Ocean's Creek

Ocean's Creek

Traveller (705)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#3 of 8 hotels in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled in the sunny Northwest coast of Mauritius, where long hours of sunshine await the travellers, “Ocean’s Creek” is a vibrant 4-star superior hotel named after the lower reaches of the Tombeau River meeting the Indian Ocean. The hotel enjoys easy access to the sandy beaches with open views of iridescent sunsets over the teal blue bay. On either side, the richness of the surrounding Nature is augmented by the variety of landscapes from the sandy beaches and shorefront of the famous Balaclava Bay to Tombeau’s creek or the surrounding forest down to the never-far away slopes of Pieter Both Mountains, too.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Paid public parking nearby
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Badminton
Boating
Game room
Hiking
Aerobics
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi and 1 more

Location

Le Goulet Road, Balaclava, Mauritius 230
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
39.3 km
See all flights
496Reviews0Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 411
  • 66
  • 8
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Maryam A wrote a review Jul 2023
37 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oh this place has such a warm vibe to it, We didn’t feel like guests we felt like we were part of a family.

The welcoming was one of the best, Lovenish greeted us with a lovely big smile and Greg was so keen & excited to show us around and walk us through everything. Amandee welcomed us with his arms wide open and big smiles as if he knew us for years!

Our room was spacious, light and smelt lovely and fresh. We were lucky enough to be upgraded so we had a lovely view over looking the pool. We were looked after very well by Kamini & Ashfaq they made sure we were always happy with everything in the room.

This place offers a lot but the two unique things for us, they had rock climbing and the most fantastic part this hotel over looks the river !

We loved how simple and light the hotel was, especially the spa. Usually spas are dark but their spa was designed in a very beautiful way, letting the sun light sneak through the wooden blinds. The hamam and sauna were uniquely designed especially the back of the sona is made with Himalayan salt. The lovely Brenda walked us through all what the spa offers and we were excited to try everything but due to our short stay I only tried the massage. My massage therapist Medhavi was very nice, polite, knowledgeable and understanding of my back problems, it was one of the best experiences I had as she helped to ease pain I’ve been complaining from for years, I wished I had more time to go back again.

The location is amazing away and calm and only a couple of steps away from the “creek” but also close into town if you would like to go shopping. Mr.Jim helped us with our daily plans around Balaclava, recommending places, making sure the weather will be right over certain places. He definitely was such a great help!

Breakfast was nice and simple and let me tell you, the pastries were one of the best pastries I have ever tasted, their bakery is absolutely wonderful I felt like I was back in England.

Checking out was as amazing as checking in, we were lucky to be served a farewell drink with big smiles from Lovenish & Amandee, the lovely fruity tea tasted fantastic and refreshing to start our next destination. This is a place where definitely we will be staying at again, we couldn’t fault anything.

Many thanks to all the absolutely great staff “ front desk, room service, breakfast waiters, kitchen, spa Center, Lovenish” and last but not least a special thanks to Mr.Amandee for making our honeymoon extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asrinee wrote a review Dec 2023
18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Celebrating my birthday there, was one of the best decisions we have taken. Being the mum of an 8 months, i was stressed about feeding my baby.

But, starting from day 1, khushee welcomed us, chef bhevish and nadine listened to all our concerns. Nadine catered to the daily needs of our baby. Our baby emptied his bowl everyday!

Nadine was very helpful and listens attentively to our specifications.

Nabeel, who was replenishing in the minibar catered to our needs specially water for the baby.

Anne, Ludivine and Adrianna made my birthday perfect and special! Their service, singing, peronality make your stay special.

I cant forget Jatin from the bar who in his way attracts customers and makes the most to please his customer. I cant forget his graveyard!

Cook seepaul was very friendly and gave us hot food in the morning.

The reservation manager mr vikram since day one helped us without blinking to our multiple specifications!

The best part of our stay was while checking out! Nadine and the chefs gave us puree for the baby but due to a mishap, the fruit puree fell down and only vegetable puree was left. The GM in person Mr Vincent Comarmond came to talk to me; asking if there was need to replace. And another staff (unfortunately didnt capture his name) told me not to worry and cleaned everything in the blink of an eye) i didnt feel odd! For me that was perfect hospitality!

Without doubt, go to Ocean Creek!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy the kids club, activities for kids, animation, dj, music.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Audrey M wrote a review May 2024
Mauritius80 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Ocean Creek and had an overall positive experience, with some standout highlights as well as a few areas for improvement.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome, which set the tone for our stay. The room we were given was very spacious, and the bedding was an impressive 10/10 for comfort. The quality of the food at the buffet was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance around the pool area. The cleanliness of the hotel made it feel brand new, which greatly enhanced our experience. The staff were all very nice and accommodating, especially Sahaz, Jim, Amedee, and Shanaz from the reception and entertainment teams.

However, there were a few downsides. The welcome drink was not good at all, and the quality of the cocktails was inconsistent. On one night, we had a good cocktail, but on another, it seemed like they didn’t care, serving mostly juice. There was a frustrating experience at the bar when I ordered two cocktails. The barman made one that looked great, but when I asked about the second, he refused and suggested I take a glass of sugary juice mixed with rum. Another annoying situation occurred at the pool. Although many guests were drinking in the pool, a fellow guest, due to his religious beliefs, complained to the lifeguard about us drinking, as if it would prevent him from swimming. We were never warned that drinking by the pool was not authorized, which added to our frustration.

One last downside was the departure, we left the hotel without the staff even noticing, no “thank you for your stay” or any gesture. We left as if we were leaving a random shop.

Despite these issues, we had a great stay, thanks to the efforts of the staff mentioned above. We hope the management will address the inconsistencies in the bar and enforce pool rules more fairly in the future.

Overall, we had a memorable experience and would consider returning, as the positives certainly outweighed the negatives.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you are looking for a peaceful, tranquil place to relax this is not your hotel. It’s more for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vandana Bullee, Other at Ocean's Creek
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Audrey, Thank you for sharing such a nice review with us! I am glad to know that you had a great stay among us, and you have appreciated the overall services of the hotel, our food offer, our room facilities, and the overall cleanliness of the hotel! 😊 Your comment regarding the barmen, the bar service, and the check-out process has been taken with great consideration. I would like to reassure you that this is not the way we treat our guests. I confirm that we do have an ongoing training and coaching to exceed our guest expectations and improve our customer services. I sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences. Your feedback about the pool has been taken with great concern. Thank you once again for sharing your constructive feedback which will help us better understand your expectations, and also improve our services. Hoping for another chance of welcoming you back for a better stay at Ocean’s Creek! Best regards, Vincent Comarmond General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daksha J wrote a review Oct 2023
Port Louis1 contribution
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent an amazing time with cousins at Ocean's creek last weekend. As you enter the reception you get to admire the natural plant decor with the pool view and the numerous activities waiting for you to be explored. The unique location of the hotel where the river meets the sea is an addition to the beauty that you are about to experience. As we sit for our meal, we could admire the beautiful river with Port chambly in the background. The rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and modern look.

The service was excellent, the staffs were very welcoming and friendly and that made my stay even more enjoyable. A special thanks to Sahaz who always made sure we were okay and had no issues. Atish who was at our service for any drinks we needed. Vimal and Vishal who made sure we were safe at the Tobogan (although the swimming pool for the tobogan is not deep enough and it's a risk for injury) and the wall climbing (an activity not to miss out) absolutely loved it. Rishi, Ramdass and Jim who made sure we were enjoying our food. Not forgetting Shiv who made a tailor made spa massage for us.

In all an amazing first experience, something to look for again in the near future.

Daksha.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wazilah B wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a weekend with family. We had the best experience ever. Rooms were very clean and beautiful, comfy bed and pillows, mini bar with snacks, everything well thought. The food was amazing, desserts were yummy, a large variety of food be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Staff very friendly and helpful. The pool with the slides very tempting. Kids had really enjoyed in the kids pool and the mini club. They did face painting. The restaurant also well organized, no rush or long waiting queues, we were served by Juliena for lunch, she was very friendly and attended to all our queries. We had a really nice time. We will surely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leonel O wrote a review May 2024
Reunion Island2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was truly impressed by the exceptional service provided by the staff. From the moment I arrived, I was greeted with warm smiles and a genuine willingness to assist. Especial thanks to koushal and Norin, who went above and beyond, offering an attentive service throughout my whole stay. It's clear that their staff take great pride in their work, making my stay both comfortable and memorable.

However, the location of the hotel is far from the airport, and taxi fares are expensive (which has nothing to do with the hotel). Even I was on a business trip, I managed to discover the Island a little and it's beautiful, with lovely people.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone seeking outstanding hospitality and i will see you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I would to rent a car rather than paying taxis. The fares are really on a higher side.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Savinah P wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Very Nice, Room well maintained, very clean. Some staff very friendly in restaurant & Bar. Some not at All asked for Drinks came after a long with not all the order in restaurant, for bar never arrived have to go and check several times. Asked for 3 Cappuccino for breakfast came with 2 when asked again she came upset with 1 more. The food on the Buffet for Dinner very Poor no variety, specially the Desert, the tea time very poor with only 2 Options. Lunch was good but still no options for kids apart from Pizza.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Due to lack of staff the hotel should not be over crowded with guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie Barry, Sales at Ocean's Creek
Responded 26 Aug 2023
Dear Ms Savinah, I thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the overall services of the hotel and appreciated our room facilities! I have taken good note for your comment regarding the Associate’s not being friendly. I would like to reassure you that this is not the way we treat our guests. Being in the hospitality industry, we have been embedded with the customer service, and we do have ongoing training and coaching to exceed our guest expectations. I sincerely apologise if this was not the case. I would like to confirm that we do propose a variety of local and international food to our guest, above all, we do special dishes to meet the taste of every guest, and we invite them to share their feedback during their stay, so we can assist any request and improve their holiday experience! I assure you if we had received your feedbacks while being in-house, we would have turned around your holiday experience! I thank you again for sharing your constructive review as your feedback will help us improve further. Hoping for another chance of welcoming you back for a better stay. Best regards, Vincent Comarmond General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zhareenm wrote a review Aug 2023
Mauritius88 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In this cold winter season i was fed up being indoors & tired with work stress i took a escape to your hotel to spend a day. The staff are very helpful & friendly. However, for Rs 2700 pax it is expensive and disappointing to get served basic food items like i am eating at home even the tea break. Round the hotel there is no signage so u dont know where the toilet is, the gym, the cinema u have to walk and ask staff. Yet the most annoying of all is the loud music everywhere dj at the pool! Orchestra near bar! Sega live at reception! It is a small packed hotel i didnt find a quiet moment to breathe unfortunately & i wont come again…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vandana Bullee, Other at Ocean's Creek
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Dear Ms. Zhareen, I thank you very much for taking the time to share your constructive review and I sincerely regret that your day experience was not totally up to your expectations. However, I am happy to note that you appreciated the hospitality of our Associate’s! The hotel’s concept is fun and energetic for which we always have live music and full packed entertainment program all day. I understand your feelings. I would like to confirm that we do propose a variety of local and international food to our guest, above all, we do special dishes to meet the taste of every guest, and we invite them to share their feedback with the Chefs, who are always present during the mealtime, so they can assist any request and improve the experience of our guest! I assure you if we had received your feedback, we would have turned around your holiday experience! I thank you again for sharing your constructive review as your feedback will help us better understand your expectation and improve. Hoping for another chance of welcoming you back for a better stay. Sincere regards, Vincent Comarmond General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel R wrote a review 07 Jun
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for a birthday celebration. Checked in on the 31st May and stayed for 2 nights. From the food, to the service and the animation everything was perfect. Was greated by the reception who gave us all the details about the hotel and also gave us a visit.
Jeremie the A. FnB manager and his team always welcomed us with a smile and provided us with the best service. Abhi from the bar and his team, Akash, James and Lavesh always made sure that our glasses weren't empty and always making us their best cocktails. Raees and Dimitri were so energetic and always ready to animate the hotel with their activities and music, making it a great enjoyable atmosphere. The food was also excellent at each meal without exception !! Kudos to the Chef !

The only point that i could make is maybe about the mattress being too soft for my partner and I but apart from that cleanliness of the room and the facilities was well maintained.

Overall, it was a great stay, we really didn't want to leave ! Keep it up ! We will surely be back soon ! Thanks to all of you !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Del wrote a review Sept 2023
Mauritius9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time at this new hotel. Very clean environment. The food was delicious, pizza au feu de bois was perfect. Mr Jim from the restaurant was constantly checking on clients ,making sure we were at ease and was making sure that we lack of nothing! He does the job very well and seems to be a good leader!! keep it up Mr Jim! The desserts deserve a 10/10. Wow. Delicious red velvet,rasmalai and so on. The creamy Pina colada was just mouth watering, thanks to the barman Jatin, who made it and other delicious cocktails! Keep it up! Thanks also to Mr Daryl and Mr Jefferson who were very rapid on our orders. I strongly recommend you a stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring sport shoes. We did not bring our and unfortunately couldn't do climbing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Aditya C wrote a tip 16 Jun
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best experience."
Read full review
Go66807088662 wrote a tip 12 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For any queries just ask the staffs they are all willing to help and make sure your request will be answered in the earlies possible delay"
Read full review
DocReshma wrote a tip 09 Jun
Mumbai151 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The water slide is amazing and lots of pool activities but we came in June when winter was setting in and the water was cold "
Read full review
Traveler16190706423 wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Standard of service is a major let down!"
Read full review
Beeharry J wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please do come... best hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Balaclava area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,866 - R 3,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusPamplemousses DistrictBalaclava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN'S CREEK | UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Balaclava, Mauritius) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean's Creek
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean's Creek?
Nearby attractions include L'Aventure Du Sucre (5.8 km), The Crown Lodge Mauritius (6.9 km), and Aapravasi Ghat (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean's Creek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean's Creek?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean's Creek?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean's Creek?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean's Creek?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Fangourin Restaurant, Le Skipper @ Voile Bleue, and Cabane Du Filao.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean's Creek?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Ocean's Creek have airport transportation?
Yes, Ocean's Creek offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean's Creek?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ocean's Creek offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ocean's Creek?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Hindi.
All Balaclava HotelsBalaclava Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Balaclava
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire