LUX* Grand Baie

LUX* Grand Baie

Art everywhere
Traveller (1715)
Panorama at the Merville Beach Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (111)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
R 7 075
Get rewarded with One Key
R 7 066
R 6 380
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#4 of 34 hotels in Grand Baie
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
LUX* Grand Baie, a modernist marvel seemingly dropped onto a crescent of sand on the northern shores of Mauritius, turns heads. This new generation boutique-style resort introduces travelers to the seductive, slow pace of island living. But not too slow… LUX* Grand Baie, mirroring the adjacent beach town from which it takes its name, is exciting and playful. Whether it’s the unparalleled culinary scene or the breath-taking rooftop experience, there is truly no other celebratory place to be. A real invitation to seize the moment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Hindi and 2 more

Location

Coastal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30502
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
48.5 km
See all flights
657Reviews238Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 605
  • 26
  • 11
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Neha S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went with my family and it was amazing!! The architecture is beyond what I could’ve imagined and the facilities are great. There is millions of things to keep you busy and you are given access to all of it. The staff are some of THE friendliest people I’ve ever met. You can snorkel, dive, canoe, sail, and much more with their boat house. They organise trips to the other islands such as Ile aux Cerfs and have tours organised every day. There are 4 pools and the spa is brilliant! There is a lot of shade on the beach for you to sit and relax, and their beach has clear waters and soft sand. The amenities in the suites are great too with access to in room dining, lots of space, tv, books, etc. They do well in keeping the mosquitoes away as each room is fumigated which is completely safe to humans, but carry insect repellant lotion or spray to enjoy the nights outside in their gardens. Fantastic holiday, time well spent!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashish Modak, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Dear nehasAwesome, Thank you for staying at the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie Resort & Residences recently and for taking the time to write a review for us on this forum. We truly believe that LUX* Grand Baie is all about an experience and a journey for all our guests towards exploring something different and unique through the holiday. Thank you for mentioning the various features which make the resort special. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful stay with us. Sincerely; Ashish Modak
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
manishamm77 wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India245 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful set up in a damn good location.we had a wonderful stay.I don’t have have enough words to describe the whole experience we had during our stay.
The staff is super nice and they give a personal touch.
Food is good but not much options for vegetarians.pizza will blow your mind completely.

Gm ( mr Ashish ) was very helpful during the stay.
F/b manager Mr sas Banerjee pampered us left right centre and took very good care of us and tried his best to provide us vegetarian food.we were very impressed with the whole experience.
Mr joy (guest relation manager ) he was kind enough to help us with everything we wanted.
Chef Richard was a very sweet and courteous person and took good care of everything

Beach is neat clean and crystal clear water.
junior suite is best if u want the beach view.there residence rooms are little away from the main hotel so it’s a 5/7 min walk to the main area.all the rooms are done up beautifully and very modern.the wet bar is lovely with a beach view and the rooftop bar is magical ( it’s like a dream ).
This hotel is recommended if u want a memorable holiday.I am definitely coming back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashish Modak, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 01 Jun 2022
Dear manisha mimani m, Words are not enough for us to express our sincere thanks to you for staying with us and for taking the time sharing your experience on this forum. All of us in the team are glad that you had a wonderful holiday among us and they join me in expressing our gratitude for the lovely comments of yours. All the service experiences described actually humbles us and reinforces my belief that we are indeed one of the finest offerings on this paradise island! We cannot wait to welcome you back again for another five star stay with us! Warm island regards, Ashish Modak
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bill b wrote a review Sept 2022
Falmouth, United Kingdom36 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of August in a Pool Villa which fronted directly on to the beach.

The villa was exceptional, large, spacious, modern, luxurious with butler service and complimentary canopies and champagne/ mocktails every night. The bed is extremely comfortable. The plunge pool was heated and the outside lounge area comfortable though not peaceful as was next door to the Beach Rouge pool with its constant heavy baseline music. When I was in my twenties this would have been cool but now in my fifities I found it intrusive to relaxation.

The beach is small but clean. Each beach umbrella has a call button to call waiters for drinks and food which is a great idea. Wifi is strong on the beach and all over the resort. Again the heavy base line from the pool music is audible on the beach which is a shame.

The gym is ultra modern with all the latest equpment. My wife was very impressed. There are two kids clubs, one for the under 11s and one for the 12-17, the latter with PS5, pool table and table tennis plus other activities such as beach volleyball.

Complimentary water sports including water skiing are provided, although snorkelling off the beach is not allowed due to the risk of injury from the myriad of sports boats. There is no coral within the vincinity of the beach, only snorkelling trips to the outer reef.

Restaurants are limited if you have children to Beach Rouge and the Asian restaurant. We ate in both and both were good. Beach rouge also has a steak menu that is an extra cost for those on half board (you get a 30% discount). I tried one as I am a big fan of steakhouses but it was disappointing and over seasoned so didnt have another. Food in Beach Rouge was tasty but we did find ourselves ordering the same items on day 5 onwards once we had worked through the menu. Breakfast is very good, part a la carte, part buffet.

All in all a great modern hotel with all the latest mod cons and exceptional accommodation. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniele Vastolo, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Dear aceh0le007, Greetings from the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie! I cannot thank you enough for taking some of your precious time sharing a review about your experience among us on TripAdvisor. It is a real pleasure for the team and I to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities and services offered. We strive to make all our guests stay unforgettable independently of your age group and we are proud to read that you felt it. Indeed, we have 2 restaurants accessible for families with kids. However, our chefs are always present and assisting our guests with their meal’s arrangements. We all look forward to welcome you back for another great experience. Meanwhile do rest assured our hospitality at all times. Sincerely Always, Daniele Vastolo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
desert_legend wrote a review Jan 2023
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia271 contributions166 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of 5 and booked pool residence 6 weeks ahead of my arrival. My booking was for 4 nights half board plan at a cost of 6144 EUR. Upon arrival to the hotel after 9 hours flight and 1,5 hours airport transfer. I have been met by one of the front desk employees telling me that i am upgraded to different category. I asked to check the upgraded one before check-in officially and what a shock ! It is two rooms next to each other and doesn’t worth even the price i have paid for. I refused that and i asked my original category as per my booking details then they came up with a story of the residence i book is having ceiling cracks and it is not safe to stay in, i asked to see it but they refused to let me see it. Then i told them if this is the case, LUX* should offered me different residence pool apartments or an upgrade to villa pool or considerable discount on the downgraded two rooms (imagine they haven’t offered anything and i was the one who was asking for that ) and after long discussion they offered 200 Euro discount and to stay in the downgraded two rooms for one night then to move to my original booked pool residence. The experience was not pleasant at all for me and my family.

beware that the residence part of the resort is a cross the street on the opposite side and connect with a sky bridge over a busy and noisy street

The main restaurant is beach rouge, it is a la carte restaurant for the breakfast and dinner with limited choices and no open buffet like other resorts.

The thumb up is only given to Mr. Edi The residence manager who tried himself to keep our vacation very peaceful and hustle free
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniele Vastolo, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Dear desert_legend, Greetings from LUX* Grand Baie! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time sharing a review. Yet, I would like to express my sincere apologies if you did not find the perfect holiday among us. Your comments have been analysed and discussed with the concern head of departments and I can assure you that actions are underway to avoid such issues from re-occurring in the future. The residences are indeed located on the opposite of the resort which is part of the hotel design and we will make sure that such information is well communicated to our guests upon booking a residence. Moreover, allow me to mention that we do not do buffets at LUX* Grand Baie. This is part of our culinary concept and our chefs are always available and present for the guests when it comes to dietary requirements. I have shared your feedback to Edi who was really touched to learn about your praises. I would love to welcome you back to our shores, should you visit Mauritius in the future and I am committed to make sure that you have an enjoyable experience among us. Kindly drop me a line and I will assist you with great pleasure. Best Regards, Daniele Vastolo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LPad1 wrote a review Nov 2022
Surrey59 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is impressive from the moment you enter the grand foyer with a spectacular view of the ocean as a backdrop! The reception staff were pleasantly efficient and helpful. Our room had a magnificent view of the pool, beach, ocean and of course the spectacular sunsets! Everything about The Lux is special, from the restaurants, to the pool areas, the beach, and especially their staff! Our room was spacious with a large bathroom area. The bed faced out toward the wall to wall glass doors with a view of the ocean. The Lux pays attention to detail, our room had almost every amenity you could imagine, including wine, champagne and cocktail glasses as well as plates. Our balcony was large and comfortable with two chairs and foot stools and a drink table. We ate most of our meals at Bisou Rooftop restaurant and bar, where Krishna and Crispina did a great job of looking after us. The view here is amazing. We enjoyed an asian themed dinner at Ai Kisu, which was fabulous (extra cost). We lounged by the adult only pool with very comfortable larger deck chair cushions. The staff at the pool were attentive and brought by cold face towels to freshen us up during the heat of the day. The Lux offers a complimentary glass bottom boat around the bay and it was well worth the time, we saw lots of sea life including turtles. The hotel is well situated with many restaurants and shops nearby, and also a supermarket just down the road. The Lux is pricey, but they work hard at giving good value for what you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Keep your options for dinner open, there's lots of local restaurants nearby... but take the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniele Vastolo, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 09 Nov 2022
Dear LPad1, Greetings from the very beautiful LUX* Grand Baie! Thank you for your time in posting such a beautiful review following your recent stay with us. We are glad that the resort stood up to your expectations and beyond. We truly believe that the resort offers a unique blend of modern design, very original concepts, authentic offerings combined with genuine hospitality. Thank you for detailing the various aspects which made your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; Warm regards, Daniele Vastolo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean M wrote a review Oct 2022
7 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has much to commend it but it is not quite at the 5 star level yet. Many of the staff seem inexperienced and slow, missing items from order regularly, the systems do not quite work as well as they should. Room service is for no good reason not taken into account in a half board rate - not even any allowance even though the menu is the same as the restaurant. Yet that is not explained and I have heard several guests mention they have been caught out. Loud music often blares at all times of the day. the food particularly in the South Asian restaurant is occasionally disappointing even poor but very highly priced. Indeed the prices (off inclusive tariff) are exorbitant. The rooms are a little soulless and lack any local touches. These are perhaps minor niggles. The overall standard is good by Mauritian standards but nothing is outstanding. Not really yet international 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniele Vastolo, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Dear jeanmG8402HM, Greetings from LUX* Grand Baie! I would like to thank you for sharing your review to us. Your valuable feedback will certainly help us identify the areas to focus on in order to improve our guests’ comfort & experiences. I can assure you that actions are underway where required to ensure that the level of service at the resort matches the beauty of the destination. I sincerely apologise if you did not find the perfect holiday among us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in order to show you the improvements done. Sincerely Always, Daniele Vastolo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Feroze B wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The latest addition to the luxury hotel platform in Mauritius is experiencing serious teething problems that is likely to undermine its reputation long term if not remedied at once. Here are two examples:

a. A romantic dinner for two on the occasion of Valentine’s Day was ruined in spite of the outstanding quality of food served at AI KISU, an asian restaurant: a glass of wine ordered before the food failed to arrive after 25 minutes only to be told that it was not available after all; we thought it easier to order simply beer because the staff would understand it better.

b. Three telephone calls to reservations remained unanswered three hours after they were made on a Saturday morning.

The Luxe Grand Baie Hotel has positioned itself at the very top of the hotel segment in terms of size (130 keys only), its rates are the highest in the country and although undoubtedly and attractively designed and decorated staff do appear to be inexperienced and not fully trained. If the quality of service does not reflect the room rates it would be difficult to justify them long term.

The grounds of the hotel near some of the best beaches in the country are attractively laid out and need time to mature; the spa is intended to be the best in Mauritius and F&B outlets including the bar are intended to cater for all tastes.

The property is still running in and will need time to really achieve a steady and smooth level of plain sailing! Meanwhile the current room rates should be reviewed at once as they are clearly designed to keep the locals out!

Feroze Bundhun
London
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms with s seaside view are better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashish Modak, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Fer0zeB, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at LUX* Grand Baie on TripAdvisor. I must confess that we usually get only great reviews and the very many reviews on this forum are a testament to our commitment to top quality and service. Unfortunately, this was not the case for you and on behalf of my team, I genuinely apologise for the same. You may rest assured that we have taken your feedback with utmost seriousness and we will work on same with the concern team immediately to avoid such repetitive issues in the future. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back and allowing us to make you rediscover the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie. Until then, please accept my best regards and do not hesitate to contact me should you need my personal assistance. Ashish Modak
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manhattanfan wrote a review Apr 2022
London England442 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a very long journey from the UK, we suddenly found ourselves alighting from our drivers transfer vehicle into a high end stunning new hotel called Lux Grand Baie. We were ushered into the magnificent double (at least!) height entrance hallway where the checkin inn procedure occurred. The entrance lobby is truly stunning and included a shop, a bar and a coffee bar. There’s a glass balcony which has a stunning view

The room was very modern with a nice balcony overlooking the main pool and gardens. It had a great bathroom and the bed was huge and sumptuous.

The pool area outside beach rouge was colourful and funky and steps from the beach. Beach rouge itself was where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was extremely varied and very good. We had some incredible food experiences whilst there.

One of the best things about this hotel are the staff who often went beyond themselves when it came to service. We made lots of new Lux friends.

The spa was a haven and my foot treatment was really good.

We truly had a wonderful time and if you’re thinking of trying it out just go for it, you won’t regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashish Modak, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear Manhattanfan, Greetings from the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie! Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write this glowing review for us on this forum. We are glad that the resort stood up to your expectations and beyond. We truly believe that the resort offers a unique blend of modern design, very original concepts, authentic offerings combined with genuine hospitality. Allow me to also express my gratitude for mentioning our team members. They are indeed the resort's greatest asset and always committed to providing you with an exquisite experience. With renewed thanks for recommending us and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Ashish Modak
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymous A wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is gorgeous and very airy. The air is always fresh and the temperatures are perfect (not too hot or too cold). There are a lot of bugs and mosquitoes, though, and some spots in the rooms/villas are not very well cleaned (e.g. walls). Unfortunately, you cannot order breakfast food (e.g. croissants) past a certain time. However, the hotel is very far from being uncomfortable to stay at. I still recommend it.

The staff is also extremely respectful, warm, and helpful. Kishan, in particular, was our butler for our entire stay (9 days), and he was the most friendly and helpful person to have around. He was quickly reachable by phone (more precisely, WhatsApp) and was ready to help in any way and as fast as he could. I directed all my questions, inquiries and bookings (e.g. for massages, taxis, and activities within and outside the hotel) to him, and he made our stay at Lux Grand Baie that much smoother and enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniele Vastolo, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 18 Jan 2023
Dear 135anonymousa, Greetings from the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie! Thank you for staying at our beautiful LUX* Grand Baie! We are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay among us. Indeed, being a tropical island, we cannot unfortunately avoid the presence of these insects. In order to prevent these insect’s proliferations; fogging is being done thrice per week everywhere in the hotel property. Kishan was deeply touched to read about your praises for which he is thankful. We look forward to welcome you back soon for another pleasurable experience. Kind Regards, Daniele Vastolo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DarkOsh wrote a review Apr 2022
Lagos, Nigeria558 contributions134 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in Mauritius to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and we stayed at Lux Grand Baie for 3 nights on the wedding anniversary package. First, I must say that the pictures online don’t do enough justice. The hotel is modern and very relaxing. The design and colors are beautiful. The rooftop pool can only be experienced, I can’t describe it. All the rooms are sea/beach facing.

We had great experiences; ALL the staff were hands on to make it a memorable occasion. From the senior staff to junior staff.

We had mixologist “training’ at the rooftop restaurant, rum tasting at Maison Lux, glass boat trip to view the fishes. On our last day, we had breakfast on the roof top. It was very nice. We thank everyone but I recall a few names, Ashok, Joy, Siveshni, Yash, Manly, Olivier, Shekar, Anthony, Rubina, Donovan (beach -glass boat guide, I hope I got his name right). I apologize I don’t remember the names of the manager and staff in the beach rouge, but they were very accommodating.

The food in the restaurants were amazing. We had a chef seafood night in the beach rouge and the food was so tasty. The design of the Ai Kisu restaurant was beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashish Modak, General Manager at LUX* Grand Baie
Responded 06 Apr 2022
Dear DarkOsh, Greetings from the beautiful LUX* Grand Baie Resort & Residences! First, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort as destination on the special occasion of your 20th wedding anniversary. We believe LUX* Grand Baie offers all our guests a rejuvenating and relaxing time through its facilities and through the friendliness and passion of our team members. Thank you for mentioning the features which make the resort so special. All of us in the team look forward to welcoming you again in a not too far distant future! Warm regards, Ashish Modak
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ashish G
Dubai, United Arab Emirates50 contributions54 helpful votes
no they dont have their own paid station, but they can arrange a dive etc for a cost.
Answer from Mr Purahoo M Z C
Port Louis97 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, and congratulation. Take the Full board only and you can buy as you eat or drink there. But at G bay, it is worth having a look around outside the hotel also. Few cocktails and drinks per day for 5 days will not reach 2000us, even if you add some food to it.
Answer from Richard
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom33 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi, the apartments with private small pools are definitely across the road and bridge. These are not staff rooms as far as I am aware. The main hotel rooms do not have their own private pools but have easy access to the three pools and the beach. I would recommend the hotel rooms, we had an amazing time here.
Eureka M wrote a tip 10 May
Middelburg Mpumalanga1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The prices for items at the hotel can be a bit hefty so make sure you get essentials beforehand. "
Read full review
João P wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enough space, enough pools, beach with more then enough sun shadow. Site is great, hotel is amazing and Staff is really amazing as well"
Read full review
Alexey A wrote a tip Apr 2024
Madrid, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Must visit!"
Read full review
Loz wrote a tip Apr 2024
35 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Villa butler service is incredible and villas have their own space for loungers on the beach. Well worth the upgrade. "
Read full review
Donna wrote a tip Mar 2024
Berkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms with pools not worth paying for"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grand Baie area.
PRICE RANGE
R 6,599 - R 8,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
merville beach grand baie, hotel merville beach, merville beach hotel mauritius, merville beach mauritius
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere du Rempart DistrictGrand Baie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUX* GRAND BAIE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mauritius)

Frequently Asked Questions about LUX* Grand Baie
Which popular attractions are close to LUX* Grand Baie?
Nearby attractions include La Cuvette Public Beach (0.8 km), Pereybere Beach (1.1 km), and Banana Beach Club (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at LUX* Grand Baie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at LUX* Grand Baie?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at LUX* Grand Baie?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at LUX* Grand Baie?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to LUX* Grand Baie?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Poivrier, The Banana Grill, and D-Erny's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at LUX* Grand Baie?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does LUX* Grand Baie have airport transportation?
Yes, LUX* Grand Baie offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at LUX* Grand Baie?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does LUX* Grand Baie offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at LUX* Grand Baie?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Hindi, and Indonesian.
All Grand Baie HotelsGrand Baie Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Grand Baie
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire