Solymar Soma Beach

Solymar Soma Beach

Traveller (3578)
Guest room
Room & Suite (122)
Darren
Pool & Beach (121)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#2 of 13 hotels in Soma Bay
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Solymar Soma Beach Resort offers a charming experience with its all-inclusive four-star accommodation, unique strategic location on one of Egypt’s widest stretches of white sandy beaches, and only 45 km away from Hurghada International Airport. The hotel is ideally centralized as it is only 10 minute-drive from Safaga city center and 49 minute-drive from Hurghada city center.

Solymar Soma Beach will be rebranded as Iberotel Soma Beach, effective October 1st, 2024. The hotel would be upgrading its service standards and amenities in line with the new brand and looks forward to welcoming its guest for a refreshed and elevated experience for an unforgettable stay.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Parking
Fitness classes
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Waterslide
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Spa
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 1 more
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,940 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Solymar Soma Beach hotel receives accolades for its spotless cleanliness and impeccable service, with staff members garnering praise for creating memorable experiences. While its beachfront location offers stunning views and easy city access, families with young children might find it somewhat isolated. The hotel's atmosphere is noted for being engaging, with lively entertainment. Amenities such as pools and beach service add to the hotel's appeal, despite some opinions that rooms could benefit from modernization and better Wi-Fi. Opinions on value are divided, as some guests find the costs reasonable, while others are put off by pricey shops and underwhelming food quality.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,940Review225Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,774
  • 95
  • 53
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mariam A wrote a review May 2021
Cairo, Egypt
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were treated like royals since we set foot at the hotel, front office team were ideal and provided a solid introduction and useful information. The reception is newly renovated with modern and elegant furniture. It’s not disturbingly luxurious but classy, comfortable and pleasant to the eyes.

Hotel is recently opened, so room is sparkling clean and everything literally is out of its package. Shiny bedding and towels, minimally designed furniture, everything is bright and screamed “High quality”. Housekeeping is impeccable, nothing you ask is too much for them.

We travel at least 4 times per year and mostly spend our vacation at 5 stars hotels, but hospitality here is something else. No fake smiles nor invasive attitude only honest and personal service, the perfect combination of friendliness and professionalism.

Restaurants are spacious and colorful. Food, is top notch. Normally you get what you pay for, but we felt that value for money here is greater than what we actually paid. The executive chef, Mohamed Azab is a true artist, always wandering and checking if everything is alright and if we had any comments.

The beach is crystal clear, soft sand and quite shallow; perfect for young children and lazy swimmers. There is no coral reef near by but we have seen a huge lion fish, many moray eels and a squad of colorful squids just at the beach entrance and an enormous turtle by the pier (right side of the hotel). It’s worth mentioning that we have been to most hotels in Soma bay and we preferred this one due to the clear water, privacy/low number of guests; no sea grass like the Kempinski, not overcrowded like Palm Royal and no need to ride a shuttle bus in order to use the beach like The Westin (now known as Cascades).

The staff are all helpful and caring with no exception but I would like to praise in particular Mahmoud, the brilliant young man who brought our beverages and made our time at the beach a pleasant experience and Mohamed, the best host at the restaurant. Not to mention Mo Salah the Egyptian King of animation.
What made our experience really special is the true champion of the hotel, Mr. Hamada Awad the F&B manager that deserves a medal for his grace and generosity. We have never seen a manager that cares for his guests as much as this gentleman does.
This hotel is by far our favorite and we intend to make it our destination for next holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your snorkeling gear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Ezzat, Guest Services / Front Office at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 09 May 2021
Dear Ms. Mariam, We would like to thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Solymar Soma Beach. We shared your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback served as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back soon in Solymar Soma Beach Sincerely, Hany Elalfy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephen c wrote a review Mar 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just got back from a 3 week stay at the Solymar Soma Beach and while we were away we missed 3 storms. We've never spent 3 weeks in a hotel before and I was quite concerned it might get boring but it wasn't.
This hotel is probably the best of its type we've stayed in.
Rooms: We had booked a deluxe room and requested a double bed, it was a huge room in the main building with a lovely balcony, with a Super KIng a nd a settee House keeping was excellent, fresh fruit on arrival and bottles of water every day. There is a fridge in the room to keep the water in
The hotel is spotless and the cleaners and gardeners never stop cleaning.You can see the effort going into the gardens and it really looks lovely.
The pools are excellent and the small pool is heated, and the childrens are in the pool looks great fun.
The beach is lovely with hard packed sand down to about 5 m from the water when the sand becomes soft and slopes into the sea, so very good for children. We took snorkelling gear and there are 6 or 7 different types of fish but not many of them.A trip to the reef is better but its quite small, and the island is at the moment a building site.There are 2 lifeguards who also shift the beds and put the towels out. Lovely guys and very cheerful. There are a few vendors (spa,boat ride,quads, photos, haircuts) who home in on new arrivals but a firm No does the trick and they leave you alone.
Animation team are great fun and there are activities every day. My only problem was that the music is incredibly loud and we found it a bit wearing but if you sit as far away as possible it is ok.
The guys from the beach bar walk up and down all day and keep you supplied with water, coffee and booze.
The food at the hotel is very good. Breakfast is pretty simple-no Full English. Lots of fresh fruit,pastries,cold meats and freshly cooked omelettes,scramble,fried eggs and hot waffles
My favourite meal is lunch at the beach restaurant. There is a bbq for steak,chicken,fish,crabs and kofta and pizza oven outside. Good choice of salads and other hot food.
Dinner is really good with lots of choice. We had an ongoing battle to get rare or medium beef as it is generally well done, The prawns and fish were excellent, There is also a pasta station and choice of about 5 or 6 mains. There are 2 a la carte, which you need to book as they only do 2 night each. They were both ok with a good choice but to be honest not much better than the restaurants and because it was quiet they did lack a bit of atmosphere.
The real stars of this hotel are the staff, who are the most friendly and helpful I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble and they are asking all the time if their is anything they can do.
As for negatives. Not much really. The entertainment is very loud and we were not far away, but it stops at 11pm every night.
We had a really fantastic break and we will probably go back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: block 6 or 7 for quiet room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hany Elalfy, Owner at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 11 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Solymar Soma Beach to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. Best Regards General Manager Hany Elalfy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Irina Paunic wrote a review Aug 2021
Belgrade, Serbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Solymar is best hotel ever, with best service and staff! Animation team has been great, we love them! They have program all the time at the beach and pool, darts, aquagym, boccia, zumba, belly dance, and in the evening they have shows like tombola, magic show, african, brazilian, belly dancing, chicago dance… Room was great, hygiene everywhere is at the high level. Food was extraordinary, you can find any sorts of vegetables, meat, fruits, deserts, sea food and drinks. I recommended this hotel to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hany Elalfy, General Manager at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Irina, We would like to thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Solymar + Soma Beach. We shared your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback served as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back soon in Solymar + Soma Beach Sincerely, Hany Elalfy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marija Vukovic wrote a review May 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in wonderful Soma bay, 45 km from Hurgada. If you don’t like crowds and noise, it is a perfect choice for a relaxing holiday! Our apartment was new and spacious (about 50 m2) with a beautiful view of the garden and pools. The beds are very comfortable and large. The apartment is equipped with a minibar to cool water and a kettle for making coffee and tea. Beach is magnificent with a bar and a restaurant. You could take part in many activities on the beach like aerobic in the water, stretching, bocce game, water polo in the pool or interesting programs during the night in the amphitheater! Service is excellent, all people are trying hard to please you during the whole day! Food is very good, tasty and they make everything on site just for you to be fresh and warm! During the whole day, you could enjoy the beautiful sea, beach, drinking and eating without thinking about anything else! It is also possible to dive, go on some excursions, and kite sailing in Soma bay. We are really satisfied with the Solymar Soma beach hotel, mainly because of the kind staff, delicious food, beautiful beach, and new facilities! We would definitely come back. We would also like to give special thanks to the receptionist Islam Baraket who gave us the room, Russian girl Luba who helped us a lot with all the questions we had, fantastic members of the animation team (Mo and Cola), waiters in the restaurants and bars (Mohamed), as well as our room cleaners!
Regards from Marija and Nebojsa from Serbia
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Philip Ezzat, Guest Services / Front Office at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 21 May 2021
Dear our Valued Guest, We would like to thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Solymar + Soma Beach. We shared your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback served as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back soon in Solymar + Soma Beach Sincerely, Hany Elalfy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jfr3 wrote a review Mar 2023
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from having a really good week of winter sun at the Solymar Soma Beach and fully agree with other TA reviewers that the staff there are exceptional, probably the best we have ever encountered. In particular Mustafa the head chef who will arrange for those with allergies and food intolerances to have meals individually prepared to avoid possible cross contamination at the buffet. When we told him we didn't do breakfast he sent a bowl of fruit to our room without being asked.
The hotel is miles from anywhere but has all you need, even a few proper shops. If you want a hotel near a prom or town to walk around it is not for you, Hurghada is a 30 USD 45 minute trip, we only went there once and that was for a snorkelling excursion which was fun.
The hotel rooms are in 3/4 story blocks with lifts, arranged along the sides of the huge swimming pools and well maintained gardens. Our room was very large, clean and well maintained. The food is good and plentiful as are the drinks. I found the red wine served in the upstairs bar not to my taste so took wine from the ground floor bar up there to drink as it was far better. The waiter told me that the wines were different and again, without being asked, started bring glasses of down stairs red to our table on the loverly veranda.
The site and it's beach are fairly compact and I can imagine it being a bit cosy in peek school holiday times,Great when we were there it was about 35% full and absolute bliss.
Have never been to Egypt before, and this trip was based on weather, TA reviews and TUi doing some really good last minute deals , will probably be back next winter based on this experience.
A couple of tips for you;
at the airport buy your 25$ visa from the bank desk on the right as you approach pass port control, the other " official looking ones" will charge 30$ pp for the same thing.
Take plenty of single $ bills, this will enable you to give modest tips should you wish, coins are no good for the locals.
When leaving, at the airport, have a pen about you and fill in the little form check in give you before you reach passport control, it will save you a good deal of time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Morsi Ali, Other at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Dear guest Thank you very much for choosing the Solymar Soma Beach for your holiday and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's great to see that you spent a relaxing holiday with us and that you really liked our entire hotel complex. We are happy to share your positive feedback with all colleagues. Your positive feedback is a real motivation for all of us, as we always try to make our guests have a wonderful holiday, so we are proud to see that you have succeeded. The entire team would be very happy if we could welcome you again. Kind regards, Your Guest Relations Solymar Soma Beach
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela G wrote a review Mar 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I write this review whilst sitting on the beach on our last day. The hotel has many positives
Amr at his beach bar, greeted us with a smile, a fresh coffee and a bottle of water every morning. We were then looked after by Shady and Tarek who kept the drinks flowing throughout the day, give the spiced G&T a go they are lovely.
The grounds, beach and pool areas are beautiful and well maintained, not a piece of rubbish or empty water bottle anywhere to be seen. The restaurants are spotless and high levels of hygiene were witnessed. The food was good especially the bbq food from the grill at the outdoor beach restaurant. The head chefs are always on duty and if you have any dietary needs please just mention to them and they work hard to ensure they cater for your needs.
Rahim from customer relations came round daily checking everything was ok and no request was too much work for him. He really does want you to have the best time whilst here. The animation team are fab, they ask each day if you want to join in on their activities program but if not they don’t pestered you. Their dance shows in the evening are so good, their Michael Jackson show is a must and if it was in England I’d happily pay to see it.
Negatives - The bathrooms are dated and could do with updating to the same standard as the rooms. The food in the oriental a la carte restaurant does not match up to the Italian a la carte which is lovely

Suggestions : Adults only section on the beach would be great.
More info on the hotel Facebook page of what to expect in advance of arriving including email addresses as they are hard to find if you want to contact hotel before you arrive.
Pizza’s brought round in afternoon for snacks
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elsayed Magdy, Other at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Solymar Soma Beach to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. Best Regards General Manager Hany Elalfy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie wrote a review Mar 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food at Solymar was really good, there was lots of choice and a variety of hot and cold available. My favourite food was from the grill near the beach 😋

Big shout-out to Amr and Ahmed at the beach bar, they were always on hand to bring another tasty cocktail and always with a smile 😁

The cleaner did a good job of keeping our room clean and keeping us stocked up with water and towels. Also was on hand within seconds when our room key stopped working and we were in a panic!!

One thing which we did find annoying was the number of people trying to sell us excursions and massages while we were trying to relax on the beach. Eventually, after saying no repeatedly and then complaining to hotel staff, it eased off by our second to last day!

Vast majority of staff at Solymar are lovely and friendly and happy to help. We did have a problem with one member of staff but overall it was a great holiday! 😎
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elsayed Magdy, Other at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Solymar Soma Beach to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. Best Regards General Manager Hany Elalfy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jelena M wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly, I don’t know how this hotel got so many positive reviews. Couple of points:
1. The service is very average. When they say at the reception that they will send a colleague to your room right away, that means that you have to wait for at least 30 minutes. We also had situations that no one showed up at all.
2. The beach is very dissapointing. It is just too small for the number of guests staying at the hotel. This means that you literally have to fight for sunbeds and umbrellas! And if you go for lunch, it is highly likely that the beach staff will give your place to another guest, even though you left towels on sunbeds. This creates confusion and very unpleasant conflicts among guests. The staff do not handle these situations at all and they let people fight among themselves. We visited Eqyot many times and never had to deal with this situation anywhere but in this hotel!
3. If your room is close to the evening entertainment area you will go crazy from all the noise! The plateau for the entertainment is very small and there’s really no need for such loud sound system. There is simply no way that you would be able to do anything else (let alone sleep) until the show is over, which usually happens around midnight. Given that you have to get up super early to get a sunbed (for the reasons described above), the situation is less than ideal.
4. The hotel is advertised as new. This is highy questionable. The rooms are clean but definitely not new.

On the good side, the food is good and tasty. They offer variety of well prepared dishes.

In my view, the biggest disadvantages are the situation with sunbeds and umbrellas on the tiny beach, and disturbingly loud evening entertainment.
Not ideal hotel for people looking to relax and have some peace and quiet diring their vaccation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hany Elalfy, General Manager at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Coastal578055, First of all we would like to thank you that you find time to share your vacation experience. We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests. We are sorry about your bad experience in the hotel. All your comments were transferred to the head departments. We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at Solymar Soma Beach and wish you all the best! Sunny regards, Solymar Soma Beach
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin C wrote a review Nov 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Solymar in October and cannot understand all the 5 star reviews on trip advisor.

I have stayed in many hotels in Egypt over the last 10 years and can only rate this hotel as very average.

The good points
Hamed the cleaner in block 5 is a credit to the hotel. He always did an excellent job during our stay, if we needed anything during our stay he was always on hand to ensure our needs were met.

Sunbeds around the pools were well spaced out and there were beds available every day, so no need to get up early to reserve a sunbed.

Evening entertainment in the amphitheater was always entertaining and I must say it’s probably the best evening entertainment we have seen in Egypt.

Bad points
The hotel claims it has recently undergone a total refurbishment. My experience was that whilst the rooms may have had lick of paint the toilet and bathroom areas in the room were very dated with dirty grout lines and mouldy sealant in the shower area. Showers are also no more than a drip and we’re sometimes cold. This room was advertised by TUi as a superior room.

Service in the restaurants, pool area and terrace bar was very slow and when we did get drinks etc 90% of the time they were wrong. The waiters always apologised and said they would sort it out but most of the time they never came back.
On the occasions when they did get it right they forgot where we were sitting, so we ended up standing and waving to get our drinks.

They hire out electric cars and scooters for the children near the terrace bar in the evening which is a good idea but one evening a child lost control and crashed into a table that people were sat at knocking drinks and chairs everywhere. The 2 ladies who were sat there were lucky not to get injured.

The beach area gets very busy, this was not a problem for me as I’m not a beach fan, but if you are you will need to get up very early to get a bed.

A La Carte restaurants are average at best and I would say don’t waste your time booking them, you will probably get a better selection in the buffet restaurants.

Whilst all the hotel staff are very attentive and are always asking if everything is ok, my experience was that this is all lip service. An example of this was on our 1st day the safe was faulty, I reported this to both reception and guest relations who said to wait in the room and someone would come immediately. I was there for 11/2 hours continually ringing reception for and update and continually being told it would be 5 mins. In the end our cleaner Hamed sorted this out.

All in all a very disappointing experience when the reviews seem to be very positive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hany Elalfy, Owner at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Solymar Soma Beach for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery. We do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, General Manager Hany Elalfy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry_HoundEngland wrote a review Feb 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot thank this hotel enough for a fantastic holiday. It is an amazing hotel and staff at the hotel are brilliant. It is in a peaceful location approx. 40 minutes from the airport, if you are looking for a quiet holiday, this will be a perfect location.

Reception Helpful and polite, very clean and pleasant reception area 10/10

Bars Good Service, Excellent staff and good quality drinks 10/10

Restaurants

Food is amazing with everything you could ever want, if it’s not on the menu, ask one of the brilliant chef’s and they will cook something for you. They are just amazing. The A la Carte restaurants are fabulous, please make sure you use them, they have an Italian and Oriental one which we tried and were extremely pleased. An extra special mention to Mostafa the Sous-Chef for his sense of humour and kindness shown, a lovely individual who is amazing at his job. 10/10

Rooms
Very acceptable indeed, everything you want and need is supplied. The bathrooms are slightly dated but very acceptable. Tea and Coffee are supplied and replenished once used. The cleaners did an amazing job every day, the towel art is 1st class. You even get your pool towels delivered fresh every day. We were in Block 7 nearest to the beach which suited us perfectly as it was away from the night time entertainment. Blocks, 1, 2 and 3 are nearest to reception and all of the shops, entertainment etc. 9/10

Swimming Pool Area and Pool Bar
We were at the hotel late January, Early February and it was extremely quiet by the pool so no fighting for sunbeds. The pool bar and staff are very efficient and replenished drinks on a regular basis. 10/10

Beach
Plenty of sunbeds available throughout the beach. Sunbed’s and umbrellas are of good quality. The staff that serve drinks on the beach deserve a mention as they really are brilliant. Always had a smile and very accommodating. 10/10

Entertainment/Animation Team
Cannot really comment oi this as we did not join in with daytime or evening entertainment. The team seemed pleasant although I would like to say it was the same daytime entertainment every day so was quite repetitive. N/A Did not partake

Other non-related hotel Comments.
Weather was lovely and warm in the daytime although it really was quite cold at night, you will need a jacket or a minimum of a warm fleece.
When buying a visa from the airport, DO NOT use the TUI desk. To the right of the desk is a bank of 3 green visa booths, they are cheaper to purchase from.
No TUI rep is based on site although if you have a problem, they have a telephone line and the reception staff at the hotel are brilliant at helping out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want a quiet holiday, block 7 is the furthest away from the evening entertainment and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hany Elalfy, Owner at Solymar Soma Beach
Responded 10 Feb 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Solymar Soma Beach to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. Best Regards General Manager Hany Elalfy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan asked a question 23 Jul
Swadlincote, United Kingdom24 contributions29 helpful votes
What beers do they have at the bars, if someone can list both all-inclusive beer and paid beer
xxTr4vll3rxx asked a question 14 Jul
London, United Kingdom88 contributions67 helpful votes
How many rooms does this hotel have?
Answer from tanyabennett2018
Ilkeston, United Kingdom22 contributions13 helpful votes
Not sure on exact room numbers but it has 8 blocks across the complex
Answer from tanyabennett2018
Ilkeston, United Kingdom22 contributions13 helpful votes
The bottled water is changed daily by housekeeping, according to our TUI rep it is all processed through a filter system. You can ask at reception for water as often as required
Answer from Tripp Loso
Epsom, United Kingdom123 contributions32 helpful votes
Well, as it is all inclusive, I am sure they wouldn't object. try it and see.
Mohamed S wrote a tip 12 Jul
Bathgate, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the medical clinic. Avoid the bottle water in room.be careful with what you eat."
Read full review
susan w wrote a tip 11 Jul
9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach gets quite busy. Beach restaurant is very hot to eat in "
Read full review
amy g wrote a tip 08 Jul
Manchester, United Kingdom11 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need to be an early riser to get a sunbed. Always haggle the price of things."
Read full review
Nermine S wrote a tip 05 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Was good time and hope we can do it again"
Read full review
Josh Z wrote a tip 04 Jul
12 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Clean , safe , best service , family vibe , young vibrant , hands down best hotel in hurghada area "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Soma Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,277 - R 3,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EgyptRed Sea and SinaiSoma Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
433
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOLYMAR SOMA BEACH - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Soma Bay, Egypt)

Frequently Asked Questions about Solymar Soma Beach
What are some of the property amenities at Solymar Soma Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Solymar Soma Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Solymar Soma Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Solymar Soma Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Solymar Soma Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Solymar Soma Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, Solymar Soma Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solymar Soma Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Solymar Soma Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Arabic.
Is Solymar Soma Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Soma Bay HotelsSoma Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Soma BayHotels near Solymar Soma Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire