We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berghouse and Cottages

Save
Share
R304 Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust Near Langkloof, KZN, Bergville 3354 South Africa
Booking.com
Priceline
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (211)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (9)

About

#2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in the Northern Drakensberg mountains,KwaZulu-Natal,South Africa,all cottages enjoy spectacular mountain views.Offering bed and breakfast as well as dinner.All cottages are fully equipped for self catering.Halfway between Johannesburg and Durban.Numerous activities offered on site.Centrally situated and in close proximity to other famous hiking routes and destinations of interest in the Drakensberg.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Infinity pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Sofa
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
178Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 42
  • 11
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CharlieB210560 wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa34 contributions37 helpful votes
My wife first read about this out of the way hideaway in Getaway magazine and instantly started her planning. The magazine write up is accurate. We arrived on Christmas Eve and promptly checked into the wrong cottage......our fault, but the owners let us stay in Thula Thula for 2 nights before moving the few metres up to Thula 2 for our last night. This gave us the privilege of a two cottage stay. The cottages are very similar in layout. There is a small kitchen area as you enter with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. A small two seater dining table fits just nicely. Moving into the main area is an open plan lounge and sleeping area. Sliding doors open onto a small covered patio with a two seater dining table and chairs, with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Lay on the bed and you just look out on to the mountains. Awesome! The bathroom is off the sleeping area, with double shower, large basin and w.c. The cottages are spaced well enough that you are not overlooked. Thula 2 has the best view! There is large rock pool for swimming with sun loungers for those that need to chill. The pool has an emerald green colour to the water which would normally put me off going anywhere near, but the pool water is actually quite clear when you get in, isn’t slimy or smelly and does have a slight chemical pool smell. Plenty of guests were using the pool daily and also had no issues. So all good. The food has two basic options. Take it or leave it! Is that a bad thing? Nope! The food is portioned well with a main course and desert for the evening meal and breakfast has all you need with fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast/bread with preserves and of course something cooked.......bacon, egg, tomato, sausage or omelette. All the food is well prepared and cooked well. Meals are taken at your cottage either at the table inside or at the outside table. The food is delivered by the house ladies carrying trays on their heads. All the food arrived hot. That’s all the good stuff and we definitely plan another visit as we liked it so much. My review of 4 out of 5 is not meant to be mean, but because of some minor things which bugged me, but maybe nobody else would notice or care about........a wooden bathroom door that couldn’t close, or a bathroom door that’s been fitted, primed but not finished and looks out of place. My biggest gripe would be the gas geyser that didn’t work properly for our last night. But I’m sure all are easily fixable. Oh! Intermittent cell or internet coverage! I care less about that but others may have an issue. Pros! Position, awesome view, good food and no cell phone coverage. Cons! Some minor maintenance needs doing! It is definitely worth a visit for the views, peace and quiet and chill out factor.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 09 Jan 2021
Hi there, Thank you for this feedback. We only wish the very best for our guests, so any slight inconvenience is a big NoNo, we will certainly sort these inconveniences out as soon as possible. The cottage you mistakenly occupied due to our Covid-19 paperless check-in, we were fortunate that the guests that had booked this cottage were very understanding, fortunately. The Rock Pool has an emerald green colour by design, an artist used the natural pools in our mountain stream to imitate the colouration, with great difficulty. We are pleased that you discovered crystal clear water in your swimming experience. The cellphone signal was poorly throughout the Central and Northern Drakensberg areas over the same period that you visited, we relayed this message to both Mtn and Vodacom, this is not the norm, sadly out of our control. The meals prepared by our kitchen on the "Chef surprise" basis has been well received by the huge majority of our guests, with very good feedback, especially during these difficult Covid times. All cottages enjoy the view of the Drakensberg mountains, we are pleased you enjoyed these views. Kind regards from a picture perfect Drakensberg.
Read more
Jessica Z wrote a review Nov 2020
17 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay at Berghouse and cottages, where we spent 4 nights in Oct 2020. The cottages are very nice, neat and clean. They feature an indoor fire place, kitchen and outdoor BBQ grill (Bree) at the veranda. The style and size of the cottages differ (family and couples). That’s why we we recommend you get in touch with the friendly owners Chantal and Vaughn to find the suitable cottage for your needs. A very delicious Breakfast and dinner (home cooked) were included, which is quite advantageous, given the fact that the next city / restaurants are quite far away. However the location ins ideal to explore the Drakensberg region, especially Royal Natal National Park. We can’t wait to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 27 Nov 2020
Hello Jessica, Thank you for selecting the Berghouse and Cottages for your Drakensberg Experience. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your return, with warm regards, Owners and staff.
Read more
Michelle S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
I stayed at Berghouse cottages for 3 nights with my sister. There are no words to describe the beauty and tranquillity of this place We also included dinner in our package. Everything was just superb. The pool - WOW!!! The hosts are just lovely and I will be back for sure! Thank you for sharing this piece of heaven with us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 18 Nov 2020
Hi Michelle, Thank you for your recent visit, we loved hosting you and look forward to doing that again sometime soon. With warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages
Read more
Immerenga wrote a review Mar 2020
Stuttgart, Germany939 contributions171 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for two nights. Yes, the road up is bumpy. Yes there is barely any WiFi. So what? The sight is amazing The staff was very friendly. Food (especially dinner) was superb! Staff full points (1 star), food as well (1 star) and the most important thing is the room / place itself. Here I can only give 1 of 3 stars. Why? There was just so much mini stuff that was missing. Like what? There was literally only 1 power outlet in the wall in the bedroom. Either you charge your phone / use the bedlamp or you use the fan. Which will then be RIGHT Next to your face and blow into it the whole night. Opening windows during the night was not really an option since there are no mosquitoe nets on the windows. That is if the fan works. We had two in our cottage. One didn’t work at all. There weren’t many lights in the cottage as well. There was only one light (with three lamps) in the main room. One bulb was busted. So I took it out and placed it on the table. It sure was gone by evening. Not replaced though. The sink in the bathroom was rather small. Which is okay. But there was literally nothing, not even a sideboard fixed to the wall, to put all your stuff, like toothbrush and so on. Long story short: it feels as no one ever really tried *living* there themselves for a couple of nights. And, after all, it’s the little stuff that matters
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughn Piccione, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Hi Immerenga, Thank you for visiting our destination. As discussed, we apologized for the housekeepers' mistake regarding your chord she damaged, we did offer to replace this. We had guests stay in the same cottage before you that rated us 10/10. We are sad you are upset, we strive to give our guests the best possible experience when they visit. Your contribution is valued, however, we were not informed of any of these "minor" shortfalls whilst you were visiting, had you mentioned something we would have immediately responded. Unfortunately, we find this critic counterproductive We will certainly take up the issues mentioned and make the necessary improvements
Read more
JasminaM270 wrote a review Feb 2020
Oslo, Norway54 contributions33 helpful votes
This is one of those rare places where I loved absolutely everything from the first moment and wish I had stayed longer than two nights. Stayed in Thula Thula cottage which had stunning views and sense of tranquility. The cottage itself was superb: spacious, new, spotless and delightfully furnished and decorated. Bathroom is another gem, with double open shower and no fuss with hot water. Then there is a whole front wall in glass, opening up to a terrace and the marvelous landscape beyond, all the way to the famous Amphitheatre. I just couldn’t stop looking… The food was excellent too – ample, tasty, varied and sumptuous, both breakfast and dinner, and you get it served on your terrace in privacy, so you can enjoy every moment with no distractions apart from the chirrup from swallows nesting under the roof… Splendid!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hi Jasmina, Thank you for your recent visit and your kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you. We appreciate your positive feedback it gives us much pleasure to be appreciated, thank you. With warm regards from owners and staff, from a sunny and warm Drakensberg mountain!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionBergville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berghouse and Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Berghouse and Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Cobham Nature Reserve (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berghouse and Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and an infinity pool.
Which room amenities are available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Berghouse and Cottages?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berghouse and Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berghouse and Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
Does Berghouse and Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.