We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clifftop Lodge

Booking.comUS$283*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Clifftop Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Start your review of Clifftop Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excelllent service. Excellent food and well chosen, alternatives are offered in general and for food allergy. More value for your money. Staff is very friendly. Rooms give a lot of privacy and are luxary.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank willemjanvana
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the most beautiful places we have ever visited! The views, décor, spacious rooms, hospitality, food, wine, effort .... The lodge is a must see!! Loved everything from arrival to departure. Ursula well done it surely was an amazing experience. Will be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liezl V
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liezl V - Wow - thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and energy with us in your review of Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Clifftop and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was well below average, especially lunch. We were very disappointed considering all the reviews on Trip Advisor. Additionally, on bookings.com we could only book for one room but had to pay more because the system does not allow for me to increase the booking to two people. The lodge and view is spectacular, but the food was something...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve d
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steve d - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the meals during your stay, and we'd like to apologise for this aspect of your Clifftop experience not meeting your expectations. As you mentioned, we usually get very positive feedback on the Clifftop dining experience but...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to the lodge for 30th Birthday.. This Lodge is anything but 5-Star- definitely a 3-Star-Rating- not sure who gives the 5-Star Rating-probably the owners of Clifftop. Food- was not great at all- presentation of food- abysmal. Overall hospitality- could use some more training in '5-Star Hospitality'. Accommodation was comfortable-nice views. However, that's the only aspect that was decent. Rates-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear clsparke - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're very disappointed to hear that you didn't especially enjoy your stay, and we'd like to take this opportunity to apologise for those aspects of your stay where it seems we departed from our usual very high standards. Also we'd like to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have a great time here, from the moment we arrived the service was world class. The rooms have a truly magnificent view of the valley and the animals, and are as quiet as one could hope for. The food really was a welcome addition, I did not expect much from the food, or maybe I did not give it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonoPer
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JonoPer - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Clifftop team took such good care of you.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

I just got back from a 3 night stay at Clifftop and all I can say is wow! I have stayed at many fine places around the world(Four Seasons, etc) and this place for the money was outstanding! The physical product was great and staff were excellent!!! The F&B was great too - delicious!! Our guide Stephen was awesome and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant F
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grant F - Thank you for taking the time to review your Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway experience. We're delighted to hear to how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that the Clifftop team took such good care of you. Thank you too for recommending Clifftop to future travellers - we're honoured.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Staying here for a few nights was an escape from reality. Everything was taken care of at the Lodge and it was a great opportunity to switch off and enjoy the bush. The Lodge is set a top a very steep hill but allows for excellent views. Accordingly, it is unlike the usual bush lodges. The staff were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q-Raisha
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Q-Raisha - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and honoured that you would recommend Clifftop to future travellers - thank you. We also appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you felt we could improve, and we'll...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Wow, what can I say? We had 4 short days at Clifftop but wish we could stay forever! Ursula, Larrie, Hope, Robert and staff all made us feel like royalty in comfort and style in a spectacular setting! Oh, and not to forget the twice daily drives with Larrie and sightings of Lion, Elephant, Giraffe, Cheetah, Rhino and Hippo....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikidick
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rikidick - Thank you for posting your review of Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that the Clifftop team took such good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clifftop soon!

Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a place one can relax and enjoy. So beautiful and dreamy, your very own private bungalow with your own swimming pool and outside shower!!! game drives with breakfast in the bush and lunch and supper was chilling with people from all over the world with great food and drinks. loved loved loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fazelab
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fazela B - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we hope that now you've discovered Clifftop, you'll visit again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband booked this lodge for 2 nights as a surprise and I was not disappointed ! The views are breathtaking, the food was some of the best we have had compared to other lodges we have stayed at. Our Butler(s) could not do enough for us and Ursula made you feel as though nothing was too much trouble. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joeybum
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Joeybum - Thank you for sharing your memories of your surprise Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway visit. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and it's great to hear that you're already planning to return!

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
17.2 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
185 reviews
6.0 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
140 reviews
11.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Jamila Game Lodge cc
Jamila Game Lodge cc
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
103 reviews
10.4 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
381 reviews
17.3 km away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#7 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: R3 460 - R9 604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifftop Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clifftop Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are STUNNING”
, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Simple: Don't book at this place”
16candices, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“all is good rooms”
fazelab, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 - The best views”
Joeybum, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not necessary- all of them have breathtaking nice views.”
Wiebeck, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$283* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$725
TripAdvisorUS$283
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates