We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 920: English reviews
Start your review of Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
 Click to rate
Vanderbij
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loads of activities for children. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Loved the food and tea time treats. Extreme focus on quality and perfection by the kitchen staff. Out door shower was a bit intimidating but we enjoyed it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank predoshni
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we booked our stay we did not know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. Excellent location with wonderfully placed chalets, excellent service and some of the best meals we have ever had. The seafood stir-fry over lunch was really special. Beautiful gardens, which made for excellent birding. we were just sorry we were not in time to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawid F
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dawid, Thank you so much for this amazing review so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and especially hearing the food as well and our magnificent gardens being the highlights. My apologies about the road we have been informed though that it will be repaired in the next few weeks. We really appreciate your...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

All I can say is wow! This was our first visit and it was amazing. We only spent 2 nights but would recommend at least 3. The kids enjoyed it as there are a number of activities arranged to keep them entertained. Chalets are neat with even the garden units having a good view. The food was the most amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinmN2875LI
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thank you so much for the wonderful it really was great to read how much the Family had enjoyed their stay with us. Wonderful to see that you had enjoyed the food as this is certainly a big part of our overall offering and know it is what brings guests back year after year. Thank you so much...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms need fridges and TV in rooms.Bathroom not very clean the first day we arrived. No cellphone, internet or Wi-fi service at rooms, just in lounge area. Library very old books. Food and staff excellent and outstanding customer service. No shaded parking available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda V
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it was great to read that you had enjoyed Umngazi's wonderful hospitality with its friendly staff and amazing food. With regards to some of your points made, we don't have TV's in the rooms but available both in the lounge as well as the bar....

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is beautiful and we made the most of it and thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday. Jakes (manager), Sibo (head chef) and the bar staff were amazing but unfortunately the rest of the staff were pretty vacant and unhelpful. Clearly they need more customer service training. However we loved the spa. Its location, vibe and service was amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyS1976
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Penny, Thank you so much for this kind review, it was great to read that you had enjoyed your Family holiday with us, and I will of course pass on your kind remarks about Sibu, Jakes, bar staff and Spa team, these are greatly appreciated. I have also noted your comment about some of the other team members and...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to Umngazi River bungalows in 2009 was impromptu and although it was not in high season, we subsequently learned that we were very fortunate to be accommodated due to the high popularity of this venue (which may explain why we were offered a "Honeymoon suite" despite our appearance not being at all suggestive of honeymooners). On that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Roy, Thank you so much for this wonderful review it really was great to read how much you had enjoyed your stay as well as appreciation of the beauty of this magnificent part of the Wild Coast. I was happy to see that you managed to pack so much in as well as some all important relaxation time. Thank...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a seafacing family bungalow on the middle bank which was rather dark and gloomy. Unimpressed by the quality of the childcare facility "creative corner" - not much there in terms of paint, paper, wooden blocks, balls, beads etc. Great selection of healthy dishes at the restaurant - an idea could be to replace the sugary juices with freshly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank idaunsgaard
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ida, Thank you so much for your review I was sorry read that there were certain areas of your stay that you did not find to your liking, these will of course be looked into and action taken where necessary. We of course do appreciate your support and do hope we will get the opportunity of welcoming you all...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked adjacent chalets but on arrival discovered we'd been reallocated to opposite ends of the resort without explanation! We asked why but were simply told bookings can't be guaranteed!! Totally unacceptable. The front desk needs to improve their attitude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Louis, Thank you so much for your feedback here on your stay, my apologies for the misunderstanding here. I did see from the initial reservation that one Seaview and one Riverview bungalow was booked. Unfortunately this would have made it impossible to allocate adjacent bungalows. I did see however that the seaview bungalow was in-fact upgraded to a Honeymoon...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time at Umgazi. The kids loved every minute, they were entertained and happy all the time with the kids program and the teens program.The staff are amazing with the kids. The rooms are standard but clean and neat, we can't wait for renovated rooms and hopefully will get a sea facing the next time we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerushanaidoo
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Umngazi Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review it was wonderful to read how much you and your had enjoyed their stay. We certainly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back and am sure at that stage all our Bungalows will have been refurbished. Wishing you all the very best, Graham

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding holiday venue. Food of 5 star quality. Staff more than willing to assist with special request and were most polite and helpful.A jewel of the Wild Coast. Other getting there a holiday to remember.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you so much for this amazing review, great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we of course hope we get to welcome you back. Kind regards, Graham

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (371)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
6.9 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
203 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
44 reviews
10.0 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
149 reviews
6.2 km away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
24 reviews
10.8 km away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say a sea-view is preferable to a river view.”
EvaKateJane, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The beach view rooms are the best but also the most expensive.”
DianeG514, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Sea- facing rooms really are lovely.”
  • Room 48 on the left
  • Room 41a
KyleMartin83, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“prices vary according to bungalow location”
jerushah2013, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples should try book in Emolyeni rooms - private and on the river with sea views”
MegCr0sby, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5