InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel

InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel

40th wedding anniversary on beach at Segala restaurant
Traveller (7849)
Panorama at the InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
360
Panoramas (16)
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#5 of 8 hotels in Balaclava
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An exceptional destination where Mauritian hospitality meets luxury, the InterContinental® Mauritius Resort is a beachfront property situated on the shoreline of Balaclava Beach, The Resort has 210 guest rooms and suites. The Resort presents the perfect host as a wedding destination as well as business groups looking for unique meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Balaclava Fort Coastal Road, Balaclava, Mauritius 21306
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
41.1 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles5,707 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a scenic, secluded spot, the InterContinental Resort Mauritius is often lauded for its vibrant atmosphere, replete with live music and themed events. While opinions on value diverge, with some guests pointing out hidden costs, the range of amenities including diverse dining and engaging activities typically receive high marks. Accommodations are met with mixed reviews; guests appreciate the cleanliness and comfort but some report maintenance and decor issues. The service is generally regarded as friendly, though not without occasional lapses in responsiveness.
Location
Secluded
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
5,707Reviews333Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,518
  • 1,313
  • 466
  • 200
  • 212
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marion-Faith F wrote a review Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I travelled with someone who needs extremely high standards so I devoted a week to read reviews in search of the perfect hotel for us. I can say in all honesty, not one thing from this hotel's bad reviews was seen during our 10 full days. Definitely recommend staying longer than we did to take full advantage of ALL the hotel has to offer.

We needed:
- High cleanliness and fresh look, ie not tired decor.
- proper beach, not windy, with sea we could swim in.
- good swimming pools near the beach.
- Good complimentary activities.
- Good food pref all inclusive.
- sunset.
- ocean view.
- Quiet when needed.
- feeling of being on a tropical island (lush greenery).

THIS RESORT DOES IT ALL!!! And EXTREMELY well.

The cherry on the top is the incredible staff who can't do enough for you.

There was no feeling of it being a money grabbing hotel. On the contrary we were spoilt for no extra and only spent more in a few areas we really wanted to splurge. All inclusive could have started from arrival but the manager and staff more than made up for this. If arriving early, I highly recommend having a swimming bag easy to get out your luggage so you can use the spa showers and get enjoying your holiday from the get go.

I will put more detail in below, under these themes for those that want it.

I want to thank others for helpful reviews that enabled us to choose this amazing place.
A special thank you to Kevin (who rightly is mentioned often in the reviews) Top tip: if he offers you an upgrade deal... take it!!
I feel the presidential suit needs a whole review in itself. I mean... 3 balconies (one with a jacuzzi) and a jacuzzi style bath indoors while watching the sunset 💁🏻‍♀️Not to mention 2 floors and 2 bath/shower rooms. Enormously grateful to Kevin for making this possible for us.

Cleanliness/decor:
There is a lovely feel to the whole resort. It is well maintained and kept clean all the time. Bedding is lovely high quality and soft.
Even the shampoo/conditioner/body wash was so lovely I didn't bother using my own.
I felt the whole resort was bigger than expected but so well designed you don't feel you have to walk far for anything.

Beach:
Unlike the hotel next door, this resort is spread out along the beachfront. It never feels busy and there are always loungers available. I wish we had more time to try their different suntanning spots. I enjoyed a bit of snorkeling too. Like others, I recommend you take foot wear to use in the sea

Swimming pools:
We loved that you had the choice of the cool beach vibes at the main pool with the joy of having a cocktail at the bar while still tanning and keeping your feet cool in the water. Do try the fab aqua aerobics!!
We later found the other pool is quieter and there was a super bar tender coming round to ask you if you wanted him to bring you a drink at your lounger.

Good complimentary activities:
Oh my word!! There are so many activities available free of charge. I will add a photo. My disappointment is we didn't get round to taking full advantage. I mean, water skiing, snorkeling out with the glass bottom boat etc. The diving is chargeable and not part of the hotel. Do watch out for them demanding cash 😰 Ask Kevin for help if needed.

Good food pref all inclusive
We were a bit skeptical as this hotel offered all-inclusive at a MUCH more reasonable rate than other similar hotels. To be honest it was a big attraction for us and people reviewed the food to be good.
Well... wow!! Can't recommend all inclusive enough!! Great value especially for the fine dining you get.
TOP TIP- Book into the a la cart restaurants on your first day. You can always cancel the booking should you fancy the buffet- also very good!!
Do try:
Nobel House (Asian)- Sushi to start, Pad thai and Melon Sago
Veda (Indian) - Triptic of meats on vermicelli, Butter chicken and cheese naan followed by the Creme Brulè

(Top tip) Segala (Mediterranean): Nicoise Salad (Stunning and delicious), Beef wrapped in Parma Ham, Salted caramel Panna Cotta (best panna cotta I've ever had)
Make sure you are served by Vivek!! The manager, Issen, was also so kind fitting us in and making a super special birthday dinner for me. Our last meal was lunch at this restaurant and Sam recommended an incredible local fish that was a special way to end our culinary delights.

I'm not a fish person but LOVED all the fish at this resort.

Breakfast would not have been the same without Vishal. He always ensured we had plenty of our prefered items especially our barista style coffee and lychee jam (a must try)
I have no idea how the sweet Raunuka manages to juggle everyone's egg orders in such heat and smile away at us. 🥰
This is the kind of staff culture you can enjoy at this resort.

Another top tip for all-inclusive: we had lovely packed lunch prepared for us at no extra € to enjoy the day we got a taxi to Troux aux Biches (swimming with turtles) To see dolphin's you need to go really early.

Even until they closed the door on our taxi leaving finally, a manager, Ishrat, made sure we had all we needed for a comfortable journey.
*Please not if you get car sick it is best to get taxi transfers.

We are excited to try another IHG hotel elsewhere but this one is going to be very hard to beat!! We are seriously contemplating saving ourselves all the effort and just returning to this ticks-all-the-boxes lush hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the A la Carte restaurants on arrival. All in only starts from 3pm drinks and food from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from InterContinental Mauritius, Owner at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2023
Dear marionfaith. Thank you so much for such a review. We will share all your feedback with our team members who will feel very proud of by delivering true hospitality. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, Ishrat Carrimbaccus Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shamima A wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Intercontinental between christmas and new year. The resort has a stunning location on the beach . Awesome views of the ocean . However dont expect the turqoise blue water you see in pictures as this beach has waves , neverthelesss still gorgeous. There are two pools and the water activities like the glass bottom boat is free. We had a family room which was spacious and had an amazing view. All the rooms are seafacing. The resort grounds are immaculate and well maintained. The rooms were serviced on time daily and complimentary water was provided daily . We were on half board , breakfast was limited in options and we were dissapointed with dinner as it seemed the hotel catered mainly for its indian vegetarian guests . Also there was no kiddies dinner options , like macaroni cheese or pizza etc. We complained and Patrick kindly told us we could order something for the kids at no charge daily- this was highly appreciated and very accomodating.The New years gala was well planned and we were kept entertained all through the evening. There is entertainment every single evening such as sega dancers , music band , african show etc . During the cyclone scare , even though the hotel was under lock down , the staff made sure the guests were comfortable and every effort was made to still provide services.The wifi is also amazing and super fast . Overall our stay of 10 days at the Intercontinental was wonderful .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Family room , spacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 02 Jan 2020
Dear Shamima, thanks a lot for your stay with us over last 10 days and happy to hear positive feedback. We are glad to hear you did enjoy your vacation even with difficult times during recent cyclone. Looking forward to welcome you back sometimes in future. Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Francesco A wrote a review Feb 2020
Negrar, Italia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dear Mr Stephane,

I wish to communicate my personal feedback about my just finished stay in Intercontinental Resort Hotel Balaclava, room 1617.

I would like to leave my best impressions about your entire staff, especially to Mr Yudish and Mrs Nadine. They were always very kind and helpful especially when we have had some issues with the door lock, they removed in short time.

The quality of the service, the cleanness, the food, facilities, gardening and the location of the hotel with its beautiful beach will surely make us recommend this place to other people as well as to make us revisit this place.

Keep on with this good job, and improvements which will surely will make even more success in the future.

Thankfully for this beautiful vacation we had at your hotel,

with Kindest Regards

Francesco Adami
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IC_Mauritius1, General Manager at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Francesco Adami, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Stephane Duvacher General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manoj Kr wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel has many water sports, but if you don't know swimming you can only enjoy paddle boat, kayaking and glass bottom boat

Hotel service is poor.
Food- out of four restaurants veda- offers good indian food and senso offer decent buffet..rest two restaurants segala and the noble house have very limited or no indian taste food..

The hotel location does not allow access to public transportation and hiring taxi is very costly.
Hotel beach is neat and clean
They don't serve food on beach..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 06 Feb 2020
Dear Manoj, thank you very much for your feedback and stay with us. Yes, its difficult to offer water sports for non-swimmers as it will be not safe and guest safety will be always our top priority. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Indian food at our Indian restaurant Veda as well as Senso restaurant with Indian buffet section. Yes, its correct that Asian restaurant Noble House and Mediterranean restaurant Segala doesnt serve Indian food. Hope will be able to visit us again Yours Sincerely Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim C wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first impression was of a large, light and airy Reception with efficient and welcoming staff. We arrived a couple of hours before our room was available so used the time to explore and were not disappointed as we found an attractive and well designed resort. Rooms have a safe, fridge, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities (but only powdered milk) daily bottled water, tv, umbrella, robes and slippers. The loo is also a separate room within the bathroom and there are British as well as continental sockets but no USB port. You get a single page of hotel information on arrival but there isn't the usual Book/Folder in the room. I guess this is a Covid safety thing as it would be hard to clean??
There are several towel stations along the beach manned by cheerful staff. Towels and loungers are good quality, we went in low season so there was plenty of availability.
All of the restaurants can only be reached by going outside of the main building and everything other than the Main Buffet needs to be booked. Here we found the food to be varied and of good quality although lunch was a bit sparse. Again probably because we went in low season however the Poolside Bar had a good daytime menu. Curry is served at every meal but there are plenty of alternatives, the egg station, freshly squeezed orange and range of bread at breakfast are particularly good. The chefs were also very accommodating and happy to make 'reasonable' dishes to order.
Of the three alternatives, our favourite was the Nobel House - Asian Fusion. The headwaiter was brilliant.
There is entertainment every day, all sorts of classes and live music with dance every evening. Search out the boathouse for some really good, free activities.
The beach may not be to everyone's taste as it is man-made and shallow but tastefully done and the beautiful, clear water has pretty, inquisitive fish although be very careful not to stand on urchins and stonefish. If you prefer a more natural, long sandy beach there is one about 15 minutes walk to the north.
The Spa is very professional and houses the gym but the hotel shops were disappointing. They are expensive and didn't sell essentials. If you forget any toiletries or stationery, you will need to get a taxi into town.
We went on trips to the South and North of the Island, both by private taxi. It was very reasonably priced and our first driver, Dev, was really informative without making it like a school trip. A lovely man. We came away with a much better understanding of the people and history of this beautiful island.
Our favourite attraction was the Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Gardens in the North. Our least was the market in Port Louis but we were told there is another up North that is better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter and the view is better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Cheng, Owner at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 05 Jun 2022
Dear Kim C, Thank you for the lovely feedback. Your kind words are passed on to the Team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Andrew Senior Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin Bell wrote a review Mar 2020
Plaine Magnien
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a short journey from the airport we arrived at the Intercontinental Hotel and we were warmly greeted with a complimentary cocktail in their superb vaulted reception area.
We were escorted to our room and given a tour and shown how to use the safe. All rooms have a great sea, beach facing vista and we could also view the sea from the bed! The room decor was a little dated but overall the facilities and particularly the bed were excellent and serviced daily.
The swimming pools were very good although we tended too use the smaller pool which was a little quieter than the very good main pool.
The food and restaurants are excellent. We loved the Indian ‘Vega’ restaurant and liked to dine as the sun went down as there was a large bird roost and it added to it’s charm along with the excellent service and food. The Asian ‘Noble’ restaurant has a great sea front location similarly with excellent food and service. We tended to dine at dusk and would often see the rare enormous bats flying over.
We used the Vega and Noble restaurants often although we were very impressed by the variety and quality of the main buffet restaurant. We used the delightful ‘Segala’ restaurant for breakfast most days and I would recommend the eggs Benedict!
The evening entertainment was ok with a mix of vocalists, dancers and a fire breather.
I used the hotel’s very good water sport facilities superbly managed by Warren. Even with a knee ligament issue and some great coaching by Warren, along with a patient speedboat driver, I was over the moon at getting up and water skiing on my final day.
There were other free water activities and would recommend the short snorkelling trip and take some bread rolls with you from the buffet as the tropical fish love them!
The intercontinental staff were all amazing we were particularly well looked after at the smaller pool by Aza who made every effort to make sure we were ok. Aza gave us excellent service every day with a genuine lovely smile and really made the difference to a great stay! Thank you Aza!!
We received truly memorable service from many, from Veenusha who made our restaurant bookings to the beautifully dressed Vega young lady who greeted and welcomed us on each visit.
Thank you to all of the Intercontinental team!
Having visited Mauritius last year we didn’t do many trips on this occasion although I would recommend a trip to the Pamplemousses gardens and the markets of Port Louis.

I would highly recommend Mauritius and particularly the Intercontinental hotel. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IC_Mauritius1, Director of Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crystal S wrote a review Mar 2022
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful hotel with all the amenities. Great food and spotless.

We stayed for ten nights during March on an all inclusive basis. The Indian Restaurant was closed and under reconstruction (Veda) however, the al la carte menu was still available in the Senso restaurant (the buffet). We felt like ten nights were just right because we were a little bored after this length of time with the food options. The food we had was lovely in all restaurants though, even the buffet.
We loved the chilled vibe about the place and how spotless it was. The housekeeping team were very attentive. We also thought the snorkelling was brilliant off the beach at the hotel.
We took advantage of the daily snorkel trips with Warren and his team and loved them too!
Kevin was a great help at a few points in our holiday. He was able to secure late checkout which was needed with a late flight and also setting up a tv for us to watch the England rugby game in a private room.
Overall we loved the place, the staff across the complex were lovely and friendly. We also liked the location because it was a twenty minute taxi into Port Louis and we also did the dolphin trip on a speed boat. West coast is the place to see dolphins.
A taxi to Port Louis and back worked out about £32. We only stayed a couple of hours but enjoyed a little walk around the capital.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We booked our dolphin trip with Warren at the boat house rather than with the hotel and saved £80.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Cheng, Owner at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Dear Tripperslates Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Veda restaurant is set to re-open on the 6th April. Your nice words are passed on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Andrew Senior Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
53sandeepk wrote a review Nov 2021
Melbourne, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Customer service was mediocre. Management discriminates between locals and tourists. When tourists came, they were welcomed, offered a towel to wipe their face and hand, offered cocktails, and were escorted to their room with their luggage. I was not even offered a towel. I had to carry my luggage from reception to the room.
There was no locker in the room, so I had to carry all valuables with me at all time.
Very disorganised and poor communication by Management. Not even informed about facilities available.

Booked a specific spa session well in advance, however spa didn't even know which package we booked.

But the spa session was good, felt very relaxed after the massage and facial.

Food also was good, requested a birthday cake, and it was already organised by the kitchen team.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manesha Gokhool, Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 02 Dec 2021
Dear 53sandeepk, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as you expected and that you felt discriminated. We always treat all our valued customers equally, but do apologies if the circumstances made you feel let down. Cold towels are not given anymore to our guests on arrival as per the new COVID protocols in resort. However, due to the exigencies of an incentive group checking-in on the same day, the organiser requested the hotel to provide cold towels exceptionally. Upon check-in, all guests are accompanied to their room by our Front Desk team member and hotel information is given on the way. Luggage is taken from guests from transfer and is dropped in guests' room by our Concierge team. We sincerely apologies for all the inconveniences caused during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our resort next time so as to have the chance to remedy on services shortcomings. Best regards, Manesha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nfloyd58 wrote a review Nov 2021
Darlington, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As everyone else has said,the staff here are hard working and helpful.Special award for AZA who took care of us at the South pool and on the beach.Also Brian,"Qui manyer"! Ben and Apadoo.
We had a really great holiday at Intercontinental apart from a couple of things,hence only 4 stars.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed and appointed.We had room 1604,ground floor garden room with a fabulous view of the beach and sea,which was a joy every morning.We loved the bed,so large with good linen and tons of pillows,so comfortable.The room was possibly the best we ever had on any holiday.Super bath and shower/towels and cleaning.Food at the buffet and Segalla was excellent,with masses of choice.We had a wonderful,romantic dinner by the beach there.Just a shame the other 2 restaurants weren't open for different surroundings.The beach areas and 2 pools(quieter South pool away from Sugar Cane bar)are very clean,Not many people seemed to swim in the sea but it's very safe and calm and you don't need to snorkel far out to see some of the tropical fish.The hotel is nicely situated for nearby Mon Choisy or Trou aux Biche public beaches a short taxi ride away but highly recommended.
Ok,so to the niggles that spoiled the holiday somewhat.
Firstly,is it absolutely necessary to do the nasal Covid test as soon as one arrives?We had a 25 hour journey with no sleep only to have this 5 minutes after arriving.
Entertainment the first week was very dull and old fashioned.
One morning we left our sunbed for breakfast only to return to find a couple had taken them which took almost 3 hours to resolve, ruining the day.On our last full day the SAME thing happened again reducing my wife to tearsMight we suggest the hotel gets more sunbeds as this has never happened before on any holiday we ever had.
Lastly,the drinks.Why serve up such a poor selection of spirits and wines that do not match,in any way,the quality of food served in the restaurants?Imagine our surprise also when my wife and I were refused a bottle of house all inclusive wine, only to be told we had to order by the,half filled,glass,repeatedly.We like to have wine whilst watching the sunset from our room or getting ready for dinner but unless you want to be charged 1200 mr to have the all inclusive wine via room service you're expected to go backwards and forwards to Sugar Cane.
I really don't like to complain but just ever so slightly disappointed the stay at Intercontinental wasn't 100% relaxation as it's all there(maybe an ATM needed?),staff,hotel,beach.Some managerial penny pinching looks a bit obvious and spoils the ship for a "ha'porth of tar"
Thanks again to all the staff,Respect.Ki.Manyer xx
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: garden room .beach view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manesha Gokhool, Sales at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear Guest nfloyd58, On behalf of InterContinental Mauritius Team, we wish to THANK YOU for taking the time to share your experiences on this platform. We also apologies for not replying back earlier. We are glad to know that you had a nice time at the hotel. We have also paid special attention to your reviews and your recommendations on service and drinks; we will do utmost to enhance them, wherever possible. We apologies for inconveniences caused, regarding sunbeds; they are actually available in resort but we had to spread them in different areas to abide to social distancing protocol put in place due to prevailing situation. We really hope that your next visit at our hotel is going to be a much better one. The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back for an even better holiday at InterContinental Mauritius! :) Best regards, Manesha Gokhool Senior Sales Manager InterContinental Mauritius Balaclava Fort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenn S wrote a review Apr 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend this resort out of season only. My wife and I stayed for a 2 week luxury getaway in April, our first week was before the annual Easter getaway.

The first 2-3 days was low occupancy and was pure indulgence, we were welcomed and treated as 5 star guests that did pay and expected a 5 star service.

Unfortunately as the days went passed the hotel became busier with guests to the point where the hotel and its staff were overwhelmed and customer service and basic service was non-existent, something like a 3 star hotel.

This was particularly evident in the bar areas where it got to the point where it took over 30 minutes to be served which was rushed and very impersonal. They regularly ran out of glasses, but this was overcome by hand rinsing dirty used glasses in cold water and your drink served in these!

The restaurant service and food was good/great however this was sometimes hit and miss during busier periods.

To compound their staffing issues the hotel regularly held functions/conferences to external companies, this appeared to take precedence over paying holiday guests, many guests complained of this.

If this was not enough additional workload for the staff, the hotel during our stay decided to rent part of the advertised beach and pool area for a Bollywood film production for 3 days. We were told of this interruption to our holiday the night before the filming started and the letter received by us in our room suggested we should be fortunate and if it was a bonus to our holiday, again guests complained.

The hotel overall is very well appointed with luxury fittings and furniture, the guest rooms you will probably find hard to beat with the best bathroom and shower water pressure I have experienced.

The only downside to the rooms was the TV working intermittently and the interrupted sleep due to poor soundproofing from adjoining guest rooms, again many guests complained.

The beach area is OK but not as per advertised paradise, the sea bed reminded me over the bottom of a dirty river, lack of sunbeds, no beach waiter service as advertised after day 4 as hotel busy, dead coral everywhere, beach shoes advised.

In summary nice hotel, most staff welcoming, location could be better, customer service needs a lot of improving, overpriced for experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Extra cost for full sea view not worth it, but a nice add on.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Cheng, Owner at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Responded 04 May 2022
Dear 458glenns, Thank you for the feedback, we value your comments. The experience you had is definitely not our usual one and your words are passed on to the Team for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so as you may experience the True Hospitality. Best Regards, Andrew, Senior Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RC asked a question Mar 2024
United Kingdom12 contributions14 helpful votes
Is it best to tip staff in local currency or USD? Thank you.
Answer from molly
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia32 contributions1 helpful vote
Depends maybe how much you wanna tip them. If it’s just little or an “ok” amount I guess better to give them the local currency. I changed local money there especially only for tipping
Answer from markandsian
Chester, United Kingdom190 contributions151 helpful votes
They do have twin beds but the default, I think, is king. Their website has them.
JKP091 asked a question Jan 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi. How far is the resort from any local shops or town please?
Answer from nono B
2 contributions
Not too much ,in the hotel they are many restaurants and the prices are not too high , including drinks .when ever you need water just call housekeeping
DIPANKAR D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Kolkata (Calcutta), India1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spabit expensive ....needs one more jacuzzi to avoid crowdness"
Read full review
Lav Smy wrote a tip Jun 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom25 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do book your dinners at the À la carte Restaurants in advance as they don't always have free spaces. "
Read full review
Maram Suliman wrote a tip Jun 2024
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be mindful of the location, you will need car to drive u in and out the hotel, Rocky Beach"
Read full review
Abhishek N wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better get a rent a car is nothing is in the vicinity of the hotel and taxi is super super expensive. "
Read full review
Harun K wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Balaclava area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,711 - R 5,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental mauritius resort, balaclava fort hotel balaclava, intercontinental hotel mauritius, intercontinental hotel balaclava
LOCATION
MauritiusPamplemousses DistrictBalaclava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL RESORT MAURITIUS, AN IHG HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Balaclava)

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Balaclava Public Beach (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kangan Indian Restaurant, Mystique the Westin Turtle Bay Resort and Spa, and Noble House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at InterContinental Resort Mauritius, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Balaclava HotelsBalaclava Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Balaclava
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire