Berghouse and Cottages

Berghouse and Cottages

Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350 South Africa
Traveller (255)
One of the views from Berghouse and Cottages.
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 5 B&Bs in Bergville
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Situated in the Northern Drakensberg mountains, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa,all cottages enjoy spectacular mountain views. Offering bed and breakfast as well as dinner. Halfway between Johannesburg and Durban. Numerous activities offered on site. Close to Royal Natal Park, Amphitheater mountain and the Tugela Falls. Centrally situated and in close proximity to other famous hiking routes and destinations of interest in the Drakensberg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Infinity pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Sofa
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350 South Africa
291Reviews3Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 213
  • 61
  • 13
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CharlieB210560 wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife first read about this out of the way hideaway in Getaway magazine and instantly started her planning. The magazine write up is accurate.
We arrived on Christmas Eve and promptly checked into the wrong cottage......our fault, but the owners let us stay in Thula Thula for 2 nights before moving the few metres up to Thula 2 for our last night. This gave us the privilege of a two cottage stay.
The cottages are very similar in layout. There is a small kitchen area as you enter with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine.
A small two seater dining table fits just nicely. Moving into the main area is an open plan lounge and sleeping area. Sliding doors open onto a small covered patio with a two seater dining table and chairs, with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Lay on the bed and you just look out on to the mountains. Awesome!
The bathroom is off the sleeping area, with double shower, large basin and w.c.
The cottages are spaced well enough that you are not overlooked.
Thula 2 has the best view!
There is large rock pool for swimming with sun loungers for those that need to chill. The pool has an emerald green colour to the water which would normally put me off going anywhere near, but the pool water is actually quite clear when you get in, isn’t slimy or smelly and does have a slight chemical pool smell. Plenty of guests were using the pool daily and also had no issues. So all good.
The food has two basic options. Take it or leave it! Is that a bad thing? Nope! The food is portioned well with a main course and desert for the evening meal and breakfast has all you need with fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast/bread with preserves and of course something cooked.......bacon, egg, tomato, sausage or omelette. All the food is well prepared and cooked well.
Meals are taken at your cottage either at the table inside or at the outside table. The food is delivered by the house ladies carrying trays on their heads. All the food arrived hot.
That’s all the good stuff and we definitely plan another visit as we liked it so much.
My review of 4 out of 5 is not meant to be mean, but because of some minor things which bugged me, but maybe nobody else would notice or care about........a wooden bathroom door that couldn’t close, or a bathroom door that’s been fitted, primed but not finished and looks out of place. My biggest gripe would be the gas geyser that didn’t work properly for our last night. But I’m sure all are easily fixable.
Oh! Intermittent cell or internet coverage! I care less about that but others may have an issue.
Pros! Position, awesome view, good food and no cell phone coverage.
Cons! Some minor maintenance needs doing!
It is definitely worth a visit for the views, peace and quiet and chill out factor.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 09 Jan 2021
Hi there, Thank you for this feedback. We only wish the very best for our guests, so any slight inconvenience is a big NoNo, we will certainly sort these inconveniences out as soon as possible. The cottage you mistakenly occupied due to our Covid-19 paperless check-in, we were fortunate that the guests that had booked this cottage were very understanding, fortunately. The Rock Pool has an emerald green colour by design, an artist used the natural pools in our mountain stream to imitate the colouration, with great difficulty. We are pleased that you discovered crystal clear water in your swimming experience. The cellphone signal was poorly throughout the Central and Northern Drakensberg areas over the same period that you visited, we relayed this message to both Mtn and Vodacom, this is not the norm, sadly out of our control. The meals prepared by our kitchen on the "Chef surprise" basis has been well received by the huge majority of our guests, with very good feedback, especially during these difficult Covid times. All cottages enjoy the view of the Drakensberg mountains, we are pleased you enjoyed these views. Kind regards from a picture perfect Drakensberg.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FloorsUp wrote a review Jun 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay. Its a weekend we will never forget. Very friendly staff. The horse riding experience was ok, we would have preferred to be taken to a more scenic root and view. The food was not bad however we would have preferred more suitable dinners,like a oxtail stew. Serving Bebotie was
Not the type of meal you should serve at such an excusite resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Hello FloorsUp, thank you for your feedback and visit. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Had you been with us long enough you would have received oxtail stew ;-)) Bebothi is a meal enjoyed by all our guests, especially as it is a traditional South African meal. We understand that we all have our own tastes. Warm greetings from us all.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MeanderBalt21212 wrote a review Dec 2022
Baltimore, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed four nights at the Berghouse and Cottages with a small group of four in Cottage 1, and loved every minute in this beautiful, peaceful location. The farm is high above the valley, offering exceptional views and a welcome feeling of being disconnected from the world, but near enough to activities (mountain biking, game drives, rock art tours, etc). The cottage was clean and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the mountains and valley. The self-catering kitchen meant we could prepare our own food as needed but we also opted for the catered option since food choices in the Berg are limited. Catered options included breakfast and dinner, and we were so impressed by the delicious meals! We never knew what was coming, and enjoyed the surprise each night. The staff are lovely - Florence who brought our meals every day and Vaughn the owner who we met on our last night - it was great to hear the story behind the location. Added bonuses included strong wifi, a beautiful rock pool, and a working fireplace which we enjoyed each night. We loved it so much that my extended SA family will be heading there in February, and we also hope to be back the next time we're in SA. Would highly recommend staying at the Berghouse and Cottages if you find yourself in the Berg.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Recommend Cottage 1 if you are a party of four to seven, and want mountain valley views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Immerenga wrote a review Mar 2020
Stuttgart, Germany
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for two nights. Yes, the road up is bumpy. Yes there is barely any WiFi. So what?

The sight is amazing
The staff was very friendly.
Food (especially dinner) was superb!

Staff full points (1 star), food as well (1 star) and the most important thing is the room / place itself. Here I can only give 1 of 3 stars.
Why? There was just so much mini stuff that was missing. Like what? There was literally only 1 power outlet in the wall in the bedroom. Either you charge your phone / use the bedlamp or you use the fan. Which will then be RIGHT Next to your face and blow into it the whole night. Opening windows during the night was not really an option since there are no mosquitoe nets on the windows.
That is if the fan works. We had two in our cottage. One didn’t work at all.
There weren’t many lights in the cottage as well. There was only one light (with three lamps) in the main room. One bulb was busted. So I took it out and placed it on the table. It sure was gone by evening. Not replaced though.
The sink in the bathroom was rather small. Which is okay. But there was literally nothing, not even a sideboard fixed to the wall, to put all your stuff, like toothbrush and so on.
Long story short: it feels as no one ever really tried *living* there themselves for a couple of nights. And, after all, it’s the little stuff that matters
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Hi Immerenga, Thank you for visiting our destination. As discussed, we apologized for the housekeepers' mistake regarding your chord she damaged, we did offer to replace this. We had guests stay in the same cottage before you that rated us 10/10. We are sad you are upset, we strive to give our guests the best possible experience when they visit. Your contribution is valued, however, we were not informed of any of these "minor" shortfalls whilst you were visiting, had you mentioned something we would have immediately responded. Unfortunately, we find this critic counterproductive We will certainly take up the issues mentioned and make the necessary improvements
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vhunt444269 wrote a review Dec 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An excellent stopover on the Joburg to Durban route, yet one night is not enough to take in the beauty and tranquillity of this area. The cottages are cute and comfortable, they have all the basic amenities to self cater or braai but we opted for the set dinner and breakfast offered by the venue. The food was excellent and more than enough for the 4 of us. The swimming pool is beautifully designed and having sundowners from the view point was magical. The venue is easy to find from the Langkloof turnoff, the road was fine and wifi reliable enough to do a work meeting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has got to be one of the most special places along the Northern Drakensberg! The views are epic, you won't find any better!! My favorite part was enjoying a sun-downer in the rock pool looking onto the magnificent Amphitheatre. The property is also located very close to a golf course, Sterkfontein Dam and the Royal Natal National Park; plenty of activities! The friendly owners live on the property and were on hand to help us with any queries we had. A friend and I were planning on hiking the Amphitheatre the next morning and the Piccione family couldn't assist enough with directions, maps, advice etc. Wonderful stay and I would highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 17 Mar 2020
It was a real pleasure sharing this magical destination with you Matt, and thank you for this awesome review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samira m wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time at Berghouse and cottages. Chantal was very friendly and gave us goed tips what to do and where to go and visit.
Our cottage was very well equipped and beautifully decorated with African objects.
The swimming pool is vey original with an amazing view. Their look up point is breathtaking with a view over the valley . You can sit there , take your coffee , enjoy the sun set or sun rise or just sit and read a book. There are hiking trails around and you can ask them for a horse riding.
You can take your supplies and make your own meals or order breakfast , dinner there. They bring it to your cottage and believe me it’s really delicious , fresh and high quality with a very reasonable price.
We celebrated my husband birthday there and Chantal provided us a very good wine and candle on the cheesecake made a perfect ambiance .
It doesn’t matter if you want a very active Holliday or just resting you can find it here. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be at the location before getting dark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for visiting us Samira, we hope you return someday soon. With warm greeting from the Berghouse Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica Z wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at Berghouse and cottages, where we spent 4 nights in Oct 2020. The cottages are very nice, neat and clean. They feature an indoor fire place, kitchen and outdoor BBQ grill (Bree) at the veranda. The style and size of the cottages differ (family and couples). That’s why we we recommend you get in touch with the friendly owners Chantal and Vaughn to find the suitable cottage for your needs. A very delicious Breakfast and dinner (home cooked) were included, which is quite advantageous, given the fact that the next city / restaurants are quite far away. However the location ins ideal to explore the Drakensberg region, especially Royal Natal National Park. We can’t wait to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Hello Jessica, Thank you for selecting the Berghouse and Cottages for your Drakensberg Experience. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your return, with warm regards, Owners and staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
asimel704352 wrote a review Oct 2021
Kempton Park, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had the best stay. The most peaceful place ever with spectacular views. The cottage is so clean and calming that you don’t wanna get up in the morning plus the electric blankets made the cold nights bearable. The staff was amazing. Can’t wait to go back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 07 Jan 2022
Hi Asimel, We are pleased you enjoyed your Drakensberg experience, thank you for visiting our cottages. Warm greetings from us all
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JasminaM270 wrote a review Feb 2020
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of those rare places where I loved absolutely everything from the first moment and wish I had stayed longer than two nights. Stayed in Thula Thula cottage which had stunning views and sense of tranquility. The cottage itself was superb: spacious, new, spotless and delightfully furnished and decorated. Bathroom is another gem, with double open shower and no fuss with hot water. Then there is a whole front wall in glass, opening up to a terrace and the marvelous landscape beyond, all the way to the famous Amphitheatre. I just couldn’t stop looking… The food was excellent too – ample, tasty, varied and sumptuous, both breakfast and dinner, and you get it served on your terrace in privacy, so you can enjoy every moment with no distractions apart from the chirrup from swallows nesting under the roof… Splendid!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hi Jasmina, Thank you for your recent visit and your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you. We appreciate your positive feedback it gives us much pleasure to be appreciated, thank you. With warm regards from owners and staff, from a sunny and warm Drakensberg mountain!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Vaughn P
Bergville18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, Thank you for your interest. Sorry we do not allow pets, unfortunately.
stelectrical asked a question Mar 2018
Durban, South Africa66 contributions15 helpful votes
Hi is this self catering? And pet friendly? Thank you
Answer from Vaughn P
Bergville18 contributions2 helpful votes
Good day, Thank you for your interest. We are self-catering. No, we are unfortunately unable to accommodate pets. Kind regards Vaughn
Answer from Vaughn P
Bergville18 contributions2 helpful votes
Good day,thank you for your enquiry.Yes,we do take 1 night visits in the week.We do have experience with hiking in the Drakensberg.You would also be able to hike without a guide. Kind regards, Vaughn
SafariKZN-Mark wrote a tip Mar 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom3,728 contributions88 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get yourself there..."
Read full review
samira m wrote a tip Feb 2023
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be at the location before getting dark"
Read full review
MeanderBalt21212 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Baltimore, Maryland6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend Cottage 1 if you are a party of four to seven, and want mountain valley views."
Read full review
Corcky89 wrote a tip Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom27 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here for as long as you can!!"
Read full review
Vicky 🇿🇦 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa52 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt to have breakfast & dinner."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bergville area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,621 - R 1,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionBergville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BERGHOUSE AND COTTAGES - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Bergville, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Berghouse and Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Berghouse and Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Cobham Nature Reserve (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berghouse and Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and an infinity pool.
Which room amenities are available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berghouse and Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tower Of Pizza, JO-KER Bistro & Bakes, and Coffee Shop @ Alpine Heath Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berghouse and Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berghouse and Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Berghouse and Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Bergville HotelsBergville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BergvilleHotels near Berghouse and Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire