We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

N`taba River Lodge cc

Save
Share
Erf 634 Main Street, Port St Johns 5120 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (109)
Pool & Beach (16)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#2 of 16 Speciality lodging in Port St Johns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
65Reviews0Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 21
  • 6
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
deon wrote a review Apr 2021
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
I am really not impressed with the service i received from this resort.I am shocked that tourism grading council gave them 4 stars.First of all the manager is rude and was never there once in the two weeks my team stayed there.She operates from Durban. There is no wifi ,the rooms are small and we were plunged into darkness for almost 3 days first week when they have a generator on site.Excuse after excuse about generator, imaging been served dinner with a candle for 3 nights as u could not get your generator running.I accept there was load shedding and power cuts but then the rooms have no proper ventilation and the showers dont work.I appreciate that the they upgraded me to a better room after i complained as i had no work space.I refused to stay there the following week and my guys went back with the same issues.I asked my company to book me elsewhere. Unfortunately this week another agent from my company tried to book me in the same place not knowing what had happened and the manager refused to take the booking saying i was rude to her staff and wont allow me back and made some real bad allegations that i am wanted no where.I called her a few times she put the phone down in my ear each time, and they simply refused to give me the owners number, to make him aware of what had happened.I want an apology letter from the manager to my company for making false allegations .Is this is the way you treat all your clients.I think the tourism grading council needs to come and reassess their 4 star rating they gave the venue,they will be shocked. Poor service , food average, smelly rooms, no wifi, bad water pressure,no backup power
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bugs Moodley, Owner at N`taba River Lodge cc
Responded 04 Apr 2021
Good Day Deon, Management finds this very peculiar that your comments come only after your REPEAT BOOKING was blocked and after your abusive behaviour towards the staff of N'taba River Lodge. It is clear and obvious that the reason you requested a repeat booking was due to you satisfaction regarding our establishment. It is thus highly peculiar that you will post such comments bearing in mind that you requested to repeat visit the lodge. Surely a person so dissatisfied would never ask to stay again? it seems that such comments have been made due to your booking being blocked by management. We had blocked your booking due to your abusive nature towards our staff to the extent that some staff were left in tears. Your booking was a corporate booking made through an agent. The agent was immediately notified of your overbearing and condescending attitude ( Your Date of arrival being 8 March 2021 and email was sent to consultant the same evening) This was your on your FIRST STAY. We stated in no uncertain terms that your behaviour is grossly inappropriate and that we will not allow your booking at the lodge going forward. The consultant stated that this compliant was escalated to your manager and she apologized to us. Hence, your statement that "your Company did not know" is a complete lie. Once again it is highly disappointing that such comments have only been made to spite this establishment due to the blocking of your stay with us going forward. it seems that only after you were made aware that N'taba will not allow you to stay here going forward did such comments surface. Hence, posting such fabrications on a social platform is a clear indication of your malicious intent towards the lodge due to you being banned from staying with us. Yes, I agree that you called me telephonically to ACCUSE me of "throwing you under the Bridge" You gave me no opportunity to speak or to explain. You REPEATEDLY called me which amounted to harassment. We communicated our refusal to have you stay with us on the 8 March 2021.We received your second request for your accommodation on 24 March 2021 at 5 pm in the evening. Despite our CLEAR COMMUNICATION, you did not look for an alternative venue. You preferred to return to us, so you could have your way with Management and Staff. The "TEAM" that you refer to have returned to stay with us again and we DO NOT HAVE ISSUES WITH THEM. YOU do not bring business to us, as you bragged on the 8 March 2021. Your behaviour has been reported (the nature of your abuse) to your manager.
Read more
Stefaan V wrote a review Dec 2020
Oudtshoorn, South Africa163 contributions176 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights and we regretted it. No Wifi at all despite we paid for a executive room. The food at the restaurant was totally unacceptable, so was breakfast. Basic beyond. The staff was sleeping behind the counter ! Service was bad. Please do not book this place . Stay away !!! TV not working. Light bulbs not working. We waited for ten minutes at the gate before they opened. Electronic Safe did not work.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: none !!! please stay away
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Melanie wrote a review Nov 2020
Durban, South Africa2 contributions
Beautiful setting and lovely rooms BUT the mouldy smell was huge and completely overwhelming. Other rooms were the same so we couldn't move. I realise there has been an lot of rain but this was definitely mould and it was very strong and terrible. Other than that it is a lovely place. My husband ate the best T-Bone steak he has ever had. My mussel starter couldn't have been any fresher. Apart from the mold smell I would highly recommend it. Take mosquito spray. We didn't and were sorry about it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Blazzyblaze wrote a review Aug 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland77 contributions13 helpful votes
Staying for 5 nights at the lodge, we were very well taken care of. Room Flamingo has nice view on the whole lodge and a bathtub in the bathroom. The food menu was very varied and the cooking was tasty and very good. Breakfast had lots of foods to choose from. Staff was very kind and helpful. Internet connexion not always efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from intabariverlodge, Owner at N`taba River Lodge cc
Responded 03 Aug 2019
Hi blazzyblaze, Thank you for the encouraging comments...our efforts are being recognized. I do wish to apologize for the erratic quality of the Wi-F. However, I am happy to announce that we have RESOLVED this issue with boosters at strategic points . We are now enjoying uninterrupted , , uncapped and free Wi-Fi. Do take care Kind Regards Bugs
Read more
NGER14 wrote a review May 2019
London, United Kingdom269 contributions54 helpful votes
What a great setting the N'taba River Lodge has. Sadly we arrived after a recent flood which knocked out one of the swimming pools. Otherwise the place was back in service. Lodges were nicely decorated although in need of touching up here and there which I am sure they are attending too. Dinner and breakfast was freshly prepared and served by friendly staff. Happy to return should the occasion arise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort St Johns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about N`taba River Lodge cc
Which popular attractions are close to N`taba River Lodge cc?
Nearby attractions include Silaka Nature Reserve (6.3 km), Dwesa Nature Reserve (6.0 km), and Poenskop Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at N`taba River Lodge cc?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at N`taba River Lodge cc?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at N`taba River Lodge cc?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to N`taba River Lodge cc?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steve's Pub & Restaurant, Wood n Spoon, and The Waterfront.
Are there opportunities to exercise at N`taba River Lodge cc?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does N`taba River Lodge cc have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.