we couldnt keep the room until 4PM, the time we would be back. They had small lockers at the main reception though where we could store our valuables. Upon checkout, we asked if we could keep the room until noon, but were denied. No flexibility at all, despite the inconvenience caused by their mistake. Disappointed and would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TemboHouseHotel1885, Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 07 Mar 2020
Dear 526sofiac, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! Firstly i would like to take this opportunity to pass my apologies for the shortfalls you faced during your stay, it is in our highest priorities to ensure all our guest have a memorable stay with us. Unfortunately this time we were not able to meet your expectations, we always do ensure we speak to all our guests prior to check out, unfortunately this time you managed to slip pass. I would like to provide you with my personal contact details so we can further discuss on how we can further rectify ourselves for the near future, manager@tembohotel.com Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane E wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York590 contributions437 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have wanted to stay at the Tembo Hotel for years having first seen it when passing through Zanzibar in the late 1990s on a back packing trip. The day finally arrived in late January 2021 and although the hotel did not truly disappoint it had significant disappointing aspects. The disappointment started on arrival from the airport when the taxi driver asked for cash payment in US dollars even though the transfer was booked through the hotel on the assumption that the cost would be added to the room bill. Wrong!

The hotel itself is lovely, set right on the beach in Stone Town and with traditional Swahili architectural features and a breezy, open design. My room was of a reasonable size but overwhelmed with 2 huge Zanzibari beds complete with mosquito nets that took up so much room that there was hardly enough space to squeeze past to draw the curtains at night. The room also had a small fridge and an armoire with shelves and a safe but no space for hanging any clothes. The bedroom had a ceiling fan and good A/C and included a balcony overlooking the pool with coffee table and a couple of chairs. It also had an electric kettle with a European style 2-point plug that didn't fit any of the British-style power outlets. I am still trying to work out why it was there when it was completely unusable. Had I been able to use it there was only 1 sachet of instant coffee provided.

The bathroom was large and tiled with halucinagenic green striped tiling from floor to ceiling. It is hard to describe the shower/bath combination but it came without a shower curtain meaning that a fair bit of water sprayed outside the area when it was used. Oddly, there was a plastic shower curtain hung on a standard shower rod over the external window at the end of the room. There was a good hot water from an emersion heater that needed to be switched on for a short while before use. The toilet was a different shape to the bowl and obviously a later addition meant for another commode.

The wifi was appallingly bad with mostly no internet service even though it appeared to connect. There was a fairly substantial breakfast buffet but many dishes were empty and the staff were slow to replenish them. The food that was available was good.

Check out at 10am is earlier than most hotels and inconvenient for later flights. I eventually managed to get a grudging extension to 11am and was allowed to use the pool area until my evening flight which was good. Finally, like much of the rest of Tanzania were no coronavirus precautions. The staff wore no masks and there was no social distancing anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AbdulRahim Numa, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 01 Feb 2021
Dear Jane_E, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! I would firstly like to take this opportunity to pass my apologies for not meeting your expectations, we will be sitting as a management and will be taking all your points into account in order to improve ourselves. On the other hand we are very delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities such as breakfast, location and traditional Swahili architecture. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elfi B wrote a review Jan 2020
Landen, Belgium20 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled with a family of three to explore Stone Town and surroundings, and booked this authentic hotel (which, btw, is also mentioned in several tour guides when you'd follow one of the suggested walks in the city). What a great time we had over there! Even before our arrival, the contact with the staff went smoothly and they really listened to what type of room we were looking for. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed and guided to our spacious room with just an amazing view from the balcony. The staff was very friendly, and paying attention to many details (our very best regards to Said, Talib and Mahmoud who were just absolutely extraordinary and helpful). We loved the morning buffet as well as the restaurant where we selected the local dishes which were well-prepared at a very reasonable price. Top location just a leap from the Freddy Mercury house and many must-sees. What more can I say? We will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TemboHouseHotel1885, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Elfi B, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience at our beautiful and historical beachfront hotel in Stone Town, Zanzibar. We will surely be passing on your kind compliments to our management and staff. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ilkan P wrote a review Aug 2020
18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived here on my short stay in stone town from Kendwa, I wanted to experience stone town and needed somewhere that was in a good location as well a classy hotel.

I walked in and spoke with Amigo, who straight away made me feel valued as a customer and showed me around the hotel, he was confident in his hotel and this made me feel very comfortable. Before checking the rooms, I had already made up my mind that this was going to be where I spent the next couple of day’s in Town.

The rooms are immaculate, very authentic and allows you to get a real Zanzibari experience. I had a room with a balcony and this made it even more special. The hotel also spray the room with mosquito spray every evening to ensure that you are safe during the evening. I spent my evenings in Foradhani food market and nights a couple mins walk away in some great bars. You are only a short walk away from the markets too.

They are located on the beach with two swimming pools, one is an infinity pool overlooking the port of Stone Town. The breakfast is the best I’ve had so far in a hotel, with a variety of different hot and cold drinks. They have an excellent chef ready to cook up anything to do with eggs and the hotel are not shy on portions!

If you want a real Zanzibari experience, go and visit Tembo. I know I will when I return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AbdulRahim Numa, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear IIkan P, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience at our beautiful and historical beachfront hotel in Stone Town, Zanzibar. We will surely be passing on your kind compliments to our management and staff. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise S wrote a review Apr 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates437 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently had a lovely one night stay at Tembo hotel before our onward flight to the Serengeti. We arrived very early as our flight landed at 6.10am and so we decided to upgrade as a room was ready for us to use. The staff also allowed us to move our breakfast, which was included in our stay, to the morning of our arrival which was great so we sat outside over looking the sea enjoying the breakfast.

Our room was great, very clean with complimentary drinking water and a selection of shower gel, shampoo etc and a great bathroom! The hotel was very central so we were able to catch a small boat from the beach over to prison island and the hotel is also located next door to the Park Hyatt which is a very popular (albeit expensive) hotel.

Prior to arriving the hotel staff were helpful in assisting us with arranging airport transfers and also put us in touch with a local company for booking any tours and further transfers with.

All in all it was a great hotel for our stay in Stone Town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole Makeda wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the beautiful Arabian furnishings, to the fantastic fresh food selections and the fact that it’s located directly on the beach - the Tembo Hotel is my favorite place to stay in Stonetown!!! The mosquito nets over the beds are a perfect touch as they allow me to keep the windows open to hear the ocean as I sleep without fear of being bitten. During my stay, Amigo and the staff were very accommodating. I needed to print and email a document back the US and they quickly assisted. Being less than a 3 minute walk to Old Fort, Forodhani Gardens, or local vendors - this is the best location at the best value. However, when you book, you will want to confirm which building because there is more than one location with similar names but different price points.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AbdulRahim Numa, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 08 Mar 2021
Dear MsMakeda1, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience at our beautiful and historical beachfront hotel in Stone Town, Zanzibar. We will surely be passing on your kind compliments to our management and staff. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leebs222 wrote a review Jul 2020
Calgary, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having lived in Tanzania for four years, I was able to make multiple trips to Stonetown and stayed at a variety of places. Tembo House Hotel was one of my favourites. The service was good, unique rooms, excellent location and I regularly enjoyed the best fresh passion juice while watching the sun set at their beach. I was fortunate to have an opportunity to go back to the island of Zanzibar in April 2020 and I quickly booked my stay at the Tembo Hotel! Unfortunately due to COVID, all international travel was cancelled and I was not able to visit. The hotel graciously gave a full refund because of the unique circumstances. Asante Sana Tembo. I hope I can come visit soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AbdulRahim Numa, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear Leebs222, Warmest greetings from Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar! We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience at our beautiful and historical beachfront hotel in Stone Town, Zanzibar. We will surely be passing on your kind compliments to our management and staff. Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma W wrote a review Dec 2021
21 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a really nice hotel and I would highly recommend it. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We arrived earlier than the check-in time but they checked to see if the previous guests had vacated the rooms, which they had, and had them cleaned for us right away so we could put our bags away. Really unique rooms, I loved the decor, especially the tile in the bathrooms!
The food is delicious. We only ate breakfast here but it was fantastic. It was a buffet with lots of selections. Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, cooked dishes (the chickpea curry was the best), lots of drink options, plus a custom crepe and egg/omelet station. The outdoor eating area has a nice view of the ocean and locals doing their daily routines (going out in their fishing boats, exercising etc).
The pool is beautiful and really warm!
Location is very central and walking distance (5 min) to the Forodhani food market and boats to take you to Prison Island and the winding streets start right outside the hotel. About a 20 minute drive from the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Richard R
Mukono, Uganda46 contributions18 helpful votes
I agree. Call the hotel. I think it would be possible to check in after midnight, but it is best to call the hotel.
Pioneer35573065852 asked a question Jul 2023
1 contribution
Best way to get to the airport from here?
Answer from Ranveig W
Malaga, Spain13 contributions12 helpful votes
As far as I know, there is no other way than taking a taxi.
ChiAtl asked a question Feb 2021
Fairburn, Georgia7 contributions6 helpful votes
It seems as if their website is no longer available. Is this hotel still open?
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania3 contributions
The hotel is always open
stevk22 asked a question Sept 2019
Shanghai, China106 contributions80 helpful votes
Hi - can someone confirm that the hotel has 24 hour electricity? Thanks!
Answer from Freedom12057449797
2 contributions
Yes it does plus a back up generator
BunnyDen wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bournemouth, United Kingdom53 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room in main building as rooms across the road are unattended by staff, and it’s non alcohol hotel."
Read full review
JussayJulie21 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The food is just ok, it’s better to go out to eat. "
Read full review
Tine K wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The staff at the pool and restaurant are a bit tardy, but hakuna matata - we are on a holiday anyway! Enjoy the Zanzibarean vibes!"
Read full review
rmh3lady wrote a tip Feb 2024
Anchorage, Alaska40 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is great and service was wonderful."
Read full review
DoxyFoc wrote a tip Jan 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom112 contributions100 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"User app works to give you a better price than the taxi drivers offer"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Town area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,488 - R 2,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tembo hotel stone town, tembo stone town
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TEMBO HOUSE HOTEL - Now R 1 472 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶1̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Stone Town, Tanzania) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tembo House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tembo House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aromas of Zanzibar (0.3 km), Stone Town (0.4 km), and The Coins Shop (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tembo House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Tembo House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tembo House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tembo House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tembo House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Breadfruit Restaurant & Cafe, Puzzle Coffee Shop, and Taarab Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tembo House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tembo House Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Tembo House Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tembo House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tembo House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, Arabic, Swahili, and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Tembo House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Church Cathedral (0.6 km), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (0.6 km), and David Livingstone's place of rest (0.5 km).
All Stone Town HotelsStone Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stone TownHotels near Tembo House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire