We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Save
Traveller (461)
Room & Suite (109)
Pool & Beach (59)
Ratings and reviews
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“sunset cruise”(33 reviews)
“family holiday”(51 reviews)
“wild coast”(84 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Suites
Poolside Bar
Fitness centre
Spa
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
4 Star Hotel
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
I, Port St Johns, South Africa
64,3 km to Umtata Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1 126)
There are newer reviews for Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1 082 results
Traveller rating
799
212
54
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
799
212
54
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruisefamily holidaywild coastseafood buffetoutdoor showerfish eaglesdining roomriver bungalowscreative cornerout of this worldkids activitieswine listsea facingour honeymoonyoung childrenwhole familysaturday night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 011 - 1 015 of 1 082 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a lovely setting for a getaway! Especially for a family, if you have kids and you want to get them away from the hustle and bustle then this is the place! It really is beautiful on looking the river and with a short walk...More

Thank Lauren L
Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you for your kind review, we don't mind these kind of reviews no matter the time delay! It was great to read you enjoyed Umngazi and all its natural beauty. You did mention some communication and language difficulties, but as I...More

Reviewed 4 June 2013

This place never ceases to amaze me. The surroundings, the incredible value and don't forget the spa. I work with hotels on a daily basis and I can honestly say that this place is one of the best run establishments I've ever come across. Its...More

Thank MarkAllewell
Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for this incredible review it is great to read that your holiday was everything that you deserved it to be. I have passed on your description to the chef as well, I enjoyed it! We look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 June 2013

As a " old salt" with over 50 visits to Umngazi over 35 years covering family visits, business weekends and a very special anniversary week with that truly memorable flight along one of the worlds most spectacular coast lines I can only marvel at the...More

1  Thank Bobby H
Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Bobby, I know these reviews are meant to be annonymous but it would be impossible for me not to know who you are. So this is just to say thank you for your ongoing support of us here at Umngazi and we to look...More

Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked the fly-in package from Virginia airport in Durban, where we experienced a fantastic and friendly service, also when we landed on a gravel road on top of a mountain we were welcomed by fresh croissants and coffee - life was good! Unfortunately the...More

2  Thank thandiblu
Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your review, your comments and feedback are important to us. My sincere apologies with regards to your arrival and welcome, this is not our standard and will be addressed with the relevant person who checked you in....More

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were lucky enough to spend 5 nights at Umngazi for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Nthabeni Suite which was excellent! Our uninterrupted view of the ocean and the river mouth was beautiful. The room was neat, spacious and clean. The deck was awesome,...More

Thank Polly K
Response from GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & SpaResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Polly, Thank you so much for this very kind review, it was wonderful to read that we had made your Honeymoon the memorable time that it should be! I will of course address the areas of concern that you have mentioned as well. I...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Babysitting
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (461)
Room & Suite (109)
Pool & Beach (59)
Dining (33)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
meganflanders
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GeneralManager81 | Property representative |
Hi Megan, although we haven't had any problems over Season I know that there have been many cases of Gastro reported in Durban and Cape Town over the holiday period which does put Umngazi at risk as well when people arrive... More
0
Votes
Paul C
24 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Pippa H | Reviewed this property |
Email Umngazi - you can get their contact info on the website.
0
Votes
Nilsa R
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from vandenbergs | Reviewed this property |
Contact the resort for availability. I believe you can fly in from Jhb and the resort picks you up from the airport. Please arrange the details with the resort. It is a stunning place.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ocean facing"
Read review
"Any room is special"
Read review
"any room will do."
Read review
"pas trop trop loin de la réception"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing